The Fairy Fly and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
Buy New
$15.00
Qty:1
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
In Stock.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com.
Gift-wrap available.
Add to Cart
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 2 images

The Fairy Fly Paperback – September 28, 2013


See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Paperback
"Please retry"
$15.00
$15.00
If you buy a new print edition of this book (or purchased one in the past), you can buy the Kindle edition for FREE. Print edition purchase must be sold by Amazon. Learn more.

NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Product Details

  • Paperback: 298 pages
  • Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform (September 28, 2013)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1492843628
  • ISBN-13: 978-1492843627
  • Product Dimensions: 0.6 x 7.3 x 9.5 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 1.5 pounds (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (2 customer reviews)

Editorial Reviews

Review

Reviewed by Tania Staley for Readers' Favorite
"Lori Lopez's book, The Fairy Fly, is a wonderfully fanciful tale. Fans of books such as Charlotte's Web and Stuart Little are sure to be intrigued by this tale, which celebrates the little things in life and how one being, no matter how small, can make a difference. It was Lopez's unique dialogue that captured my imagination, however. Each creature had a unique voice, and the playfulness of characters, such as the Merry Mites, or the wise speeches of the Bookworm reminded me of the aura created in the works of Lewis Carroll."

More About the Author

Lori R. Lopez wears many hats, literally and otherwise. She is an artist who designs her book covers and illustrates some of her tomes. As an author she writes poems, short stories, novels, children's books and songs, as well as a humorous-slash-serious column called "Poetic Reflections" at Fairy Fly Entertainment. She is a musician, actress, filmmaker, tree-hugger and animal-lover. A vegetarian, her work often contains themes of conservation, animal rights, and the rights of children. Lori unapologetically takes pride in creatively bending and reshaping the rules of writing when it suits her style.

A horror fan since small, she roamed graveyards as a kid and conducted funerals for dead birds, squirrels, insects and spiders. Lori has received various honors for her novels THE FAIRY FLY and AN ILL WIND BLOWS. She was named on an Examiner.com list of "92 HORROR AUTHORS YOU NEED TO READ RIGHT NOW" for WOMEN IN HORROR MONTH 2014. Her books also include CHOCOLATE-COVERED EYES, THE MACABRE MIND OF LORI R. LOPEZ, OUT-OF-MIND EXPERIENCES, DANCE OF THE CHUPACABRAS, POETIC REFLECTIONS: KEEP THE HEART OF A CHILD; THE MUDPUPPY and THE FOX TROT (based on childhood experiences).

Her stories and verse, featured in THE SIRENS CALL E-ZINE and at SERVANTE OF DARKNESS, have been published in anthologies such as TERROR TRAIN, WE ARE DUST AND SHADOWS, BONES II, MIRAGES: TALES FROM AUTHORS OF THE MACABRE, MASTERS OF HORROR: DAMNED IF YOU DON'T, DARLINGS OF DECAY, I BELIEVE IN WEREWOLVES, THE EPOCALYPSE: EMAILS AT THE END, SOUP OF SOULS, THIRSTY ARE THE DAMNED, and SCARE PACKAGE: 14 TALES OF TERROR. Fifteen of Lori's poems were published for an anthology titled IN DARKNESS WE PLAY.

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
2
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
See both customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Vix Kirkpatrick on June 29, 2013
Format: Kindle Edition
Who knew spiders could be cute, not me... I hate(d) them... but how could I NOT fall in love with this little fella, not only is he cute, cuddly, on a "quest" but he Yodels!
As Spider emerges from his nest he is thrown in to Life and he starts his quest for Home, with a little help from some astonishing sources; danger lurks around each corner with some unexpected grins, the humour is rife; "bite the dust bunny!"

Lori Lopez has such a beautiful way of describing scenes/environments that you can almost feel yourself become scaled down to this world.
She has surpassed herself with this story; a wonderful world, some beautiful characters, various life lessons along the way, a multitude of fantastic little poems and lullabys and not to mention the fantasy element thrown in for good measure. I am so looking forward to getting this book in print to enjoy the illustrations too.

The moral compass of this book is steadfast. The telling of tales within the book is ingenious and gentle, but brutally honest.
Lori Lopez astounds me time and again with her use of words; be prepared to learn a few new ones!

Loves the author Bio at the end; Lori... you will always be my favourite crackpot! (ps they DO give out cards!)
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful By Jenn on May 16, 2013
Format: Kindle Edition
Have you ever wondered what the personality of a bug may be like? Well after you read this wonderful fairy tail you will have to wonder no more. Follow Spider as he tries to find his way back home to his mother and learn the lessons of life, fear and friendship along with him.
Every step Spider takes seems to be looming with danger, but the things he learns and both the friends and foes he meets along the way have something for him. That is right this little fella learns from everyone he meets in his travels.

This is a great novel for children and adults alike. Some of the lessons with in will stay with you or your child for a long time to come. One example is, words can hurt and it is not always what you say but how you say it. Lori Lopez uses her beautiful poetic words to bring this to life with loveable characters and slightly scary foes. This is in no way a book that is will cause fear unless you just don't like bugs. But even people who don't like bugs, I think, should give it a chance because it is such a fun and imaginative book.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Customer Images

Search