Your Garage Best Books of the Month Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc PME Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer WienerDog WienerDog WienerDog  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Segway miniPro

Format: DVD|Change
Price:$19.50+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on November 19, 2004
Episode Guide:

29. The Hit Song Writers: Taking their cue from _There's Loot in Lyrics_, Fred and Barney try to pen a hit song. They get a helping hand from Hoagy Carmichael.

30. Droop Along Flintstone: The Flintstones and the Rubbles agree to take care of Cousin Tumbleweed's ranch, and unwittingly stumble into the filming of a Western.

31. The Missing Bus: Fred becomes a school bus driver on the Bedrock-to-Red-Rock route.

32. Alvin Brickrock Presents: Fred suspects that his neighbor has killed his wife.

33. Fred Flintstone Woos Again: The Flintstones return to Rock Mountain Inn to renew their vows, but discover that their original marriage ceremony wasn't legal.

34. The Rock Quarry Story: Movie star Rock Quarry attempts to lead a normal life as Gus Schultz, but Wilma and Betty recognize him.

35. The Soft Touchables: Fred and Barney's private eye business backfires when they become stooges of Boss Rockhead.

36. Flintstone of Prinstone: Fred attends Prinstone U and must balance studying and football practice along with his job at the quarry.

37. The Little White Lie: When Fred wins money in a poker game and claims he just found it, Wilma makes him run an ad in the paper to find the owner.

38. Social Climbers: The Flintstones and the Rubbles attend an ambassador's ball.

39. The Beauty Contest: Fred and Barney are named judges of the Water Buffalo Lodge's beauty contest--a fact they must keep from their wives.

40. The Masquerade Ball: Fred tries to win favor with his boss at a costume party, but doesn't know that the costumes have been switched.

41. The Picnic: Fred dumps Barney as Lodge field day partner in favor of trophy-rich Joe Rockhead.

42. The House Guest: Barney and Betty stay with the Flintstones for a week while the Rubbles' plumbing is being fixed, and Barney's behavior begins to drive Fred crazy.

43. The X-Ray Story: Wilma and the Rubbles try to keep Fred awake for 72 hours after Dino's X-ray (showing a case of dinopeptitis) is mistaken for Fred's.

44. The Gambler: "Betting Freddy's" gambling obsession returns, and the Flintstone home is soon devoid of furniture. Arnold's boys club, however, looks great.

45. A Star is Almost Born: Wilma is discovered by a TV producer and Fred becomes her manager.

46. The Entertainer: Fred woos a female client, Greta Gravel, for Mr. Slate while Wilma is out of town, but Wilma returns early and ends up at the same club as Fred and Greta--who turns out to be Wilma's old friend.

47. Wilma's Vanishing Money: Fred spends Wilma's secret stash on a bowling ball. When he learns that this is what she was planning to use the money for in the first place, he hires a burglar to put the money back again.

48. Fuedin' and Fussin': Fred insults Barney and then refuses to apologize.

49. Impractical Joker: Barney gets revenge on prankster Fred by pretending to run a basement counterfeiting operation.

50. Operation Barney: Feigning illness so he and Fred can go to a ball game, Barney finds himself in the hospital and scheduled for an operation.

51. The Happy Household: Wilma lands a job as star of "The Happy Housewife Show," which leaves Fred feeling like "The Neglected Husband."

52. Fred Strikes Out: After failing a considerate-spouse quiz and missing their anniversary, Fred tries to placate Wilma over a romantic drive-in date and bowl in the championship tournament at the same time.

53. This is Your Lifesaver: Fred rescues the apparently suicidal J. Montague Gypsum, and pays the price as Monty takes over his home.

54. Trouble-In-Law: Fred introduces his mother-in-law to rich rancher Melville J. Muchrocks, then tries to thwart the budding romance when it appears Muchrocks may be a con man.

55. The Mailman Cometh: Angry at being passed over for a raise, Fred sends an insulting letter to Mr. Slate--then finds out he has gotten his raise after all, and tries to retrieve the letter before his boss sees it.

56. The Rock Vegas Story: Fred accepts an invitation for himself, Wilma and the Rubbles to vacation at Sherman Cobblehead's Golden Cactus Hotel in Rock Vegas. But when he loses all their money gambling he refuses to accept Sherman's charity, insisting that they work for their keep.

57. Divided We Sail: The Flintstones and Rubbles share a game show prize, a houseboat that Fred and Barney christen the _Nau-Sea_.

