Customer Reviews

115
3.9 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

64 of 68 people found the following review helpful
on April 11, 2011
A hard one! There certainly are not a lot books out on the Rays, and any intelligent baseball book is well worth a read. However, as well-intentioned as this work is, and the fact that if you are a baseball fan you are bound to read it, I cannot give it a great review. Here are a few points:

First, there really is NOT much there. It seems like it would have been a better magazine article. There is heavy repetition that is not really needed.

There are no interesting secrets, no revelations, not even a real idea of how the team works.

Tropicana Field is heavily featured; the general discussion of stadium building is interesting but how many times can the author complain about the Trop? Really, I think a reader would "get it" early in the book.

The history of the team is interesting - perhaps a history of the Rays would be a better work.

Inevitably, this will be compared to Moneyball. Face it, the author's premise/thesis is designed to appeal to fans of that work. However, this work is nowhere nearly as involved, or as interesting as Moneyball.

You do not get a lot of player info; more of this would bring the story to life. Yes, there are some anecdotes, particularly re: Garza and Longoria but not enough to really get an idea of the management mindset.

Overall, I do not regret buying this, and do not want to dissuade you, but it could have really been something great. I feel that a great book could be written about this team, but this is not it. In the meantime, this will have to do.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
on April 3, 2011
Solid sort of book, but not something I would go out of the way to recommend to a friend who has interest in baseball. I felt like I've read this before and Billy Beane was way more entertaining a character. Plus, I'm interested in the Rays, and I felt like I came away with very little understanding of the new regime. I guess just playing close to the vest is part of the Wall St strategy, but it didn't leave me too satisfied as a reader. Got to know plenty about the Naimoli-Lamar fiasco, but that was a pretty public mess, and the rehash here mainly left me with pity for Chuck Lamar. The writing is okay. Some humorous jabs and quips seep in through parenthetical asides. It's very similar to Baseball Between the Numbers (the BP compilation put out a couple years back that Keri edited, and is a little more interesting than this book) in that the author asks some interesting, offbeat questions but the intellectual energy behind the question doesn't flow through the writing. All that said though, as a baseball fan, I'm glad we're seeing more books like this one these days with good, solid analysis, especially of teams that have been overlooked for too long, just like the Rays.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
on September 22, 2011
No doubt, this book will be compared with Moneyball, as it is the study of how an organization against massive odds applied a unique management style and ultimately became successful (much more successful than Beane's A's, by the way). While I certainly can't speak for Keri, I read this less as a look at a revolutionary concept like Moneyball and more as the history of how a bunch of dudes from Wall Street with no real baseball background to speak of took an organization that was among the worst run in sports and turned it into a perennial winner. It is a fascinating look into just how terribly the Rays were run before the new regime took over and some of the things that they changed once they did. It also explains some of the reasons why the Rays have such problems drawing crowds (spoiler alert: it's not because no one likes the team). Maybe Keri intended this to be like Moneyball, but I read it almost as a history of their organization. And in that respect, I think, it is a very interesting read.

If there is one real nitpick I can come up with about the book, it is that you don't hear much from Stu Sternberg, Andrew Friedman, or Jonathan Silverman. However, seeing as how Billy Beane has finished in the AL West cellar the last few years, maybe the Rays brain trust simply didn't want to reveal too much. After sabermetrics was introduced to the wider baseball community, Billy Beane lost his competitive advantage; it is understandable that the Rays were wary of revealing too much. Also, I would have LOVED if Keri had gotten access to Vince Naimoli; he seems like a fascinating (read: insane) man.

Overall, this is not a perfect book; it can get a bit repetitive at times and there is not quite as much access to the protagonists of the book as I probably would have liked. However, I thoroughly enjoyed learning more about just how the Rays have been run throughout their history and why they are now successful in the brutal AL East. There are a couple of great anecdotes as well, including one about Albert Pujols and one about a vodka-shooting penis; these alone are worth the price of admission.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
Format: HardcoverVine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Jonah Keri has really crafted a masterpiece in 'The Extra Two Percent'. I'm not a Rays fan(I root for the ever disappointing Brewers), but I found the book absolutely riveting.

