Professional restaurant supplies Spring Reading 2016 Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV with 4k Ultra HD Subscribe & Save Mother's Day Gifts Amazon Gift Card Offer bschs2 bschs2 bschs2  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Fire, Only $39.99 Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop Now SnS

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars11
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on March 7, 2011
This was a fascinating read and the author, who adheres to the Austrian school of economics, has done an enormous amount of research to back up his arguments. I will read it a second time in the not too distant future because there's too much to be absorbed in just one reading.

One of the strong points about this book that I especially liked is the discussion of the ethical and moral arguments concerning free markets and the rarely discussed evil traps of democracy. One of the more interesting lines of thought was the way that corrupt financial systems will also corrupt citizens.

This book has helped to reignite my interest and enthusiasm in free markets and a free society. Theree is much on economics and much on the philosophy of freedom. I am recommending it to my libertarian friends. And it's at a very attractive price too considering it has nearly 600 pages of text. This is a valuable addition to the cause of sound money and a free society, with a (slightly) Australian slant.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 26, 2011
One of the most amazing books I have ever read. Chris Leithner is obviously a great intellect and it shows in this book.

He painstakingly takes the reader on a journey through time on the nature of money, banking, economics and political influences.
The book is necessarily detailed and it can take some time to comprehend the message but it is well worth the effort. The conclusions are forthright and downright scary but enlighten the reader in a way that one will never get from mainstream media.

I can't recommend this book highly enough to anyone who wants to truly understand the nature of banking and the future of fiat money itself.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 17, 2011
Chris is a voice in the wilderness in Australia. I 'discovered' his company and his newsletters after becoming interested in 'value' investing before the GFC. His writing is always erudite and logical. I think it is useful for him to bring the Austrian School of economics and libertarian perspective to the Australian context and recommend thoughtful people, specially Aussies, take the time to read his books.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 18, 2012
I have read a number of books on similar subjects. But this book stands out from the crowd. I am about half way though the large book. The book is really very large and for the price it is the bargain of the milenium. I really want to thank the Author for writing this book.

This book exposes the systemic fraud in the banking system and ridiculous central planing that takes place in the financial sector. The book explains the resulting effects of such a system. This book will really give you a deep understanding of why things are they way they are today and why financial crisis are inevitable result of the current system.

I am now up to the chapters where he talks discuses different types of political ruling systems and how they affect the prosperity of a country.

If you want to have a deep understanding of why things are how they are I sugggest you purchase this book now. I read a lot of books and this book is the best in its class.

Buy it now.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 16, 2011
What has caused the world's ongoing financial troubles? Those who rail against the deregulation of the capitalist system and the greed of bankers are only half wrong. But the supposed 'deregulation' that took place in recent decades, far from exposing bankers to the discipline of market forces, instead privatized gains and socialized losses. Likewise, those who pin the blame on government efforts to encourage subprime mortgages to un-creditworthy borrowers are not seeing the whole picture. Ultimately, the cause of this bust, like the cause of practically all busts, is the artificial boom that preceded it. And the cause of the artificial boom is the inflation of the money supply.

There is of course much, much more to the story, and you'll find it all related with clarity and wit in The Evil Princes of Martin Place. Chris Leithner makes delving into the economic history of booms and busts exciting. Exploring from first principles why modern, fractional reserve banking is both immoral and impractical, illegitimately benefitting the powerful few and harming the rest, got my blood boiling. And the author's frequent humorous quips took the edge off without lessening the power of his message.

Everyone who wants to understand the current crisis, and explore the history and theory behind it, should read this book. Advanced degrees are entirely optional, as Leithner assumes no in-depth knowledge of economics, explaining concepts clearly and concisely.

More specifically, I think this book holds many treasures for anyone who senses that there is indeed something wrong with modern banking, but is at least somewhat unsatisfied with the explanations offered by people like Michael Moore. It will also prove of great value to those who appreciate the benefits of free markets in goods and services generally, but somehow think that money is different and requires pervasive government intervention.

If the cyclical suffering is ever to stop, we all need to get informed about this vital issue. Chris Leithner's book is the perfect place to start.

(To read an extended version of this review, please visit Le Quebecois Libre. [...] )
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 19, 2011
Chris Leithner's new book, "The Evil Princes of Martin Place: The Reserve Bank of Australia, the Global Financial Crisis and the Threat to Australians' Liberty and Prosperity" not only has a long title, but is also extremely lengthy in number of pages. At 654 pages, a casual reader interested in understanding the recent financial crisis might wonder whether it's worth buying Leithner's hefty work. My answer is a resounding `yes'. Every Australian should read this book to understand how the government's involvement in money and banking has diminished their living standards.

Leithner's goal is simple: to challenge conventional wisdom in the field of monetary economics. Harvard-educated academics (the very people who did not foresee the GFC) have blamed the crisis on capitalism and greed, but this book defends the free-market perspective against the Keynesian onslaught. According to the author, government intervention - not market failure - is the underlying cause of recessions and depressions. Government's interventions are manifested in three forms: fractional reserve banking, legal tender laws, and central banking.

Leithner covers a variety of fields and excels in all. Lawyers will enjoy the analysis of Roman law and more recent judgments relating to banking. Economic historians will appreciate the in-depth analysis of financial crises beginning with the panic of 1907. Political scientists will glean insights from the anti-democracy chapter, where he points out its many shortcomings. Philosophers will learn something about the ethics of monetary policy.

Overall, Leithner's book is an outstanding study of money and banking; a libertarian blockbuster filled with insights into the shady dealings of politicians and bankers. I would highly recommend it to anyone interested in understanding the causes and consequences of the GFC.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 14, 2012
The title of the book does not fully encapsulate the content. The book is a brilliant construction with a good run down of how Central Banking works, how it inflates, where the boom bust cycle comes from and uses theory from the Austrian School Economists such as Mises, Rothbard, Hans Herman Hoppe, Henry Hazlitt and miriad others. The content of the book will lead even the most fervent believer in the benefits of Government to question the value of Government interference in any aspects of life. If someone wanted a book to read to really summarise the realities of economics,this one is a MUST READ. Although titled as if for Australians, the book mostly uses the US as its source of information. You will finish the book wanting to shrink Govt to a pocket sized almost functionless entity. The language and examples used by Chris Leithner are very accessible. Even the brainwashed will be able to understand the concepts detailed. The book is very current, printed in 2010.
Colin the Bear, Sydney, Australia.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 18, 2013
Brilliant book of education, the author presents his arguments well and makes sense, An enjoyable read that puts the pieces together
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 5, 2012
I downloaded this item but was never able to open it. Consequently, even though I followed instructions It is money down the drain as far as I am concerned. Bit of a shame actually. Therefore I am unable to rate this item. Yes, why can't I open it?
22 comments|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 4, 2014
Am excellent explanation and exposition on fractional reserve banking and central banking from the perspective of the Austrian school of economics.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.