Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Most Important Marketing Book of 2012
So I'm in Copenhagen today having just gotten back from a meeting with the US Ambassador here. I mention these two facts because the gift I brought our ambassador was Ed Keller and Brad Fay's new book - The Face to Face Book. With the book in hand I made the case to her that this is the most important marketing book to come out this year. When she asked why, this is what...
Published on May 22, 2012 by Ted Wright

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Misleading
I bought this book hoping to learn some new theory about marketing however all I got was some rehashed theories and a shill for this company that sells some data
Published on August 19, 2012 by Steven E. Chaffin


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Most Important Marketing Book of 2012, May 22, 2012
This review is from: The Face-to-Face Book: Why Real Relationships Rule in a Digital Marketplace (Hardcover)
So I'm in Copenhagen today having just gotten back from a meeting with the US Ambassador here. I mention these two facts because the gift I brought our ambassador was Ed Keller and Brad Fay's new book - The Face to Face Book. With the book in hand I made the case to her that this is the most important marketing book to come out this year. When she asked why, this is what I said -

It keeps your marketing waste down by showing you exactly where your marketing dollars will bring the most return.

It gives you very clear examples, and through them the methodology, by which you can understand how to implement word of mouth marketing or understand which WOMM agencies will most likely give you the best return.

For those of you with bosses and the desire to try or expand on existing WOMM, it gives you plenty of ammunition for your presentation.

In short, it's a book that solves problems and helps you exceed your numbers.

For the last twelve years, word of mouth marketing has been my exclusive focus. I've read every book on the subject and all of those that might even be tangentially important to my firm's work and the success of our clients. There are three books that I require every new employee to read and send out to every new client. Ed and Brad's new book will now be the fourth. If you are even slightly interested in knowing more about WOMM or desire to be the rock star of your company then you should get this book ASAP.

