Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, practical "how to" advice - A must read, March 20, 2011
This review is from: The Exceptional Presenter Goes Virtual: Take Command of Your Message, Create an ''In-Person'' Experience, and Captivate Any Remote Audience (Hardcover)
This was the first book I've read by Timothy Koegel and I happened upon it by accident. When I saw that Koegel's book had a title similar to the name of my business (Exceptional Webinars), my curiosity was instantly piqued. I flipped through the book and decided it might be worth a read. That turned out to be an understatement.

Koegel's work is nothing short of brilliant. The book combines practical "how to" advice with sound reasoning to back up his recommendations. He addresses a variety of types of virtual presentations including webinars, webcasts and video conferencing. He preaches "keep it relevant, keep it engaging, keep it moving" for those who present in the virtual sphere. He leads by example in his own work. The book itself is highly relevant and useful for anyone involved with webinars, e-learning, video conferencing, webcasting or virtual presentations of any kind.

This book is chock-a-block full of solid information from the first page through to the last page. He goes through the challenges of virtual presentations (such as presenting to muted audiences on p. 4) and then offers advice on how to shine as a virtual presenter despite these obstacles.

He offers practical advice such as:

"Practice will improve your confidence, content, delivery and timing." (p. 32)
"If you can't clearly define the purpose of your presentation, don't schedule it." (p. 40)
"Your voice is the transport system for your message." (p. 104)

He drills deep into what details virtual presenters need to pay attention to. Then he tells you exactly how to do that, with clear, step-by-step instructions. He reviews camera placement, how to use your voice and speech effectively and how to use visuals for the most impact.

The book includes helpful checklists, lighthearted-yet-poignant graphics, and form templates at the end of the book. Important points are highlighted in larger text throughout the book to draw your attention to them.

Koegel is clearly an expert when it comes to presentation skills. He knows his material. He knows how to organize it. He presents it clearly, concisely and eloquently.

As an e-learning and webinar consultant, I was recommending it to my own audiences and clients even before I'd finished it. This is a must-read for webinar presenters and producers, e-learning specialists and videoconferencers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Factors that make a virtual presentation successful, October 14, 2010
By 
John Gibbs (Melbourne, Australia) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
There is plenty of advice available on public speaking and in-person presentation skills, but how do you go about preparing and executing a high-quality virtual presentation? That is the question addressed by Timothy Koegel in this book. It is a short, easy-to-read book filled with guidance for overcoming the particular barriers that exist in virtual communication scenarios.

In order to succeed with a virtual presentation, you need to keep it relevant, keep it engaging and keep it moving. The audience members in a virtual presentation will be tempted to multitask, thereby paying a lower amount of attention to your message, so it is critical that you keep people's attention. There is much that you can learn from television news presenters in this regard.

Topics covered include how to establish the sequence, timing and flow of the presentation, how to help participants prepare, making sure the right people are attending, involving others in the presentation, how to look relaxed and confident, the use of virtual humour, creating seamless transitions, and the relative advantages and disadvantages of virtual and face-to-face presentations.

The book contains a number of handy preparation sheets that can be used by presenters. It does not contain much new technical information about virtual presentations, but it does provide a very helpful perspective on the factors that make a virtual presentation successful and how you can build towards that success by careful preparation, both for the presenters and for the listeners.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Expert handbook on presenting virtually, April 29, 2011
This review is from: The Exceptional Presenter Goes Virtual: Take Command of Your Message, Create an ''In-Person'' Experience, and Captivate Any Remote Audience (Hardcover)
The future of virtual conferencing, virtual meetings and virtual presentations has arrived, for those who can afford it. To see the high level of technological sophistication currently available, check Wikipedia's entry for "videotelephony." There, you will see a photo of 14 people conferencing, with six sitting on one side of a conference table, and virtual images - as real as life - of the other eight sitting at a similar table somewhere else in the world. The effect is as if all 14 individuals are in the same room. Expect teleconferencing to become even more lifelike soon. Cisco Systems currently is working on realistic holographic technology to replace videoconferencing. Presentation coach Timothy J. Koegel discusses new virtual presentation and meeting technology, and teaches you how to make effective use of this high-tech wonder. getAbstract finds that he does an excellent job of explaining how virtual presenters can leverage their new toolbox.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great refresh from from first book, January 8, 2011
This review is from: The Exceptional Presenter Goes Virtual: Take Command of Your Message, Create an ''In-Person'' Experience, and Captivate Any Remote Audience (Hardcover)
Tim Koegel does it again, and creates a nice easy to read tool to strengthen your presentation skills. Many of the concepts you may read through and say "uh that's pretty much common sense" but the fact of the matter is. . it isn't. I have seen very few incredible presentations, and many bad presentations that I know that it is important to always keep your skills in check.

Anyhow if you need some help with your presentation skills or just want to strengthen them in the growing virtual age, this is a great book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good hints for virtual presentations, April 2, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I read, the Exceptional Presenter before, and this brings extra hints to make more effective presentations. If you haven't read The exceptional presenter before, this will still cover material discussed in the previous book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars love it! very good tips, April 12, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Exceptional Presenter Goes Virtual: Take Command of Your Message, Create an ''In-Person'' Experience, and Captivate Any Remote Audience (Hardcover)
this is a very good book to me. I really like the tips and ticks the author shares because I find it very useful. it has been a grat help to improve my presentation skills
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good book to stay on top of changing strategies, November 18, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I read his first book and found this one to be just as useful in my day to day activities at my current job.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very enlightening, April 13, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Exceptional Presenter Goes Virtual: Take Command of Your Message, Create an ''In-Person'' Experience, and Captivate Any Remote Audience (Hardcover)
Even after 30 years of presenting, great tips and planning here for anyone who shares ideas remotely. Shared with my team.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Charge!, February 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Exceptional Presenter Goes Virtual: Take Command of Your Message, Create an ''In-Person'' Experience, and Captivate Any Remote Audience (Hardcover)
So far so good! very practical and putting elements to use immediately! I can tell it will be a great book and tool for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just What We Needed!, September 21, 2014
By 
Michael Wilhelm (Sugar Land, Texas) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Thank you for this great "How To" book. It gave us a guide to quickly move forward and create a system for successful online presentations. We believe it is the beginning of the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Exceptional Presenter Goes Virtual: Take Command of Your Message, Create an ''In-Person'' Experience, and Captivate Any Remote Audience
$21.95 $18.16
In stock but may require an extra 1-2 days to process.
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.