Customer Reviews


112 Reviews
5 star:
 (79)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


47 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An indispensable resource!
Printed in 1983, the Fakebook remains the undisputed champion of music references for fiddlers, and it's aided a fair number of other non-fiddlers as well.
Inside its broad covers you'll find nearly 500 tunes from the various fiddle traditions. Jigs, reels, hornpipes, rags and breakdowns, each clearly labeled for origins (Irish, bluegrass, French-Canadian, old-time,...
Published on July 15, 2003 by Tom Knapp

versus
17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Product picture beware!
When ordering this item i read the reviews, looked at the picture, and have seen the book in person. TO my dismay when i opened the box the book was not spiral bound but had your standard book binding with a slightly larger spine margin. The wider margin allows for you to keep the book open with ease however does not allow for folding the book in half like the spiral...
Published on July 22, 2011 by Mr Crab


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

47 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An indispensable resource!, July 15, 2003
This review is from: The Fiddler's Fakebook: The Ultimate Sourcebook For The Traditional Fiddler (Paperback)
Printed in 1983, the Fakebook remains the undisputed champion of music references for fiddlers, and it's aided a fair number of other non-fiddlers as well.
Inside its broad covers you'll find nearly 500 tunes from the various fiddle traditions. Jigs, reels, hornpipes, rags and breakdowns, each clearly labeled for origins (Irish, bluegrass, French-Canadian, old-time, etc.) and including a short list of recordings where the tune can be heard. Just flip it open randomly for a taste of its contents, and imagine the sound of tunes like "Haste to the Wedding," "Leather Britches," "The Munster Buttermilk," "Drowsy Maggie," "The Wind That Shakes the Barley," "Hanged Man's Reel" and "Great Big Taters in Sandy Land."
Eight pages of textbook materials -- music theory, history and culture, style and genre -- give a wonderfully brief overview of the things you'd like to know without loading the book down with endless information which, frankly, can get in the way of the tunes and make it too bulky for carrying. Better still, the book is held together by a sturdy plastic binding which allows you to plop it down on your music stand with ease. There's nothing so frustrating as a music book with tight bindings which make it impossible to play straight from the page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Book for new Fiddlers who can read musical notation, January 13, 2000
This review is from: The Fiddler's Fakebook: The Ultimate Sourcebook For The Traditional Fiddler (Paperback)
We chose this book to be the standard for our Jam session in PRovidence because it has good versions of many popular old-timey, bluegrass and celtic tunes. Most of the session players around here play in several styles. This book has versions of 500 tunes taken from authentic sources, and most of the versions are pretty similar to what you will hear in the local sessions, so you can learn tunes from the book and be pretty certain that you will be able to play along when you hear the tune at the festival, in the bar or wherever. The author listed record or CD sources that you can get to listen to the tunes, so you can check the notation against the playing of well-known musicians such as Tommy Jarrell, Bob Wills, etc. The tunes are arranged alphabetically, so it is always easy to find what you want. This is a very useful and well-done book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fakebook Tunes (Including Reels), July 11, 2004
This review is from: The Fiddler's Fakebook: The Ultimate Sourcebook For The Traditional Fiddler (Paperback)
Brody provides a good background on fiddling and fiddle tunes in this wonderful selection of music. The book appeals to fiddlers, and it also provides violinists interested in old-time tunes with sufficient resources to begin playing in styles different from classical music. The large selection of music provides great versions of mazurkas, waltzes, hoedowns, reels, jigs, hornpipes, airs, marches, and numerous other genres. Although the focus is on tunes commonly played by old-time fiddlers in the USA, the selection is international in scope, and the book includes tunes from Scotland, Ireland, America, Canada, and other countries. Each tune is annotated with a description of where the tune originated and a listing of various musicians who recorded the tune. These annotations will be especially helpful for musicians interested in the history of fiddling and for fans who wish to hear how the tunes sound prior to learning them from the printed page. The book should appeal to fiddlers of all skill levels; there are simple tunes for beginners as well as more numerous tunes that are a challenge for more advanced players.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A must-have for beginning and intermediate players, June 23, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Fiddler's Fakebook: The Ultimate Sourcebook For The Traditional Fiddler (Paperback)
When I first started playing the fiddle seriously about eight or 10 years ago (after several years of tinkering) a friend in a local contra dance band showed me his copy of The Fiddler's Fakebook. Though I was a marginal music reader at best, I decided to buy one. It was the best music investment I ever made. Because I've never completely decided whether I wanted to be a Celtic, old-time or "other" fiddler, this book was the perfect match. Over the years I have learned dozens of tunes from it - perhaps 30 percent of my repertoire. Now as a semi-professional player in a Celtic band, as well as a contra dance band, I continue to use it to learn tunes. One of the few drawbacks of this book is that many of the tunes are odd-ball transcriptions, quite different than many people play them, at least in this part of the country. Some are over-simplified, but if one uses them to learn the basic tune and then relies on listening to recordings or other players for variations and style, one can still benefit greatly from the Fakebook version. I would recommend any fiddler have this in his or her collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great start, November 29, 1999
By 
Jonathan Salter (Williamstown, MA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Fiddler's Fakebook: The Ultimate Sourcebook For The Traditional Fiddler (Paperback)
If you're looking to start playing bluegrass (or bluegrass style) music, this is the book to get. It's packed with great songs, and each song has an extensive discography, which makes it easy to find and listen to the songs you like. The organization isn't too great- simply alphabetical, but I don't find that this slows me down. The notation is clear and simply written, with a few ornaments to show you the right way. The introduction also instructs the beginner on modifications to technique - different bowings, fingerings, extended technique (glissando, etc.). You will like this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Product picture beware!, July 22, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Fiddler's Fakebook: The Ultimate Sourcebook For The Traditional Fiddler (Paperback)
When ordering this item i read the reviews, looked at the picture, and have seen the book in person. TO my dismay when i opened the box the book was not spiral bound but had your standard book binding with a slightly larger spine margin. The wider margin allows for you to keep the book open with ease however does not allow for folding the book in half like the spiral version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good, except for songs split between pages, August 29, 2010
By 
Jeffrey Wong (Washington state of mind) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Fiddler's Fakebook: The Ultimate Sourcebook For The Traditional Fiddler (Paperback)
I, like most people have found this a fun book to go through. It's hard to appreciate what this brings to the table until you've spent a few ten and twenty spots on compilations that print treacherously small and haven't the discipline to print the key signature at the beginning of each line.

