Customer Reviews


87 Reviews
5 star:
 (45)
4 star:
 (31)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delicious Recipes!
Rockridge Press' The Fast Diet Cookbook: Low Calorie Fast Diet Recipes and Meal Plans for the 5:2 Diet and Intermittent Fasting is a must-read for anyone who has struggled with fast dieting in the past. I found the recipes in the book to be very helpful, delicious, and easy to follow, with great pictures to make it easy to decide which recipes to choose. My three...
Published 17 months ago by DonnaCarlotta

versus
35 of 35 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Check the Calorie Counts
We have tried a few of the recipes and really likes them (Tuna Melt, Seafood Fried Rice, Garlic Cilantro Quinoa Burger). However, the Seafood Fried Rice calorie count is off. The recipe says it is 150 calories per serving. Let's see, 1/2 cup cooked rice is 100 calories, 2 oz shrimp is 60 calories, 2 oz scallops is 52 calories - whoops, already at 200 calories without...
Published 15 months ago by PAEME


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

35 of 35 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Check the Calorie Counts, August 12, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
We have tried a few of the recipes and really likes them (Tuna Melt, Seafood Fried Rice, Garlic Cilantro Quinoa Burger). However, the Seafood Fried Rice calorie count is off. The recipe says it is 150 calories per serving. Let's see, 1/2 cup cooked rice is 100 calories, 2 oz shrimp is 60 calories, 2 oz scallops is 52 calories - whoops, already at 200 calories without adding in the remaining ingredients! We cut the rice serving in half to keep the calorie count close. Additionally, there are some recipes that are missing the calorie counts (although I found them later on in the book in the Monthly Meal Plan section). I purchased the Kindle Edition so maybe the actual book is better? As I said, food tastes quite good, but now I feel like I have to verify the calorie counts for all the recipes, kind of defeats the purpose.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delicious Recipes!, June 27, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Rockridge Press' The Fast Diet Cookbook: Low Calorie Fast Diet Recipes and Meal Plans for the 5:2 Diet and Intermittent Fasting is a must-read for anyone who has struggled with fast dieting in the past. I found the recipes in the book to be very helpful, delicious, and easy to follow, with great pictures to make it easy to decide which recipes to choose. My three favorites that I continue to make all the time now were the recipes for Coconut Chocolate Cupcakes, Banana Walnut Bread, and Spicy Tandoori Chicken. As the variety of these three foods suggest, this book doesn't just offer dessert or dinner recipes, it has it all! Most importantly though, I found the overall attitude of this dieting book to be unique and refreshing. Unlike other dieting regimens and recipe books I've tried in the past, this one really makes you feel and see that, as it says in the book, "The fast diet doesn't mean deprivation!".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, January 18, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I really expected more from this given the good reviews. There seem to be a lot of recipes for muffins (1/2 cup granulated sugar, 2 cups all purpose flour, okay, it gives you 12 muffins but really? )Also a fair number of fruit smoothies, which, given the amount of sugar in fruit, doesn't seem like a great thing to have on a low calorie day .One of the non-fasting day recipes was for spaghetti with Vodka sauce, which not only calls for heavy cream and spaghetti but a cup of vodka! The book also had a list of items that were less than 50 calories, including 5 potato chips!!! (Bet you can't eat just 5)

