Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars one of the best by Highsmith
If you are already a Patricia Highsmith fan, I would highly recommend this book next.
While the book starts out somewhat slowly, I think this pacing helps set the overall mood of the book and allows the reader to settle into a Highsmith "high" in anticipation of another skillfully written book. At any rate, by chapter two, everything starts to wind/unwind...
Published on January 1, 2002 by Ann Ueda

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It Cries Out for a Good Movie Director
"The Two Faces of January" a psychological thriller by Patricia Highsmith, American author who was expert in that genre -- "Strangers On A Train,""The Talented Mr. Ripley --" was published in 1964. It's set largely in Greece, particularly Athens, also Crete, and does an excellent job of giving the reader the look and flavor of that country. It also drops into Paris, and...
Published on September 24, 2007 by Stephanie De Pue


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars one of the best by Highsmith, January 1, 2002
This review is from: The Two Faces of January (Highsmith, Patricia) (Paperback)
If you are already a Patricia Highsmith fan, I would highly recommend this book next.
While the book starts out somewhat slowly, I think this pacing helps set the overall mood of the book and allows the reader to settle into a Highsmith "high" in anticipation of another skillfully written book. At any rate, by chapter two, everything starts to wind/unwind as the book settles into typical Highsmith high-gear which, if you're like me, will soon leave you physicially and mentally breathless in an attempt to keep up!
The foreign setting of the book is also a delight, and the reader quickly becomes a part of the story, shadowing the 3 main characters in and out of the various cities, hotels, towns, and nefarious deeds that happen. There is also this undercurrent of very fine wit and humor throughout the book.
The ending is, of course, the best part. It's been many, many years since I was last compelled to rush to the last page, as I neared the end of the book, to find out what happened. The ending is also prime Highsmith and a bit of a surprise--not, perhaps, for the characters in the book or the storyline, but certainly for Highsmith during this particular period of her writing.
A great holiday/vacation read for anyone with a few days of peace to settle into the book--and to savor it from start to finish!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An absorbing suspense novel, July 20, 2004
By 
HORAK (Zug, Switzerland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Two Faces of January (Hardcover)
Chester Mc Farland, a clever swindler and defrauder, is travelling in Greece with his wife Colette. They are about to arrive in Athens and settle into The King's Palace.
Another American also present in Athens at the same time is Rydal Keener. He is spending several months in Europe on what money he inherited from his grandmother.
It is when Rydal sees Chester at the Benaki Museum for the first time that his resemblance to Rydal's father's twin brother strikes him. Rydal then decides to keep an eye on Chester. A few days later, Chester gets the unpleasant visit of a Greek police officer who informs him that he is working in co-operation with the American authorities. The latter are apparently more and more interested in Chester's shady past. Realising that he may well be arrested and extradited, Chester hits the policeman who then stumbles and falls, banging his head against the bathtub. A fatal blow. Chester immediately understands that he must hide the body in a small store-room down the corridor. It is at the precise moment when Chester is dragging the corps in the corridor that Rydal appears on the landing and witnesses Chester's act. Will Rydal help or blackmail Chester?
As good as "Strangers on a train" or the Ripley series by the same author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It Cries Out for a Good Movie Director, September 24, 2007
By 
Stephanie De Pue (Wilmington, NC USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Two Faces of January (Highsmith, Patricia) (Paperback)
"The Two Faces of January" a psychological thriller by Patricia Highsmith, American author who was expert in that genre -- "Strangers On A Train,""The Talented Mr. Ripley --" was published in 1964. It's set largely in Greece, particularly Athens, also Crete, and does an excellent job of giving the reader the look and flavor of that country. It also drops into Paris, and gives the reader a good picture of that city at that time. In fact, as it is set among people we might once have known, who drink and smoke heavily without even thinking about it, it gives the reader a surprisingly accurate picture of its early 1960's era.

The plot concerns one Rydal Keener, young American hanging around Europe, collecting his mail at American Express, hoping something memorable will happen before his money runs out. He trips over it in a top Athens hotel, the King's Palace, where a rich, crooked American businessman, Chester MacFarland, has accidentally killed a Greek policeman come to call on him. Rydal, a graduate of Yale Law School, had issues with his recently-deceased father, a stuffy Harvard professor, and McFarland somehow reminds the young man of his father, whose funeral he had refused to attend, gone bad. The young man gets involved with the older one, and his pretty young wife Colette, helping them to hide the body, get new fake passports, and flee Athens. Rydal never entirely understands why he has chosen to get involved with Chester, though the author makes that pretty clear to us. However, the author leaves us on our own when it comes to figuring out Chester's relationship with Rydal.

"Two Faces" will be a bit dated and dusty for most readers. It really cries out for a good contemporary movie director to blow off the cobwebs and capture the clever plot at its heart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Greek Drama from Patricia Highsmith, May 21, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Two Faces of January (Highsmith, Patricia) (Paperback)
When I heard that THE TWO FACES OF JANUARY was recently made into a film, I decided to read the novel before I see it. I've read several of Patricia Highsmith's novels (Strangers on a Train, The Talented Mr. Ripley) and many of her wonderful short stories, but this title was unfamiliar to me. I'm glad I decided to read it. This is a terrific suspense novel.

