Truck Month Spring Reading 2016 Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_cbcc_7_fly_beacon $5 Albums Fire TV with 4k Ultra HD Gifts for Mom to look and feel great Mother's Day Gifts Amazon Gift Card Offer ctstrph2 ctstrph2 ctstrph2  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Fire, Only $39.99 Kindle Paperwhite UniOrlando Shop Now SnS

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon March 4, 2010
The Fallen of the title of this intense political thriller are a cult-like group of professional spies, highly trained military black ops types and upper-level espionage operatives. They represent nearly all the major and some smaller governments around the world. These men have been coerced, or led into betraying their nations and the rest of the world. Now a group has focused on a meeting of twenty world leaders at the G8 summit. The initiation of their plan to highjack the meeting and grab many of the world's top leaders begins with a series of carefully complex and precise actions. These actions have a tendency to hype the level of tension in the early part of the novel at a rapid rate.

The difficulty of this is that by the time the plot moves into its negotiation phase and the world leaders begin to formulate push-back operations, the tension tends to level off somewhat in the midsection of the novel. One way the author has fought this tendency is by breaking the book into unusually brief sections. There are eighty-eight chapters in span of 286 pages. Mostly, it works.

The writing is crisp, the dialogue and narrative littered with the jargon of high-tech electronics and military ops which adds to the atmosphere. The book is packed with action and conflicts especially among the US political and military leaders attempting to sort out and resolve the situation. An undercover asset, the hero or protagonist of the novel is the most fully developed character and he satisfactorily fills his role. An enjoyable read well-centered in the modern political thriller genre.

I note that a copy of the book was supplied at no cost.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 11, 2011
If you like action similar to "Die Hard" you're in for an enjoyable story. Let's say you're a super-agent, undercover where a plot against world leaders is suspected. Let's say your old buddy who is a highly trained Special Forces dude has moved over to the dark side and is suspected to be involved in the plot. It doesn't take many pages before the killing starts and doesn't let up until the last gasp on the last page. With nicks and cuts and all kinds of bumps super-agent crawls through the duct works like a regular chimney sweep. In the process his bloody body is saved multiple times by an untrained but gorgeous gal who squirms along with him through the ordeal. If it was reality the story would end for our hero on his first encounter with evil, but that's not how it is in real make-believe.

In the old b-westerns the hero was always tied up by the bad guys. He gets loose and eliminates the bad guys. We of course didn't want the hero to die but it sure would have made life easier for the bad guys if they had shot him instead of tying him up.

I still like it when the hero wins.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 13, 2010
The G8 Summit is coming up and 20 leaders from around the world will be in attendance at it the Cheyenne Resort in Colorado Springs. Security is extremely tight, with multiple agencies trying to coordinate with each other. But someone with a grudge against the US plans to make it a summit that the world won't soon forget: the Fallen Angel. Formerly an operative for the United States, Richard Coffee has returned to get revenge with his band of intelligence outcasts, who are among the best in the world at what they do. What Coffee doesn't count on is the presence of an old friend turned foe: Derek Stillwater. Working undercover as a maintenance man at the resort, Stillwater is called into action when the Angels implement their plan to take over the summit and hold the leaders for ransom. It isn't money they want though; rather it's the release of all their fellow Angels from Gitmo. However, things change when Coffee's 2nd in command kills him and plans to release a biological weapon unless his new demands are met. Can Stillwater do what he has to stop this new threat or are the odds against him simply too much?

The Fallen by Mark Terry is a very well done, albeit formulaic novel. The hero, Derek Stillwater, is your classic hero with a mysterious past about which few facts can be confirmed. Terry uses the familiar G8 summit as his backdrop and creates a sense of realism that few authors can match. Protests occur at nearly every international meeting of world leaders and the G8 summit is no exception. I think it is just a matter of time before something similar to the events in Terry's novel happens in real life. Of course, in the novel, the mysterious hero is already in place to beat the odds, save the girl and prevent disaster. Terry does a great job of creating a scenario that while very formulaic is still very interesting and engaging to read. I completed the novel nearly in one sitting and I predict many who pick up this book will do the same. I heartily give this book 5 of 5 stars.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 19, 2013
There really wasn't much of a story here. A group of terrorists hold the G20 leaders hostage, and threaten to kill them if their demands aren't met. Law enforcement groups, of course, try to free the hostages.

That's it. In between, the author takes us in depth through what happens on both sides. The problem is that the focus is on intricate technical details about everything. By technical, I mean not only descriptions like the types of weapons and how they work, or how an elevator shaft looks, but also descriptions about how the characters go from point A to point B. Instead of saying, for example, "he was barely able to walk across the room with his injured leg," we get something like "Every bone in his body, every fiber of his being, cried out in pain. He looked across the room to see if his bloody, shattered leg would hold up long enough to get to the other side. He fought off the excruciating pain and decided he had no choice. Slowly, he inched his way along. A bolt of lightning shot through his leg and made him almost pass out. He took another step, grabbed his leg, his head started spinning, then...black. When he came to, five minutes later, he tried again, even though the pain was worse."

