Customer Reviews


108 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (34)
3 star:
 (18)
2 star:
 (14)
1 star:
 (14)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I Thought It Was Going to Be About a Corrupted Factory
FACTORY is a dark, disturbing, formulaic, but, all things considered, better than average suspense/serial killer flick. There are one or two really gross spots, with some disquieting abduction footage. It does not, however, descend into the blatant gore-fest that many of them do. While I'm not personally a huge fan of Cusack's acting style, he and all the others play...
Published 21 months ago by Doug Park

versus
14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Really a Recommendation
At the end of the opening scroll of the cast appears the blurb "inspired by actual events." I did a little checking and found that this film is apparently (loosely?) based on the story of Gary Heidnik, who was executed by the state of Pennsylvania in 1999. Heidnik was a serial killer who preyed on prostitutes and brutalized them in a manner similar to that depicted in...
Published 18 months ago by C.Wallace


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Really a Recommendation, August 24, 2013
This review is from: The Factory (Amazon Instant Video)
At the end of the opening scroll of the cast appears the blurb "inspired by actual events." I did a little checking and found that this film is apparently (loosely?) based on the story of Gary Heidnik, who was executed by the state of Pennsylvania in 1999. Heidnik was a serial killer who preyed on prostitutes and brutalized them in a manner similar to that depicted in this film.

In the film Dallas Roberts portrays Gary Gemaux, the Heidnik character. John Cusack plays Mike Fletcher, a police detective who became obsessed with solving the case. He had spent a lot of time trying to catch the killer during a three year stretch before the period covered by the film.

The film is more than a bit melodramatic. Figuratively speaking, as the conclusion approached, that train is roaring down the track, the damsel is tied to said track, and Detective Fletcher is galloping to the rescue. In the movie, the Heidnik settting is changed, for Fletcher is driving recklessly through the snow-covered streets of a late November in Buffalo.

I thought Cusack was solid and basically carried the film. I felt that the other characters were far less convincing.

There's a bizarre twist near the end that I did not see coming. After this strange twist, the film gives us flashbacks of all the clues that we should have spotted. Yep, the clues were there. Nope, I did not pick up on any of them.

The film did keep me engaged, but I cannot give it a strong recommendation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Crazy twists, bad police work and a fairly miserable two hours, May 20, 2013
This review is from: The Factory (Amazon Instant Video)
The Factory is currently on Netflix and I can only say I'm happy I didn't pay for it. Set in Buffalo, NY - which must have one of the worst police departments in history according to this film - it's a miserable tale of abducted prostitutes and the obsessive cop who tries to track them down. Apart from the cliche of the obsessive cop, needless to say his daughter also gets abducted by the same guy. Jennifer Carpenter plays Debra Morgan and is likely to get typecast in this role forever.

It's a dark movie that's almost too dark for its own good, where the clues generally don't lead anywhere and eventually the way the killer is found is ridiculous. There's a twist at the end which is one of the most absurd I've seen in a long time (they spice it up with flashbacks of the hints like they're remaking the ending of The Sixth Sense). None of the cops knows how to call for back up and amid the abduction, sexual abuse and general aura of violence, there's a fat guy who gets called fat is about half of his scenes.

After nearly two hours of this, you'll feel like you need a shower. It's a rehash of everything we've seen before and has some uncomfortable parallels with the true story of the three women kidnapped in Ohio. John Cusack phones in his performance and there's really not much exciting about that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars IT WAS A DARK SEDAN, December 15, 2012
This review is from: The Factory (Amazon Instant Video)
Gary (Dallas Roberts) has a hobby. He kidnaps prostitutes and impregnates them. He also kills a "pre-op transgender prostitute." (The best surprise is no surprise.) Mike Fletcher (John Cusack) and Kelsey Walker (Jennifer Carpenter) are two Buffalo detectives assigned to find the missing girls. This is not a who-dun-it. We see the culprit. The first part of the film establishes character and dysfunctional relationships. When Abby (Mae Whitman), Mike's prostitute looking daughter, becomes the latest missing victim, Mike crosses the line to find her.

First off, I love John Cusack, but he is no Liam Neeson. This doesn't have the action level or intensity of "Taken", or even "Taken 2." We watch as Mike tries to locate his daughter as well as we see his daughter being "cared for," so there is no feel of urgency for the audience as there is for Mike who is trying to piece things together. There is also a flashback sequence that pops up from time to time. This ties to a twist which made the film er, um...silly.