58. Kleptomaniac Caper: A misunderstanding regarding Fred's old clothes leads to the conclusion that Barney is a kleptomaniac.

59. Latin Lover: Wilma encourages Fred to adopt Roberto Rockelini's romantic manner (and moustache), but his apparent effect on women proves too much for Wilma to bear.

60. Take Me Out to the Ball Game: Fred becomes umpire for the little-league baseball game between coach Barney's Bedrock Giants and the Grittsburg Pyrites, but his calls produce unsportsmanlike behavior in the Giants' fathers.
33 comments|139 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 9, 2004
While I am not yet aware of the extra's on this DVD set, I can tell you this about the 2nd season (1961-62). The 2nd season helped better establish the modern Stone-age family. In at least 6 of the episodes, Mel Blanc was absent due to illness so Daws Butler had to supply Barney Rubble's voice (thus making Barney sound more like Yogi Bear). New characters introduced are Mr. Slate, Fred's no-nonsense boss (voiced by John Stephenson; Mr. Slate had one cameo in the 1st season, but didn't look or talk at all like the Mr. Slate you probably remember), Arnold the smart allecky paperboy (voiced by Don Messick), Joe Rockhead, an alternative buddy of Fred's and Mrs. Slaghoople, Wilma's "battleaxe" mother (actually, Wilma's maiden name started out as Pebble but that name probably went out the window when their child Pebbles was born).

Highlights include a voice cameo from Hoaggy Carmichael (Fred warbles a cheezy rendition of "Stardust"), Fred and Barney not speaking to each other after Fred insults Barney ("Did you get the lisence of that truck, Betty?"), Barney gets a job working for Fred's company since Mr. Slate finds out he's his nephew, Wilma gets a job as emcee of the TV series The Happy Housewife Show leaving one not-so-happy husband to get his own dinner ("Make your hubby happy, keep your hubby happy... with Rockenspiel!"), Fred and Barney are judges of a beauty contest and women across town are trying to get their attention (leaving 2 understandably jealous wives), Fred goes on a gambling streak which winds up owing paperboy Arnold lots of money ("BET! Bet, bet bet...."), Dino gets a part on the Adventures of Sassie show with fred as Dino's agent ("At the end of the show, even the villains smile!"), Barney coaches a Little League baseball team and Fred volunteers as umpire ("I call 'em as I see 'em"), Barney and Betty stay at the Flintstones' house after plumbing problems but it isn't long before their welcome is worn ("Shhh, the girls'll think we're fightin', Fred"), Wilma and Betty get invited to the Ambassadors' Reception but neither they nor Fred and Barney are well received since they're not rich snobs (that is, until Fred and Barney unwittingly prevent a burglary), Fred writes a vitriolic protest letter to his boss when he doesn't get the raise he expected (Wilma saves the day here) and Barney plays a practical joke on Fred ("You, Barney Rubble, are a counterfietter!").

The 1st season helped get the Flintstones started and the 2nd season had the characters better established for Fred (Allan Reed), Wilma(Jean VanderPyl), Barney (Blanc) and Betty (Bea Benederet).
11 comment|73 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 21, 2005
Turning the television world flat on its head, The Flintstones became the first animated hit series in prime time history. Set in the Stone Age town of Bedrock, the show explored the lives of ancient cave dwellers through the lens of a modern lifestyle, with bird beaks acting as phonograph needles, elephant trunks as vacuum cleaners, and fireflies as light bulbs. With its measured use of top-grade humor and clever visuals, The Flintstones became an instant smash hit - spawning decades of syndicated re-runs, spin-offs, and thousands of derivative products...

Loosely modeled after the hit show The Honeymooners, The Flintstones follows the lives of burly loudmouth Fred Flintstone (who has a heart of gold) and his wife Wilma (who puts up with him). The couple lives next door to best friends Barney and Betty Rubble, and they have a dog (a dinosaur) named Dino to keep them company. Following in the footsteps of shows such as I Love Lucy, the show's characters are always inventing hair-brained schemes, attempting to cover up little white lies, or engaging in some other form of behavior bound to get them in trouble. The Flintstones also features numerous cameo appearances parodying famous personalities from the early-sixties... In the show's later years, each couple would add a child to the mix with Fred & Wilma having Pebbles (a little girl) and Barney & Betty adopting Bamm-Bamm (a little boy)...

The Flintstones (Season 2) DVD features a number of hilarious episodes including the season premiere "The Hit Song Writers" in which Fred discovers that Barney is actually a talented poet. Introducing Barney to his songwriter friend Hoagy, the three produce a hit song that climbs the charts... Other notable episodes from Season 2 include "The Little White Lie" in which Fred tells Wilma he's going to visit a sick friend, but instead goes off to play poker (where he wins $200 he then must explain to Wilma), and "The Gambler" in which Fred's long ago kicked gambling habit once more rears its ugly head...

Below is a list of episodes included on The Flintstones (Season 2) DVD:

Episode 29 (The Hit Song Writers)

Episode 30 (Droop Along Flintstone)

Episode 31 (The Missing Bus)

Episode 32 (Alvin Brickrock Presents)

Episode 33 (Fred Flintstone Woos Again)

Episode 34 (The Rock Quarry Story)

Episode 35 (The Soft Touchables)

Episode 36 (Flintstone of Prinstone)

Episode 37 (The Little White Lie)

Episode 38 (Social Climbers)

Episode 39 (The Beauty Contest)

Episode 40 (The Masquerade Ball)

Episode 41 (The Picnic)

Episode 42 (The Houseguest)

Episode 43 (The X-Ray Story)

Episode 44 (The Gambler)

Episode 45 (A Star is Almost Born)

Episode 46 (The Entertainer)

Episode 47 (Wilma's Vanishing Money)

Episode 48 (Fuedin' and Fussin')

Episode 49 (Impractical Joker)

Episode 50 (Operation Barney)

Episode 51 (The Happy Household)

Episode 52 (Fred Strikes Out)

Episode 53 (This is Your Lifesaver)

Episode 54 (Trouble-In-Law)

Episode 55 (The Mailman Cometh)

Episode 56 (The Rock Vegas Story)

Episode 57 (Divided We Sail)

Episode 58 (Kleptomaniac Caper)

Episode 59 (Latin Lover)

Episode 60 (Take Me Out to the Ball Game)

The DVD Report
0Comment|24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 1, 2005
The second season of Flintstones is now out on DVD. This set collects the 32 episodes of season 2 (versus the 28 of season 1) onto one set of four DVDs. There's so much great content that one of the DVDs is even double sided!

First off, I have to come clean. I didn't have time to watch all of the episodes. I mean, come on! There's 32 episodes, about 20 minutes long apiece. That's over ten hours, and that doesn't even include the bonus features. What I did instead was watch a couple of episodes, then check out the bonus features.

The episodes themselves have not been remastered or anything, which is good. They still have the film artifacts on them, just as they have in reruns for years. And, unlike Lucas with his movies, I wouldn't have it any other way with the Flintstones.

Of special note for those who haven't picked up season one is the opening theme song. The song wasn't changed to the familiar "Flintstones, meet the Flintstones" until the third year. However, when the episodes were distributed for syndication, the original beginning was stripped off the first and second season episodes, and replaced with the more familiar theme song. So it was neat to hear this old classic.

The bonus features were great as well. The best one was the feature Carved In Stone: The Flintstones Phenomenon. I also enjoyed the classic commercials and Flintstone Art. Oh, and in the Carved In Stone feature they also showed the original pilot, The Flagstones.

All in all, this is a great set for any animation fan to pick up. And if you're a Flintstones fan, it's a must have.
0Comment|22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
HALL OF FAMEon November 28, 2004
the second season really set the Flinstones off on there legendary run. everything started to come into focus. Fred&Barney got better in the second season as did Wilma&Betty. Dino got in on the Action as well. the FLinstones were the first Family of Cartoons that truly set the Standard.if you will the Flinstones were the Cartoon Version of the "Honeymooners".it worked though.Classic.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 22, 2016
Is it just me, or does anybody else's DVD appear grainy? I have only watched the first one, and I HOPE the rest of them are not like this, but the picture quality is not good at all!! I will try playing it on other DVD player's just to make sure it's not that, and I will come back and update this review. It's watchable, and I LOVE the Flintstones, but the "graininess" is distracting!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 16, 2007
The 32 episodes here were a joy to watch. Quality is excellent & suitable for the entire family. I found myself watching the episodes to detect the different artists at work. This was due to one of the bonus features that talked about the different artists. I mean I've watched the credits, so I knew there were a lot of artists invoved but I had never realized that they differed so much from episode to episode. The bonus features really abound on this set with audio commentaries in three episodes. Bonus features include Songs of the Flintstones album, old commercials & some rarely before seen artwork. Warner Brothers has done an outstanding job assembling this set.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 9, 2005
Here's another bonanza for "Flintstones" fans old and new, including people like myself who've probably seen every single episode two or three times over (I'm old enough to remember when it was still in prime time). As with the first-season package, this is the pre-Pebbles era- classic Fred and Barney, in the Kramden-Norton tradition. The first episode here is not only a classic, but the answer to a great cartoon trivia question: who was the only celebrity to appear, in an animated likeness of course, as himself? Would you believe Hoagy Carmichael? The great songwriter shows up in "Hit Songwriter", when Fred takes his original song lyric to a piano player who rips off "Star Dust". Hoagy writes and sings an original called "Yabba-Dabba-Doo" here (watch how his piano turns into a suitcase!).

Proving once again that even an ancient cartoon could forecast future trends, Fred's in an all-night poker game, gets clobbered as a Little League umpire, and really goes to town when Wilma stumbles into the "Happy Housewife" TV show (brought to you by Rockenschpeel's Meats) and displays "My dinner! On TV!"

With no babies to clutter things up, the original "Honeymooners"-

style tone of this show combines with the simple animation (these artists made raised eyebrows an art form) to show why "The Flintstones" was the best-known and best-loved animated sitcom of them all until the much different, much more cynical "Simpsons"-era shows of today emerged.

The Flintstones and Rubbles really jelled in both appearance and personality, though some of the other regulars (Mr. Slate, Arnold the paper boy) have different looks in this early period. The Mr. Slate we know and love, for instance, had the same voice (John Stephenson) and look (bald with glasses) but a different name (Mr. Rockhead). Looks to me like the artists tried different character sketches- who says Hanna-Barbera was over-simplified? Of course, the original voices can't be beat- Henry Corden, who passed away recently, actually voiced Fred for longer than Alan Reed did, but Alan Reed was the only Fred that mattered. Bea Benaderet, with her wacky little-old-lady voice, was the real Betty Rubble. (She left to join "Petticoat Junction" in '63 and passed away a few years later.)

Extras here include a routine documentary with mostly talking-heads (a couple of surviving animators). A couple of very crude commercials (not, alas, including the notorious Winston spot) are here too- anyone else remember Welch's grape jelly in glasses with Flintstone cartoons on them? We must have had half a dozen. The absolute cheesiest item, however, is the complete "Songs of the Flintstones" album- yes, there was such a thing, with the cast doing mostly spoken bits over Hoyt Curtin's familiar, and eerily Lawrence Welk-ish, background music. The tracks include the original "Rise and Shine" theme with lyrics (forgettable), the "Meet the Flintstones" theme with different lyrics ("Meet the Rubbles!"), and the "Car Hop" song (completely out of context). Stills from the show are used as visuals- like I said, this section is so kitschy it's funny.

In an early "Jetsons" episode, Elroy's class-clown buddy, Kenny Countdown, is docked from class because he's watching "the billionth repeat of 'The Flintstones'" on his wristwatch TV. With these DVDs, there just might be a billionth rerun in our future!
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 19, 2016
YABBA DABBA DO ! I love these cartoons. I watched them when I was growing up but they were in black & white. It is all new seeing everything in COLOR.From Wilma's hair to Fred's suit I forget which one was based on which, but these episodes are close to the old HONEYMOONERS. I like watching both. I can enjoy these cartoons with my grandchildren. we watch them together when they stay over. I watch them and then again in a couple of months watch them over again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 30, 2015
It's obviously Flintstones and the show, characters are great. The box and packaging are all great. I tried to research this set beforehand and could not find every answer I needed, but did base some of my decision on the fact that the 2nd season was rated better (for what I wanted) than the 1st season (I did not purchase 1st season and just went with 2nd season). I watched the show as a kid and did not know a lot other than from memory. The main problem that leads to is I didn't really know about the theme song, and the famous song I remember as a kid is not in this season. It might be the similar music but there are no words. There is some sort of pet in the first couple episodes but no real "Dino" the way I remember him to be. Overall, the episodes have an "old" feel to them and graphics/drawings not as nice as I remember them. I wasn't expecting the super nice graphics from the cover of the DVD, but maybe something a little better than what's in the first couple episodes. I mainly got this cartoon for my kids, as I subject them to a lot of shows from the 70's and 80s. The first couple of episodes were a little dull and could barely hold their attention (7 and 8 year olds). I hope it gets better, so we'll have to wait and see. I think I just chose too early of a season and will probably buy the next in the series when I get around to it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse