Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: The Family Ewing
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on March 29, 2008
Ah the controversial dream season arrives! I guess we're not in Dallas anymore Toto. For that alone this deserves a five-star rating. Admittedly, many (if not all) Dallas fans were deeply conflicted about the show's attempt at adding a bit of gloss to the sudsy goings-on at Southfork. The void left in the wake of Patrick Duffy's departure would be felt throughout the season despite the extra testosterone supplied by Dack Rambo, Marc Singer and the return of John Beck. Interestingly enough, the show's original premise was to have Bobby die following his wedding to Pam, leaving the grieving widow to deal with the Ewings. And while the powers-that-be kept flirting with the idea (Mr. Hagman certainly played it this way for most of the show's run), even going so far this season as to set the perfect stage - the battle between Pam and JR never quite materializes - ill-veiled threats from both sides notwithstanding. While most of the new ideas meant to revitalize the show ultimately caused a kind of dissonance to its brand, they, at the least, made this particular season stand out. Frankly, had I been faced with trying to create excitement for the show at this point, why bother with Angelica Nero? I'd have negotiated a cross-over storyline with Dynasty. Imagine JR and Alexis playing a corporate "Strangers on a Train" deal of you destroy my enemy and I'll destroy yours. Nielsen would've blown a fuse! But I digress. This season is well worth Pam's extended REM cycle with enough intrigue and melodrama to keep everyone on tenterhooks until she flings open that shower door and finds there's no place like home.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 8, 2008
"Dallas" Season 9 (1985-86) begins with final goodbyes to Bobby as the Ewing clan come together to pay their respects. This season sees the departure of Patrick Duffy, as Bobby, and the return of the much beloved Barbara Belle Geddes, as she reprises her role as Miss Ellie. Donna Reed, of course, exits the show, and new faces abound as Jenilee Harrison (Three's Company) as Jamie Ewing Barnes, Dack Rambo as Jack Ewing, Marc Singer as Matt Cantrell, and John Beck returns as Mark Graison. As mentioned in the previous reviews, "Season 9" is Pam Ewing's "dream season," and is quiet enjoyable in it's storyline and characters. The return of Patrick Duffy as Bobby Ewing in the following season, was no doubt an attempt to boost the shows TV ratings and put it back in the top spot. "Dallas" fans have seen "the best" of the series with these 9 season sets, with the shows producers and directors loosing the show's identity with far-fetched shcemes and over-the-top glamour that strays way too far from the original formula that made "Dallas" the traditional TV drama that viewers loved to endulge themselves in. The original formula of TV's "Dallas" guaranteed the viewer a season filled with fun and creative storylines which remained in a believable setting that the viewer had not only become familiar with, but enjoyed looking forward to the suspense and drama that came with each episodes deals, plots, and schemes! And as the season came to it's close it always gleefully culminated into a "season finale cliffhanger" that left you begging for more!

Here's a listing of "Dallas" Season 9 episodes:

1- The Family Ewing- The Ewings come together for Bobby's funeral; Dusty tells Sue Ellen he loves her; Miss Ellie is happy to have Gary back for a time

2- Rock Bottom- Sue Ellen goes on a massive bender, as a worried Clayton and Miss Ellie search for her; Bobby's will is read, leaving Cliff hoping to take advantage of its orders; Mandy presses J.R. to divorce Sue Ellen

3- Those Eyes- Clayton and Miss Ellie keep searching for Sue Ellen; Pam is courted by two offers for Christopher's Ewing Oil shares; J.R. and Dusty clash over Sue Ellen

4- Resurrection- Miss Ellie ponders Jeremy Wendell's offer for her Ewing Oil shares; Dusty vows to stick by Sue Ellen; Pam is tailed by a mysterious figure

5- Saving Grace- Pam is stunned to discover Mark Graison really is alive; J.R. digs into Jack's background; Ray and Miss Ellie question whether to accept Weststar's offer for their Ewing Oil shares; Dusty worries his attempt to help Sue Ellen may actually be a hindrance to her recovery

6- Mothers- Sue Ellen's mother comes to Southfork, hoping to get her and J.R. together again; Mark explains his absence to Pam, who decides what to do with Christopher's Ewing Oil shares; Jack grows fond of Jenna; Miss Ellie wrestles with her decision on her own Ewing Oil shares

