Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your email address or mobile phone number.

Qty:1
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com. Gift-wrap available.
The Facebook Book: A Sati... has been added to your Cart
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: While this book has been loved by someone else, they left it in great condition. Hurry and buy it before someone else does and take advantage of our FREE Super Saver Shipping!!! (there is a chance this book could contain a gift inscription)
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 2 images

The Facebook Book: A Satirical Companion Paperback – June 1, 2008

2.5 out of 5 stars 8 customer reviews

See all 3 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Paperback, June 1, 2008
$14.95
$2.00 $0.01

Raging Sea
The Undertow Trilogy
For fans of Rick Yancey and Marie Lu, "Raging Sea" is the latest electrifying addition to this much-anticipated trilogy from author Michael Buckley. Hardcover | Kindle book
$14.95 FREE Shipping on orders over $35. Only 1 left in stock (more on the way). Ships from and sold by Amazon.com. Gift-wrap available.

Editorial Reviews

About the Author

Greg Atwan, Harvard '05, holds degrees in Literature and Classics, dabbles in journalism, and hopes one day to make Facebook stalking a career path.

Evan Lushing, Harvard '04, holds a degree in Mathematics, wrote for the Harvard Lampoon, and is a bona fide YouTube celeb.

Aurora Andrews, Harvard '07, was an art editor at that institution's prestigious Lampoon, as well as a contributor to other campus publication including the Advocate, the Gamut, and H-Bomb. She lives in Brooklyn



NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Image
Looking for the Audiobook Edition?
Tell us that you'd like this title to be produced as an audiobook, and we'll alert our colleagues at Audible.com. If you are the author or rights holder, let Audible help you produce the audiobook: Learn more at ACX.com.

Product Details

  • Paperback: 192 pages
  • Publisher: Harry N. Abrams; 1st edition (June 1, 2008)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0810995573
  • ISBN-13: 978-0810995574
  • Product Dimensions: 5 x 0.5 x 8 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 7.2 ounces (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 2.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (8 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #3,126,968 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, read author blogs, and more.

Customer Reviews

5 star
0%
4 star
50%
3 star
0%
2 star
0%
1 star
50%
See all 8 customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Paperback
This book is not going to teach you anything at all about Facebook, if you want to learn how to use the site or how to improve your profile I suggest Facebook for Dumbies. In fact, some of the suggestions the authors make don't even make sense (forinstance, accepting a friend and then immediately deleting them). HOWEVER, this is an EXTREMELY funny book that has a lot of great jokes and is a very entertaining satire of the sorts of people you meet on Facebook, dating on Facebook, etc. It is worth investing in just for the laughs--I was reading it on the bus and it was so funny I almost missed my stop. Just don't expect to learn anything, and you'll have a good time.
Comment 8 of 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback
First off, anyone familiar with the term 'facebook' will find something, if not everything, endearing about this book. Keep in mind that this tackles the topic of a transmutable subject, which has effectively made this book more of an archive of how Facebook was circa 2007 than anything else. But go ahead and reflect on something that literally just happened and indulge in the nostalgic paralysis that is 2008.

Secondly, and this is for the editors, I would have preferred it had all the profile archetypes been lumped together in the middle of the book, like a mini-facebook flanked by commentary only because a) it would have had a greater impact on the reader, particularly if these archetypes had been expanded upon to include lesser known but ubiquitous users (ie. insecure old-money set on proving their effortless lifestyle to onlooking 'friends') b) on several occasions I found some of these supplementary sidebars jarring to the point where I'd read two pages before realizing that I'd skipped an entire section c) a tactile facebook? who doesn't love irony?

Additionally, what the f happened to the original book cover? A few months ago it felt so regal and timeless, like it should have been wearing a smoking jacket and hosting masterpiece theatre. Now it reminds me of something trying to be something that is and has been dated for 20 years, if not the male counterpart to a Molly Jong-Fast novel.

****
Organizational problems and exterior aesthetic aside, this book is to facebook users what a david sedaris is to david sedaris: a self-deprecating inside joke for the very group of people it came to define.
****
Comment 8 of 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback
This book is funny, albeit maybe not to everyone but to those that enjoy tech-humor or who can laugh at themselves for their devotion to a social networking site. It is not a manual on how to use facebook. Which seems to be the problem that people are having with this book, you bought it for the wrong reason. It is meant more for teens and targets itself towards that audience. If you are planning on buying this book I recommend that you read Amazons description of it before purchasing as I feel it makes it clear that this book isn't intended to be helpful. It makes for a good laugh but not much more. If you want a gift for a teen that is spending to much time on the computer then I strongly recommend this book.
Comment 4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback
I must say, when I heard that three Harvard alumni had conspired to produce a parody of Facebook, I automatically assumed that it wouldn't be that funny, and certainly totally impertinent to the average Facebook user. I was pleasantly surprised, however, to find out that the book is not only hysterical, but I imagine virtually every Facebooker can find something they can relate to in this book.
Comment 12 of 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more
The Facebook Book: A Satirical Companion
This item: The Facebook Book: A Satirical Companion
Price: $14.95
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?