The movie is a "B" grade crime/drama/thriller. Might work as a rental. Soundtrack played "Shuffle off to Buffalo" for no apparent reason other than the fact it has the word "Buffalo" in it. Fairly lame.

Parental Guide: F-bombs, sex?, no nudity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars John Cusack, April 24, 2013
By 
Gregory Way (Bend, Oregon United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Factory (Amazon Instant Video)
Should have waited for a better script but the movie works to entertain. Another one where you are glad you did not spend the bucks to see it in a theater but was fine for the afternoon home.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Wasted talent, dragged out plotline, November 1, 2013
This review is from: The Factory (DVD)
At a certain point about halfway in, John Cusack's character has what would in most movies be all the information he needs to catch the murderer here. But, for no clear reason other then to extend the plotline, we dither away for another 45 minutes wondering why he doesn't.
Like a lot of "Seven" wannabes this movie suffers from a lack of both the intelligence and guts that made that film so emulated. Not a lot of depth here, not enough gore to satisfy the horror fans and, as noted, the "mystery" is pathetic.
The first half of John Cusack's career made him a favorite of mine and, clearly, he has the chops to be a great. I don't know if it was bad choices, bad luck, or what but it's a shame to see him wasting his talent in sub par vehicles like this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I Thought It Was Going to Be About a Corrupted Factory, June 6, 2013
By 
Doug Park (Lexington, KY, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Factory (DVD)
FACTORY is a dark, disturbing, formulaic, but, all things considered, better than average suspense/serial killer flick. There are one or two really gross spots, with some disquieting abduction footage. It does not, however, descend into the blatant gore-fest that many of them do. While I'm not personally a huge fan of Cusack's acting style, he and all the others play their parts pretty decently. It may not be the sort of thing that one normally watches for the scenery, but the cinematography is far and away the best aspect of this film: Really fine camera work, with bleakly arresting footage of Buffalo, NY, and various other areas. The plot is nothing special, and many don't seem to like the twist at the end. Nevertheless, if you avoid the spoilers in some of the reviews here, I can just about guarantee it won't end the way you think it will.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars 4 stars for the first hour, zero stars for the last half hour, February 22, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Factory (DVD)
I normally don't write reviews, but I feel obligated with this one. Blows my mind how a movie can be so good for the first hour, then the last 30 minutes make it one of the worst movies I have ever seen. If you're looking for a movie that makes you think "wow, no human being would ever act that way" and you have zero interest in closure, this is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Watch to find out why it went straight to video., July 2, 2013
By 
Kenneth J Hawley (Houston, TX, United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Factory (Amazon Instant Video)
There is not a single character in this mess that you will care about and several that you will hope they will die sooner rather than later. Nice surprise ending, not only not telegraphed, but completely out of left field without a real hint that it was coming. The director is embarrassed enough about it that he puts in a whole montage of the clues you should have noticed, but probably didn't. Because he is also the writer, he clearly wants you to know how clever he was. Possibly the worst Cusack ever and that is saying something.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Two reasons I watched through to the end..., June 18, 2013
This review is from: The Factory (Amazon Instant Video)
#1- I admire & appreciate Cusack's work. Otherwise, this would have been a 1-star rating in my book.

#2- Other reviewers raved about the "twist ending", and I kept hoping that would make up for the rest of the movie.

Cusack did as fine a job as could be done with this limp script. Can't really imagine anyone else doing any better.

As for the "twist"... well, for me there was no twist. I spent most of the movie dismissing character lines & other hints that seemed to be obviously leading to a specific conclusion- the wrong conclusion, of course, to make the twist at the end more surprising. Turns out the hints were in fact tells: the script and direction really were THAT transparent. Very disappointing. On the plus side, there is relatively little violence/gore shown on screen, and Dallas Roberts had me convinced that he really was a very damaged, creepy, deranged psychopath. (These plusses are not enough to make me recommend the film as a whole, though.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars There's a reason it wasn't released for four years, April 24, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Factory (Amazon Instant Video)
Was curious enough about Jennifer Carpenter based on her Dexter performances to take a chance on this. Now it's clear why it sat on the shelf for years and never had a theatrical release. Weird lighting, stilted dialogue, cheesy and exploitative without being enough over the top to be camp.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Factory
The Factory by Morgan O'Neill
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.