Professional restaurant supplies Textbook Trade In Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Sixx AM Fire TV with 4k Ultra HD Subscribe & Save Mother's Day Gifts Amazon Gift Card Offer bschs2 bschs2 bschs2  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Fire, Only $39.99 Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop Now STEM

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on April 6, 2011
This book is a very good guide particularly for new genealogists but is also a great refresher for more experienced ones. It is well organized and comprehensive. It is written in a straightforward manner and well indexed so that it is easy to use and find the various topics that the author is writing about.
0Comment|42 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 21, 2011
For someone who has a new interest in genealogical research, this book gives a great overview. It provides ways and means for searching and what to do with the info to find even more info. It also has a straightforward, easy to read format. Very helpful all around.
0Comment|22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 20, 2012
This is a good book. For 2011, it has a new cover and a new layout. The new cover says "2nd Edition." A new edition normally means new contents. Buyers should be aware that in this case, the contents appear not to have changed substantially from the earlier version in 2008. The use of "2nd Edition" is somewhat misleading, and you don't want to buy this one if you have the earlier one.
0Comment|21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 29, 2012
I recommend this book for your library, if you are doing any extent of genealogy research. Lots of great ideas, and reminders for what veterans may have forgotten.
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 15, 2013
Has made my genealogy research a little easier, lots of good suggestions for sites that have helped me solve a family mystery. Also found bible pages and manuscripts that I might have missed without this book.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 24, 2013
I am so excited about the help this book has given me. I was looking for a general how to book on genealogy but this book is extensive. My Grandfather was a Veteran and this book actually gives all the information and contacts for recovering his Military records. It's thorough and well written and will help anyone with modern day genealogy research.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 27, 2013
This is a gift, so I didn't read it. I skimmed through it and it looked to have a lot of very good ideas for ways to search for your ancestry online. It was updated in 2011, so the links that I tried on my computer were still valid. My sister is just getting into the genealogy of our family, so I hope she likes it. It looks like it would be useful even for somebody who does genealogy a lot, with many tips about places to look that you wouldn't think of.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 10, 2013
This book is a good reference. It also supplies you with free genealogy sites, which are hard to come by
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 23, 2012
This book has just about there is to know about internet genealogy. It begins with a lot of the other things that you need to know to do genealogy such as interviewing relatives and looking for information that you already have at home.The only way it could be improved is by giving sample questions to ask on an interview.

Cathy Goodwin
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 23, 2014
Basic guide for using the internet to discover your ancestors. Great advice for the novice. Very straightforward but somewhat superficial considering that most genealogies are not. It could have explored more "Out of the Box" ideas like how many different ways to spell the same name or of people assuming different names altogether.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse