Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars I love X-Men...
This one of the good stories that occurred before Uncanny X-Men ended! I love the characters who were involved, and the mini X-team (Storm, Warpath, Hepzibah, Caliban, etc..). Although great story, I'm saddened why this plot-line was left dangling for no writer to pick up!
Published 19 months ago by Daniel

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A decent arc, not up to Brubaker's normal standards.
Ed Brubaker is perhaps the best writer currently working in comics, so his arrival on "Uncanny X-Men" in 2006 was highly anticipated. The initial result, a twelve-issue story arc set in space called 'The Rise and Fall of the Shi'ar Empire', had a mixed reception (I enjoyed it, personally, although it wasn't up there with his best work). He had initially planned to...
Published on January 31, 2008 by Sean Curley


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A decent arc, not up to Brubaker's normal standards., January 31, 2008
By 
Sean Curley (Charlottetown, PE, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Extremists (Uncanny X-Men) (Paperback)
Ed Brubaker is perhaps the best writer currently working in comics, so his arrival on "Uncanny X-Men" in 2006 was highly anticipated. The initial result, a twelve-issue story arc set in space called 'The Rise and Fall of the Shi'ar Empire', had a mixed reception (I enjoyed it, personally, although it wasn't up there with his best work). He had initially planned to depart afterward to make room for Mark Millar, but after Millar's linewide project fell apart in the planning stages, he stayed on, resulting in this story arc, leading into the excellent "Messiah CompleX" crossover.

The end of the previous arc left Havok, Polaris, and Marvel Girl in space with the Starjammers, and another castmember, Darwin, does not appear here; carrying over from the previous team are Professor X, Nightcrawler, stranded Starjammer Hepzibah, and Warpath, the character Brubaker pulled from obscurity and made a fan-favourite (his greatest success with the X-Men to date). They are joined by the former Morlock Caliban and longtime stalwart Storm, who had been absent from the team for a year or so after the ludicrous marriage with the Black Panther designed to boost that book's sales. The mission in question is twofold: Storm leads most the team to investigate the actions of a band of Morlocks led by the evil Masque, while Professor X and Nightcrawler set out in search of Magneto, missing since the confusing events of "New Avengers #20". The second story is rather abortive, featuring only a brief appearance by big M that serves to set up his post-"Messiah CompleX" status quo. The first story is more interesting, delving into the fallout of M-Day (when all but a handful of mutants lost their powers) among the Morlock community; religious cults have developed around a series of prophecies by a deceased Morlock, and Masque knows how to read them, and believes he sees a future where mutants still rule the world. He's willing to go to extreme lengths to bring it about. The story is a bit slow, but it's interesting, and it sets up future stories for the X-Men.

On art, Salvador Larocca returns to the X-Men yet again, brings the hyper-real style he's been working with on "Newuniversal", and it looks pretty good, although it's maybe not the best kind of stuff for a superhero title (I did enjoy his Patrick Stewart-style Professor X).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More of a lead-in for Messiah Complex than anything else, January 27, 2008
This review is from: The Extremists (Uncanny X-Men) (Paperback)
The Morlocks are mad, very mad. Ed Brubaker's run on Uncanny X-Men continues with a portion of the team returning from battling Vulcan in space to learn that the underground mutants known as the Morlocks are in some dire straits, which causes Storm, Nightcrawler, and co. to attempt to remedy the situation. For a majority of The Extremists, not a whole lot actually happens. In fact, the story as a whole is more of a set-up for the massive X-Men crossover event Messiah Complex, which actually manages to surprisingly deliver on many fronts. What we get here isn't bad one bit though, its just not all that eventful. There are some seeds planted for what will come next though, so The Extremists isn't a total loss, especially with more solid artwork from longtime Uncanny X-Men artist Salvador Larroca. All in all, The Extremists isn't essential in the least, but it is worth a look regardless for X-fans that want to see where all this is leading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love X-Men..., January 28, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Extremists (Uncanny X-Men) (Paperback)
This one of the good stories that occurred before Uncanny X-Men ended! I love the characters who were involved, and the mini X-team (Storm, Warpath, Hepzibah, Caliban, etc..). Although great story, I'm saddened why this plot-line was left dangling for no writer to pick up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love Morlocks., April 14, 2008
This review is from: The Extremists (Uncanny X-Men) (Paperback)
In response to previous reviews, I thought this was an excellent story. Yes, it might just be a short story for the build up to "Messiah Complex", however it does two things for me that just blow me away. The first would be the return of Storm actually working with the X-Men, rather than her current escapades with the Fantastic Four and the Black Panther. I have always thought that Storm was one of the coolest characters ever amongst the ranks of X-Men, and it's awesome to get her back where she belongs, even if it's only for a little while (let's hope not). The second would have to be the reemergence of the Morlocks after M-Day. I love the Morlocks, always have, and always will. Maybe it's due to the attachment I made with them a long time ago during the mutant massacre. I love Caliban and Leech, but when did Masque become evil? It's strange how one earth shattering event like M-Day can change anyone's philosophies. The one major thing that this story made me ponder was how and when Skids became an agent of S.H.I.E.L.D.? Oh well. A great story all around. Bring on the "Messiah Complex".
Peace and Love,
Jake
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Boring and pointless, July 28, 2013
This review is from: The Extremists (Uncanny X-Men) (Paperback)
This book comes right before Messiah Complex, but it has nothing to do with storyline. This is a very fortunate point, because this book is boring and has no reason for existing. Basically, the entire plot is about a rogue group of mutants trying to make everyone hate mutants again, because a prophecy says the group must make humans hate mutants again before Magneto will join up with that rogue group of mutants (wat). It's up to the X-men to stop these mutants from disfiguring humans to make humans hate mutants again.

Yes, it's as bad as it sounds.

Do yourself a favor, and skip this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars pretty good, actually does something half decent with the morlocks., April 25, 2008
This review is from: The Extremists (Uncanny X-Men) (Paperback)
Set after the rise and fall of the shi'ar empire, the x-men are back on earth and dealing with the death of Corsiar. The morlocks re appear, and have seperated into splinter groups based around a mutant religion (well almost), anyway you get the idea. It has obvious real world parrallels, which is something the x-men comics have always done well. The Morlock extremists start making terrorist attacks against normal folk in ways only mutants can. Also Professor X begins the search for magneto, something the extremists are also doing.
The Art is excellent, possibly Sal Larrocca's best ever, and Brubaker as always is an excellent writer, the relationships between characters are well handles. Perhaps the Hepzibah/warpath thing is a little heavy handed at times but this is a smill gripe. That and the complete no show of Darwin who was so prominant in the previous story, it seems odd he doesn't show up at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars average, August 26, 2008
By 
Johan Styles (bottom of the bottle) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Extremists (Uncanny X-Men) (Paperback)
picked this up from the library....and pretty glad i didnt drop some moneys on this. its an average story at best....not what i expect from the writer that brings me amazing captain america stories every month. bru's last arc on uncanny was also a let down. its weird.

the book never really gets going...the morlock threat never really seemed...well, threatening. masque is a cool character, but all the dialogue seems cookie cutter and uninspired. nothing against brubaker himself, but this seems like he's phoning in his scripts on this one.

the art itself...my first exposure to larroca. at first, i was impressed by how he handled the characters...but about a quarter of the way thru the book, i started noticing some things.....like how he would photoshop REAL photos into the art. real photos of grass, real buildings, real people. seems like he got lazy or didnt know how to draw some of those things. the art reeks of photoshop. not only that....but if u look at the way he draws characters....it really does look like he's tracing photographs of real people. very little cross hatching, or shading with ink. i couldnt help but picture him with a light table or wacom tablet tracing over photos. it took me out of the story. with artists like Greg Land and David Mack tracing photographs and passing it off as "art", its a shame i have to add larroca to this list. remember when artists used to draw?

i cant recommend this volume to anyone. at best, do what i did, and pick it up at the library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Awful art!, July 12, 2008
By 
JNunes "JN" (Gouveia, Portugal) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Extremists (Uncanny X-Men) (Paperback)
Awful AWFUL art by Larroca. I hated it. More terrible than this only Igor Kordey's art from X-MEN # 119, 120, 124, 125 and 128-130! I bought this in comic book format and I felt robbed. I can't understand how can Marvel publish art like this! It's the X-MEN!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Extremists (Uncanny X-Men)
The Extremists (Uncanny X-Men) by Ed Brubaker (Paperback - January 9, 2008)
$13.99 $11.30
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.