Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Colonial Guerrilla Fighting Skills - The Tomahawk at War!, December 16, 2011
This review is from: The Fighting Tomahawk, Volume II: Further Studies in the Combat Use of the Early American Tomahawk (Paperback)
I gave high praise to Mr. McLemore's first volume "The Fighting Tomahawk: An Illustrated Guide to Using the Tomahawk and Long Knife as Weapons" (see my Amazon review) and I believe it to be the best book on this iconic and uniquely American weapon and its fighting art, until I got this book, that expands on the content of the original volume and continues with advance techniques.

In volume II, McLemore does an excellent job of merging 18th/19th century colonial fighting methods with contemporary skills providing a historically rich but effective fighting form for modern application. As well, Mr. McLemore provides more in-depth historical vignettes on the evolution and employment of the tomahawk making reading this book more than a "how-to" text. The book also covers all the salient topics of tomahawk employment including; throwing, cutting, chopping and awareness of overall potential. Obviously it covers the complete manifesto of fighting methods, techniques and conceptual information; also it has extensive training information for working with partners. And like all of Mr. McLemore's books this one continues the tradition of fabulous hand sketched detailed illustrations. If I am to make one complaint about this book is my copy was missing pages. In the table of contents it states on page 367 is source material, my book abruptly ends at page 366, which kind of ticks me off. But other than this I have no complaints whatsoever.

To help master this fighting form I have searched for a training tomahawk and to be honest the selection was very limited. However, Cold Steel manufactures a heavy grade polypropylene Axe Gang Hatchet trainer that fits the bill to use instead of a "live" tomahawk in training.

Additionally there are a couple of DVD sets dedicated to fighting with tomahawks to round out your training reference material. The first is "The Fighting Tomahawk" 2-DVD set by Cold Steel. This is a very good set and worth viewing. The second set is "The Fighting Tomahawk: The Video" also by Mr. McLemore. This set is three DVD's with a runtime of approximately 250 minutes. I highly recommend this set as it supports all the information conveyed in both "Fighting Tomahawks" volumes.

I think that this fighting form is a good addition to other weapon based fighting forms; not as competition but as a compliment to the fighting skill-set. The hard-and-fast tomahawk tactics in this book truly make this an unstoppable combative weapon ideal for military warriors and martial arts practitioners.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic fully illustrated book on the Fighting Tomahawk.(V. 2) A great companion to his first volume., June 27, 2013
This review is from: The Fighting Tomahawk, Volume II: Further Studies in the Combat Use of the Early American Tomahawk (Paperback)
Anyone who is into fighting weapons over the years is familiar with Dwight McLemore's absolutely fantastic books. In the past I have read and reviewed most of his previous texts. (The Fighting Tomahawk, The Fighting Staff, The Fighting Bowie and Big Knife Fighting System, The Fighting Sword and the Fighting Kukri). They are always well-written well-researched books and most of them become classics that seldom lose their original value. This great book is the second one (The Fighting Tomahawk: Vol. 2 Further studies in the combat use of the early American Tomahawk)on the subject of the tomahawk.

This huge fully illustrated book with his fantastic clear drawings covers the various Tomahawk grips, cutting and chopping techniques, angles of attack, foot work and other important details in how to handle a Tomahawk as a fighting tool. The last chapter shows a portfolio of assorted tomahawk techniques. It is strongly suggested to read his first volume on the use of the tomahawk before reading this one; nevertheless, each of his great books stands alone. His books are always fully illustrated with his great drawings. The drawings show details of each technique that photographs often miss.

In conclusion, if you are a serious student of the weapon arts, you should check out not just this book, but all of Mr. McLemore's incredible and unique books.

Rating: 5 Stars. Joseph J. Truncale (Author: Wakizashi-Jutsu: An official manual of Bushi Satori Ryu)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good guide, April 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Fighting Tomahawk, Volume II: Further Studies in the Combat Use of the Early American Tomahawk (Paperback)
I own a few tomahawks, so I picked up this book to learn more about them and to learn some techniques for (potentially) using them. This book was great. I accidentally ordered this book instead of the first volume, but I found it useful and easy to follow. I've never studied martial arts or sword fighting, and even though this book contained elements of both, it was easy to understand. There are lots of diagrams and step-by-step instructions for techniques, concepts, and practice drills. It may take a few minutes to understand the drawn diagrams, but most people will figure them out pretty quickly. Also, this is not one of those systems where you have to follow each technique 100 percent and get every tiny aspect perfect. For example, the section on footwork emphasizes the reader's ability to stay stable and balanced in doing the moves rather than studying the footwork diagrams and having to recreate them precisely each time. The moves feel pretty natural and make sense; the author would rather have you rely on that feeling instead of over thinking what you're doing. The author gives great advice and techniques, but doesn't get fanatical about it. There are sections on basic attack moves and angles, footwork, training, sparring, and using the off hand for open-handed moves or counter strikes with a knife. If you're looking to find out more about how to fight with a tomahawk (and what to do with your other hand) this book is great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fascinating dissection of the countless details of use with this historic weapon, December 13, 2010
This review is from: The Fighting Tomahawk, Volume II: Further Studies in the Combat Use of the Early American Tomahawk (Paperback)
The tomahawk was one of the weapons of the American Revolution. "The Fighting Tomahawk, Volume II: Further Studies in the Combat Use of the Early American Tomahawk" analyzes the early use of this famed weapon, first brought into prominence by the Native American Indians and adopted by the Americans settling the country. A one handed axe can be used in many creative ways, and is often dual-wielded with a large knife. For any curious in the use of the tomahawk's techniques or actual use, "The Fighting Tomahawk, Volume II" is a fascinating dissection of the countless details of use with this historic weapon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great book, October 30, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Fighting Tomahawk, Volume II: Further Studies in the Combat Use of the Early American Tomahawk (Paperback)
I have thrown and fought with Tomahawks for several years now, and I wish I'd had this from the start!
This is book two (and I DO recommend you read book one first) And within it are some of the simplest to understand, masterfully explained, practical, and REALISTIC tomahawk combatives techniques I have ever seen.
Within these pages Dwight expounds upon the precept of Vol.1, while continuing a natural and comfortable evolution of style and training methods.
This system Isn't just for re-enactors, but for anyone wishing to know how to train, fight, and defend with an original American weapon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book with excellent drawings, September 8, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Fighting Tomahawk, Volume II: Further Studies in the Combat Use of the Early American Tomahawk (Paperback)
Very well written and useful for learning basic fighting techniques. I am very much enjoying all of Mac's books. Highly recoomend it and vol 1 as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Husband Loves It, March 3, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Fighting Tomahawk, Volume II: Further Studies in the Combat Use of the Early American Tomahawk (Paperback)
I bought this for my husband, and he just loves it. It has a lot of detail and pictures; so much information is in this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very satisfied., October 19, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Fighting Tomahawk, Volume II: Further Studies in the Combat Use of the Early American Tomahawk (Paperback)
arrived on time. product exactly as described. very satisfied.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, August 6, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Fighting Tomahawk, Volume II: Further Studies in the Combat Use of the Early American Tomahawk (Paperback)
It was delivered right on time and my grandson loves it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, January 11, 2015
By 
Nickie M Hawthorne (Red Oak, OK United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Fighting Tomahawk, Volume II: Further Studies in the Combat Use of the Early American Tomahawk (Paperback)
product as advertised. fast delivery,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Fighting Tomahawk, Volume II: Further Studies in the Combat Use of the Early American Tomahawk
$52.00 $31.82
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.