Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Exciting DVD!!!!!!!
The Fifa 2006 World Cup Film - The Grand Finale is an Exciting DVD and is Narrated by Pierce Bronsnan. The DVD Is in letter box format and looks and sounds beautiful. Special features include interviews with players Cannavaro; Nakata; Lehmann; Ballack; and Drogba as well as an interview of Final game referee Elizendo.

The Film starts off with a sand lot soccer...
Published on February 1, 2007 by Richard D. Cappetto

versus
20 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dissapointed
Even though the quality of footage is good, this DVD misses so many exciting points of the last world cup. The group stage is dealt with in basically 5 minutes, with a few highlights of selected games.

Argentina - Serbia, for example, only 1 goal shown. France - Brazil game omitted, France - Spain game also ommited. Nothing said about controversial Italy -...
Published on February 15, 2007 by Roman Yusupov


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dissapointed, February 15, 2007
This review is from: The Fifa 2006 World Cup Film - The Grand Finale (DVD)
Even though the quality of footage is good, this DVD misses so many exciting points of the last world cup. The group stage is dealt with in basically 5 minutes, with a few highlights of selected games.

Argentina - Serbia, for example, only 1 goal shown. France - Brazil game omitted, France - Spain game also ommited. Nothing said about controversial Italy - USA, or Italy - Australia game. About half of the teams competing were not shown, let alone mentioned!

Highlights of England - Portugal (1/4 final), France - Portugal (semifinal) and Italy - Germany (semifinal) each goes on for 10 minutes, way to much for these games that produced 3 goals in total!!! waste of time, they should have used that time for more group games.

Overall, very dissapointed, although the highlights of the final game and the interviews were good. Not what I expected. The 1982 and 1986 world cup highlight videos were the best, in my opinion. If I knew it would be like that, I would not have gotten this DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Exciting DVD!!!!!!!, February 1, 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Fifa 2006 World Cup Film - The Grand Finale (DVD)
The Fifa 2006 World Cup Film - The Grand Finale is an Exciting DVD and is Narrated by Pierce Bronsnan. The DVD Is in letter box format and looks and sounds beautiful. Special features include interviews with players Cannavaro; Nakata; Lehmann; Ballack; and Drogba as well as an interview of Final game referee Elizendo.

The Film starts off with a sand lot soccer Game and then proceeds to the fan feasts and on to the game. We get the Beautiful game quote from Pala and off we go. We start of with he opening game of the round of 32 round Robin type set up-where 16 out of 32 teams move on to the next round. The first game is Germany the home nation VS Costa Rica and Germany goes on to win 4-2 in the highest scoring opening game of world cup history. The film process to highlight key games as Germany; Australia; Spain(who true to form win all three fist round games and then lose in the Quarter finals); England; Argentina who wins 6-0 in the first game; Italy; Brazil the pre tournament favorite; Ghana; Switzerland; The Ukraine; France; The Netherlands; Portugal; Mexico; Sweeten; and Ecuador. The USA had a disappointing showing this time with the one highlight of fighting the eventual World Cup Winner Italy to a 1-1 tie.

The next Round is the round of 16 nd now its win and you move on and lose and you go home. The elimination rounds begin. The DVD Highlights key games in both the first two rounds but does not cover every game. later on in the semis and the finals we get extensive converge of al those games. England over Ecuador 1-0; GERMANY BEATS Sweden 2-0; Argentina BEATS Mexico 2-1; Portugal defeats the Netherlands 1-0; France knocks off Spain 3-1; The Ukraine over Switzerland 3-0 in a shoot out; And Italy defeats Australia 1-0 in a tight one where Italy plays one man down, due to red card, most of the game.

Now we move on to the Quarter finals and again just key games are covered. Germany defeats Argentina 4-2 in a shoot out after a 1-1 tie in regulation and extra time;Portugal wins 3-1 in a shoot out over England (0-0); France stunned Brazil 1-0; and Italy easily defeats the Ukraine 3-0.

Now we move on to the semi finals and we get extensive converge of these two games. Italy defeats Germany in a tight well played game with many scoring opportunities for both teams, 2-0. Italy scored both goals very late in the game. And France beats Portugal 1-0 in a nail bitter. Both of these games was excellent and the Italy Germany game is a top 5 world cup game. It was very exciting.

Then we go to the finals. Italy Vs France. It is a very good game but is marred by a few things. One France scores on a penalty kick after a dive early in the game, they need replay on this type of thing. Two Italy has a goal taken away on an off sides call, another bad call. and third Zadine gets himself tossed on a red card in extra time with a violent head [...]. But despite that the game was an exciting 1-1 draw then went all the way to penalty kicks. Italy had never won a game on penalty kicks and even lost the 1994 World Cup to Brazil on penalty shots, but this time there were perfect scoring on all five shots and winning 5-3. Congratulations Italy a great win; Italy's 4th World Cup.

In conclusion the The Fifa 2006 World Cup Film - The Grand Finale is a great watch and a must have for soccer fans everywhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The beautiful game just got more beautiful..., January 24, 2007
This review is from: The Fifa 2006 World Cup Film - The Grand Finale (DVD)
Overall - A top quality documentary that provides a flowing tour through the last rounds of the World Cup. Brosnan provides interesting commentary without distracting from the mood. Loads of exciting action with many longer segments that immerse you into pivotal (and sometimes unusual) moments of the matches.

Video Quality - Created from original HD footage and made into 480p 16:9 format. Looked very nice even on our 110" (279cm) HD projector, but knowing that HD World Cup content exists I am hoping for a future BluRay Disc release.

Sound Quality - Lots of great sound of the crazy fans, (but seemingly no DD 5.1, only Dolby Pro-Logic?).

Extras - Have not watched interviews yet.

If you love the game, then this DVD will put you head over heels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Meh, it's better than the Reedswain video, February 1, 2007
By 
Toscano Barga (Southern California) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Fifa 2006 World Cup Film - The Grand Finale (DVD)
Would have liked to have seen more of the goals, Brosnan sleepwalks through the very skimpy and unrevealing commentary.

The best Video FIFA ever produced was GOL!, the 1982 World cup summary, with a great commentary by Sean Connery. Would like a DVD of that one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Less than mediocre, November 7, 2007
This review is from: The Fifa 2006 World Cup Film - The Grand Finale (DVD)
I found this DVD less than mediocre. It is difficult to understand how such a exciting sports event could produce such an underwhelming product.

The commentary is sparse to say the least. Almost all actions (literally) are not commented at all, and often you have no clue about who the players are (unless you are a true expert...). There is close to no soundtrack. Most of the action is filmed from a really annoying low angle that makes it almost impossible to appreciate depth of field. About 20% of the movie shows unmemorable actions. Some of the best goals of the tournament are not shown at all, and some non-memorable matches are given way more time than they deserve. An example: we have to see ALL the innumerable yellow and red cards of Netherland-Portugal.

It is hard to understand how FIFA could produce such a sub-par product. You can find much more exciting extracts on YouTube. Really not recommended, not even (or maybe especially) if you are a soccer fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Maybe not for an Italian football fan, January 5, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
More of an overview for the whole World Cup, not just for Italy. Still a good watch for someone who wants to see how this WC played out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great film., June 9, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Fifa 2006 World Cup Film - The Grand Finale (DVD)
Love the close ups. Provides a view of the game that you miss from the typical wide angle approach. You actually get to see feet on the ball.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, March 29, 2013
This review is from: The Fifa 2006 World Cup Film - The Grand Finale (DVD)
This is an adequate compilation of the 2006 World Cup matches. No complaints about the technical quality, etc. I would like to have seen more Italy coverage, since they were the (unlikely?) winner. Then again, the American television account of Italy's efforts and their win over France in the final sounded more like 'how could the French have lost?'. Broadcasting business as usual. One can only imagine the glorious tones that would have accompanied a cup win by Brazil or England!

Product was delivered in good shape and in good time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My nephew loves it, January 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Fifa 2006 World Cup Film - The Grand Finale (DVD)
My nephew loves it, he watches it all the time... great Fifa World Cup moments...good quality film...you will enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect, April 20, 2012
This review is from: The Fifa 2006 World Cup Film - The Grand Finale (DVD)
I loved this dvd, in fact I watched it tonight just because of how great it is. The footage is very clear HD and they seemed to have caught every great play from all the best possible angles. Its a beautiful and minimalist representation of the 2006 World Cup. Pierce Brosnan's narration is very short and rare...only commenting on a few plays when needed. Its unbiased and shows everything that I could want to have seen/remembered from the World Cup. The final game may not have been the full footage as some might expect but I have a dvd for that.

I simply love it. great buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xd9dcae78)

This product

The Fifa 2006 World Cup Film - The Grand Finale
The Fifa 2006 World Cup Film - The Grand Finale by Fifa 2006 World Cup Film: Grand Finale (DVD - 2007)
$14.99 $13.19
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.