Automotive Holiday Deals Books Holiday Gift Guide Shop Men's Athletic Shoes Learn more nav_sap_plcc_6M_fly_beacon $5 Albums egg_2015 All-New Amazon Fire TV Movember Martha Stewart American Made Find the Best Purina Pro Plan for Your Pet Amazon Gift Card Offer minions minions minions  Amazon Echo Starting at $84.99 Kindle Black Friday Deals Classics and Essentials in CDs & Vinyl Outdoor Deals on HTL

Format: Amazon Instant VideoChange
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

46 of 53 people found the following review helpful
on February 15, 2008
After mysterious events following the crucifixion of Jesus, Roman emperor Tiberius (Max von Sydow) sends Tito Valerio Tauro (Daniele Lotti) to investigate the supposed resurrection of Jesus. He doesn't get much cooperation from Pontius Pilate (Hristo Shopov, who also played Pilate in "The Passion of the Christ"). He comes in contact with some of Jesus's followers and notice how faithful and peaceful they are.

The movie is well filmed (except for a few rather bad battle and fight sequences) and has a good cast. Dolph Lundgren plays Tauro's assistant/bodyguard. It is nice to see him in a different type of role but his character is a bit underdeveloped. Only towards the end of the movie do we get to know him slightly better. It would have been nice to see more of the interaction between him and Tauro throughout the movie. Vincenzo Bocciarelli, whom I've never heard of before, plays a gorgeous (and somewhat campy) Caligula and manages to steal his scenes from Max von Sydow. F. Murray Abraham also appears in a minor character.

The movie has a clear pro-Christian message and your appreciation of the movie will depend on your religious views. Personally I found the message in the ending to be a bit overstated (albeit expected). Recommended to fans of the stars, Christian viewers and fans of historical movies set in Jerusalem or the Roman Empire in general.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
on January 24, 2011
I am a Christian who also likes movies outside the purview of the Bible, but still based on good probability. If you want perfect realism, you are not going to get it in hollywood. I think many folks thought they were going to get another Da Vinci Code out of this movie; and don't understand Christian underpinnings at all.

Rather interestingly, I have studied some of the historians who were not Biblical from this event, and they do in fact write of the sun turning dark, and earthquakes occurring. One of them Africanus, even tore down the historical rumor that the darkness was caused by an eclipse, and even posed the scientific evidence that this could not be true. However the fact that the darkness was reported over a large part of the Roman/Greco world, and did happen, was not disputed.

The Romans were pretty sophisticated, and even had machines that helped determine the epicenter of earthquakes. It is very probable that certain inquiry was made into any thing that may have displeased the "gods" in Roman culture. They would not have discovered the Crucifixion incident until someone could travel to the area near the epicenter to find any event that fit their concept of an earth shattering event of human origin. They would have been looking for anything that hit the political radar down there to make a correlation. Only upon arrival would they make the connection to Christ's conviction and execution.

Tiberius was not your regular dictator, he actually despised Rome and preferred to rule from his villa near the shore, and even set out on a boat once during a political scuffle in Rome. A prefect of the area in Germania, he would have had many friends in the army up there, so his ties to the investigator make sense for a story line. With his tendency toward thought instead of conquest and politic, I can imagine a man that would have been curious about anything as odious as natural signs of wrath of the gods.

Many of the "facts" brought up in the investigation were written at least 3 hundred years later in the apocrypha 'Acts of Pilate' which are understood by almost all scholars as simple popular whimsical writings of faith disseminated by writers just trying to put out a good story. However, I'm sure they had at least a tinge of fact based on old traditions in the Church of the first centuries AD. Historical data retrieved in 1961 led to information that Pilate probably committed suicide in Gaul, as his fortunes turned for the worse in Caligula's rule. Besides, he probably didn't get much credit once the Romans had to burn Jerusalem to the ground and kill almost every Jew in sight. Failed rulers are not favored in Rome.