7- The Wind of Change- Miss Ellie and Pam make their final decisions on the Weststar offer; Donna and Ray get bad news about her pregnancy; Sue Ellen continues to progress in her recovery; Jack woos Jenna further; Mandy shows up at the Oil Baron's Ball

8- Quandary- Ray and Donna investigate options to deal with their retarded baby; Dusty claims he's staying in Dallas; J.R. immediately seeks to find a way to rid himself of Pam; Cliff wants Jamie back; Angelica Nero wines and dines the town's oilmen

9- Close Encounters- Angelica attends a Southfork Rodeo; Sue Ellen's mother warns her away from Dusty; J.R. offers Jack a job at Ewing Oil

10- Suffer The Little Children- Donna is rushed to the hospital, with hers and the baby's life at risk; Cliff tries to repair his relationships with Jamie and Pam; Sue Ellen renews the custody battle with J.R., who's busy discovering Angelica's past

11- The Prize- John Ross runs away as the custody fight comes to a close; Angelica tries to rush her deal with Ewing Oil, while J.R. continues to investigate her motives

12- En Passant- J.R. appeals his loss of John Ross' custody; Donna and Ray deal with the loss of their baby in very different ways; J.R.'s kidnapped detective is used by Angelica and Nicholas to futher the Marinos venture; Sue Ellen and her mother argue over her future

13- Goodbye, Farewell, and Amen- J.R. hopes to trick Sue Ellen into giving up custody; Jenna breaks things off with Jack; Pam wants to vacation with Mark; Clayton makes a deal without Miss Ellie's knowledge

14- Curiosity Killed The Cat- Clayton shields Miss Ellie from his financial pinch; Ray and Donna move into Southfork; Cliff tries to tell Mandy that J.R. doesn't care about her; Jack goes missing

15- The Missing Link- Pam seeks answers about the emerald from Matt Cantrell; Mandy double-crosses J.R.; Jack is still missing, and his presence is needed more than ever; Sue Ellen starts working

16- Twenty-Four Hours- The search for Jack takes new urgency as Jamie lay near death; Donna starts working with downs syndrome kids; Angelica reveals why Jack is so important to her; Pam seeks a way to work with Mark.

17- The Deadly Game- Jamie slowly recovers at the hospital; J.R. recruits Marilee Stone into the Marinos deal; Clayton's problems ease, not knowing Miss Ellie is the source; Pam arranges for a visit to Mark's Colombian emerald mine

18- Blame It On Bogota- J.R. and Cantrell continue their plot to set up Pam; Angelica grows unhappy over the profit sharing arrangement from the Marinos deal; Mark feels he and Pam may not have a future

19- Shadow Games- Pam and Matt get to Colombia; Sue Ellen's newfound stability makes J.R. reevaluate her; Clayton finds out Miss Ellie balied him out; Donna confides to Miss Ellie that her baby would've had downs syndrome; Jenna becomes increasingly despondant over Bobby's death

20- Missing- J.R. and local authorities try to locate Pam, who has disappeared in Colombia; Jack succumbs to Grace's wiles; Mandy stops working for Cliff

21- Dire Straits- Mark and Cliff work to secure Pam's release; Jenna sinks deeper into depression; Donna grows close to a retarded child; J.R. thinks he understands Dimitri; Mandy confesses her treachery

22- Overture- J.R. shows an increasingly active interest in reconciling with Sue Ellen; Jenna begins to realize she can't deal with her grief over Bobby alone; Pam wants to explore the emerald mine; Ray takes interest in a deaf foster child

23- Sitting Ducks- J.R. grows more suspicious of Angelica and the Marinos deal; Pam must defend her job at Ewing Oil; Lucy's wedding rattles Jenna; Ray continues to grow fond of a parentless deaf boy

24- Masquerade- J.R. and Jack are unaware of the danger they're in at the Martinique conference; Pam questions her role at Ewing Oil; Jenna nears a total mental breakdown

25- Just Desserts- Angelica disappears in the aftermath of the assassination attempt; Jenna plans to leave Dallas; Ray talks to Donna about adopting; Pam makes a decision regarding her employment at Ewing Oil

26- Nothing's Ever Perfect- Having regained control of Ewing Oil, J.R. sets his sights firmly on Sue Ellen; Ray and Donna start adoption procedures; Angelica plots revenge; Jenna second-guesses leaving Southfork

