Customer Reviews


479 Reviews
5 star:
 (276)
4 star:
 (138)
3 star:
 (41)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (14)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


112 of 117 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Easter Egg Alert!
Finally! The Fog comes to DVD! The Fog is one of my favorite horror films, and it's great to see it get the full DVD treatment!
The plot is simple: On her 100th anniversary, the small hamlet of Antonio Bay is beseiged by a strange fog, cloaking the vengeful ghosts of a murdered leper colony, whose deaths provided the wealth necessary to start the town...
Published on September 9, 2002 by Daniel V. Reilly

versus
13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Movie, BD only OK
John Carpenter's 1980 film 'The Fog' is a campfire ghost story put to film. It is one of the classics of the ghost story genre and is well-liked by Carpenter's fans. The film itself has a very nice soundtrack produced by Mr. Carpenter himself, and the story is as I've stated before, very interesting. The effects are somewhat dated in terms of matting and such, but the...
Published on April 6, 2011 by Richard Harborough


‹ Previous | 1 248 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

112 of 117 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Easter Egg Alert!, September 9, 2002
By 
Daniel V. Reilly (Upstate New York, United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Finally! The Fog comes to DVD! The Fog is one of my favorite horror films, and it's great to see it get the full DVD treatment!
The plot is simple: On her 100th anniversary, the small hamlet of Antonio Bay is beseiged by a strange fog, cloaking the vengeful ghosts of a murdered leper colony, whose deaths provided the wealth necessary to start the town. Writer/Director John Carpenter gets right to the point, and there isn't a wasted frame of film in this tightly paced chiller. The scene where the men on the fishing boat see the ghost-ship is one of the classic movie creep-outs, and the ending is great. This film really harks back to the old ghost story films of the 40's.
The DVD is full-frame on one side, and the widescreen side of the disc has all of the extras, including commentary by Carpenter and co-writer/producer Debra Hill, an old documentary and a made-for-the-DVD documentary, trailers and commercials, posters and print ads, and lots more. (I would have liked to have seen more about the makeup effects for Blake and his crew, but that's just me...) The film transfer is GREAT- The Fog has never looked better, and the colors are lovely and vibrant. I even managed to find an easter egg! On the "Special features" screen, tab up until a pair of glowing eyes appear in the fog- press enter and you'll see a brief (a little under three minutes) music video of behind-the-scenes-footage from the making of the film.
Overall, The Fog is a must-have for fans of Ghost stories or John Carpenter. Now lets see Escape From New York and Prince of Darkness get the deluxe treatment.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


72 of 79 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Fog at last!, June 26, 2000
By 
Brett D. Cullum (Houston, TX United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Fog [VHS] (VHS Tape)
I am so glad this got a re-release on video! I have been searching for this movie for years. Okay, so this one is not the classic that Halloween was but look at the cast... Jamie Lee Curtis, Janet Leigh, Adrianne Barbeau, Hal Holbrook, and Nancy Loomis. It's a mood piece (not too much happens quickly)...pure and simply put it's just a creepy movie. But the scenes with Adrianne Barbeau as a deejay pleading for anybody who can hear her to help her son "get out of the fog" are worth the price of the video alone. It's a wonderfully fun film that any John Carpenter fan will enjoy! The signature music is there, and the cinematography is great too! It's not your typical "slasher" movie. THE FOG aspires to be something more...or maybe something less depending on how you see it. It opens with a man telling a ghost story around a campfire about a ship of un-dead lepers exacting their revenge on the inhabitants of a small coastal town. Well, that's what this is! It's a ghost story that you might hear around a campfire. Primal and scary, and not really all that gory or violent. It's a wise purchase for any horror fans out there!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