This book dropped the ball by having printed some tunes that start on an odd page (on the right) and finishing it on the flip side, requiring the player to turn the page. In this demanding world, that loses a rating star.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AWESOME, December 19, 2002
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Fiddler's Fakebook: The Ultimate Sourcebook For The Traditional Fiddler (Paperback)
This is the third and LAST "fakebook" I will buy.
It should be called "the Fiddler's Realbook"
While the other fakebooks are just that, this one actually uses sheet music rather than tab. Now I can play the tunes with any instrument, or any other musician (who can read sheet music) I very much recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT! A Must for your Fiddle Book Collection!, May 29, 2003
By 
Rissarance (North Carolina) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Fiddler's Fakebook: The Ultimate Sourcebook For The Traditional Fiddler (Paperback)
Great book-has info on each song - country of origin, style, albums including the song, etc... Easy to read notation including chords. A Must!
Includes many popular fiddle tunes and some rare ones as well. My first choice/resource when I'm looking for a new fiddle tune. Styles include Celtic, Bluegrass, Texas Swing, Old Time, etc...
Extra information is given for special tunings, and if there's more than one popular version of a tune, they list both.
The spiral makes it easy to keep opened-very importan detail to those of us playing from the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The one to get!, March 18, 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Fiddler's Fakebook: The Ultimate Sourcebook For The Traditional Fiddler (Paperback)
This is the tune book to get. It contains most of what is being played, and in the key and style and version you are most likely to hear it. Sure there are other tune books you will want, but this one will always be the core of your collection.
I am on my second one, the first one got so weathered and beaten, and the binding eventually broke and fell away, and I carried the pages held together with a large binder clip for awhile, hesitating to buy a new one because I did not want to lose all the hand written notes I had scribbled. Ok ok, I also did not want others to see the shiny pages free of the coffee stains and sun dried water stains.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Fiddler's Fakebook: The Ultimate Sourcebook For The Traditional Fiddler
$24.99 $20.13
Temporarily out of stock. Order now and we'll deliver when available.
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.