27- J.R. Rising- J.R. tries to get a bigger piece of the Marinos deal; Ray's manslaughter conviction hampers the adoption proceedings; Matt makes an emerald strike; Angelica comes back to the United States

28- Serendipity- Cliff thinks J.R.'s set up he and the cartel for failure in the Marinos deal; Donna and Ray work on Tony's reluctance to be adopted; Jamie fears a new Barnes/Ewing feud is brewing; Angelica makes a beeline for Dallas

29- Thrice In A Lifetime- The cartel is ready to join Cliff to battle J.R.; Pam and Mark make wedding preparations; Angelica moves forward with her revenge scheme; the Krebbs meet more obstacles in their quest to adopt Tony

30- Hello, Goodbye, Hello- New ranch hand Ben Stivers prompts suspicion from Clayton and Punk; J.R. gets valuable information against Mark Graison, but finds Ewing Oil in danger; Ray and Donna get a hearing in their adoption case; Angelica gets closer to her revenge

31- Blast From The Past- J.R. pledges himself anew to Sue Ellen; Angelica brings her revenge plot to fruition; Ray and Donna learn if they'll be allowed to adopt Tony; Pam and Mark are married, but she awakens to a surprise in her shower...

"Dallas - The Complete Tenth Season" is probably scheduled for a late Autumn release this year, and will continue where Season 8 left off, which makes this "Season 9" sadly "obsolete." I just don't understand how the show's writers could simply toss out Season 9's storylines and happenings and think that the show wouldn't be damaged in some way by it? Bobby Ewing was a great part of the "Dallas" cast, however, his resurrection became the death of it.
1818 comments| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 27, 2008
Well, here we are finally, at the release of the famous dream season. Now, after my last review where I got down on the last season, I found upon re-watching it that it was really quite good-I think all of Dallas is brilliant in it's way really. So, this season is different to be sure-Leonard Katzman was gone and the style of the show went very glamorous, very Dynasty-esque, and it is not at all like Dallas of before or after in many ways. Lucy is gone and that doesn't matter of course, but Bobby is also gone and that does indeed make a difference. The season itself has of course been hampered in retrospect by the fact that we now know none of it really happens. Nevertheless, there are still plenty of interesting twists and turns that keep the season good dramatically. The only question is how you will react to the different ways that the characters speak and act, and that I've found is more a matter of personal taste than anything else. I am not going to lie that this is probably my least favorite season of the show for these reasons I've listed above-but it still beats almost anything else from other shows, and it's still Dallas so it gets 5 stars, especially after I was pleasantly surprised by my re-viewing of the last season on DVD. With Barabara Bel Geddes back as Miss Ellie, and also starring Jared Martin as Dusty Farlow, Steve Forrest as Ben Stivers, Deborah Shelton as Mandy Winger, Jenilee Harrison as Jamie Ewing Barnes, Dack Rambo as Jack Ewing, Marc Singer as Matt Cantrell, and John Beck as Mark Graison.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 10, 2008
I don't understand eveyone's criticism of the way Bobby was brought back, it was creative and brilliant! Plus, it erased the awful direction the writers were going with the Angelica story. The one thing that set Dallas and Dynasty apart was that Dynasty, though very entertaining was over the top glamorous and thus somewhat silly, Dallas was down to earth with real characters, and season 9's attempt at emulating Dynasty was it's downfall, not Pam's dream.

The only downside for me, was the difference in time left a disconnect from Dallas and spin off Knots Landing which didn't allow for any future cross overs, except for the Dallas series finale.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 1, 2008
Okay, so it was all a dream, but what a fun dream it was. The whole Angelica Nero/Dmitri Marinos plotline is vintage 80s (check out those crazy outfits Angelica wore!) and culminates in what is one of my all-time favorite Dallas lines: Harry McSween, JR's pet police detective,says to the struggling Angelica as he leads her out of JR's office at Ewing Oil "Come on, Ms. Nero, let's you and me take an elevator ride and I'll explain to you all about the Miranda decision." Now, you just don't get writing like that on TV nowadays. Five stars all the way for this season.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon August 4, 2008
I am a huge 'Dallas' fan and yet I find myself on the fence about this Ninth Season. When stacked up against the previous seasons released, the ninth is just strange, oddly paced and not as exciting and thrilling as the previous ones. Is it good? Yes, of course, but it's just an average good, not the 'great' stamp you could put on the other seasons.

What you'll like about The Ninth Season is how we finally get a break from all the 'fight for Ewing Oil' saga. There is a plot element of this season that I won't spoil that has someone new moving into Bobby's now vacant office, but I never really perceived this as a fight for control as in the previous seasons. With Bobby out of the picture, the show seemed to shift the focus from the Ewing men to the Ewing women. Did it work? I thought so. Linda Gray's performance early on in this season is just beyond words. We get to see Sue Ellen's descent into pure drunkdom and how she falls to pieces as a result. I liked that Miss Ellie (played again by Barbara Bel Geddes) steps in this season and instead of always being whisked away by Clayton to some exotic vacation as in the previous seasons, Miss Ellie stays put at Southfork and realizes that she needs to keep everyone in line. We see a very strong, determined, motherly but wise Miss Ellie pretty much set everyone straight. The other women of the show including Donna, Pam and Jenna all have rather big plot arcs that dominate the season. The show even added a femme fatal character, Angelica Nero, to shake things up. I enjoyed the break from the usual oil and fight for the business plots and the focus being on the family and the characters as they cope with Bobby's lost and try to find new paths and directions in their lives.

What you won't like is the pacing. I found this season to be rather uneven, unfocused, always seeming to shift and switch to different plots which left me as a viewer feeling jarred and confused. I still don't really understand the entire Angelica Nero plot; she seemed to be added in just to wear fancy clothes and threaten J.R. and Jack Ewing. Then we have Pam in the middle of the season going off to Colombia ... something else that left me wishing the focus of the show stayed on the city and happenings in and around Dallas, Texas. Sue Ellen's sobriety seemed to come too quickly from her departure from the sanatorium. There is also a point in the season where things that happened early on seem to be forgotten; Sue Ellen's re-adjusted quickly and not speaking of her early-season troubles, J.R. oddly goes from wanting to do away with Sue Ellen to being obsessed with re-capturing her heart, Jenna is over-the-top obsessed with Bobby until the final episodes of the season ... it was just confusing and a jumble of plots and odd behaviors and plots.

I won't touch the final episode of the season 'Blast from the Past' though many have already spoiled it. I think it's that episode that really leaves me on the fence about this season. The show appeared to have taken a big chance with many characters and even some plots such as Donna and Ray's pregnancy/child situation, but one episode pretty much undoes it all. An entire season of development, of confrontations such as one between Pam and Jenna that was a major twist, or Cliff finally coming to respect Jamie, undone to be re-written for the next season. Depending on your take of the season, it may have been a good or bad thing.

In all, this season was just okay for me. It is fun to watch knowing that it's a dream because there are sudden hints and allusions dropped throughout the season that hint that most of this is just a dream. There was a grittier feel to at least half the season - the second half felt more soap opera, over-the-top like similar to 'Dynasty' rather than having the drama edge of the past seasons. I also felt the quality of the DVD transfer could have been a bit better. In all, good, but not a great season. Check it out.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 20, 2008
Anybody else getting tired of the SAME old extras on every set? They keep giving us featurettes that repeat information about DALLAS that we already know!! How many times do they need to examine what an impact DALLAS had on popular culture? ESPECIALLY the WHO SHOT J.R. episode? And did you know that DALLAS foreshadowed the greed and me, me, me popular culture of the 80's? I mean, give us something the hardcore fans don't know! I find it hard to believe that someone is picking up Season 9 not having watched previous seasons or knowing what DALLAS meant to the era in which it belonged. How about an interview with a cast member? Or the prequel T.V. movie? Or anything that doesn't seem very surface and uninspired? What do you guys think? P.S. Victoria Principal looks more beautiful than ever this season.. WOW!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 18, 2008
Fortunately, the real Miss Ellie is back (in the form of Barbara Bel Geddes) but this is an otherwise strange year.

With Bobby ostensibly dead, new writer/producers took over the show and attempt to make it both more introspective (like spin-off KNOTS LANDING) but also more glamorous (like rival DYNASTY).

The first half of the season almost works--- it's edgier and experimental. But mid-way thru, the plotting just becomes muddled without any direction, and you have characters making nice-nice who never ordinarily would. The scenes become increasingly maudlin, taking on a frankly prissy "Little-Woman-Fixes-All" perspective which is riminiscent of the old daytime soaps from prior decades, and it's not an improvement.