It tells the in-depth, behind-the-scenes story of how the lowly Tampa Bay Rays went from being the laughing stock of Major League Baseball to the best run, most forward thinking franchise in the game today. He tells the history of the expansion Devil Rays going through poor ownership, poor management to, almost overnight, turning into a well-oiled machine through a complete change in the franchise's culture: new ownership, new manager, focusing on the newest metrics, and completely revamping their minor league system and drafting style.

Keri's writing style is easy to read, very informative, and occasionally funny. He's an engaging writer who, from this point forward, I will make a point to read whatever he puts out.

Whether you are a Rays fan or not, you will enjoy this book. Even if you don't particularly enjoy baseball, I still think you would enjoy this book. Fantastic, fascinating read.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
VINE VOICEon August 23, 2011
Format: HardcoverVine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This book offers some great insight into the workings of MLB and the Rays in particular. I was a season-ticket holder for the inaugural season in 1998 and have loosely followed the team since moving all around the country. This book explains a lot about how the franchise was run and contrasts that with how it is run today. This is a great book to read after Moneyball as it represents the same kind of thinking, but in a more holistic way. While Moneyball focused on the game itself, this book also looks at what it takes to properly sell the baseball product to the community.

My favorite chapter was the one on Joe Maddon. As a baseball fan I have always found him confusing. I thought he was just quirky and intentionally unpredictable, but this book shows that there is a lot of thought and analysis that goes into each of his decisions. The thing that impressed me the most is that neither he nor the franchise are as concerned with results as they are with making sound decisions.

This may sound ridiculous, but it deals well with the nature of the game. It is the manager's job to put the team in the best situation to succeed. That means strategic decisions such as player acquisition, but it also means tactical decisions such as when to bunt or when to intentionally walk a hitter. The problem that most fans do not recognize is that all the manager can do is call what should be the right play. He cannot control what happens between the lines. There is an element of chance inherent in every game, which is what makes it interesting. The manager and front office must make the right decisions and see how it works out. This is similar to a blackjack player that statistically must hit when holding 16 against a dealer showing a 10. He may draw a 6 and bust, but it is the correct move based on the math.

The chapter on the 2008 run to the pennant was fascinating as well. It also showed the human element as the team gelled into one that would make it to the World Series.

There are two factors that kept me from giving this book five stars. One is that the author uses crude language unnecessarily. I understand that men around baseball use salty language. I am fine with quoting them when appropriate. The story around "STFD" is great. But there is no reason for the author to use such language in his narrative. It felt a bit too conversational to me.

The other is that the book repeats itself. Perhaps this is because I received a pre-release copy for review purposes, but I felt like it could have used more editing. There were several times when I thought, "Didn't I just read about this?" The material in this book is great, but it needed a little more work to fit together better.

Nevertheless, this is a very informative book and one that any baseball fan would enjoy. I certainly recommend it.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
VINE VOICEon May 26, 2011
Format: HardcoverVine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
When an unexpected hit television show breaks out, a slew of wannabes follow as desperate programmers try to grab a slice of the magic for themselves. When "Friends" scored, the airwaves were suddenly crowded with sleek, wisecracking twentysomething housemates; "Who Wants to Be a Millionaire?" spawned waves of idiotic prime-time imitations; and so on.

So it must have been in publishing in the wake of "Moneyball," Michael Lewis' hit book about baseball, sabermetrics, and the Oakland A's. You can imagine the call going out for more baseball-economics books, stat. "The Extra 2%" is to "Moneyball" as "Deal or No Deal" is to "Who Wants to Be a Millionaire?"; same ground, similar concept, not quite the same magnetism or staying power.

Keri tells a fairly conventional business story about a poorly managed, money-losing, customer-alienating organization turned around by smart, pro-customer, detail-oriented Wall Street management. Stuck by chance in baseball's most competitive division, the Boston- and Yankee-dominated AL East, the Rays got into the hunt by sweating the small stuff, absorbing fan feedback, strengthening their master brand (dropping the "Devil"), and being open to new ideas. Such a narrative is pretty much what Ford Motor Company, IBM, and the old Continental Airlines have gone through. Here it is again, wearing an athletic supporter.

Considering the national fan base and deep pockets of the Red Sox and Yanks, it's a great David-versus-Goliath story Keri has to tell... but ultimately a familiar one. Almost any successful business makes it by coming out one or two percent ahead on a long list of counts. Keri swings for the fences, trying for a grand-slam business narrative. What we have here is a solid single to left. "Moneyball" it is not.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on May 18, 2011
This book is really a collection of essays that meander through the period beginning with Stuart Sternberg's purchase of a minority share of the Devil Rays and continuing through the 2010 season. It lacks a solid structure that really ties the whole thing together, but the stories themselves can be entertaining. Some are good, and some are lacking.

The Wall Street backgrounds of Sternberg and Friedman, and some window into how that plays into the current management of the team, are covered. It would be good if this was explored in more detail. The Extra 2% is naturally compared to Moneyball. But in Moneyball, Michael Lewis tells anecdotes from the A's history and always relates them back to something about Billy Beane's approach. The Extra 2% doesn't really do that - the stories are told for the sake of including them.

The good:

-The area scout who really wanted the Rays to draft Albert Pujols (spoiler alert: they didn't)
-The antics of Vince Naimoli and his failures to rally the community or follow a coherent plan
-The history of Joe Maddon, the Rays' quirky manager who spent a career earning this gig
-The long journey that Naimoli took to get the team established in Tampa, and all the fits and starts along the way
-

The bad:

-Tropicana Field is a dump, we get it. If we didn't, it would be apparent by the 5th time that it comes up
-The inconsistent editing and tone. Some parts are almost documentary-like, well-written, structured, and professional. Others feature swearing and colloquial language - not quotes either, just a change in writing style.
-The lack of overarching story leads to changes in scope. At times, Keri is focusing on the results of individual games.

Overall, this was an enjoyable book. I feel like I did learn a lot about the Rays' history and a little about their approach. But the best parts of the book were not the analytical parts, so I worry that the audience attracted to the book won't be the audience that enjoyes the book.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
Format: HardcoverVine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
The timing of my reading of this new book could not have been more fortuitous; it followed immediately after my reading of "First Break All the Rules." Marcus Buckingham's book bears the subtitle: "What the World's Greatest Managers Do Differently.." In their great business book, Buckinghom lays out a clear picture of what it takes to be a great manager - and an outstanding leader. "The Extra 2%" by Jonah Keri serves as an excellent case study of how the owners of the Tampa Bay Major League franchise accomplished a stunning turnaround in just a few short years. The team that had been the perennial cellar-dweller in the American League East division shocked the baseball universe and went to the World Series. This book takes the reader behind the scenes to glimpse the changes that were wrought by the team of former Wall Street executives who took over the running of the franchise.

In re-naming and re-branding the team - from the former Tampa Bay Devil Rays to simply the Tampa Bay Rays - the new owners not only banished the devil from the premises of Tropicana Field, they also shined the bright beam of enlightened management. Vincent J.Naimoli, the original owner of the expansion franchise, had run the team and its stadium into the ground, along the way turning public opinion against him and his team by his penny-pinching and high-handed ways.

In 2004, Stuart Sternberg acquired a 48% share in the team, and eventually bought controlling interest in the team and began to assemble a coterie of executives, front office, back office and on field personnel who shared his conviction that the principles that had allowed him to achieve success on Wall Street could be applied to the world of baseball. Inspired by the "Money Ball" mentality that had brought success to the Boston Red Sox under John Henry, Larry Lucchino and Theo Epstein, the Rays' new team of leaders began to make consistent decisions that would eventually bring their Rays to the 2008 post-season.

Sternberg brought with him to Tampa Bay Matt Silverman and Andrew Friedman. They wisely chose as the field Manager a baseball veteran in Joe Maddon. Maddon had worked his way up the ladder of MLB, filling almost every possible scouting and coaching role in the minor leagues and major leagues. His keen eye for talent, positive approach to molding ball players and his enthusiasm for using the new analytical tools provided through sabrematrics made him the perfect person to translate into on-field tactics the philosophy of the triumvirate in the front office.