86 of 97 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Blue vs. Green: Answers revealed, September 8, 2006
By 
B. MCINTIRE "bmcintire2" (Los Angeles, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Fog (Special Edition) (DVD)
Here is the lowdown on the re-release of this Special Edition. The original S.E (Green cover art) was put out by MGM in late 2002 with the Hi-Def transfer, 5.1 audio, featurettes - all the bells and whistles. When Sony acquired MGM in 2005, they discontinued this version. Taking the existing DLT, they slapped on a trailer for their new re-make (as well as the prerequisite umpteen cross-promotional trailers) and altered the cover art (Blue!) for no other reason than to drive ticket sales for what turned out to be one of the worst horror re-makes of this truly ugly cycle American cinema seems to be going through now. So unless you're hungry for advertising, go with whichever one you can find for the least amount of money - it's all the same thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Classic Finally Gets A Class-Act Treatment!, September 11, 2002
By 
Eric C. Rawlins "horror buffed" (Manhattan, NY/Rutherford, NJ United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Let's just cut to the chase right now and say THIS is THE version of The Fog to own. If you're a fan of the movie, or of John Carpenter (before he turned into a pod person and became incapable of releasing anything but dreck), buy this disc now! The transfer is beautiful: the contrast is high, the detail incredible, the colour rich, and the sound well-balanced. In fact, the overall image quality is better than that of the laserdisc version, with almost no noticeable flecks or scratches, and is almost entirely free of compression artifacting (the only spot I noticed it was after the attack on The Seagrass, when the fog completely covers the screen, and even then I really had to look to notice it). Even the menu screens get the professional touch, with artfully composed looping clips from the movie as well as art and sounds created specifically for the DVD.
As far as sound, I'm no expert, but this disc really seemed to clean up all the problems found on previous versions. The levels seem balanced: no playing remote jockey to lower or raise the volume. And MGM even fixed faulty dialogue cues (for example, on the laserdisc version, during the attack on the church, when Father Malone makes his way out of the study to take the gold cross to Blake, and Andy warns him not to, the line "Don't go out there" plays, and then about five seconds later you see Andy's lips move. On the DVD, the cue and action are perfectly synched).
The extras are decent, but nothing to write home about. The storyboard-to-film comparison "feature," in particular, is especially disappointing, in that it only shows a very brief segment of the film (the murder of Al and Tom on The Seagrass, about 140 seconds' worth of footage), and even cheats at that (the same art is shown for several shots, although this may have been how the storyboards were actually used). Also, the quality of the film portion of the comparison screen is inexplicably awful. The section is so short and so plainly presented that it seems a cheat to put "Storyboard to Film Comparison" on the packaging. Instead, it feels like an afterthought, something included because today's DVD consumer expects it, but with as little effort as possible, and no attention or focus at all on how the storyboards were conceived, designed, or used specifically for this film.
The outtakes section also dissatisfies, as it is exactly the same as that on the laserdisc, comprising a bunch of unused (and unexplained) special effects and lighting test shots, followed by a scant 2 ˝ minutes of actual bloopers (half of which consist of Adrienne Barbeau making post-take faces at the awfulness of her performance, although it is worth the price of admission to see the legendary John Houseman say "sh*t" after blowing a line), followed by shots of the crew at work. All with very poor sound, or smothered by overbearing music cues. But for those who haven't seen the laserdisc version, it makes a fair addition, in that it also shows many behind-the-scenes activities which are either missing or inadequately described in the voice-over commentary and documentaries
Finally, the audio commentary by Carpenter and Hill is also a letdown; while it is fun to hear these two old friends chat away (and it should be noted their synergy is phenomenal), they often fall into a sort of verbal shorthand, leaving any of us without a film degree or fanatical zealot's insider info completely in the dark. Hill's commentary begins to annoy after a while, sounding like a high school TA puffing up her involvement in the film ("Those are my hands!" "That's my quilt!" "There I am!" "That's me!"), and frequently the contextual information she gives is wrong (at the point in the movie where Janet Leigh's character encourages the townsfolk to stick around and take a look at the statue, for example, Hill claims "Here Janet is telling everyone to go home, lock their windows, and be safe"). Carpenter tries to give some technical background, but I really don't need to know what town EVERY SINGLE SCENE was shot in, and one can only hear "That's Tommy Lee Wallace playing the part of the ghost" so many times without wanting to shoot...something. The few times he actually begins to describe interesting or revealing filmmaking footnotes, he either loses his train of thought, or uses abbreviated jargon which leaves the viewer scratching his head in bewilderment.