I found the movie stimulating, and immediately began scurrying about to find if any of the characters were factual names of history, and could be researched to verify that they actually lived at the same time. Just verifying that was amazing, as the video industry rarely bothers themselves with any thing of an "investigative" nature. In fact the name of the movie is a contradiction to most anything of documentary flavor in the TV & Movie industry.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
on February 28, 2008
The Final Inquiry was released in 2006 in Italy. It is only recently being released in the U.S. The cast, which includes Hristo Shopov as Pontius Pilate, Daniele Lioti as Tito Valerio (Lungren's master) Monica Cruz as Tabitha, and Vincenzo Bocciarelli as Caligola is convincing and very interesting to watch. However, Dolph Lungren (Brixos) once again steals the spotlight as a Hun turned into a Roman slave after he is captured.

The movie begins when an earthquake and solar eclips occur at the same time. Tito Valerio (Romes greatest general) is sent to investigate a possibe ressurection of Jesus Christ.

Dolph is 50 (at the time of this review in 2008). He still has youthful looks with a cut and muscular physique. His massive frame makes him the perfect candidate for the role of Brixos. It is refresshing to see Lungren explore different types of acting roles with different types of images.

Don't miss this movie!! The cast is great, the script is great, and my man Dolph Lungren is amazing!! I rate this movie with 5 stars!!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
'The Final Inquiry" is an Italian film that was made in English, but got dubbed over again [to cover the accents I presume] and is set during the Roman Empire, circa 33 AD. A series of earthquakes on a particular day that is felt around the world sets the Roman Emperor Tiberius Caesar [Max Von Sydow] to command one of his tribunes Titus Valerius Taurus [Daniel Loggia] to go to Jerusalem, where the Emperor believes the crucifixion of a certain Jesus from the province of Judea and the resurrection rumors surrounding him is reponsible for the events.

Tribune Titus goes off to Jerusalem with a slave captured in fighting, a germanic warrior Brixas [Dolph Lundgren] and they encounter a group of people called the Nazarenes, who carry on the teachings of Jesus, in spite of persecution. They also meet Pontius Pilate, the Roman governor who finds Titus' inquiry into the whereabouts of Jesus' body a threat to his authority.

Besides the search for answers as to how Jesus died, and what happened to his body afterwards, and the greater question of whether he was truly resurrected [Pilate and the Pharisees go to great lengths to try and disprove the resurrection theory], the other main plot centers around the romance that develops between Titus and a Nazarene, Tabitha and their love story holds the film together. Their chemistry is palbable [yes, its a Biblical story, yet the interplay of dialogue and emotion between these two is credibly done]. Titus finds himself drawn, despite his skepticism, to the noble manner in which the Nazarenes carry themselves, and a tragedy followed by a miracle causes him to question his own lack of faith.

Though this is not "The Greatest Story Ever Told", it is a decently-made Biblical movie. The sets are quite convincing [I think the movie itself was shot in Tunisia] and the acting, though far from great, is credible. Dolph Lundgren as the slave warrior is quite convincing in his role, and the actors portraying Titus and Tabitha are credible too, as is the actor playing Pontius Pilate [who also portrayed pilate in The Passion of Christ]. For a hammy performance, look out for the actor portraying Caligula.

Final verdict - a pleasantly watchable Biblical movie, but if your expectations are high, you may want to skip this one.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
on March 23, 2008
I saw this on TBN a few nights ago, and found it exceeded my expectations. As a lawyer, I was drawn to it partially because of how it presented the truth or falsity of Jesus' Resurrection from the dead more or less as a type of "grand jury" inquiry, which, I believe, was exactly why the movie was named as it was. No grand miracles were provided, except for one healing toward the end of the picture, which serves to heal the protagonist's love interest, and, in so doing, show that the skeptic's usual denials that Jesus rose from death to life again are false. God can and does provide true life after death.
As for the "inquiry" which follows, regarding the resurrection: first, the movie showed a scene where supposed disciples "stole" His body and tried to carry it away to re-bury it, thereby leading to the story that He didn't rise again, and everything that led from it thereafter was a lie. But, Titus finds that the supposed Christ body was not His; instead, the wounds supposedly made upon crucifixion were done after death. Also,the supposed 'disciples' he slew in finding the body were hired gladiators, obviously in the employ of Pilate. Next, they show, by "re-enacting" the raising of Lazarus via an unexpecting Titus, who was the one drugged, how a person can be drugged to simulate death and then awaken after several days. It is argued that both the raising of Lazarus and Christ's resurrection would then be no more than magical "tricks" to fool the populace into belief in Jesus. Titus believes that, until he finds out that a miracle CAN happen, but that takes place later. Third, they show that the Romans who were present at Jesus' death could and were pressured into falsely saying that He didn't die on Good Friday, so as to lead to the drugged-state-of-false-death version. But, Longinus, who was the Centurion in charge at the crucifixion, while being pressured by Pilate, maintains to Titus that he, himself, knew Jesus was dead before he threw his lance into Jesus' side. Each possibility is then shown to be false. So, no one could have drugged Jesus, and any disappearance of His body would then have to be either by stealing it or by His Resurrection. Finally, after first believing in the "drugging theory", Titus finds that miracles can and do happen when God, in the person of Peter the Apostle, intervenes and restores Titus' love interest to life after she, who had suffered an apparent head injury and died. Titus then concludes that the ancient Roman gods and goddesses are creations of man, and the God of Jesus is real, and that peace and love are the best ways to live. He recommends that Tiberius place his faith in Jesus' Resurrection, and leaves his post as a Roman officer to live with his lady-love. Although Caligula, who kills Tiberius, sends orders for Titus' assassination, boy gets girl, and both live happily(we hope) ever after.
So much for the plot line. But there are other good things to mention. Another good feature of this movie was a view of Jesus' antagonists i.e., the persons who didn't want to let Jesus' Resurrection to become known and how they would have been acting after His supposed Resurrection. The Sanhedrin, i.e., the Jewish hierarchy, among whom was a person then known as "Saul of Tarsus"(later to become a great Christian apostle known as Paul), was at that time acting to suppress the early Christians, intervened when they learned that Rome had sent a fact-finder to Jerusalem and tried their best, with Pilate's cooperation, to make Titus see that the whole story about the Resurrection had been made up by the disciples. They were very active in trying to stamp out the Christian cult before it grew, and so when a disciple(Saint Stephen, "the first martyr") was caught, he was stoned to death. Meanwhile, Pilate, the Roman Procurator, didn't want Rome to meddle in his affairs, and also tried to either kill Titus or convince him that the whole story of Jesus' rising was false, invented by the disciples.
I found the acting credible. I wasn't looking for an Academy Award type performance in this picture, as the purpose was obvious at the outset, i.e., to provide uplifting faith-based fare for Christians and to provide a first hand look at how any real official inquiry may have been conducted, with all the Biblical characters present, had any inquiry been ordered. The outcome, i.e., that Tiberius would order the Empire to become Christian, was, in my mind,unbelievable. The historical Tiberius wasn't the man protrayed in the movie, looking for life after death. Also, it seems too improbably that Tiberius would ever simply rely upon the report of one man, who had become romantically and personally involved, and then change the entire Classical god and goddess system that the Empire had been using and re-distribute the property of all the Empire, and destroy the slave-and-master system of owning persons to do the manual labor of the Empire, then in existence. So, Caligula, in life a cruel and insane man, fills the role in this movie of restoring us to the history we know, by killing Tiberius(borrowing, possibly, from the killing of Marcus Aurelius by his son, Commodus, in Gladiator?). The romance was done well, although I thought there was not enough time to develop the romance well enough especially since the two lovers were so different, and her contract marriage was not dealt with in a believable way. Nevertheless, the two actors were good looking, and did their lines and scenes believably, and we know that Cupid's arrow can shoot at anyone, ergo, why not a Roman Tribune and a Hebrew upper-class Teenager?
So, for believers, it was a good two hour view; for nonbelievers, it was probably a waste of time, but it wasn't aimed toward nonbelievers anyway. I'd watch it again, and my wife also likes it.
44 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
on March 13, 2008
I saw a film a couple of years ago with the same premise. Not being made by Christians it was less than fulfilling spiritually. While this film was made from a genuine Christian slant, the production elements were less than satisfactory.
This is like a second-rate THE ROBE. In fact there are many similarities from a Roman Tribune looking for truth to his trusty sidekick and Peter healing a woman. Of course that film had Richard Burton...this one doesn't. I couldn't believe F. Murray Abraham's performance. This guy won an Oscar?!!? And Dolph Lundgren...who knows? His dialogue was so stilted, I started longing for the atrocious dialogue of the lastest STAR WARS movies, but that isn't really his fault. And I had to put my foot down with the Caligula homage to GLADIATOR. First of all we never hear about Caligula until the very end and he comes in looking like an actor from a Silent Film...blaring eyes and overdone body movements...reminded me of Gloria Swanson in SUNSET BLVD.
I will say this. The costumes were spectacular. And I really liked the flashbacks with Jesus. And I also liked the guy playing Peter. I've never seen him played just that way and I really liked it. I also liked the tying together of Saul and Stephen. Very nice idea.
This was a good idea for a film but like most Christian films, it falls short of the mark. It's a shame because I personally think films about God deserve the VERY BEST. Maybe someday Hollywood will catch on. Hey Hollywood, there's plenty of Christians that will see these movies if you make them right or didn't you hear about the millions PASSION OF THE CHRIST made. I know you're all about money and frankly we're willing to part with it...we just want some quality with our spirituality. Not too much to ask, is it?
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on May 26, 2009
One of the best movies I have ever seen... Just love it.. The story is intriguing..( A Roman Tribune seeking the factual truth about Jesus and finding His real truth...Love)...Extremely fascinating watching Liotti portray the feelings of the character on his face..Never seen that before..He is very suttle and definately in command of his performance..Absolutely excellent...Enjoy...
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on April 15, 2008
This movie has a different take on the resurrection of Jesus Christ. The emperor Tiberius Caesar dispatches a tribune, Titus Valierius Tauros (Daniele Liotti) to investigate the possibility of Jesus' resurrection. During his investigation, he crosses paths with the major characters in the Gospels and Acts and concludes the resurrection did in fact happen. Several well known (at least to me) actors appear in the movie: Max Von Sydow, F. Murray Abraham, and Dolph Lundgren.