Ted Wright
CEO, Fizz
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "The Face-to-Face Book" : ...Marketplace" examines Lucrative Power of Face-to-Face Relationships in Digital Marketplace!!!..., September 30, 2012
By 
Michael GreenGold (GLENWOOD, ILLINOIS, US) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Face-to-Face Book: Why Real Relationships Rule in a Digital Marketplace (Hardcover)
>>>..."The Face-to-Face Book : ...Marketplace", Circa 2012, provides some of the answers of why, in worlds being reshaped by technology, People / Customers, etc. crave a sense of humanity---Companies that exude a sense of Values, Brands, etc. and that engage emotionally...>>> THE FACE-TO-FACE BOOK, from Ed Keller & Brad Fay, in 287+ Pages, 9+ Chapters of Rich, Detailed, Knowledge, Content, Context, Examples, Case Studies, etc. remind US that the Best way to get People / Customers talking about what WE offer is to offer them something worth talking about!!!...>>> YES, The Internet has and is changing everything...>>> However, If YOU want to make your Business, Company, Organization more memorable, approachable, applicable, etc., then make it more human by the words YOU spread in the real, rather than virtual, world!!!...>>> For those among US that are striving to get to greater usage of Real Relationships in the Digital Marketplace, Our Journey begins NOW!!!...>>> Ready, Let's Roll!!!...
The Face-to-Face Book: Why Real Relationships Rule in a Digital Marketplace
>>>..."THE FACE-TO-FACE BOOK" opens with Praise, Dedication, Table / Contents, Introduction - "The Social Media Gold Rush" to prepare US for Chapter 01 of 09.
>>>...Chapter 01 - The Science of Social.
>>>...Chapter 02 - Conversation Starters : What Makes a Brand Talkworthy?
>>>...Chapter 03 - Influencers : The People at the Center of the Conversation.
>>>...Chapter 04 - Word of Mouth Meets Madison Avenue.
>>>...Chapter 05 - Rethinking Media : Planning for Word of Mouth.
>>>...Chapter 06 - All Things in Moderation : Where Social Media Fits.
>>>...Chapter 07 - Word of Mouth as a Channel.
>>>...Chapter 08 - Negative Word of Mouth : A Cause for Alarm or a Customer's Greatest Gift?
>>>...Chapter 09 - Imaging a New Social Marketing.
>>>..."THE FACE-TO-FACE BOOK" closes with Acknowledgments, Notes & About the Authors!
>>>...Chapter 09 - Imaging a New Social Marketing highlights that "it would be foolish to exclusively follow the siren call of online social marketing tools...Social influence represents a profound change in the way WE think about Human Behavior & Decision Making but there are hundreds of potential social strategies WE can choose...However, the most lucrative of those are based on the Power of Connecting FACE-TO-FACE!!!...>>> Also Remember, that Time Is Of The Essence! - Time Is Our Only Non-Recoverable Resource!!!...>>> Use It Well, My Friend!!!...>>> Carpe Diem / Seize The Day!!!...>>> Michael!!!...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book makes you completely re-examine social marketing, May 24, 2012
This review is from: The Face-to-Face Book: Why Real Relationships Rule in a Digital Marketplace (Hardcover)
When I first heard Ed Keller assert that 90 percent of word-of-mouth conversations happen offline, I didn't want to believe him. How could we track and measure offline conversations? Does that mean social (online) media will no longer be relevant? The Face-to-Face Book answers those questions and more. It tells you how to influence offline conversations with tools we already have. And I appreciate learning through the wealth of case studies they've collected here. So now, when I think about media strategy, I'm also thinking about how we can make our messages "talkworthy." I hope what's next for Keller and Fay is making it easy and economical to measure all that talk.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ideas Right Away, January 25, 2014
This review is from: The Face-to-Face Book: Why Real Relationships Rule in a Digital Marketplace (Hardcover)
Love this book. I was energized right away. This book takes apart social media and explains what REALLY works, and will always work with reaching your customers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun book on how humans are REALLY influenced, October 18, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Face-to-Face Book: Why Real Relationships Rule in a Digital Marketplace (Hardcover)
With all the hype on social media you would think that this would be the ultimate in how to influence people. WRONG.
Humans are so social we need Word Of Mouth to really get us to act.
Wonderful real world examples that prove their points quite convincingly. Plus, these points had applications that could be used by large and small companies. This book helped me see that while Social Media is important, it is only a small piece of the puzzle
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Helps us to remember the authentic nature of relationships, June 29, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Face-to-Face Book: Why Real Relationships Rule in a Digital Marketplace (Hardcover)
Social media creates the opportunity for us to engage and communicate like never before...for both good and bad. So called "thin relationships" built on fleeting and in-authentic digital connections are the bane of this brave new world. Keller helps us to navigate this area of the social media landscape by providing interesting and thought provoking reflection on the timelessness and ultimate value of authentic, real relationships necessary for true communication.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Person-to-person approach to social marketing, December 20, 2012
This review is from: The Face-to-Face Book: Why Real Relationships Rule in a Digital Marketplace (Hardcover)
Facebook and other social media outlets have become ubiquitous tools for marketing. However, Ed Keller and Brad Fay, co-founders of the Keller Fay Group, a market research firm, challenge the effectiveness of these social modalities, arguing that face-to-face contact, word of mouth and other offline tools are more effective social marketing approaches for driving sales success. Citing their extensive research, the authors show that most brand conversations happen offline and that when firms shift their marketing focus to Facebook, sales generally fall. Keller and Fay seem to discount social media's positive attributes for most of the book, but they find a balance by the end, acknowledging that promoters should use offline social marketing in conjunction with today's powerful online tools. getAbstract recommends their study to marketing executives, social media experts and communications personnel. You don't need to close your firm's Facebook page - but you may want to rethink how you handle social marketing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really great tool for Word of Mouth Marketing, October 17, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Terrific book with lots of really great specific insights on real face to face conversations. We have been pushing content and advertising on folks for years we forget that 90% of conversations take place face to face. Very helpful too, I recommend it for all marketing folks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You don't need to be a marketing professional..., May 24, 2012
This review is from: The Face-to-Face Book: Why Real Relationships Rule in a Digital Marketplace (Hardcover)
...to enjoy and benefit from this book. It's interesting and full of insight for people who like to understand what drives decision-making and how people make and keep personal and social connections. Two thumbs-up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't just read this book!, May 24, 2012
This review is from: The Face-to-Face Book: Why Real Relationships Rule in a Digital Marketplace (Hardcover)
Don't just read this book, study it. At Brains on Fire, we believe we're all in marketing grad school. This book is required reading, in my humble opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Face-to-Face Book: Why Real Relationships Rule in a Digital Marketplace
$26.00 $19.83
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.