If the disc shines at all in the area of extras, it is for the new documentary made specifically for the DVD. While "Fear on Film," made concurrently with the movie, is an abysmally jarring, low-low-budget pastiche of the various people involved blathering on about whatever interested them (Janet Leigh provides such stellar insights as "suspense is the fear of what's going to happen," then babbles on about Psycho and Alfred Hitchcock for the rest of her segment) intercut with overlong movie clips that have nothing to do with what the talking heads are talking about, "Tales from the Mist" presents the entire moviemaking process in a logical, chronological fashion, with movie clips whose content and brevity fully complement the script. Although nowhere near as in-depth or complete as the documentary made for the Halloween DVD, "Tales from the Mist" is an intelligent, beautifully edited, well-thought-out expose covering all aspects of the production. All in all, its only fault is that it ends much too soon.
To sum up, this is a beautiful print which does great justice to a great movie; it deserves a place in your collection on the basis of audio and video quality alone. The presentation is so clean and rich that it looks as if the movie were filmed yesterday. Nor is it a bare-bones edition, with audio commentary, outtakes, storyboard comparisons, and two documentaries...just don't buy it solely for the extras, or you may be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Vintage John Carpenter...., October 19, 2002
By 
I remember the release of John Carpenter's "The Fog" back in 1980. The expectations were so high for this film after the stunning box office/critical success of his now-legendary "Halloween." I recall, somewhat hazily, of critics being disappointed and the film performing below expectations financially. But I remembered thinking after seeing the movie that in many ways it was superior to "Halloween." Today, "The Fog" has a nice cult following and deservedly so. It is an old-fashioned ghost story with extraordinary atmosphere. It is blessed with a cast of veterans including Hal Holbrook, Janet Leigh and John Houseman. And it contains one of Carpenter's finest musical scores (as good, if not better than his peak work on "Halloween" and "Escape From New York").
The coastal town of Antonio Bay is celebrating its centennial, but a dark secret is discovered about the town's historic origins. An eerie fog soon rolls in and within its glowing depths are ghosts bent on revenge. Carpenter regulars Adrienne Barbeau, Jamie Lee Curtis, Tom Atkins and Nancy Loomis eventually are fighting for their lives, with the final confrontation taking place within the confines of a historic church.
The word "creepy" comes to mind often when discussing "The Fog." The opening scene, taking place around a campfire, will send chills up your spine. The isolation of Barbeau's lighthouse/radio station is a near-brilliant location. The multiple H. P. Lovecraft touches including hidden diaries with terrifying secrets are great set-ups. The eyeless dead body rising from the stretcher is a perfectly directed scene. The gold coin turning into a piece of ship wreckage is a nice touch. And the ghosts, complete with moldy clothes and clanking swords, red eyes staring through the green fog, are about as nightmarish a portrait as one could imagine.
I have some problems with several of the characters in "The Fog," most notably that of Jamie Lee Curtis. Hers is essentially a throwaway role, seemingly added so that she could co-star with her mother (Janet Leigh). A hitchhiker in the wrong place at the wrong time, she ends up in bed with Tom Atkins about an hour after meeting him. I suppose any good old horror film needs a little sex thrown in for good measure, but it seems rather B-Movie fabricated.
But "The Fog" is a perfect example of John Carpenter at the peak of his once notable creative powers. After suffering through his recent work including "Escape From LA" and the uninspired "Ghost of Mars," I return to this terrific 1980 ghost story. I enjoy the chills with great fondness, like one does when putting on a childhood Halloween mask. This will always be one of my favorite Carpenter films, a better tradition for Halloween in many ways, than the film "Halloween" itself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Fog Creeps Up On You in High Definition!!!!, July 27, 2013
This review is from: The Fog (Collector's Edition) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
When The Fog was originally released, I was not old enough to see it in the theater, so I had to satisfy my curiosity by reading the book that accompanied it. I would later get to actually see it on network TV in an edited form, but it was so exciting to see on screen what had only been in my mind from reading the book. Many years later, I was able to obtain a DVD, and that remained my touchstone for this film up until the recent High Definition release of The Fog on Blu Ray by Scream Factory.

First of all, let me get it straight for anyone who has never seen this film. This is NOT a slasher film at all, rather it is a classic creepy ghost story of revenge for a wrong committed by the predecessors of Antonio Bay. Watching this in high def for the first time would provide many surprises for me. Most of all, is the cinematography in this film. Honestly, I had never noticed just how beautiful this film is until I saw it in high definition for the first time. Some of the shots of the bay and the countryside just took my breath away at how fantastically they were framed. The picture is so crisp and colorful, I couldn't believe I had never noticed this before. If you own any previous versions of this film, throw them out, because this is the definitive version!! The video and sound are presented in a quality that I have never experienced before in its other versions.

If you're new to anything produced by Scream Factory, let me tell you that these guys know what they are doing, and they present these films in a way like they've never been before. Not only do you get all of the extra features from the previous DVD, you also get some new extras like an interview with Jamie Lee Curtis and one by Dean Cundey. Another new feature that has shown up on other ScIream Factory titles is the Horror's Hallowed Grounds featurette where we are taken to many of the current places where this film was shot. You also get a new commentary from Adrienne Barbeau, Tom Atkins, Tommy Lee Wallace. This commentary is very enjoyable, and these people have many interesting tidbits to share about the making of The Fog. There is also a cool Easter Egg that really brings back memories for me. Go to the special features menu and click "more" to get to the second screen of extras. Arrow down to the word "back" and click right arrow. You will notice a little cross on the tombstone light up. Click it and you'll be presented to the way this was presented on its network TV premiere, which is the first way I saw this film. This little extra really brought back memories for me.

Bottom Line: If you love this creepy ghost story, then you owe it to yourself to get this beautiful new transfer from Scream Factory.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New extras!, April 23, 2013
By 
This review is from: The Fog (Collector's Edition) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Extras exclusive to the Scream Factory release include:

Exclusive interview with Actress Jamie Lee Curtis discussing The Fog and covering her legendary early 80s "Scream Queen" career
Audio commentary featuring Actress Adrienne Barbeau, Actor Tom Atkins and Production Designer Tommy Lee Wallace
Retrospective interview with Director of Photography Dean Cundey about his many legendary collaborations with John Carpenter
Horror's Hallowed Grounds - A Look At The Film's Locations with host Sean Clark
New cover art and a reversible wrap with original theatrical key art

Extras ported over from the MGM DVD release include:

Tales From The Mist: Inside The Fog Featurette
Fear On Film: Inside The Fog Featurette
The Fog: Storyboard To Film Featurette
Outtakes
Theatrical Trailers & TV Spots
Photo Gallery and Storyboards
Audio Commentary With Writer/Director John Carpenter And Writer/Producer Debra Hill
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Old Fashioned Ghost Story gets High Quality DVD Treatment, September 19, 2002
By 
Tucker (Taunton, MA United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
A dark and eerie night. A group of children sitting around a campfire. A grizzled old man telling a ghost story at the stroke of midnight. So begins John Carpenter's "The Fog", an old fashioned ghost story about the dead returning from a watery grave to seek revenge against the living.
The basic plot of the film concerns a group of sailors who were lured to their death when their ship crashed against the rocky coastline and sank to the bottom of the sea 100 years earlier. The ghosts return, enshrouded in a glowing fog, seeking out revenge and wreak havoc on the tiny coastal town of Antonio Bay. As horror films go, this is just an okay film. Carpenter does provide plenty of atmosphere and a couple of good jolts, but the movie does tend to stretch credibility to it's limit, such as the scene in which Adrienne Barbeau (who plays a disc jockey, stationed in a lighthouse)tells her listeners the movement of the fog STREET BY STREET! Does she have a bionic eye??
The real reason to watch this DVD is the extras. In addition to "voice over" commentary by Carpenter and screenwriter Debra Hill (who makes it very clear every time she, or one of her body parts, appears on the screen), the DVD has two "making of" documentaries. (one origionally made at the time of the film's release and another made specifically for the DVD). There are also outtakes, the original trailer and TV spots included in the extras. All DVDs should provide such bonuses. So whether you're a fan of horror, ghost stories, or Jamie Lee Curtis, this is definitely worth a look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A highly underrated gem of the horror genre..., January 4, 2003
By A Customer
John Carpenter's "The Fog" was a disappointment at the box office - and among many critics - when it was first released in 1980. But, like Carpenter's remake of "The Thing" (1982), "The Fog" has gained an ever-growing cult following over the last two decades, and many critics have given the film a second look and now regard it as a classic, "old-fashioned" ghost story. Along with "The Thing" and "Halloween", this film in my opinion represents Carpenter's best work. Almost everything in this film is perfectly done - the acting, the plot, the musical score, and the eerie, moody feel of the entire film.

The film is set in the beautiful little seaside town of Antonio Bay, California, which is preparing to celebrate the 100th anniversary of its founding. On the night before the celebration, several bizarre and unnatural events take place between midnight and one AM - cars turn on by themselves and honk their horns, glass windows crack and shatter for no reason, phones ring all over town despite no one placing calls, and a glowing, creepy fog is seen offshore by Stevie Wayne, the owner and deejay of the local radio station (Adrianne Barbeau, in one of her most memorable roles). Father Malone, the Episcopalian priest at the local church (Hal Holbrook, in an appropriately gloom-and-doom performance) finds a journal written by his grandfather, one of Antonio Bay's founding fathers. In it he learns that his grandfather and the town's five other founding members (their memories are being honored at the 100th anniversary celebration the next day) are actually murderers and thieves. It seems that a wealthy man named Blake developed leprosy and moved to a leper colony on an offshore island. He wanted to move the colony to the shore a few miles from the town, but the six founders of Antonio Bay were horrified at the prospect of a next-door leper colony, so they set a campfire on the beach to lure Blake's ship - the "Elizabeth Dane" - to its' doom on the jagged rocks offshore. A glowing, eerie fog covered the ship, it hit the rocks and sank, and all of the poor lepers on board - including Blake - were drowned. Blake's fortune in gold coins was used to build the church and a huge gold cross where Father Malone now holds worship services.

From there the film rapidly picks up speed, as the creepy fog rolls in from the ocean, causing havoc with power and telephone lines, and horrifying "shapes" (the long-dead corpses of the lepers) appear out of the fog to claim their revenge. This film doesn't have much blood and gore, but like all classic films of the genre it has plenty of suspense, tension, and chills. Just as "Psycho" made many people scared of showers and "Jaws" left others wondering whether their beaches were safe, after watching "The Fog" you'll never see another fogbank the same way again. Highly Recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Movie execs are getting greedy, September 2, 2005
By 
Justin (Dubuque, Ia.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Fog (Special Edition) (DVD)
I give the film 5 stars, this so called new edition 0 stars. Whats new about it? Doesn't even list all the specs. The other version, (green cover), is remastered, and has a ton of extras and 5.1 dolby digital sound. If the only difference is that the cover is now blue and the ghosts now have eyeholes, I'm repulsed. Are they reissuing this now because the remake will be released at the same time? One of the worst marketing ripoffs, I have ever heard of. What next, a red cover in six months? They cannot even get the cover right, the original has Jamie Lee pressed up against a door. Save your money on this greedy reissue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 248 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Fog (Collector's Edition) [Blu-ray]
The Fog (Collector's Edition) [Blu-ray] by John Carpenter (Blu-ray - 2013)
$29.93 $18.95
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.