I think people would be much better off getting a book of good recipes from any Asian cuisine that emphasized vegetables and used spices to keep it interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This is the book I was looking for., July 27, 2013
By 
D. Roberts (San Diego, CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Fast Diet Cookbook: Low-Calorie Fast Diet Recipes and Meal Plans for the 5:2 Diet and Intermittent Fasting (Paperback)
This book has lots of recipes for one that fit into a "fasting" style regimen. I skipped the first part and went straight to the recipes. Also, this was written for use in the U.S.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not recommended, January 6, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
These recipes don't seem to follow the tenets of The Fast Diet: white flour, etc. I'm also not sure why you would want dessert when you only get 5 or 600 calories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for those looking for steady weight loss as well as valuable health benefits, October 1, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Fast Diet Cookbook: Low-Calorie Fast Diet Recipes and Meal Plans for the 5:2 Diet and Intermittent Fasting (Paperback)
The Fast Diet Cookbook, from Rockridge Press, offers the method of Intermittent fasting as a comfortable and feasible form of healthy weight loss. It claims boosting the immune system, regulating metabolism, and even detoxification. All that it encourages is for two non-consecutive days a week, its meal plans of reduced calories are followed, which are entirely fresh, full of nutrients, easy to prepare, and yet contain the simplest of ingredients that can regularly be found in the kitchen. How does a Spinach salad with Bacon dressing sound, or a 100 calorie French Onion Soup? Though not for everyone, particularly those that prefer more exercise, The Fast Diet is perfect when looking to monitor your diet with simple, honest recipes aiding in a steady, clean weight loss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book will change your conception of fasting!, July 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book is awesome! It explains in simple, laymen’s terms how your body metabolizes food. It goes on to explain why short term fasting is good for us. Fasting is nothing new, its been around since early man wandered in deserts. It may have, historically been explained as a way to attain higher consciousness, but its also really great for your digestive system. Its amazing the things ancient man developed without the scientific knowledge to even comprehend all of the benefits! Fasting can do really great things for our bodies and our brains! It can make us live longer, think better, and have healthier hearts. Fasting on and off can help regulate your metabolism, make you burn fat faster, and even lower your blood pressure. Fasting may sound intimidating, but this cook book shows you that you can fast without eating nothing. The recipes in this book can be used to prepare all sorts of meals that you can eat on your day of fasting! The recipes are simple and compact. They are super easy to prepare, and they taste awesome! Its not even like being on a diet at all!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thorough information and delicious recipes, September 30, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I've been doing the Fast Diet for a while now, and I have some other cookbooks with great recipes. However, this particular cookbook is an excellent addition to my collection. I think it is important for anyone starting out on the Fast Diet to understand some of the reasoning and science behind it, and the book does a great job of discussing that.

I love to cook, and I thought that the recipes were some of the best I've tried: especially the Vegetable Shrimp Curry, and the Lemon Blueberry Muffins. Yum! Would definitely recommend it, on the strength of the recipes alone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tasty and Accessible, August 16, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Fast Diet Cookbook: Low-Calorie Fast Diet Recipes and Meal Plans for the 5:2 Diet and Intermittent Fasting (Paperback)
The Rockridge Press Fast Diet Cookbook presents an effective alternative to fad diets. The book sites supporting studies performed at University of California, Berkley and Mount Sinai School of Medicine.

Despite the many benefits of fasting it is not for everyone. Pregnant women and those who have had eating disorders are discouraged from fast dieting. The authors state that everyone should check with a medical professional before embarking on any new diet and particularly with regard to fasting.

Once you've decided this is the right choice for you delve into the appetizing recipes without hesitation. The grilled vegetable salad was a personal favorite of mine as well as the chocolate cream pie. Another great piece to the book is its list of alternative snacks and ingredients. This can help you stick to the diet without being forced to eat foods you don't like or give up foods you love.

Overall, The Fast Diet Cookbook is highly accessible. Charts and lists are placed strategically to help readers follow the diet. Additionally, the dishes spelled out in the book are enticing and flavorful. For the right individual, The Fast Diet Cookbook provides a healthy effective way to lose weight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed with number of recipes, July 9, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
When I purchased this book I was hoping for a large variety of recipes, but there aren't as many as I had hoped. I understand the 5:2 diet and felt like the first 2 parts of the book were completely unnecessary, as was the daily meal plan section. I wanted a real cookbook with recipes that were 200 calories or less per serving, while the author does include some of what I wanted it is not worth the small price I paid. I could have quite easily found similar recipes through a Google search, which is what I am going to do anyway, despite purchasing this book, to find more low calorie recipes for fasting day meals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.