Customer Reviews


653 Reviews
5 star:
 (192)
4 star:
 (195)
3 star:
 (143)
2 star:
 (66)
1 star:
 (57)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


137 of 153 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Love, Lies, Larceny, and Lechery in Luxembourg
Because of the information already included on the Amazon page for this product, it should not be a surprise to anyone that espionage plays a part in this novel, so I will admit without fear of giving spoilers that I have always loved novels related to espionage. However, I have never read one in which the protagonist was female, and espionage is not really the main...
Published on January 28, 2012 by Misanthrope™

versus
220 of 244 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Tension and Puzzles Aplenty
If your thing in a spy thriller is tension aplenty with lots of secrets and puzzles, you will enjoy this book. Chris Pavone excels in the double-double cross and even makes you laugh at it. He is equally good at putting you right in the middle of whatever description he's got going. Europe has never been so conjured up for the reader's imagination. The plot is a good one,...
Published on February 4, 2012 by Zoeeagleeye


‹ Previous | 123 24 2566 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Unpredictably captivating, June 15, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Drawn into a world one can only imagine, this story takes turns you never see coming, right to the end. The time-line can be a bit hard to follow so watch the captions. Good read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Thriller until the very end, June 14, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Despite the slowish start, this book finishes with a fantastic ending and brings the novel full circle. Truly captivating, must read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Spy vs. Spy, June 13, 2014
By 
RNT (Memphis, TN USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I have the image in my mind of Mad Magazine's take on spies. In this book, the spies don't wear either white or black, so keeping them straight is a lot harder. But it is still fun. Word of advice, try to read it in not too many sittings. The plot is pretty quirky due to the frequent and unannounced time shifts, but the confusion seems to add to the excitement, a sort of "fog of war."

So, who is spying on whom? The surprises just keep on coming!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Fun quick summer read, June 11, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
a fun quick read, but definitely doesn't make my list of favorite books. I recommend reading it if you're looking for a good beach book with an exciting twist
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Who is who and why?, June 10, 2014
New take on a thriller. Many twists and turns. Interesting character who could be real. I would read this offer again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars twists and turns like an alpine road, June 9, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Pavone is one outstanding writer! His plot twists and turns and will not let you put the story down for a rest. The pace quickens with every turn of the page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars OK read, June 8, 2014
By 
Linda Fullmer (New Orleans, LA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I found the book rather wordy in some parts. I found the ending lacking. It was wrapped up in a sappy manner in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent plot, June 8, 2014
If you like a complex, twisting plot, this is a great read! This is a beautifully written story of international intrigue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Expats is worth every second, June 6, 2014
This review is from: The Expats: A Novel (Hardcover)
The Expats by Chris Pavone Narrated by Mozhan Marno is a great Audiobook available @Audible_com. This is a New York Times Best Seller and Edgar Award Winning book.

Kate Moore is a mother with two young sons and a career in Washington DC as a policy position writer and a husband who works in Information Technology (IT). Kate's husband continued to perfect his craft of a Information Security as his friends and classmates created start ups and made and lost fortunes.

When Kate's husband comes home saying he got the job he had been waiting for-his big payday-there was one catch, Kate and the boys would have to move to Luxenburg.

Kate has one month to quit her job and pack the family up while her husband travels back and forth making arrangements with his new company. Kate is becoming an Expat and a stay at home mom, with no more money worries and Europe to explore.

This all would sound great if Kate wasn't secretly a CIA agent. She quits the Agency to move with her husband who never suspects anything. You can take the girl out of the CIA but you can't take the CIA out of the girl.

Does Kate see trouble and intrigue because of her training or is something rotten in Luxenburg. Suspense fills this entire book from start to finish. The listener will want to keep on listening to follow what happens next. 

No Spoilers here, listen to "The Expats" today!

PerryMartinBookReviews.wordpress.com
Follow me on twitter @PerryBookReview 
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT SPY NOVEL, June 4, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is a fabulous book, I happened upon it by accident in the library. I am glad I discovered it. Great story, with wonderful descriptions of cities in Europe. Very believable plot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 123 24 2566 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Expats: A Novel
The Expats: A Novel by Chris Pavone (Hardcover - March 6, 2012)
$26.00 $19.41
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.