By year's end (SPOILER ALERT!!) Bobby re-appears in Pam's shower... Back in 1986, this became DALLAS' biggest cliffhanger since J.R. was shot: how is Bobby alive??

But it was the answer which became THE biggest "Jump the Shark" moment in TV history: Bobby's death and the entire subsequent year was all one long dream on the part of Bobby's ex-wife, Pam.

Many long-term viewers tuned-out never came back. The dream scenario became a sitcom punchline for years.

Sure, DALLAS was a "soap", but also one of the most influential shows in TV history, and fans were appalled by the use of the dream because it wasn't the kind of device the series was accustomed to previously throwing at their audience.

Suffice it to say, DALLAS never recovered either its audience or the hard-won respect it had earned up until that time. DALLAS had quite literally become a legend in its own time, and critics had eventually been won over by the show, acknowledging it to be a legitimate drama--- until this, an insulting plot contrivance which wound up validating all the "it's just a soap" cliches the series had worked so fervently to overcome prior to that.

The use of the dream was the result of petty squabbles between producers, with the fans ultimately left out in the cold. And even to this day, some people close to the show claim that the dream was "the only way to bring Bobby back" and that "the ratings surged up again after the dream scenario was used"....

Neither of which was true at all.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 17, 2008
DALLAS FANS....please help get KNOTS LANDING and FALCON CREST on DVD.....we need high sales the first week of Knots Landings 2nd Season Release (sometime in 2009) (which features the first appearance of DONNA MILLS (as Abby)). See details below:

A couple of nights ago the Home Theater Forum presented Warner Brothers Home Video (T.V. and Animation divisions only) for a chat. During the forum, Warner Brothers FINALLY said they are giving KNOTS LANDING another chance by releasing SEASON 2 sometime in 2009. Therefore, in order for this series to have continued success, We, the fans and any other curious viewers, new viewers, etc... need to show support to buy this series. ESPECIALLY THE FIRST WEEK OF IT'S RELEASE!!! THE FIRST WEEK SALES WILL DETERMINE CONTINUED DVD SEASON SETS OF KNOTS LANDING.....

Very much like a new movie, when it's released in theaters, the first week opening sales determines if a movie should/could have a sequel. (think in terms of the recent "Dark Knight" movie with Heath Ledger) which was a box office hit the first week (and beyond) when it was in theaters this summer. The movie is also coming out with a sequel within the next 2-3 years because of this success.

Therefore if you apply those terms to the first week sales of the DVD release of Knots Landing's 2nd season, it will have continued success, like it's sister show DALLAS. Please, I know the economy has not been the greatest (and it seems to be getting worse) and soon most of us will only be able to watch t.v. at home anyway (instead of going to the movies), please save your money and support this wonderful show. PLEASE BUY THIS THE 2ND SEASON THE FIRST WEEK OF IT'S RELEASE!!! If all is successful, Warner Brothers will continue to produce the remaining seasons of this show as well as another show....FALCON CREST.....that's right, all you FALCON CREST fans out there, according to Warner Brothers chat the other night, sales of KNOTS LANDING will also help determine releasing not only more KNOTS LANDING, but FALCON CREST as well. So FALCON CREST fans.....listen up....check out Knots Landing Season 1 (now) & Season 2 (in 2009)!!! Your show will be next up to bat if you do this.

I hope this helps the fans of both shows understand how important buying your favorite show the first week its release helps determine whether or not the studios will continue releasing a series (and other series). JUST A REMINDER: click on the Amazon's wish list reminder link to let you know when KNOTS LANDING SEASON 2 is released (it's definitely coming in 2009!!). Then when Warner makes the annoucement for the release, Amazon will let you know via email and then you can preorder your copy!! Thanks for reading!!!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 13, 2013
I absolutely love the show. However the quality of the DVDs were terrible. I had pixels and skipping through BRAND NEW DVDs. I was hoping to resell them after watching them, but that won't be the case as I would not want anyone else to have such poor quality of a product. I got no resolution from the seller because they said it was past my return time. The thing is, who sits down and watches an entire SEASON in the length of time they give you for returns? No one. So I am stuck. Did anyone else have these issues with the DVDs? I would love to know. I also purchased season 3 and season 7 and had the same issues. I had two episodes in season 9 that would not play AT ALL.
77 comments| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.