Rydal Keener, an amoral, bored young American man (shades of Mr. Ripley!), is knocking around Europe in 1962. In Athens, he comes to the aid of an older American man, Chester MacFarland, who's just accidentally killed a Greek detective. Chester reminds Rydal of his late father, with whom he had issues, and Chester's young wife, Collette, is very pretty and very--um, available. So Rydal joins the pair, getting them false passports and helping them flee to Crete. He soon learns that Chester is a notorious con man who's wanted back in the States. Rydal is very attracted to Collette, and the feelings are mutual. Chester doesn't like that, and we already know he can be a violent man. We also know from the book's title that dual personalities will play an important part in the outcome (the month of January is named after Janus, the two-faced god). Forced to stick together as they run from the authorities, these three people act out a new version of an old Greek drama.

Graham Greene called Patricia Highsmith a "poet of apprehension," and that's a perfect description of her. What I love about her stories is the feeling that we don't always know what's going to happen next. This novel is unsettling, to say the least, and it really casts a spell. It's a gripping read, start to finish. I can't wait to see the movie! Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars atmospheric and entertaining, but Highsmith has done better, April 17, 2001
By 
lazza (Fort Lauderdale, Florida) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Two Faces of January (Highsmith, Patricia) (Paperback)
'The Two Faces of January' is one of many Highsmith's lesser known works written after her early great successes ('The Talented Mr Ripley', 'Strangers on a Train') and before her decline in the 1980s. It follows the formula often used by Highsmith: two men, guilty or accused of murder, playing a psychological duel until either party breaks down. However in this novel the formula didn't work that well for me.
The story is about an American couple (hubby is a crook, wife is unfaithful) on vacation in Greece who 'accidently' kill a cop. Another American, a stranger to them, helps in covering up the crime. Of course they don't get off that easy, and the adventure begins. The relationship amongst these Americans takes odd turns, and ... you'll need to read the rest.
I suppose I found the book 'only entertaining' (versus enthralling) because I felt the main characters were generally unlikable. I had no empathy, let alone sympathy, for their plight. However perhaps the best part of the novel is the perfect capture of early 1960s vagabond European travelling (ie, before the era of jet travel and package tours) to be fascinating. So for this (probably unintentional) reason I found 'The Two Faces of January' to be a very fast read.
Bottom line: an enjoyable romp of mystery and old-fashioned European travel. No, not a Highsmith classic. But even her 'so-so' efforts are better than most.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars The morals of the young man and his class are prevailing over the villain character yet it seems like the villain is attractive, September 11, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is a story about the attraction between two men, from the point of you of the young one who tries to find his father in the older one.
The morals of the young man and his class are prevailing over the villain character yet it seems like the villain is attractive and repulsive at the same time.
The woman is the bait or the invention to hold the plot together and of course she is sacrificed
Patricia is a maestro of intrigue
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Predictable, May 20, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Two Faces of January (Highsmith, Patricia) (Paperback)
It was still a pretty good read, but I started figuring out the ending by the middle of the novel. A man, who uses several aliases, is on the run with his young, and pretty wife. There is an element of spousal abuse, and you'll be able to conclude that he's a real heel early on. Enter, a guy in Greece who starts helping them. A guy they don't really know. So you start to wonder how could he be trusted. Some good suspense. Patricia Highsmith is the author of The Talented Mr. Ripley, which was an excellent movie. The Two Faces of January will be a movie, release date unknown, starring Viggo Mortensen. It will be interesting to read what the critics have to say.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Why I was a bit disappointed...., May 4, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The reason why I chose this book was because a film was made of it. We are supposed to read the book, meet in the cinema on a certain day (before the film is released) and then discuss, together with a man who is an expert on film and book, the film. I have read more books of Highsmith, and had certain expectations. However, the book was all too obvious: a shady couple, living a lavish life, makes mistakes, a rather clums fellow tries to help them and they get involved in numerous difficulties.
The film will be much more interesting I believe! Seeing all those well-known places and, provided the actors are good, following their trail is going to be entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, June 3, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Two Faces of January (Highsmith, Patricia) (Paperback)
I love her inventive stories and scary characters! Prepare to look at people you know differently and wonder who they really are in private! Such good reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Two Predictable Faces of January, September 22, 2014
I found this book to be very predictable. It's typical of the time period in which it was written, however, so one can't be too critical of it. I read it because I had heard about the film being made and thought it might be entertaining to read in view of that. I suspect it will make a better movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Two Faces of January (Highsmith, Patricia)
The Two Faces of January (Highsmith, Patricia) by Patricia Highsmith (Paperback - January 21, 1994)
$13.00 $11.70
Usually ships in 1 to 2 months
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.