Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer showtimemulti showtimemulti showtimemulti  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$10.81+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on November 19, 2004
Lynne McTaggart boldly dives in where few dare to go... the murky, much debated realm between God and Science. In a thoroughly detailed and meticulously researched fashion, she lays open study upon study that point to the possibility of a universal energy source, the "Zero Point Field" as she cites it. This "force" operates on a quantum level of photon vibrations that precedes and supercedes the strict bio-chemical mentality of current science. This book challenges a lot of long held beliefs, including...

*Man is isolated from the world (People are indivisable from their environment)
*The brain is the seat of consciousness (Living consciousness is not an isolated entity)
*The human being is a survival machine powered by genetic coding (Cells and DNA communicate through frequencies)

Perhaps one of the most profound and summarizing statements is McTaggart's assertion (based on volumous research) that...

"A substructure underpins the universe that is essentially a recording medium of everything, providing a means for everything to communicate with everything else."

If taken for what it is, the book amounts to the peaceful overthrow of many long held scientific beliefs and models, and establishes a framework that accomodates both science and spirituality. A good read.
1515 comments| 415 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 26, 2005
After ignoring several proddings from others to get this book, I finally yielded after coming across it while researching the issues behind Codex Alimentarius. I've read quite a few books on new agey topics starting out with Peter Russel's The Awakening Earth in 1986, and prefer those that use a disciplined, logical, and non-sensicial approach, such as Gregg Braden's The God Code, Dr. Bruce Lipton's The Biology of Belief, and Dr. David Hawkins' Power vs Force. THE FIELD is presented in a similar vein. Initially thinking "what could a journalist tell me that I already don't know?", well it appears quite a lot. THE FIELD is a compelling and exciting (yes - even for a science book) read at times as the retelling of various experiments and discoveries unfolds. The knowledge of these are worth the purchase price alone, and the added value comes from the connections McTAGGART makes. That type of astute integration can only be done by doing your research, and models the same positive attributes of the hidden field of consciousness, that is discussed in THE FIELD itself. And finally, remember that science is a method, NOT a position.

Excellent value, a must buy.

Daniel John Hancock
22 comments| 232 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 11, 2003
With an ear for human interest and eye for detail, Lynne McTaggart masterfully tells the true story in THE FIELD of how pioneers in science and consciousness research are working to achieve a more complete understanding of the true nature of reality -- an understanding which includes (rather than ignores) consciousness.

THE FIELD describes how scientists have gradually become aware of what appears to be a unifying energy structure in our universe. This "Zero Point Field" provides us with a simpler explanation for how things work than previous overly-complex ideas require. Simplicity in science is a good thing, because it generally indicates which theories will win out as time goes by. The Zero Point Field theory demonstrates it's elegant simplicity by allowing physicists to derive the famous equation F=ma (rather than take it as a starting assumption), and by helping medical practitioners understand the underlying scientific basis for homeopathy.

Our scientific conceptualization of this universe has changed considerably over the last few centuries and now faces one of the biggest overhauls ever -- and THE FIELD demonstrates why the Zero Point Field is likely to be the last frontier for us to explore. THE FIELD is packed with detailed descriptions of some of the most exciting experiments recently conducted by leading researchers in the field of consciousness such as: Cleve Backster, Jacques Benveniste, William Braud, Bob Jahn, Edgar Mitchell, Fritz-Albert Popp, Hal Puthoff, Rupert Sheldrake, Russell Targ, Elisabeth Targ, and Charles Tart.

I give this book my highest recommendation.

(Cynthia Sue Larson has a degree in physics from UC Berkeley and is author of the book "AURA ADVANTAGE: How the Colors in Your Aura Can Help You Attain What You Desire & Attact Success")
33 comments| 346 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 11, 2006
I was excited to pick up my copy of "The Field." I've transformed my own life in many ways that I feel go beyond the realm of ordinary science. For this reason, I'm always excited to find new material that bridges (or attempts to bridge) the gap between the natural and the supernatural.

While the Field certainly had a lot of material, the author's bias permeated every page. We are told in the beginning that none of this is based on opinion - it's all fact - but then we are subtly required not to question these "facts" as they are thrown at us as face value. Unfortunately, many of the studies that were presented were taken out of context and blown out of proportion.

For example, there is an experiment where participants were asked to play a game involving several decks of cards. Unknown to the participants, all of the "bad" cards were located in a specific deck. If you read Malcolm's interpretation in the awesome book, Blink!, it describes how the participants begin to subconscioiusly realize which deck is the "bad" deck long before they consciously accept the fact and start avoiding the deck. In The Field, however, this suddenly becomes a premonition and we are to believe the participants actually time travel to reach their revelation.

So far, my favorite book in this area is "How Consciousness Commands Matter" ... but even that book falls apart in the end when the author tries to suddenly explain Life, the Universe, and Everything (or did another author tackle that one?)

In my opinion, this is a good book to pick up second hand and maybe skim a little. As someone who has devoured titles like The Power of Intention, The Attractor Factor, and even made my own contribution to Life's Missing Manual, I could not even finish this book ... there was too much of the author's insistence and not enough of new material or reveleation left for me to decide.

Jeremy
66 comments| 308 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 6, 2005
This is probably the most complete and readable description of all the paranormal research that has taken place both in this country and abroad.

McTaggart describes research and documented evidence of the apparent telepathic and telekinetic powers of the brain as well as its ability to affect the health status both of the individual and of others. She relates experiments that presumably prove that even chickens and rabbits have such powers. She mentions some of the (mostly secret) experiments in remote viewing carried out by our government during the Cold War. McTaggart describes experiments in homeopathic medicine, where the curing substance is diluted to such an extent that it is there only as a memory, and yet still remains potent.

Such information, of course, has appeared in other books. McTaggart, however, goes on to point out that the classical idea that events are not influenced by the observer does not hold in quantum physics dealing with electrons and sub-particles. She proceeds to describe at great length the Random Effects Generator, essentially a computerized random number generator, and how it is affected by conscious and unconscious wishes of nearby, and even remote, observers. A large amount of information that she describes is based on results obtained through such machines.

So far, the description deals with presumably real experimental observations. Where the book takes a giant leap, however, is in its identification of what enables these effects: the Zero Point Energy Field. The basic principle in Heisenberg's and Bohr's quantum theory is that sub-atomic particles don't exist until they are observed. The entire Creation Theory of our modern physicists is based on the idea that sub-atomic particles can continuously jump into existence and then disappear, as long as both operations take place in less time that the Planck period (10exp-43 seconds) since we cannot observe anything within such a small time interval. These continuous particle appearances and disappearances are described by a field which McTaggart postulates that we have the ability to affect. This field presumably involves huge quantities of energy that could become accessible if only we only knew how. (Interestingly, she does not question the source of such a huge amount of energy in our universe.)

The final conclusion is that everything is interrelated, and everything consists of energy vibrations. Everything is one, so it is little wonder that we can affect our environment with our conscious or unconscious thoughts. Personally I agree with this final statement, but there is no proof that McTaggart's postulated Zero Point Energy Field is the real enabling mechanism. Instead, it could easily be the recently postulated vibrating energy strings, as claimed by Lewis Tarter in his God Theory, or some other mechanism not yet identified. In any case, however, the existence of such an effect can have tremendous theological implications. I definitely recommend this book.

(The writer is the author of Christianity without Fairy Tales: When Science and Religion Merge.)
0Comment| 90 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 26, 2006
McTaggart brings together many of the scientific discoveries of the 20/21st century that don't fit neatly into the box, and drive the editors of peer reviewed journals to their Pepto Bismol. Quantum physicists around the world are embarrassing their colleagues with such suggestions that the quantum field, or zero point field, is a quantum soup that connects all of us, enabling shared thoughts, dreams, clairvoyance, remote viewing, dream influencing, mental influencing of random number generators and the potential of an untapped energy that science has only dreamed of.

McTaggart also looks at the evidence that is beginning to point to the existance of the human energy field by way of Kirlian imaging, Popp's photon emissions from DNA (the human as a being of light), and Benveniste's wonderful experiments on the vibrational signature of matter (involving the much debated nature of homeopathic substances, where nothing of the original substance remains, except for the vibration of where it was).

Heresy! cries the world's leading universities.

Don'cha love mainstream science?!

McTaggart reports from the coalface of the physics faculties of the world, making the discoveries simple enough for lay people to understand and fanning the flames of the debate as to what lies between the smallest quantum particles that make up you, me and the universe, and is everything connected and enfolded a la Bohm at the most infinite level?
22 comments| 50 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon September 12, 2003
In The Field, the author takes the reader along on a quest to understand the metaphysics that underlie our perceived universe. This book mainly reviews the data and theories of scientists exploring new paradigms in physics, consciousness, and subtle energy fields. While the evidence in these areas is open to theoretical interpretation, the findings consistently disprove dominant materialistic and mechanistic notions about life and the universe. The Field makes it evident that a deep analysis of scientific paradigms will lead those seeking a greater truth into the realm of metaphysics and consciousness, which have traditionally been the terrain of mystics, philosophers and spiritual seekers. This book provides an excellent overview of the most important developments in the sciences that examine the most vital issues of existence. This book is also great for challenging materialists and even some religious fanatics, as it documents contradictions to widely held beliefs.
0Comment| 43 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 19, 2002
This book is very interesting as it finally brings science to the metaphysics. Also, what is great is that the science is presented in a way that is easy to read to the lay person. In fact, it has fully documented the scientific studies by providing references for those serious enough to pursue them. While other books such as the Conscious Universe provide statistical data for proof of PSI, the question as to where PSI comes from, or what the scientific foundation of PSI is, is not answered. However, this book begins to provide such explanations. This book can be passed off as another 'X-file' journalism, but that is pure pessimism, and close-mindedness. The true scientific mind would read this text, investigate what is presented unbiasedly without any preconceived notions, investigate the references provided, and perhaps do some experiments to prove these ideas right or wrong before presenting such slanderous attitudes of pessimism and ignorance that does not stand on any solid foundation or unbiased scientfic method.
0Comment| 44 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 30, 2007
This book can be deemed as the intellectual "Rosetta Stone" to unlock the powers of the human consciousness for the everyday skeptic. "The Field" is one of those intelligently crafted books where the author has meticulously and discriminantly presented only those paranormal events that she can comfortably support with scientific research available today. McTaggart avoids the pitfalls of asking readers to take huge "leaps of faith" by addressing only those inexplicable issues that we simply cannot ignore due to the wealth of empirical data that exists.

