Customer Reviews


119 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (28)
3 star:
 (21)
2 star:
 (14)
1 star:
 (25)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another good one from the "8 films to die for" series
With all the terrible remakes of the classics and no creativity in the big budget horror movies anymore "8 films to die for" hits the spot. This one is about a group of outcast that plot revenge on the popular kids that have made their lives hell in high school. Everybody who went to a public school can probably relate to this movie. Bullies are a big problem in schools...
Published on August 15, 2011 by P

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could have been more
This movie started out with a lot of potential. You have a group of kids that are unfairly victimized by various bullies - for example, Emily is bullied by the popular girls while a few of the guys are being picked on by the jocks and preppies. These kids get together and decide to plan revenge on all the kids who are mean to them. And believe me, some of the bullies are...
Published on November 14, 2011 by M


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another good one from the "8 films to die for" series, August 15, 2011
By 
With all the terrible remakes of the classics and no creativity in the big budget horror movies anymore "8 films to die for" hits the spot. This one is about a group of outcast that plot revenge on the popular kids that have made their lives hell in high school. Everybody who went to a public school can probably relate to this movie. Bullies are a big problem in schools everywhere and this movie shows some truth to what can happen when these kids get pushed too far. I mean this movie could very well really happen in this crazy world we live in. Without giving away any of the movie it is about revenge and torture with a couple of laughable moments thrown in. If you like watching horror movies then i would tell you to check this one out. Its worth the 93 minutes of your time. A few others I liked from this series are "Dark Ride" "Unrest" and "The Gravedancers" all worth a watch for the fans of scary movies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Truly Frightening Revelation, April 8, 2010
What makes this movie such a frightening revelation is that, those of us who have been bullied, tortured in being targets of bullies, can truly understand why the victims are doing what they are doing toward their tormentors. Those who have never experienced years of being targets by bullies will not understand the truly scary thing about this film: that the same thing that the victims did toward their tormentors is the same thing that you would almost want to do toward your tormentors.

The victims are examples of those who were terrorized by bullies for one reason or another. The victims are lost, along, often suicidal, because of the torment that is faced daily by bullies. The victims want to turn the table around, the victims want to give their tormentors a dose of the same medicine. A dose that would last a lifetime. Not so much to kill, but to make it abundantly clear what torment has done to the souls of the victims and what torment has shown to the souls of the bullies.

Through this movie, you can almost understand the very cause of teen suicide because of bullying (as we've seen recently in the news) or teen violence (such as school shootings) because of bullying. Bullying is a very primal power in our school systems today, and the movie deals with a very honest look at what...deep inside the minds, maybe not in the forefront, but somewhere in the minds of the victims...the victims sometimes wish to do toward the tormentors. The vast amount of targets of bullies in their school days will not do what is shown in this film, nor for that matter kill themselves or cause violence at schools, but somewhere, deep inside, this movie shows what lurks in the background of those who are targets.

This movie is frightening because of the implications. This movie is fearful because of the considerations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A dark revenge tale that makes you think., December 19, 2010
This film has it pros and cons, but I'm giving The Final a slight 4 stars. The flaws fall into the teen stereotypes, such as the bully jocks, the clueless rich girls, the cool hip hop kid and the withdrawn social outcasts, The saw like torure scenes and the overall lack of suspense. It's strengths, I would say would be the production value, the pacing, acting, and the overall message that the film leaves you with. This film, if you stay with it, will leave you disturbed, repulsed, and remind you of the tragedy that, for some unfortunate few, is high school. Throughout the film, memories of my own teenage years went through my mind. I myself was bullied and seen other kids get treated even worse. Sure, you hated your tormenters, even fantasized about kicking their butts, but you'd never tried to, either through fear of what may happen or just because you were a good enough person to rise above it. And that's the overall tragedy of The Final, all these kids could've risen above the abuse, supported each other, and made something out of their lives. Instead, they chose revenge and scarred the bullies like they did them, only physically, which it what they, the outcasts carried inside. I recommend to see the final for this reason only to make people ponder about what goes on in the school hallways and the minds of the tortured youth. Most importantly, what we, as adults, should do to prevent such tragedies, which is a reminder of what happened at Columbine. Like one of the main characters proclaimed before his suicide, "There is more like us."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could have been more, November 14, 2011
By 
M "Delicious Strawberry" (I wait behind the wall, gnawing away at your reality) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This movie started out with a lot of potential. You have a group of kids that are unfairly victimized by various bullies - for example, Emily is bullied by the popular girls while a few of the guys are being picked on by the jocks and preppies. These kids get together and decide to plan revenge on all the kids who are mean to them. And believe me, some of the bullies are MEAN - they go so far as to destroy one of their victim's cameras just because they can.

