Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


76 of 84 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars He Who Lives in Kashmir Knows Kashmir Best
It was after reading Professor Hassnain's book that I decided to go to Kashmir and see this "grave of Jesus" for myself. What began as a short excursion became almost a year in Kashmir and is now a lifetime passion. His evidence was so overwhelming and his reserach so thorough, that it draws one in. That is scholarship at its very finest.

I remained in Kashmir...
Published on June 24, 2007 by Suzanne Olsson, Author

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Printing quality is unreadable. Sadly. Some errors in info also.
For the first half of the book, the right side pages are so faded you can barely see the letters. The second half of the book, the left side of the pages are faded. I'm 3/4s full and my eyes are killing me. I just can't see it. I give up. I've also caught a few errors in the material. For one, Pisces does not fall in June so if Jeshua was born in June he's not a Pisces...
Published 12 months ago by Deborah


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

76 of 84 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars He Who Lives in Kashmir Knows Kashmir Best, June 24, 2007
This review is from: The Fifth Gospel: New Evidence from the Tibetan, Sanskrit, Arabic, Persian and Urdu Sources About the Historical Life of Jesus Christ After the Crucifixion (Paperback)
It was after reading Professor Hassnain's book that I decided to go to Kashmir and see this "grave of Jesus" for myself. What began as a short excursion became almost a year in Kashmir and is now a lifetime passion. His evidence was so overwhelming and his reserach so thorough, that it draws one in. That is scholarship at its very finest.

I remained in Kashmir nearly a year. As I delved deeper and asked more questions, Professor Hassnain always made the time to help me, just as he had numerous other authors and researchers who came for the same reasons.
Each author, including myself, has acknowledged Professor Hassnain's contributions to their own research and books.

But the truth remains that without Professor Hassnain living in close proximity to the tomb, and having access to secret and unknown documents, the world would not have had much of this information in the first place.

This is a brave man, and a brilliant scholar. Now in his eighties, with white hair and a sparkle in his eye that never diminishes,he is a national treasure of Kashmir. We are blessed to have this book as a beacon for scholars past, present, and future.

This book is already a classic, referred to time and again.
I highly recommend it to anyone studying the history of Jews in Kashmir, and particularly the life of Jesus in India.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 38 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Fantastic Book!, February 5, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Fifth Gospel: New Evidence from the Tibetan, Sanskrit, Arabic, Persian and Urdu Sources About the Historical Life of Jesus Christ After the Crucifixion (Paperback)
I was personally quite impressed with this book. It is a vast collection of information regarding the unknown life of Jesus before and after the crucifixion. Why is this information not accepted, in fact, hidden? I have no idea. However, it seems to me that this is some of the most vital and relevant information of the current age. It gives the perspective to give unity to the modern religions, Christian, Buddist, Hebrew and Islam.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Fifth Gospel, March 2, 2008
By 
Tom M. (California USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Fifth Gospel: New Evidence from the Tibetan, Sanskrit, Arabic, Persian and Urdu Sources About the Historical Life of Jesus Christ After the Crucifixion (Paperback)
While this book, or any other book on the subject of Christ, is open to interpretation, it provides another perspective for the reader. The information in the book is not new or earth shattering, but when seen through the authors eyes, helped me form a better opinion for myself. As with all informational books and subjects the onus of weighing the 'facts' presented is on the reader. Combined with other publications from this genre this book paints a clearer, more consise picture of the man (God) and the era.
It's a worthwhile book to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An extention of the Bible, April 17, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Fifth Gospel: New Evidence from the Tibetan, Sanskrit, Arabic, Persian and Urdu Sources About the Historical Life of Jesus Christ After the Crucifixion (Paperback)
If you are open and not closed minded, you will love this book. Can you
imagine Jesus being saved from the nasty cross and going on to teach other people in other lands? Well I can and it did not bother me. I
love Jesus because of his teachings, not because he supposedly saved me on the cross. That was Pauls doing. Both early Jews and Christians believed in reincarnation and it was in the original bible. So why would Jesus have to die to give us eternal life? We already have it. We all are part of the Creator and our souls are immortal. Jesus came down to teach us about love and kindness. Brotherhood and Sisterhood. That is the way to be saved from constant reincarnation and to get back to the creator. So this book is wonderful in that it shows what happened to Jesus after the cross and I have no problem with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jesus lived in Kashmir, India, August 28, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Fifth Gospel: New Evidence from the Tibetan, Sanskrit, Arabic, Persian and Urdu Sources About the Historical Life of Jesus Christ After the Crucifixion (Paperback)
In this book, the authors evaluate the historical documents, apocryphal gospels, non-canonical acts and epistles, and also the four canonical gospels to shine light on the influence of Hinduism and Buddhism in the teachings and acts of Jesus including events after crucifixion and resurrection. Many earlier writings about Jesus were destroyed by the order of the church. Tradition has handed down a list of 26 Apocryphal Gospels, 7 Acts and 10 Epistles, which were used during the early days of Christianity. Some scholars have suggested that the theory of reincarnation is a later addition made by the Apostles. The concepts of reincarnation and son of God are also found in Vedic literature of Hinduism. Jesus was familiar with these concepts during his stay in India and he himself asserts at three places in Bible that he is the son of God, and during a discourse with the king of Kashmir, Jesus admits that he is the son of God (Bhavisya Purana, 17-32).