The Author starts off her book with the staple description of and the tantalizing possibilities offered by Quantum Physics. It is here that she establishes (with valid scientific research) the existence of a Zero-Point Field, whereby enormous energy fluctuations are incessantly occurring on sub-planck scales even in a "vacuum" where no energy can be thought to exist. It is this energy field that modern scientists have acknowledged as a mere afterthought and discounted in their mathematical models due to its perceived nonexistent impact on everyday macroscopic reality. However, McTaggart exposes such detrimental hubris of the scientific community by shedding light on the fantastic implications offered by "the field" as uncovered by the unsung heroes of Quantum Physics (such as Hal Puthoff). It stands to reason, that if the universe is bathed in a sea of energy, it is only logical to assume that everything in the entire cosmos is connected by its very immersion in it. And since energy is a wave function, and waves are carriers of information when they collide with other waves (entanglement), The Field (courtesy of its energy fluctuations) is like a magnetic tape that records all information, past and future, in the universe on it. After all, according to Einstein's popular E=MC^2, all solid objects with mass (like us) are nothing but energy waves.

After establishing the scientific backbone for the book with such clarity, McTaggart explores The Field as a source of explanation for a variety of scientific conundrums in the last few decades. First is in the area of human biology, where the near-instantaneous communication of bodily functions cannot be accounted for by chemical reactions alone. The author very elegantly demonstrates that our DNA has the ability to emit different frequencies of light that serve to instantaneously coordinate our biological machinations like a conductor of a symphony. She also goes on to explain how homeopathy works in lieu of using the "cohesive" capabilities of water as a recording medium for light frequencies associated with certain drugs, all possible with the existence of The Field. Next, McTaggart ventures to explain how David Bohm and Karl Pribram's Holographic Model ties in beautifully with The Field (enter the Fourier Waves) and together help explain the ability of the brain to process information non-locally in a process called "Superradiance", another example of the cohesion in light. As can be seen, the book, again and again, stresses the importance of "cohesiveness" as a key component in human consciousness.

After building an incredibly strong logical foundation, the book goes on to explore the notion of a collective subconscious; the idea that human societies are constantly exchanging information on an undetectable level, save for those who have mastered the ability to consciously tap into their subconscious and by extension, The Field. This explains the latent ability in all human beings to engage in telepathy, psychokinesis and remote viewing. Experiments after experiments, especially those performed by scientists such as Edgar Mitcell, Janne and Dunne, also corroborate the notion of The Field as a medium for the expression of the collective consciousness of all sentient beings on the planet; a consciousness that is capable of altering and influencing "random" experimental devices well before the occurrence of some of the world's milestone events.

Lynne McTaggart is an eloquent writer who makes reading her book more like a wonderful journey into the human psyche. The trememdous body of experimental evidence she cites in her book gives it that much more acedemic weight. Although I felt the author slightly loss her focus by the middle of the book, she brought it full-circle by the end, making for a most compelling read. If the "Holoraphic Universe" is to be considered the first course in a most extravagant meal, here's the entree.
0Comment| 39 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 3, 2003
Lynne McTaggart has opened up a hugely interesting topic, the question of a "life force". Is "God" perhaps our name for a unifying field of energy that shapes our existence? Are psychic phenomena such as telepathy, pre-cognition, and ESP simply vibrations in the fabric of the universe? Fascinating questions. She has done a tremendous amount of research well documented in the index. I was excited to read this book; I hoped to learn what modern science has discovered about this concept. Much of the book is pertinent to the scientific exploration of this topic, however I was disappointed with the inclusion of so much pseudo-science. She dismisses the work of skeptics much to easily and is too quick to accept minor deviations in case studies as significant. Those with an interest in the topic will enjoy reading the book, but unfortunately it can't be taken too seriously.
11 comment| 93 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse