Customer Reviews


99 Reviews
5 star:
 (75)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars And then it comes back. With a new style.
I have to be honest. When Gossip Girl was renewed for its fifth season I wasn't sure at the beginning. The first half of the fourth season was amazing and then it became bad at the ending (reason of why the show lost a lot of viewers).
But who doesn't love Gossip Girl? I mean, it's one of the most sassy TV series ever. Betrayal, secrets, and more... just at the GG...
Published on November 10, 2011 by Alan Ramirez

versus
7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars It Hasn't always been an easy ride in the Upper East side.
Imagine if you were a CEO of a constructive estate company, and you just started this new and exciting project of constructing a fabulously posh building that will benefit you financially and professionally in more ways than one in the long run. Now, imagine that you invested all your money, time, effort, resources and hopes in this building. Imagine you spending hours,...
Published on July 19, 2012 by Iusedtobeacat


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars And then it comes back. With a new style., November 10, 2011
By 
Alan Ramirez (Monterrey, Mexico) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Gossip Girl: Season 5 (DVD)
I have to be honest. When Gossip Girl was renewed for its fifth season I wasn't sure at the beginning. The first half of the fourth season was amazing and then it became bad at the ending (reason of why the show lost a lot of viewers).
But who doesn't love Gossip Girl? I mean, it's one of the most sassy TV series ever. Betrayal, secrets, and more... just at the GG style. The fifth season introduces us to a lot of new plots (and not recycled ones), like Charlie protecting her real identity, Serena working on the movie business, Dan finally getting his book published and Blair preparing her royal wedding. I just think this season made us see a different side of the characters, because they are more mature now, but that doesn't mean that they decisions take the wrong way, why? Because that's what makes a show good: the twists.
Most people say that the show is just getting worse by every episode, but I truly still enjoy it. If you stopped watching the show, watch the fifth season, maybe it could change your mind. There's another perspective, but a good one.
It's worth the pre-order, and I hope it has a lot of bonus features (the most fun part of this kind of box sets!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars It Hasn't always been an easy ride in the Upper East side., July 19, 2012
This review is from: Gossip Girl: Season 5 (DVD)
Imagine if you were a CEO of a constructive estate company, and you just started this new and exciting project of constructing a fabulously posh building that will benefit you financially and professionally in more ways than one in the long run. Now, imagine that you invested all your money, time, effort, resources and hopes in this building. Imagine you spending hours, days, months, years to make this magnificent vision come true. Now, imagine after all your sacrifices an unexpected heavy storm or an earthquake destroys what you've spent years making in such a short period of time because the foundation that this huge estate is set upon wasn't as strong as you thought it was.

This is how this season relates to the past four in this series. A Wasted effort. Is it the production you ask? Or the directing? No! If anything the photography is one of the best things this series has to offer. The customs are gorgeous, the make-up/hair artists work hard to present our lovable characters as real as they appear on the show (Rich Upper east siders who's closing on their first year into the real world as financially independent adults fresh out of the school rooms and still behave as spoiled and rich brats who act sometimes with the level of maturity of a High school popular drama Queen). On the plus side the soundtrack is also amazing and the music is in good taste. So, why 2 stars? The Plot is at fault. Not just that but also the writing. I understand that GG is meant to be one of those mini soap operish shows that constantly introduce situation that would be almost impossible in real life. But the things that have been going on in this season out of all seasons especially the second half is ridiculously mind blowing even for a series that we shouldn't take seriously.

The events that took place whether good, bad or just plain stupid. Has made this season by far the most painful, hurtful and self destructive season to watch. There was a sense of non-moderation that kept things off balanced and tiring for the viewers. The first half wasn't great but it was good, tolerable and much better than the second. As soon as the so called Royal wedding was over everything just went downhill.