Canonical Gospels record the history of Jesus until he was 12 and then resume at the age of 30, but the intervening 18 years of his youth is unaccounted for. There is only one reference to Jesus' whereabouts; Luke 2.52 says; "And Jesus increased in wisdom and stature, and in favor with God and man." This doesn't really say where he increased his wisdom and knowledge to preach the glory of God. According to the history recorded by Hindu and Buddhist scholars (summarized by Russian historian Notovitch in 244 verses in 14 chapters), Saint Issa (Jesus) joined a merchant caravan and arrived in Juggernaut (Puri), India where the Hindu scholars received him with open arms and taught him Sanskrit, the Vedas and the Vedic practices (Notovitch, Chapter 4, versus 12-14, and chapter 5, verse 4), including healing the sick and performing exorcisms (taught from Atharvaveda.) Issa spent considerable amount of time studying the metaphysical thoughts of Buddhism, and later teaching at Juggernaut, Rajagriha, Benares and other holy cities of India. His teachings stressed for equality among all men and worked for the emancipation of the poor and downtrodden. In his later years, he went to preach in the Himalayan country of Nepal, and finally returned to Palestine at the age of 29 (Notovitch, chapter 9, verse 1). Buddhist monks of Tibet obtained the recorded the history of Issa from India via Nepal (Notovitch, chapter 4, versus 11-13). The original was in Pali, the language of Buddhists which was then translated into Tibetan. In 1889 Nicolas Notovitch, a Russian historian studied and summarized them at Himis Monastery in Tibet. Later in 1929, Swami Abhedananda of the Ramakrishna Order reviewed and verified the authenticity of the apocrypha by personally studying them at Himis.

The influence of Hinduism and Buddhism may also be found in the following: Sermon on the Mount is one of the classic examples for preaching the word of God and Jesus having full knowledge of Buddhism and how Buddha gave his first sermon in the Park of Gazelles in Benares, after fasting, and meditating for 42 days under a fig tree. Jesus like Buddha underwent mystical test and meditation in the wilderness for 40 days to seek the spiritual power. In Hinduism, especially during Vedic times, great rishis, sages, and saints went to the deep forest for meditation for self purification of the body, mind and soul. When they emerged from this long and arduous journey into the inner consciousness, they would attain spiritual and healing powers. Buddha sought enlightenment after fasting and meditating under a Fig tree for 42 days. In one episode, Jesus goes to a high mountain with Peter and his followers. After meditation, he transfigured before their very eyes and his face shine as the Sun (Mark 9:2, 30; Luke 9:30 and Matthew 17; 3-6.). Timothy believed Jesus was God (Timothy 3:16). This is similar to the description of Vishwa rupa in chapter 11 of Bhagavad-Gita where Lord Krishna appears to Arjuna in the Universal form and shines like Sun.

One of the main features of this book is that the author proposes that Jesus after resurrection goes back to Kashmir valley of India for the second time and spend the remaining years of life. The author discusses the details of Jesus appearing to his disciples and apostles, at Jerusalem, Galilee and Bethany, and the authors propose that Jesus escaped alive and was heading towards Damascus when he meets Paul who had been sent by Romans to capture Jesus again, But Jesus sends a message through a disciple to Paul to preach the holy name (Acts 4:6; 9:10-15.) According to the gospel of Phillip, Jesus was saved from crucifixion and nursed by his friends and disciples and remained in hiding for some time. He imparted spiritual knowledge to Peter and James. After spending about 18 months with them he appointed James as his successor and migrated to live in Kashmir, India with his mother Mary, Mary Magdalene, and a close group of followers. The most important information about the arrival of Jesus Christ in the valley of Kashmir and his meeting with the king of Kashmir, Shali-Vahana has been recorded in Bhavisya Purana (Bhavisya Purana 17-32).

1. The Unknown Life of Jesus Christ - The Original Text of Nicolas Notovitch's 1887 Discovery
2. The Lost Years of Jesus: Documentary Evidence of Jesus' 17-Year Journey to the East
3. Jesus and Moses Are Buried in India, Birthplace of Abraham and the Hebrews
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Printing quality is unreadable. Sadly. Some errors in info also., June 26, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Fifth Gospel: New Evidence from the Tibetan, Sanskrit, Arabic, Persian and Urdu Sources About the Historical Life of Jesus Christ After the Crucifixion (Paperback)
For the first half of the book, the right side pages are so faded you can barely see the letters. The second half of the book, the left side of the pages are faded. I'm 3/4s full and my eyes are killing me. I just can't see it. I give up. I've also caught a few errors in the material. For one, Pisces does not fall in June so if Jeshua was born in June he's not a Pisces. Even in Vedic astrology which is 20 days ahead of Western, he'd be a Taurus. IF He was born in June he's either a Taurus or a Gemini or a Cancer, depending on when and what school of astrology you ascribe to. That is such common knowledge today that it makes me question everything else. It's as though the author read all the new age books out there, put them all together into one and called it fact. Not so. There's some good info in here but also a lot of misinfo. And the printing quality is just so terrible, I simply cannot make the effort any longer. :(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well Researched, January 28, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Fifth Gospel: New Evidence from the Tibetan, Sanskrit, Arabic, Persian and Urdu Sources About the Historical Life of Jesus Christ After the Crucifixion (Paperback)
Extremely well researched and accurate, this book provides excellent support for the book "Jesus Lived in India" which also supports the evidence that Jesus survived the crucifiction and lived the remainder of his life in India.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 18 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, December 9, 2011
By 
JPH (Saratoga, CA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Fifth Gospel: New Evidence from the Tibetan, Sanskrit, Arabic, Persian and Urdu Sources About the Historical Life of Jesus Christ After the Crucifixion (Paperback)
I was hoping for a rigorous treatment of the subject, but the authors too often veer off into conjecture and reliance on sources that they have already proved inconsistent (e.g. the Bible) or otherwise known as complete nonsense (Aquarian Gospel ...). DNA analysis of the remains from the grave of Yusu Asaph (purportedly Jesus Christ) will at most prove Jewish descent, not the identity of the person entombed therein. If compared against DNA retrieved from the other graves mentioned. e.g. Mary, Mary Magdalene, Moses, etc., the most that can be proved is possible familial relations in addition to ethnic origin.

Author Hassnain has considerable credentials but sometimes displays a typical Indian tendency to rely on quasi-religious explanations to various questions.

The book would be more convincing if it relied on hard facts to build its case.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars life of jesus after cruxifiction, November 21, 2009
By 
This review is from: The Fifth Gospel: New Evidence from the Tibetan, Sanskrit, Arabic, Persian and Urdu Sources About the Historical Life of Jesus Christ After the Crucifixion (Paperback)
it is wonderful deliberating that th etruth comes out. also other books like Jesus The Book tell us about the time after cruxifiction. and books like The Lost Years of Jesus: Documentary Evidence of Jesus' 17-Year Journey to the East tell us about the times of jesus not told in bible. if we nunderstand now, that there might be a truth that wasn't told to us thorughcenturies, we are ready to enter this book and it shows us a story of the life of a holy man, how it truly happened.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Historical Jesus, June 27, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Fifth Gospel: New Evidence from the Tibetan, Sanskrit, Arabic, Persian and Urdu Sources About the Historical Life of Jesus Christ After the Crucifixion (Paperback)
Book based on Good Research work. Lot of cultural research in the early Jewish Migration in the Kashmir area. I was more content with the Edgar Cayce (ARE Press)
book the Story of Jesus and Many Lives of Master
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.