I would have enjoyed a bit more CSI flavor in Tauros' investigation, turning it more into an entertaining way to present information like Frank Morrison's Who Moved the Stone? Perhaps an intellectual companion along the lines of William of Baskerville in The Name of the Rose or Edith Pargeter's Brother Cadfael would drive the investigation forward not only through a 1st century version of a forensic investigation but also through the interaction between a Roman man of action and a 1st century man of thought similar to the interaction between Jack Aubrey and Dr. Maturin in Master and Commander.

The ending left me a bit cold. Tiberius, upon receiving Tauros' report, resolves to prevail on the Senate to move to stop persecution of the Christians. However, his son, Caligula, realizing that could undermine the ideology of the emperor's divinity, assassinates Tiberius and has Tauros' report burned.

A more interesting ending could have shown Tiberius contemplating the implications of Tauros' report, deciding it wasn't in the best interests of the empire, and then being killed by his son. That would have produced a more ironic comment on the difference between the kingdom of God and the kingdom of man.

However, do watch the movie. It's clean entertainment and represents another step forward in creating Christian-themed entertainment with good production values.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on May 13, 2014
Another great Catholic movie starring Daniele Liotti. (Recall to mind the magnificent "Saint Anthony" This apparent fiction (I'm no historian, but I've never heard this story before, and I would think I would have, having been a devoted Catholic all my life...) supposes what happened politically after the death of Jesus, and how conversions might have begun. Liotti plays Tauro, a Roman warrior who is commissioned by the Emperor to travel in secret to Jerusalem to disprove the rumored resurrection of Christ. He faces all manner of danger from many sides, but in the end discovers the truth that will be the ruin of the Roman empire - the rise of Christianity. The acting was great and the story engaging.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on December 27, 2012
Yes I would recommend this story to those of us that love the Lord and his family. Those who beleive.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this also viewed


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.