Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Serves as both as a culinary history and cookbook
Everyone needs to eat, and everyone does it differently. "The Flavor of Wisconsin: An Informal History of Food and Eating in the Badger State" is a look at the history of Wisconsin and its food - and despite stereotypes, it's not just cheese. Exploring a rich culinary culture, "The Flavor of Wisconsin" examines the eating habits of Wisconsinites which tell their tale as a...
Published on May 15, 2009 by Midwest Book Review

versus
4 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not really WI recipes.....
I was really excited when I ordered this book. I was expecting recipes for things I had eaten growing up that I had forgotten about or recipes that had been lost when older relatives had passed. I am sure that the recipes in this book are really good, and even plan on trying a few. However, as far as "flavors of WI" in my opinion is not accurate. I LIVE in Wisconsin...
Published on February 21, 2010 by Amazon Customer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Serves as both as a culinary history and cookbook, May 15, 2009
This review is from: The Flavor of Wisconsin: An Informal History of Food and Eating in the Badger State (Hardcover)
Everyone needs to eat, and everyone does it differently. "The Flavor of Wisconsin: An Informal History of Food and Eating in the Badger State" is a look at the history of Wisconsin and its food - and despite stereotypes, it's not just cheese. Exploring a rich culinary culture, "The Flavor of Wisconsin" examines the eating habits of Wisconsinites which tell their tale as a people, and as a melting pot of immigrants like much of the rest of America. Including nearly five hundred recipes of exquisitely Wisconsinite cuisine such as War Bread, Serbian Djuvec, Chippewa Wild Rice, and more. "The Flavor of Wisconsin" serves as both as a culinary history and cookbook, and executes both very well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Flavor of Wisconsin, December 28, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I keep this book handy for when I want to cook the way my grandmother did. This book has recipes that women brought with them from the "old country". It is also full of comfort foods. I finally learned how to make spaetzle. Now I don't need to buy the dried stuff that comes in a box.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book!!!, September 1, 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Flavor of Wisconsin: An Informal History of Food and Eating in the Badger State (Hardcover)
I have thoroughly enjoyed this book. Great history and pictures of the area and the foods I have grown up with here in Wisconsin. I would highly recommend this book to anyone who loves history..........and food!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Wisconsin Gift!, March 22, 2010
By 
Jen Y. (Milwaukee, WI) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Flavor of Wisconsin: An Informal History of Food and Eating in the Badger State (Hardcover)
I bought this as a gift for someone that loves to cook. It's a great reference with history of Wisconsin and original recipes. I like that I see the author makes appearances around my city on occasion as well!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Gem, June 29, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
A cookbook with Wisconsin history, wonderful pictures and great recipes. Kolache recipe I have wanted! I will order more for gifts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, August 21, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Flavor of Wisconsin: An Informal History of Food and Eating in the Badger State (Hardcover)
excellent book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, February 5, 2015
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Flavor of Wisconsin: An Informal History of Food and Eating in the Badger State (Hardcover)
Memories
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not really WI recipes....., February 21, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Flavor of Wisconsin: An Informal History of Food and Eating in the Badger State (Hardcover)
I was really excited when I ordered this book. I was expecting recipes for things I had eaten growing up that I had forgotten about or recipes that had been lost when older relatives had passed. I am sure that the recipes in this book are really good, and even plan on trying a few. However, as far as "flavors of WI" in my opinion is not accurate. I LIVE in Wisconsin and have only, in my whole life, heard of about 1/10 if not less of these dishes....and my family eats! When you have a recipe book of midwestern recipes and it includes recipes for: tomales, polenta, etc it is not truly a midwestern cookbook. If you are looking for authentic WI recipes don't waste your money on this book....you will be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Flavor of Wisconsin: An Informal History of Food and Eating in the Badger State
$29.95 $20.91
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.