Customer Reviews


599 Reviews
5 star:
 (199)
4 star:
 (155)
3 star:
 (100)
2 star:
 (79)
1 star:
 (66)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


49 of 57 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great action
Most of the time it takes me 50-60 pages to get into a book. I was turning the pages like a madman in this one by page 5.

This book has action and intrigue from the start to the surprising and chaotic end.

Meltzer and Baldacci seem to both be able to make librarians work as a heroes in an action/suspense book. Amazing! You take an awkward...
Published 18 months ago by EWebb

versus
114 of 129 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Convoluted and confusing...
I really don't like being critical of authors because writing a book is hard work. And, according to his acknowledgements, this book took him 4 years. So I'm sorry but there are 2 main problems with this book.

First, for folks who didn't read the previous 2 books with these characters, he should have considered some recap or summary. Even though I did read the...
Published 17 months ago by hfj


‹ Previous | 1 260 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

114 of 129 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Convoluted and confusing..., January 24, 2013
This review is from: The Fifth Assassin (Hardcover)
I really don't like being critical of authors because writing a book is hard work. And, according to his acknowledgements, this book took him 4 years. So I'm sorry but there are 2 main problems with this book.

First, for folks who didn't read the previous 2 books with these characters, he should have considered some recap or summary. Even though I did read the books ("The Book of Fate" introduced Nico Hadrian and "The Inner Circle" introduced the Culper Ring), I didn't remember everything from before and found myself thinking "where did THAT come from?!" (e.g., who is the dead First Lady that Nico keeps talking to?).

Secondly, mysteries are good but hopping all over the place to "create" mystery isn't good. Some chapters were 2 pages then you'd hop to 18 years ago for some snippet to explain why the main character feels the way he does about his friend. That whole 18 years ago story just seemed forced and not that relevant to the story.

When the book finally, painfully, ends, it turns out that the whole thing isn't finished. Probably for another book, which hopefully will be more tightly written than this jumble.

I've read all his books but unfortunately have to say this was my least favorite and one that I had to force myself to finish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


49 of 57 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great action, January 15, 2013
By 
This review is from: The Fifth Assassin (Hardcover)
Most of the time it takes me 50-60 pages to get into a book. I was turning the pages like a madman in this one by page 5.

This book has action and intrigue from the start to the surprising and chaotic end.

Meltzer and Baldacci seem to both be able to make librarians work as a heroes in an action/suspense book. Amazing! You take an awkward character who does what he needs to do when it is in the line...makes for great and interesting reading to anticipate how the character will adjust to the situations.

My only complaint is that the premise regarding the assassins is a bit far fetched and casts a bit of a "REALLY?" in your mind as you read the book. In a way it makes the story more interesting but a bit too unbelievable at the same time. Read and judge that part for yourself though.

This does not however detract from the fact that this is a really good action/suspense read that is imaginative and even though it is in a crowded writing genre comes off as original. The fact that Meltzer throws a lot of historical data into his books just makes them that much more enjoyable for me.

Thanks Mr. Meltzer for giving me a book good enough to distract me from the misery of a rainy day stuck at the airport.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 35 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Much too disjointed, January 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The Fifth Assassin by Brad Meltzer was too disjointed---it jumped around too much. I was unable to follow, got frustrated and just quit reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dreadful, January 27, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Fifth Assassin (Hardcover)
I have read many of Brad's books and they are usually pretty good. I wish i could say the same about this book, but it isn't good. This is the literary equivalent of Ishtar...this book is unreadable. It jumps all over, and is just not one of Brad's better efforts. While the concept of the book sounded good, when you get into the book, it doesn't live up to any of the hype.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 28 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Waste of time and money, January 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Fifth Assassin (Hardcover)
The author says he spent 4 years researching this book. The result is 4 years of his life wasted. One of the worst books I've ever read. Apparently this is a series because no one can know what's going on without reading his last book.
The plot is convoluted and confusing and really made no sense and is silly. The characters are poorly developed, shallow and have nothing to say.
Most of the questions in the plot were left unresolved, awaiting his next book I presume. No resolution at the end.
Have read several of Meltzer's prior books but never again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 28 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Couldn't force myself to finish, January 16, 2013
By 
Sheepla (North Carolina USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Fifth Assassin (Hardcover)
I tried to stick with this book, I really did. It quickly became apparent that if you haven't read The Inner Circle (I haven't) this book makes no sense at all. The characters were numerous and the plot was confusing but Brad Meltzer can write so I figured if I stuck with it, at some point I'd feel drawn in to the story. But when Beecher saw an important piece of evidence at Marshall's and Marshall's answer was "the police said wrap it in bubble wrap and bring it in" and Beecher actually believed that story, I had to stop reading. That's not exactly (at all) how police would handle a murder investigation. So I put the book aside without the slightest curiosity about what happened next or how the crimes were solved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bit of a stretch, January 26, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I thought it would be an interesting anaysis, I found it more a farfetched fiction, I never finished it. I really dont recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 32 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Wanted to like it but couldn't finish, January 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Fifth Assassin (Hardcover)
Some of the location and historical details are fun to read, but overall the writing style feels a bit amateurish. The story jumps around and clues are revealed without suspense and without any cleverness... The writing feels weak - characters reveal details and clues in awkward and unnatural conversations with other characters. This technique makes the reader feel stupid and takes the joy out of piecing bits of information together to try to figure out what's happening. I saw the author on TV talking about the book and wanted to like it, but was disappointed and stopped reading about 75 pages in. Sorry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars What kind of an ending was that????, January 25, 2013
By 
Sheila Saperstein "new techie" (Fish Creek, Wi United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Yes I couldn't put it down...Yes I read all of Meltzer...but there were too many holes in this thriller...too many non-connections and then....BOOM...where the heck did that ending come from????
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Excited to read, but then disappointed, January 24, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Fifth Assassin (Hardcover)
I have loved every Brad Meltzer book that I have read. So when I saw this on pre-publication I ordered it. I was excited when it was delivered and got to it as soon as I could.

It is a conspiracy theorist book working two secret groups against each other. The first group, is a group founded by George Washington who wanted a group that would protect the Presidency of the United States. Not necessarily protect the President, but protect the institution of the Presidency. The other group is a secret society that came together to eliminate certain Presidents that were causing division in the country, mainly division through their attitudes towards the Church.

So, here we are, one group wanting to bring the fifth assassination of a President because the current President wants to unite all religions together and be tolerant and this group thinks that is an Abomination against The Lord. The other group wants to thwart this attempted assassination so that the Institution of the Presidency is not sullied by another death.

So, this is a conspiracy theory book that weaves a good story. I did think the plot was well conceived and that it did develop throughout the book. BUT, and this is a big BUT, I think that the book jerked too much back and forth from one group to another from the present to the past and kept mentioning things that seemed to have no connection truly to the story.

I will admit that Meltzer drew his characters in such a way that you thought you knew who the bad guy was but then started to question that thought and eventually you were either proven right or wrong, mostly wrong.

So, the book kept my attention, but the first half was so jerky that I had to really concentrate to finally figure out the writing style. After that it became a bit clearly and the plot started to develop.

So, I liked the book, but I can't give it a rave review because it was difficult to read, follow and digest for a good portion of the book.

So, if you are a Meltzer fan go ahead and buy the book but beware that it will be a bit harder to get into than some of his other books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 260 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Fifth Assassin
The Fifth Assassin by Brad Meltzer (Hardcover - January 15, 2013)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.