In a nutshell as a fan of this show for the past years and having not missed a single episode I was disappointed for many reasons. I won't say that every episode sucked because that's not the case, some of them were quite good. However, the majority did. Now, before you bash me for it This is a quick list demonstrating why I give this 2 stars:

*SPOILER ALERT*

- The Characters: I think the biggest turn off this season had or the biggest flop occurred when it came to the characters. Ever heard of character development? It's an essential part of writing a story, it gives fiction some reality to it and it's also a very important key figure in creative writing classes. Unfortunately, character development was lacking here for the most part anyway. Now you might ask *What do you mean? Blair is more Mature Now she doesn't act like a High schooler anymore and so is Nate, Serena, Chuck, Dan as well as everyone else* Well yes and no. We've seen the characters mature or develop in the last season(s). There is a certain progress I won't deny that. But did it last? Chuck didn't stay a reformed player for too long before giving in to his dark self. Dan had his moment of fame but it didn't change him as a person much did it? I think Dan is somehow the least developed character on this show, don't know if the writers just hated him or if he's supposed to be mutable by nature. I mean if you put the writing aside and his UGH so called romance with Blair. He's still the same person, an intellectual nerd from Brooklyn who doesn't fit in with the rest of the spoiled brats and ironically doesn't stand out either. He has relationships with the first woman he thinks he's in love with and they don't last long, flighty much? That is a sign of poor writing! Nate however has had some progress this season with his work at the spectator the newspaper which is actually run by his grandfather the godfather version of this series. I'm glad he found some diversion for him and a purpose on a professional level and a job he seems to take seriously. He's still the ultimate Casanova that hops from one bed to another but somehow matured. I'm glad the writers decided to give him something else to do besides making out with the entire female cast! Took them long enough. Serena went from being for once tolerable and slightly professional *the best we'll ever see of such a whiny confused character* to her absolute worse which is her old self to put it differently. Sad! But true. Serena at the finale didn't just go back to her old self but went even further back to what she used to be before season one, Which is doing drugs and sleeping with her dealer. After all the effort and work she put into forcing her self to being different you think she would learn? Just throw it all out the window. Blair while I still like her has also been unbearable this season. Yes, she matured but deep down she's still the same from season one obsessed with statue and unwilling to admit her hidden feelings to Chuck that 5 seasons later didn't fully resolve. Vanessa, Jenny and Eric are all missing from the show but were replaced by new characters which are unbelievably irritating.

-Villains: I think what stands out most in this particular season is the amount of villains that keeps popping out. Past encounters from previous seasons like Georgina Sparks who stirs up some controversy but as usual fades, and New Once like Ivy and apparently old new villains who were in the series all along but somehow turned evil all of a sudden. Ivy failed miserably, she's irritating, stupidly naive and frankly doesn't even know what she wants. Made the show unbearable to watch. As for the rest, don't get me started on how frustrating they are!

-Second 1/2: This is the upper east side we're talking about so nothing is really as it seems. Secrets unraveled, Hidden Truths that comes out. People's agenda that's been uncovered and secret relationships? They were all blown into your face. One after the other. Scandals and the events were all over the place this season. It was just too much. Not funny and overly dramatic. These type of things happen each season but this time it was overdone!

-Dan&Blair: Really? What happened to them hating each other? I have to say that I enjoyed their friendship a lot. It was cute and convenient for the purposes of the show. I can understand having a male friend who you can talk to, who'll be there to help you when you need him and you know friendship! Dan & Blair made good friends but lovers? Seriously! The Chemistry was not there. Chuck & Blair always worked because it's exciting to watch two controlling, obsessive and flawed people fighting their own demons and independent battles of neglect, eating disorders and emotional damage fall in lust and then gradually in love with each other. It's also interesting to see them sacrifice for the other person's happiness at the expense of their own. How can you compare that with Dan & Blair? A fake fling that lasted for barely half a season to an intense relationship that's been going on for 5? As if the writers made this pre/contract agreement when they first started off from season one that each and every character on this show must date/sleep with each other. UGH! Underwhelming. It's just like what Chuck said: He's Blair's one true love and everyone else is a waste of time. I'm glad this fake so called romance has ended as painful it was to watch.

Chuck&Blair: The first 1/2 of this season was the worse thing I've ever seen of Chuck&Blair. Just watch the season and you'll understand. It's as if the writers wanted us to hate them and frankly they did succeed partially. It was emotionally draining and frustrating. I know that their relationship is one of the main premises this show is based on. And if the conflicts are resolved between these two then the show will have to end, because frankly they're the main reason why almost anyone is watching Gossip Girl except for Dair fans. That didn't however excuse the amount of I'm almost going to leave my fiance the prince of Monaco to be with you....but. Blair's devotion to Louis and her confusion when it came to the men in her life and choosing who mattered and who didn't this season just killed me!

In the end, almost every character imaginable main or minor, has been either ridiculous, plain annoying or stupid. They all needed counseling from one time to another. Which all contributed to the season being a fail for me at least.

I'm going to watch the next and final season just to see how things turn out. I hope Chuck and Blair will finally be together and we get our happy ending unless the writers decided to come up with a cruel twist and throw all their relationship's development out the window. You can never trust them nowadays. Hopefully it wouldn't be a disappointment! Just give us something to remember, save the best for last *cross fingers*

This all just a subjective POV, you should watch it and see what you think maybe you'll end up liking it after all? It had its redeeming qualities much like other seasons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everyone loves this show!, October 12, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I have been watching Gossip Girls avidly for years. I feel bonded with all the characters especially my Blair.
This season is already shaping up to be good...
As for Chuck and Blair ; my ex and I's favorite always consuming love affair you have to watch it...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 30 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars By far, the worst season of Gossip Girl, August 2, 2012
By 
Jovana J (Kansas City, KS) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Gossip Girl: Season 5 (DVD)
As a longtime avid fan of what can only be described as a "guilty pleasure", Season 5 has left me disappointed and angry. What was once an interesting, dramatic story of over privileged teenagers tangled up in games, schemes, money, fashion and sex, is now an exhausting ride to "please end it already with some dignity". Season 5 was plagued from the beginning with bad writing filled with plot holes and mind numbing inconsistencies.

Blair Waldorf character has become a mere shadow of her former self: getting married and pregnant at 20 without career or school aspects, distancing herself from her best friend Serena (their tumulus friendship IS the heart of Gossip Girl) so she can live out a childish Disney princess fantasy that ended the same way it began, unremarkably. I can't even talk about the failed marriage or miscarried baby, and the complete LACK OF EMPATHY on both subjects without bursting in anger. The out of character romance with Dan Humphrey was the final nail in the Blair Waldorf Destruction coffin. What used to be an interesting frenemy dynamic between the two, has become the poison that affected this entire season. What was it about Dan and Blair's misguided romance that turned off the casual viewer off, sinking the ratings for the first time below million? Was it the fact she jumped in the sack with him (in a dirty outdoor alley) mere weeks after her wedding day to Louis on which she expressed an undying love for Chuck Bass? Or the fact she did NOT consider or care for her best friend feelings when it came to Dan? Hmm. Maybe it was the blatant stealing of famous Chuck and Blair lines and scenes to feed the Dan/Blair machine? How about making up fake, off-screen history to further justify the pairing? I personally gave up when Dan and Blair decided to host a coming-out-as-couple party IN BROOKLYN, discussing pretentious topics with NYC's hipsters without a SINGLE actual friend being invited. Dan and Blair listen to Radiohead and drink out of mason jars. REALLY BLAIR? REALLY? Or should I call her Claire, an object of desire in Dan's smutty fan fiction of Blair Waldorf? At one point they go TOGETHER to get ice for drinks, (because you need two pretentious hipsters to carry a bag of ice, apparently) with working staff all over the place, just to avoid Serena, Nate and Chuck and whatever unimportant issues they were dealing with. Writers did EVERYTHING possible to isolate Blair, excuse me, CLAIRE and Dan into their own world, lame sex life and all, apart from their friends and former lovers with brand new personalities and habits, and audience was supposed to buy this romance as REAL AND ORGANIC? Are you kidding me Safran? You assumed your audience was stupid and the end result was a disastrous season 5 that ALMOST cancelled the show.