Maddon embodies all of the traits described in Buckingham's book, creating an environment that challenges and empowers his players to do their best in the roles to which they have been assigned.

I have seen with my own eyes many of the dramatic changes that this franchise has experienced. My sister lives in the Tampa area, so she and I have attended many games at Tropicana Field. When I first started watching the Red Sox as they visited Tampa Bay, I noted that most of the fans were wearing Red Sox garb rather than that of the home team. I once did an actual count at a Red Sox vs. Tampa game. 95% of the fans wearing baseball clothing were sporting Red Sox apparel - only 5% showed the Devil Ray logo. By 2009, the balance had shifted so that it was closer to a 50-50% balance when the Red Sox now come to town in South Florida.

As a citizen of Red Sox Nation, I welcome the new rivalry with a Rays team that can challenge and often beat Boston's more established and better funded team. This book gives me a new appreciation for what it took to engineer such a dramatic transformation.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on May 26, 2011
I really enjoyed The Extra 2%. It's not often you find someone as knowledgeable about both business and baseball, who can actually write as well as Mr. Keri can. He's got a very informed, snappy and colloquial style I connected with.

Moneyball keeps coming up in discussions about the Extra 2% and if it was a book about the Rays I'd understand why--Mr. Keri tells a different story, about a different team, in a different way and I judge it on its own merits. I found the book to be an intelligent, humorous and engaging weave of history, anecdotes, stats and business insights. If you're even a casual baseball or business reader, you'll find this little gem to be a revealing and entertaining look at an extraordinary team, doing extraordinary things both on and off the field.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
Format: HardcoverVine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Minus one star for pretending that the Tampa baseball team was the worst run team in history. Try being a Pittsburgh Pirate fan... Certainly nobody can have soon-to-be-19 LOSING seasons without some really bad ownership not giving a crap about the team or fans. [EDIT: it's official the Pirates have 19 losing seasons as of the end of the 2011.]

This is a story of worst to first (once) and how it happened. The Minnesota Twins accomplished the same feat and WON the World Series in 1987. What makes this story unique is the nightmarish ownership story.

Keri details the nightmare ownership with little understanding of baseball or care for fans of the first eight years of the Tampa Bay Devil Ray team. New ownership brought new mentality among employees, management, and players. It is interesting that Keri uses the term "exorcism" to refer to the new ownership's changes. Indeed they did take "devil" out of their name.

The previous ownership's cheapness in their dealings (failing to pay $35K for team name, firing ushers for allowing outside food, etc...) coupled with their inability to understand baseball (rejecting drafting Albert Pujols and other draft misses) do make for an interesting story.

However, the author fails to admit that Tampa is not and never will be a serious contender in its division (Yankees, Red Sox) despite one World Series appearance (and embarrassment) in 2008. Simply put the book is a backhanded acknowledgement of how to turn a really bad team into a consistently good but not great team without talent or the actual ability to compete at a sustained level (Yankees and Boston) by shafting what talent it does have for the bottom line.

The Rays, while being fan friendly, is certainly not player friendly. Keri runs the numbers on how Longoria and Crawford received "team friendly" contracts (the one case with the help of a bad agent deal). This even happens to the "mystery men" who undervalue their potential contributions.

Why did I give it four starts? Even if this is a one sided myopic look at a great turnaround story it is a great read. Most people will not be aware of the details of the story. The story is laced with interesting details and first-hand accounts (especially those of LaMar).

Fair warning: the language is "strong" and includes several instances of the "f-bomb." However, this language is in keeping with the subject matter and is not offensively out of place.

(Out of space for the guidelines.)
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
     
 
Customers who viewed this also viewed


The Book: Playing The Percentages In Baseball
The Book: Playing The Percentages In Baseball by Tom M. Tango (Paperback - April 28, 2014)
$19.36
 
     

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Your Recently Viewed Items and Featured Recommendations 
 

After viewing product detail pages, look here to find an easy way to navigate back to pages you are interested in.