Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


79 of 81 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The recipes I've tried have been GREAT!
I was a bit intimidated to try to cook Thai food. It just seemed like it would be so difficult! The other Thai cookbooks I've looked at seemed a little too scary- how am I supposed to shop for the ingredients if I don't know what they are? This cookbook did a GREAT job of explaining things to me- from the ingredients to the cooking methods involved. Even better, the...
Published on June 5, 2003

versus
43 of 52 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No photos - Not authentic enough - Okay for Americanized Thai
Purchased this book with high hopes based on other reviews. I was very disappointed in the fact that there are NO PICTURES at all. I am a visual person, and enjoy seeing pictures of dishes; especially ones that can be a bit complex. The substitutions of Thai ingredients completely change the dish. Ginger is not the same flavor as Galangal....I could go on and on. The...
Published on January 21, 2006 by Smileypie


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

79 of 81 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The recipes I've tried have been GREAT!, June 5, 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Everything Thai Cookbook: From Pad Thai to Lemongrass Chicken Skewers--300 Tasty, Tempting Thai Dishes You Can Make at Home (Paperback)
I was a bit intimidated to try to cook Thai food. It just seemed like it would be so difficult! The other Thai cookbooks I've looked at seemed a little too scary- how am I supposed to shop for the ingredients if I don't know what they are? This cookbook did a GREAT job of explaining things to me- from the ingredients to the cooking methods involved. Even better, the food is AWESOME! The meals are similar to what I get at my favorite sit-down Thai restaurant. This book is well worth the money for anyone who enjoys Thai food.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


43 of 52 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No photos - Not authentic enough - Okay for Americanized Thai, January 21, 2006
By 
Smileypie (Seattle, WA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Everything Thai Cookbook: From Pad Thai to Lemongrass Chicken Skewers--300 Tasty, Tempting Thai Dishes You Can Make at Home (Paperback)
Purchased this book with high hopes based on other reviews. I was very disappointed in the fact that there are NO PICTURES at all. I am a visual person, and enjoy seeing pictures of dishes; especially ones that can be a bit complex. The substitutions of Thai ingredients completely change the dish. Ginger is not the same flavor as Galangal....I could go on and on. The authentic ingredients are not too difficult to find these days. You can order online or just go to a specialty Market. It IS worth the trip to get the right stuff to cook these dishes with. If you like more authentic books with pictures, pass on this one. Try templeofthai.com for a great website and supplier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Thai Recipes, February 25, 2008
This review is from: The Everything Thai Cookbook: From Pad Thai to Lemongrass Chicken Skewers--300 Tasty, Tempting Thai Dishes You Can Make at Home (Paperback)
I've tried over two dozen recipes in this book and they all work, taste great, and are reasonably authentic Thai flavor. A book worth having if you like cooking Thai food at home.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I like it, February 26, 2005
This review is from: The Everything Thai Cookbook: From Pad Thai to Lemongrass Chicken Skewers--300 Tasty, Tempting Thai Dishes You Can Make at Home (Paperback)
I like the recipes in the book overall. So far I have only tried the pad thai and it came out delicious. I made a double batch and have been eating it all week, mmmm its so good. I have a tip on getting any hard to find ingredients, try natural food stores, they stock asian stuff sometimes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yum! Be eating Thai quicky and easily, April 18, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Everything Thai Cookbook: From Pad Thai to Lemongrass Chicken Skewers--300 Tasty, Tempting Thai Dishes You Can Make at Home (Paperback)
I love thai food. I like eating it more than looking at it. This was the book for me. The recepies were well presented and easy to follow. I was cooking and eating the night I got it! It was delicious. Yum!

If you like pretty pictures of food, this is not your book. It is focused on the receipies. There are a bunch of them. You can look at the results when you make it. The best part is you can do more than look at it, you get to eat it!

I found the book was very well presented and the plethora of recipes were well organized, both among each other and within each recipes. The variety and simple presentation are down to the business of cooking.

With the Everything Thai Cookbook I was eating the thai food I love quickly. If you are more interested in cooking Thai food than looking at pictures of it this is your book. It rates 5 stars for certain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Recipies and Easy to Follow, April 30, 2006
By 
Mary "margaret1008" (Honolulu, HI, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Everything Thai Cookbook: From Pad Thai to Lemongrass Chicken Skewers--300 Tasty, Tempting Thai Dishes You Can Make at Home (Paperback)
This book is super easy to follow and has tons of great tasting recipies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars No table of contents, November 26, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The Kindle edition has no table of contents. Are you kidding me? How am I to find what I want by thumbing through 100's of pages?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars preposterous, August 1, 2006
By 
Susan W. Shepard (Redwood City, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Everything Thai Cookbook: From Pad Thai to Lemongrass Chicken Skewers--300 Tasty, Tempting Thai Dishes You Can Make at Home (Paperback)
I have not yet tried any of the recipes but felt I must respond to the critic who lambasted fish sauce-how ridiculous. Does he (she) not know that all Thai and most Vietnamese dishes have fish sauce in them? Perhaps the reviewer would be happier having a Thai dish from McDonald's or someplace similar.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love this series!, August 29, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Everything Thai Cookbook: From Pad Thai to Lemongrass Chicken Skewers--300 Tasty, Tempting Thai Dishes You Can Make at Home (Paperback)
This is so much more than a cookbook - it has Everything you wanted to know about Thai cooking and so much more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars phenomenal recipes, February 16, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Everything Thai Cookbook: From Pad Thai to Lemongrass Chicken Skewers--300 Tasty, Tempting Thai Dishes You Can Make at Home (Paperback)
The recipes are wonderful, but I would have liked to see some
photos of how the presentation would appear when done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.