So the victims decide to host a party. The ending is foreshadowed at the beginning with a short clip of what happens after the party (centering on one of the former bullies) before going back to the events before the party, where one teacher is giving a history lecture on how the Han Dynasty would sometimes punish its opponents not with death but with disfigurement - something that the bullies' victims take to heart.

I gave this story 3 stars because while it was tight in some parts, it started to unravel in some other parts. I felt extremely disappointed when the Indian kid was turned onto by his friends simply because he tried to help one of the others escape (he was not invited to the party because he was to be 'spared', but showed up nonetheless) That to me just did not work in this story. However, this is still a story worth watching. You cannot help but feel that the bullies are getting what is coming to them, especially if you yourself have been a victim of bullying in your life, and some of the punishments (especially to the really mean, tough jock) are rather fitting for their offenses.

The movie is very dark, even for the victims themselves, but is still an interesting one to watch. It would be nice if we had more movies about bullying victims taking revenge rather than movies about serial killers who torture innocent people, because if someone has to get hurt, then I'd like to see them deserve it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Personally, I can actually relate, February 7, 2012
True story, with uncomfortable moments: before the Columbine School shooting, I'd been bullied for being very different from a kid onward. Even after the Columbine School Shooting tragedy, bullies still didn't learn their lessons and more school shootings happened. Personally, though I'd been bullied ever since I was a kid, I had never even considered shooting up the schools I'd been to.
Apparently, someone who went through a whole lot of hell had seen some torture movies and got an idea. It was worth the effort.
No Hollywood company would ever go for something like this, with so much material that has potential for extreme controversy. Good thing it went for a more indpendent-horror based company, After Dark. All the kids that are bullied seem to come from specific backgrounds that bullies use for stereotypical jokes that strike us as extremely hurtful, a slap in the face of the American mindset (just look at all the Anti-Islam jokes that are in chain e-mails, 'nuff said). I'm not one for torture movies (never watched the Hostel movies, and thought only the 2nd Saw in the Saw series was really good), but this, from the trailer, I knew I wanted without reading any reviews. Kids getting tortured by school bullies who think they're too good for the system to notice, and, therefore, get away with whatever they do. And the only popular kid who's not a jerk is really enjoyable as a person, not a humanized monster. Beyond him, you can tell there's reasons to hate the popular crowd and sympathize with the outcasts. The slightest bit of humor in this movie was okay, and I'm glad it didn't interfere with the overall tone and atmosphere in this film, where you can feel that nobody seems to have any hope.
Spiritually, there's a small group prayer to God, and people challenge the kids torturing everyone and ask who they thought they were to "play God", only for a witty, if misguided, answer. Toward the end, it did get depressing, for a reason, and, if you really pay attention to all that happens, and not compartmentalize everything, you may even feel a devastatingly useful message about how hurtful bullying is to those who are bullied and how the cruelty is one-sided. And even when the one time that heaviest swearing happens, the price is paid. A tricky intro scene that helps close the movie as well, it shows it's not always as traightforward as people want to think of life. Personally, this may very well be the only torture movie I'll ever have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "Because you can't stop me.", April 4, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The Final takes the very real and very serious problem of bullying and pollutes it with a lot cheap posturing, masquerading as social commentary. While watching this film I kept wondering just what the filmmakers were really trying to say. They depict both the bullies and the victims as equally repulsive, each employing the same tactics of intimidation and infliction of pain (physical and psychological) to make their points: the bullies..."because we can," and the victims because they're "not going to take it anymore." I found that whole premise maddeningly simplistic, the bad idea of revenge (which never serves anyone well), as the only viable solution.
And. This film skirts dangerously close to providing a blueprint for those who feel they have no other recourse. That, as everyone has seen, leads to chaos...what if everyone who felt they've been "wronged" took up arms as a way of dealing with it?
This film made me queasy. The obvious and unsatisfactory ending didn't help either.
I won't say it was poorly made or didn't work on some level it's just that I wasn't crazy about the message and the means of delivery. Not a keeper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting & thoughtful modern revenge flick, May 21, 2010
Over the past few years, After Dark Films has brought us an annual series of horror movies known as the "8 Films to Die For." This marathon is supposed to include horror films that are "too shocking" or "scary" for regular theatres. Sadly, very few of the films come close to be "too shocking" for theatres, and are often just not good enough to be theatrically released regularly.

With 'The Final,' the storyline did not seem like something that would typically be a part of the After Dark marathon, but more of a thriller in the vein of Gus Van Sant's 'Elephant.' The story focuses on a group of abused/ignored/troubled teens who, after considerable planning, decide to seek revenge on the "higher class" of popular students in their high school by throwing a costume party and inviting all of those that have wronged them for a wicked trap.

