Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A grouping of stories that leaves you wanting more
I love books of short stories. They are quick reads with lots of variety of story lines.
This book, The Fierce Reads Anthology are all the first 4 or 5 chapters of full sized novels. AND EACH ONE WAS BETTER THAN THE LAST!! I was hooked by the end of the first few pages in each story and at the last page I wanted more. I will be purchasing the complete books, I HAVE...
Published 18 months ago by mrstrem

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Hardly Fierce!
Was very disappointed. Expected more in the way of quality. Bought this because I love Ann Aguirre's work, but did not even enjoy her story. The magic was lacking.
Published 10 months ago by LN


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A grouping of stories that leaves you wanting more, January 18, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Fierce Reads Anthology: Volume 2: A Tor.Com Original (Kindle Edition)
I love books of short stories. They are quick reads with lots of variety of story lines.
This book, The Fierce Reads Anthology are all the first 4 or 5 chapters of full sized novels. AND EACH ONE WAS BETTER THAN THE LAST!! I was hooked by the end of the first few pages in each story and at the last page I wanted more. I will be purchasing the complete books, I HAVE to find out what happens in each!!!
THANK YOU for such a great read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fierce 2 anthology, January 30, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Fierce Reads Anthology: Volume 2: A Tor.Com Original (Kindle Edition)
It was the result of this book that I found some new authors to follow. It was a good sampling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Liked it, May 12, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Fierce Reads Anthology: Volume 2: A Tor.Com Original (Kindle Edition)
I liked all the stories in this book. it was a great collection of short stories. I loved it so much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not much here, December 24, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Fierce Reads Anthology: Volume 2: A Tor.Com Original (Kindle Edition)
I like some anthologies, I'm a fan of free, and lately I've found Tor to selecting great work. Plus, I liked the first Fierce Reads anthology, so I opened this up with some pleasure. Unfortunately, this second volume simply didn't live up to its predecessor.

Ann Aguirre's "Foundation" started strong, but petered out, lost in a middleground between a strong story and a longer work. As with others in the book, it suffers from almost certainly being written as an introduction to a larger world, and doesn't stand very well on its own.

Elizabeth Fama's "Men Who Wish to Drown" felt complete, and was a decent story. It was substantially hampered by stiff language that attempts to mimic the style of an earlier era, but winds up getting in the way of the story. It's a shame, because I thought this was one of the better stand-alone stories in the group, and it is worth fighting through the stilted beginning, but a more rigorous edit would have gone a long way to break the story loose from its crusty foundation.

Caragh O'Brien's "Ruled" was promising, but mostly as an indication of what's in the related work than for itself. It reads very much as a fragment of something larger. There's pretty good worldbuilding going on, but not much actually happens in this particular story.

All in all, a disappointing followup to the first Fierce Reads anthology, and a pretty strong confirmation that the purpose here is to offer a sampler or teaser to sell longer work, not to offer stories that are good in themselves. I can't really recommend it unless you are specifically looking for new authors. It's interesting that this collection also includes the two strongest works from the first anthology (reviewed there). Perhaps an acknowledgement that this one is not as strong?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good stories and new authors to sample, December 19, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Fierce Reads Anthology: Volume 2: A Tor.Com Original (Kindle Edition)
This was a better than average anthology of fantasy stories by writers unknown to me. Mostly first chapters of novels, it was a good way to try out some new books, and become more familiar with some upcoming talent. Consistently well written, which was a definite bonus, the selected authors showed off their imaginative and technical skills here, and I enjoyed this very much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Hardly Fierce!, September 13, 2013
By 
LN (Massachusetts) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Fierce Reads Anthology: Volume 2: A Tor.Com Original (Kindle Edition)
Was very disappointed. Expected more in the way of quality. Bought this because I love Ann Aguirre's work, but did not even enjoy her story. The magic was lacking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Find some new authors, July 12, 2013
By 
C. Gervasio (Philadelphia, PA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Fierce Reads Anthology: Volume 2: A Tor.Com Original (Kindle Edition)
I have always liked short stories. The author doesn't have space to ramble, so every sentence has to count.

My two favorite stories were "The Men Who Wish to Drown" and "Heads will roll". They both have one idea and by the end you know what the author is trying to say. They are like perfect little bon-bons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Tasty Treat, April 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Fierce Reads Anthology: Volume 2: A Tor.Com Original (Kindle Edition)
This offering from Tor is a very delightful smorgasbord of fiction,a true buffet of tasty morsels of fantasy,science fiction and more.A wonderful and compelling introduction to the wonders offered by a great publishing company.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Reads, March 5, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Fierce Reads Anthology: Volume 2: A Tor.Com Original (Kindle Edition)
I was surprised with the quality of stories in this collection. Many an interesting plot and variety of themes throughout.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Short Stories - keep them coming!, January 9, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Fierce Reads Anthology: Volume 2: A Tor.Com Original (Kindle Edition)
Great compiliation of different types of stories from newer authors. They were fresh and entertaining and a great preview of the authors works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.