Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: The Final Adventure
Safety Month botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Drowners The best from Bose just got wireless Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks STEM Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Best Camping & Hiking Gear in Outdoors

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars22
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$12.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on November 29, 2012
I was very excited when I saw a new MURS and 9th Wonder album, as their previous albums are some of my favorites.

Unfortunately, there are only 4-5 good songs on this album, and a few total throwaways that felt like songs created for a focus group.

With this release (and the recent collaboration with Fashawn), MURS has gone from an automatic purchase to someone whose music I need to hear before spending money on.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 4, 2013
I love the tandem of Murs and 9th in a different way than my appreciation for Buck and 9th. I was just a tad disappointed though on this effort, especially since it is their last together. There are some stand out songs on the album. I would definitely get it if you are a fan of the duo but if this is your first listen to 9th and Murs together then pick another one of their joint projects for your first listen.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 16, 2012
After the lackluster album with Fashawn just two months prior, Murs is back with his fifth, and final, album with 9th Wonder. Honestly, considering this is their last album I expected them to go out with a bang. Sadly, most of these songs never go beyond the level of "good." None of the material on here is necessarily bad, I just expected something more. Does that make sense?

The album starts with "Get Together" which is home to the only guest on the album, Rapsody. Murs tries to give Rapsody the spotlight on this and only spits like a 40 second verse at the end. Her verse is alright, but she's not good enough, in my opinion, to deserve basically her own song on the album. For me the album really picked up on track three "Funeral For A Killer." This is where Murs is flexing his storytelling abilities and songs like these are where the album shines the brightest. In terms of content Murs speaks on normal Murs topics. Speaking on Hip Hop, himself, life, and telling stories.

9th Wonder definitely came through with another collection of extremely dope beats. It's crazy that someone like 9th, who has been in the game for a decade and a half, is still producing some of the best beats you can find in Hip Hop. Of course Murs is no stranger to 9th's production so he rides all of these with ease. Even though some of these songs (Whatuptho) seem to lack the necessary intensity to make this a classic final album, 9th's production is a thing of beauty and it's definitely worth checking this out just for the production alone.

Standout Songs: "Funeral For A Killer," "Tale of Two Cities" & "Dance With Me"

Overall Score: 8/10 - As previously stated nothing about this album is bad, but considering this is their final album I expected to be blown away. Still, it's a nice addition to the collection. If you're a fan of Murs, 9th Wonder, or their past work then I would recommend checking this out.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 28, 2013
If this is how Murs and 9th are going out, they definitely left a lasting impression. The beats, song concepts, and overall appeal of the album is genuine and impressive. This was easily one of my fav albums of 2012.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 19, 2012
My only complaint about this CD is that it was only 10 songs long. It left you wondering where the last five songs went since none of his tracks were particularly long. Thank goodness that the intro for this album was so strong. He really hasn't changed at all in this album. He's still down to earth, still funny, and still bringing a mature, refreshing message. The album has a lot of throwback and classical beats, which I find is typical of 9th wonder, but Murs does a good job of not letting you get bored. He's good at making catchy hip hop songs without ever sounding commercial.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 29, 2014
Still one of my favorite albums to this day . There's been this growing trend of like 10 songs per Album . But as long as all of em bump u won't hear me complaining. I hope this truly isn't there last album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 17, 2012
I love 9th wonder but lately some of his beats have been uninspiring and boring. Not here it isn't, he is in top form here and so is Murs. It's a shame they are ending their collab together. Support real hip hop and go and get this or download it now!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 5, 2012
I know what I am going to get when I buy a Murs & 9th Wonder album and this one does not disappoint. Murs is a rapping savant and 9th Wonder is a producer extraordinaire. Together they are second to none except Eric B and Rakim in their prime.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 1, 2013
Was not too happy with Fornever but all of their other collabs have worked well. Final adventure really caps things off for Murs and 9th as their 2nd best project. I am getting too old to keep seeing these 'groups' die out over time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 31, 2013
When Murs first worked with producer 9th Wonder, it was almost a decade ago. Their first outing- 2004's "Murs 3:36- The 9th Edition" contained the singles "Bad Man!" and "Hustle". However, on that same album contained the controversial tracks "The Pain" as well as the racially sensitive "And This Is For...". Two years later, they released their second collaboration "Murray's Revenge". They also released the free album "Sweet Lord" and followed it with the noticeably radio friendly "Fornever". For as great as their projects were, all of their albums pretty much played the game of musical chairs with record labels. Every album they released together were issued on El-P's label Definitive Jux, the Warner Bros. subsidiary Record Collection and the gangsta rap-centric indie label SMC Recordings. In 2012, they announced their fifth and final recording- the aptly titled "The Final Adventure", which was released on 9th Wonder's label Jamla Records.

As with every project- it's business as usual for Murs & 9th Wonder. They start the album off with "Get Together" featuring 9th's protégé Rapsody. On the somber filled "Funeral For A Killer", Murs ponders the question if people should mourn the death of a gang member. There's also a guest appearance from The Away Team member/producer Khrysis on "Baby Girl (Holding Hands)". On the quasi-sequel "Walk Like A Woman", Murs talks about his journey from being a ladies' man to a happily married adult. On "Tale Of Two Cities", he discusses the endless problems that plague his neighborhood. On the song "Dance With Me", he talks about his struggle to make a relationship work. He dreams of a better world on "Better Way" and corresponds with a girl from a foreign country on "Wherever You Are". The album closes with "It's Over"- a song which Murs feels the need to bring things to an end. While Murs is at his best, the album suffers from 9th Wonder's production. It's not that it's bad, but one would get the feeling that he did better work on albums by the artists on his label (Big Remo, Actual Proof and Rapsody, to name a few). Overall, it's a decent album but it pales in comparison to their earlier work.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.