Those are not quotes from the book. I made them up, but you get the point. The whole book is like that. Way too much minutiae, and not enough background on the characters and their motivations, especially those of the terrorists. The human element takes a back seat to the physical details.

Overall, it was okay, but could have been a lot better.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 19, 2012
I agree with a couple of other reviews, the action in The Fallen is very similiar to Die Hard. Which works for me, as I consider Die Hard as my all-time favorite movie. I have even read the book that the movie is based on: Nothing Lasts Forever (The book that inspired the movie Die Hard) by Roderick Thorp. That being said, I did enjoy The Fallen. Loved the pacing and the action. The best action book ever? No, but it met my expectations and it delivered on its' product description. I picked up this exciting Derek Stillwater book for free back in 2011 or so and finally got around to it. It is the 3rd book in the series and they make numerous references to characters & events from the earlier books. Not this books fault. I plan to go back and read this series in order. I believe the first Derek book is: The Devil's Pitchfork (Derek Stillwater thrillers) and The Serpent's Kiss (Derek Stillwater thrillers) is the 2nd book.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 27, 2011
Derek Stillwater, a troubleshooter for the Department of Homeland Security with a questionable reputation in some law enforcement circles, is up against his former partner in special operations and best friend, Richard Coffee. Coffee is now calling himself The Fallen, and is now the leader of a band of terrorists seeking to hold the leaders of the most recent G8 summit hostage. In the tradition of other, similar heroes, he relies mostly a doggged determination to get the job done no matter how badly he's hurting, his own resourcefullness, and just the right amount of luck. There are plenty of cliff hangers as the story unfolds. The sharp-eyed reader may notice an inconsistency, but it is only a minor one, and doesn't really change the story.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 30, 2012
What better location to plan a terrorist attack than a G8 Summit were all the world leaders and their staffers are attending the summit at the Cheyenne Resort in Colorado Springs? This is exactly what Richard Coffee of The Fallen Angels is planning to do and it's up to agent Derek Stillwater to stop them.

The story follows Derek who has been undercover at the resort posing as a maintenance man as he tries to stop the terrorists. Their plot is sophisticated and extensive and appears to be infallible, but they did not take into account that Derek was on the site. He manages to pick off one terrorist at a time, but not without a number of attacks against him. He gets shot, stabbed, punched, falls down elevator shafts, and yet, he carries on with the mission to stop this attack. The action is non-stop in this heart-pounding political thriller. The secondary characters, especially Maria, are well-fleshed out. I loved that Maria was a strong, savvy woman who didn't cower in the corner when the terrorists attack.

While I had to suspend belief that any one man could sustain so many injuries and still carry on, I thoroughly enjoyed this story. After all, how many times did James Bond get in tough spots and yet managed to save the world? The author gives us snippets of Derek's life, enough to make me read the other Derek Stillwater novels, and that's the highest praise for any author. Fans of political thrillers will certainly enjoy this.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 18, 2012
This was a really fun read with total non stop action. I felt really sorry for the main character, Derek Stillwater, who was put through so much in such a short time frame - I think even Matt Reilly's characters of Shane "Scarecrow" Schofield and Jack West Jr get a bit of breathing space - and Reilly is the total master of the non stop rollercoaster action genre!

I think as long as you suspend any disbelief you can enjoy this - just accept that Stillwater can keep on going with so many injuries - it makes it much easier.

So overall - good characters, nice interplay between them, fun story, nice twist or two, recommend to read.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 13, 2013
...but it sure isn't good... Some sections were well crafted and genuinely harrowing, but the overall pace is bad. The author keeps moving the goal post, so that by the time we arrive at the final climax, it feels a bit anti-climatic. Our primary villain leaves the stage without any dramatic impact, and our hero suffers from a terminal case of bullet proof-ness: his ability to keep on functioning despite repeated injury inspires less admiration than eye rolling, and took me out of the story.

The writer is clearly capable of good work. What he needed here was an editor to help him focus his powers, and help him see that more is often less.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 3, 2012
I wanted to stop reading in the beginning when F-14's were flying CAP. why would Naval aircraft be flying CAP in Colorado ? I think the USAF would be doing that with F-15's or F-16's

I continued to read however but then in chapter 57 he gave the name of Moo Duk Kwan to an Asian from Korea..... Puhleese Moo Duk Kwan is not an Asian family name. It is a discipline of a type of martial arts of Tae Kwon Do. I know since I have been a student and teacher of it for many years. That was a big turn off, surely you could have researched a better Asian name than that
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse