Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your email address or mobile phone number.

Qty:1
  • List Price: $26.95
  • Save: $0.48 (2%)
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com. Gift-wrap available.
The Feathered Sun has been added to your Cart
+ $3.99 shipping
Used: Good | Details
Sold by dcgoodwill
Condition: Used: Good
Sell yours for a Gift Card
We'll buy it for $1.50
Learn More
Trade in now
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 2 images

The Feathered Sun Hardcover – September 10, 2003

5 out of 5 stars 2 customer reviews

See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Hardcover
"Please retry"
$26.47
$21.02 $14.65

Best Books of the Month
See the Best Books of the Month
Want to know our Editors' picks for the best books of the month? Browse Best Books of the Month, featuring our favorite new books in more than a dozen categories.
$26.47 FREE Shipping on orders over $35. Only 1 left in stock (more on the way). Ships from and sold by Amazon.com. Gift-wrap available.


Editorial Reviews

Review

... pervaded by the pathos which marks the disappearance of a ... way of life of extraordinary beauty and nobilty. -- Kenneth Oldmeadow, La Trobe University, Bendigo, Australia

Anyone who already knows something about the Indians will never forget this book. It is certainly an important message. -- Thomas Yellowtail, Crow Sun Dance Chief (from the Introduction)

In many ways a culmination of Schuon's lifework . . . Affords surprising insights that ... can startle the reader into new understandings. -- Parabola

One of the most philosophic and religious studies of the Plains Indians in print. -- The Book Reader

The greatest religious thinker of our century ... He feeds my soul like no other writer. -- Huston Smith, author of The World's Religions, and Why Religion Matters --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

From the Publisher

In many ways a culmination of Schuon's lifework. Affords surprising insights that pepper this book and that can startle the reader into new understandings. --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.
NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE


Product Details

  • Hardcover: 171 pages
  • Publisher: World Wisdom; First Edition edition (September 10, 2003)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0941532089
  • ISBN-13: 978-0941532082
  • Product Dimensions: 9 x 0.9 x 11.4 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 2.7 pounds (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (2 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #1,288,695 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Born in Basle, Switzerland in 1907, Frithjof Schuon was the twentieth century's pre-eminent spokesman for the perennialist school of comparative religious thought.
The leitmotif of Schuon's work was foreshadowed in an encounter during his youth with a marabout who had accompanied some members of his Senegalese village to Basle for the purpose of demonstrating their African culture. When Schuon talked with him, the venerable old man drew a circle with radii on the ground and explained: "God is the center; all paths lead to Him." Until his later years Schuon traveled widely, from India and the Middle East to America, experiencing traditional cultures and establishing lifelong friendships with Hindu, Buddhist, Christian, Muslim, and American Indian spiritual leaders.
A philosopher in the tradition of Plato, Shankara, and Eckhart, Schuon was a gifted artist and poet as well as the author of over twenty books on religion, metaphysics, sacred art, and the spiritual path. Describing his first book, The Transcendent Unity of Religions, T. S. Eliot wrote, "I have met with no more impressive work in the comparative study of Oriental and Occidental religion", and world-renowned religion scholar Huston Smith said of Schuon, "The man is a living wonder; intellectually apropos religion, equally in depth and breadth, the paragon of our time". Schuon's books have been translated into over a dozen languages and are respected by academic and religious authorities alike.
More than a scholar and writer, Schuon was a spiritual guide for seekers from a wide variety of religions and backgrounds throughout the world. He died in 1998.

Customer Reviews

5 star
100%
4 star
0%
3 star
0%
2 star
0%
1 star
0%
See both customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Hardcover
If you have ever had the feeling that Native Americans are the heirs to a wisdom tradition of which today's world stands sorely in need, this book will confirm your insight and deepen it. This beautifully produced volume focuses on the spirituality of the nomadic Plains Indians, whose traditional way of life is seeing the divine in nature. Schuon explains why this is neither a romantic, sentimental "deism" nor a profane "naturism." He gives a description of the Indian's soul, of his vision of the world and man's place in it with which we can compare our own, and the contrasts are both significant and informative.
As in his many metaphysical books, the author often makes references to other religions when illustrating a point. Parallels in the spiritual worlds of Shinto, Zen and ancient India appear here. Whatever the similarities and differences between one another, every traditional universe is marked by a sense of totality. There is an all-pervading sense of the sacred at the antipodes of the modern mentality that reflexively treats the world and life as blind "matter" which can be manipulated more or less at will, rather than as forms of the Spirit which command our respect and have principles to teach.

Schuon gives eloquent explanations of the rites and symbols central to North American shamanism, especially that of the sacred pipe. Although the practices of various tribes differed in many details, there is clearly an underlying homogeneity to their beliefs which has made the Indians themselves the symbol of a distinctive spiritual type. The author's colorful paintings are a moving complement to the text. They portray the archetype that has given rise to the Indian genius for combining heroism with a priestly dignity in harmony with the beauty and innocence of nature.
Comment 21 of 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
Exceptional- perhaps the best I have read on Native American religion. The comparison with Eastern religions was a great surprise but does become obvious.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more
The Feathered Sun
This item: The Feathered Sun
Price: $26.47
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com

Want to discover more products? Check out these pages to see more: world history, ancient america, idaho history, the american west