Kindle Price: $3.99

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Flip to back Flip to front
Audible Narration Playing... Paused   You are listening to a sample of the Audible narration for this Kindle book.
Learn more

The First Lie (The Lying Game Book 1) Kindle Edition

4.2 out of 5 stars 50 customer reviews

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
$3.99

Length: 80 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled

Anna and the Swallow Man
Anna and the Swallow Man
A stunning, literary, and wholly original debut novel set in Poland during the Second World War - perfect for readers of "The Book Thief". Hardcover | Kindle book | See more for Teen and Young Adult readers

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your email address or mobile phone number.


Product Details

  • File Size: 1112 KB
  • Print Length: 80 pages
  • Publisher: HarperTeen (December 18, 2012)
  • Publication Date: December 18, 2012
  • Sold by: HarperCollins Publishers
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B008CGUGQM
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Lending: Not Enabled
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #188,978 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images or tell us about a lower price?


More About the Author

Hello! I'm from outside Philadelphia, lived in New York for a long time, Arizona for less time, and now I'm in Pittsburgh, PA, which is way nicer than it sounds.

I've always been a writer. I made up stories about my sister's blanket, BeeBee, when I was four. From there I wrote about squareheaded creatures, an environmental saga about little yellow men who live in vegetable gardens, teenage dramas well before I was a teenager, a book series about a Japanese girl who finds out her ancestors are samaurai (and she must be one, too), a bunch of arty short stories, and some books that maybe you've heard of. The PRETTY LITTLE LIARS series is based on my experiences there...kind of. Sort of a hyperbolic version of them. Plus some random stuff thrown in.

I've also written THE LYING GAME, which is about a dead twin and an alive twin, THE HEIRESSES, which is about a rich family's curse, and THE PERFECTIONISTS, which is about five somewhat strangers who get everything they wanted...but that comes at a price. I wrote THE VISIBLES, which is about jackalopes and mental illness, and EVERYTHING WE EVER WANTED, which features a guy who discovers his ex lives on a commune.

Amazon Author Rankbeta 

(What's this?)
#92 in Books > Teens
#92 in Books > Teens

Customer Reviews

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
I really don't want to be too critical of The First Lie, because this is only a "novella" and it only cost me four dollars. It is a decent enough quick read for fans of the series, but unfortunately it didn't offer much insight into Sutton Mercer.

Over the course of the Lying Game series, we have learned a lot about Sutton, but most of it didn't come from Sutton herself. Obviously, she is a ghost (or spirit or whatever) and doesn't remember much from her life. I was quite intrigued to read a story told from her POV while she was still aive, but I really think Sara Shepard wasted an opportunity.

The plot of this story is, simply put, BORING. After so many juicy and twisted lying game pranks, the so-called "prank" featured in this story comes off as rather tame. I also expected Sutton to be more of a "B" word than she was in The First Lie. Everyone in the school is afraid of her and she has a whole folder dedicated to her at the police station, but she seemed pretty nice to me. I get that Sara probably wanted to humanize Sutton, which I am fine with, but I would have enjoyed reading more about her nastiness. After all, Sutton was so mean to so many people that ther murder suspect list is quite long.

My last problem with this book is that there isn't much foreshadowing to the fact that Sutton is about to get murdered. Sara could have easily had an unknown figure threaten her, giving Sutton a feeling that something bad was about to happen to her. It would have been a nice nod to the other books in the series.

All in all, this is a nice little story that really serves no purpose in the grand scheme of The Lying Game books. I can't say I regret reading it, but I also see no reason to recommend it.
Comment 8 of 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
It was a good short story with emphasis on short. I liked it and love how Sutton and Thayer come together but Sutton seems more like Emma then the lying games leads us to believe
Comment 1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
I love this series! This was a very good (although very short) novella, although it did not give a whole lot of insight into the current story line.
Comment 1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
I liked this backstory to the series. Worth the buy and read. When it ended, I wanted more! I wish the tv show was as endearing as the books.
Comment 1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
In this novella, Sara Shepard tells the story of the summer before when Sutton is chasing after Thayer - all in the name of a prank for The Lying Game. What starts out as a prank ends up with Sutton feeling true feelings for Thayer, even though she convinces her friends it's just a prank.

I've only read the first two books in the Lying Game series. I've read a little about Sutton and Thayer's history and I was interested in finding out what happened to them. Their story unfolds in The First Lie.

I like that we saw a softer side to Sutton as she starts to fall for Thayer, and not just as part of a prank. She even admits to herself that she thinks the Lying Game goes too far. We really see the darker side of Sutton in the first two books in The Lying Game and it's great to have a story from Sutton's perspective with her emotions.

I'm hooked on this series and I can't wait to dig into book 3.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
As a major fan of The Lying Game series, I thoroughly enjoyed it. I like the idea of learning more about Sutton Mercer before her murder. It's amazing how Sara Shepard ties everything together in a pale Tiffany box of secrets, not to mention a closet full of skeletons. I love novels about rich girls behaving badly and going to soap opera lengths to keep everything buried. But if you are going to bury the truth, make sure it stays buried and beware of the ghost of the past who is one step from learning the truth. What a great addition to the series.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
This novella is short and sweet but leaves you wanting more, as in, the book isn't quiet enough. If you're expecting a full book, don't get your hopes up. If you were looking for more after the last book like I was, this doesn't quiet hit the spot the way it should have, unfortunately. For only a few bucks, the price is right, but if you're looking for something to fill your emma/sutron soul, I hate to say it but this doesn't do the trick
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
When you already know where the story ends up, especially when the author does, there's a constraint on where it can go. The interesting part is learning just how repellent Sutton was before she died. Her ghost is a much more complete and normal person. I didn't enjoy reading this, but it did set up the latest in the series.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Most Recent Customer Reviews


Forums

There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in