I won't even attempt to discuss Serena, Chuck and Nate - the guest stars of Season 5. Serena has lost every purpose, Chuck and his NEVERENDING, BORING family issues and Nate just being Natefused all the time, again without any real storyline. Non Judging Breakfast is no more.

Season 6 will be the FINAL season of Gossip Girl. I will tune in because...I just have to, ok? I can't quit you Gossip Girl. You ALMOST lost me completely, but I'm too weak. Is it October yet?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, September 23, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Clever, witty, romantic, pleasurable, funny, and beautiful. Love chuck and Blair!! I don't like Blake lively very much....but leighton me ester is gorgeous and an amazing actress. Ed westwick is also amazing!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Great Escape, September 23, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I love escaping my crazy world to enter the Upper East Side...Im not a tween or a teen. Im just a woman, mom, wife, and teacher who needs a complete escape and has found one in Gossip Girl!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Is it Bad that I Root for Ivy?, April 25, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Gossip Girl remains a guilty pleasure and I watch regularly. In earlier seasons the misbehavior and shenanigans of the rich and shameless were balanced by virtue and vulnerability in the characters of Blair, Serena, Chuck and Lily. That seems to be changing this season and not for the better.

In this episode the revelation that Serena's father is Lola's father too from an affair William had with Lily's sister years ago and the implications for all of the characters drives the action. Serena, in her one vulnerable moment tells William that his embrace of Lola hurts when he spurned her attempts to build a relationship with him. Lily is nothing but manipulative and one gets the feeling it isn't based on the betrayal by her sister but driven solely by greed; she wants the entire fortune for herself. Lily even brings Ivy into her machinations, getting her to testify against Carol and paying her off with a million dollar check. The vulnerable Ivy makes one last attempt to find a place in the family, offering to tear up her pay-off of one million dollars. And poor Ivy, she does tear up the check, though anyone could have told her that this would be the one thing of value she might take from this experience. Lola approaches Serena with offers of sisterhood that are marred when there is an immediate scheme involved. Whatever happened to Serena's brother, one of the few always likeable characters on the show?

In other sub-plots, Blair, feeling less than the center of the universe ruins Dan's night at the Young Lion's trying to steal the spotlight. She rationalizes this with some low-self-esteem mealy-mouthed mumbo jumbo, but this viewer was unmoved. Nate tries to find out more about the ever present question of who Chuck's mother is and it is revealed that the real question is who Chuck's father is. Rufus tries to get some honesty back in his relationship with Lily, but she reveals that he has never been anything but a gigolo as far as she is concerned. The episode and the overall plot are more than watchable, but the writers should be careful because these characters are becoming not those you love to hate, but those you hate full stop. I suppose all this is realistic in terms of the actual denizens of the uber Manhattan wealthy, but fictional characters with no redeeming qualities are as bad as those without flaws.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT!!!, March 2, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
It was great watching this episode of Gossip Girl at my own convenience without any commercials or having to fast forward through commercials.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BEST EPISODE EVER MADE, January 17, 2012
AWESOMENESS, THATS ALL I'VE GOT TO SAY! go gossip girl! this is probably the best season yet!! Im loving this season
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LOVE this show!, January 10, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I saw one episode in season 4 and found myself unable to look away...so I had to start with episode one. I disliked Chuck and Blair in the beginning and now I love them! I have never been as absorbed into a tv show, while understanding the characters too well, minus the money. Great show, watch part of one episode and you will be hooked! Buy it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.