The first thing that this film had going for it was the true & honest hatred the filmmakers created for the "popular kids." Even as someone who had a good time in my school years, I severely wanted to see these kids get some hardcore vengeance sent down upon them. They were cruel, disgusting, and absolutely horrible. The revenge-seekers, on the other hand, all seemed legitimately nice enough where they weren't the creepy Columbine-type nutjobs. This is a real credit to Jason Kabolati's writing and Joey Stewart's actor direction. Another positive for the film was the gore & violence. Not only was it realistic and cringe-inducing, but it was creative as well.

The film did have its problems, however. The acting, mainly from the "popular kids," was borderline terrible, most notably Justin Arnold as Bradley. The outcasts were acceptable enough, but the popular kids were actually difficult to watch at times. The script also had its problems. Much of the dialogue was repetitive and uninteresting (from both sides of the vengeance line). Also, since the story turns to the vengeance plot after only about 30 minutes, the film begins to drag after a while since there's very little difference from the first 30 minutes and any time after that. Perhaps this would have worked more as a 'Masters of Horror'-length short film. Slimming this film down to under an hour probably would have done it a great deal of good.

Overall, 'The Final' is one of the better films in the After Dark horror series and it does work well enough as a modern revenge flick. However, it does suffer from a less-than-stellar script and some subpar acting which brings both the entertainment and shock values down. With a better cast and a bit of polishing on the script, this film could have been quite a bit better. However, it was still worthy of a watch and is a welcome entry to the genre among all the remakes we've been suffering through for the past few years.

Final Verdict: 6/10.

-AP3-
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars relevant and Powerful, March 23, 2010
The Final was more of a thriller than a horror film but there were elements of horror.
In today's world this film is quite socially relevant.
The film was somewhat far fetched as far as minor plot holes but still maintained the believability or the "Yeah that could really happen appeal".The acting was up to par and the story was exciting from beginning to end.
Think "Mean Girls" meets "Hostel"..It wasn't very gory but there was enough brutality and humiliation going on to intrigue and satisfy the slasher/ gore fan.
The costumes the "nobody crowd vigilantes"were wearing were each filled with such Irony and symbolism,Such as the faceless girl mask "she was invisible in school except to the popular girls who tormented her",the clown mask "because he was a subject of ridicule and laughter" and the gas mask "because this undesirable didn't want to breathe the same air as the filth that had made his and the others lives so miserable as far back as grade school. .
Some parts are a little hard to watch but they don't take it too far,it stays within the realm of reality and that's what makes it so effective. We are privy to scenes of the "cool crowd" humiliating and physically abusing the "nobody Crowd" so when it all goes down it comes to a point where you as a viewer "or at least I" thought ,ok who is really in the wrong here? and when is enough ,enough?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A torturous spin on 'Heathers', April 7, 2010
Director Joey Stewart has hit the nail on the head with this one. A fine piece of nastiness with a brilliant look and feel. It's simple and genius in its structure with the basic idea of teen outcast revenge. The films strength is in the perfect casting of top quality unknown young actors, nurtured with great direction and a good honest script. Top marks.

After years of school bullying and abuse, the local outcast nerds decide to take revenge on the `in' crowd; The jocks and cheerleaders, the beautiful popular kids who laugh at the underprivileged and different kids of the school. Enough is enough. Dane (Marc Donato) teams up his underdogs and plots a super fancy dress party for the cool kids. Little do they know they'll be drugged and tortured until they wish they'd been murdered.

Lindsay Seidal plays Emily, one of the odd kids who shows so much potential here. A stunning, yet unnerving scene has her poking needles in the neck of a jock, graced with a plane white mask for the performance. Whilst Julin is on the other side of the team as Heather, super bitch who takes an acid facial. Julin has terrific screen presence. But the star of the film has to be Jasca Washington as Kurtis, the cool kid who mixes in both and all camps in the school. He's a strong and confident actor who is gonna be around for a very long time. Stunning.

Stewart has created something quite special here. It's a nice simple film which pushes its cast to the limits of their ability. Some scenes are harsh, but super original. The use of a cow bolt gun to take out a knee cap is great, whilst one of the underdogs plucks on a banjo has connotations of Deliverance. A torturous spin on 'Heathers'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Surprising Suspense, April 23, 2010
By 
H. Flaherty (LEWISVILLE, TX, US) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I am usually not a fan of the horror film genre. However, this is a great film with suspense and drama that is truly entertaining while being disturbing. A low budget film that delivers!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Final
The Final by Joey Stewart
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.