Customer Reviews


79 Reviews
5 star:
 (49)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 32 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cheesy fun!
The Forbidden Dance is a fun movie; badly acted, horribly directed and cheesy, yet strangely engrossing and loveable. It tries to be serious, but fails for the most part because everything about it is so dated. Yet, it is energetic and lively, with upbeat songs and very HOT dancing. You'll ultimately find yourself addicted, without knowing why. Fans of Laura Harring...
Published on July 9, 2004 by Mark Twain

versus
13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Absurdity
Aside from how attractive I personally find the lead actress, this movie is a complete and utter waste of time. Period.
Published on February 27, 2003


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 32 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cheesy fun!, July 9, 2004
The Forbidden Dance is a fun movie; badly acted, horribly directed and cheesy, yet strangely engrossing and loveable. It tries to be serious, but fails for the most part because everything about it is so dated. Yet, it is energetic and lively, with upbeat songs and very HOT dancing. You'll ultimately find yourself addicted, without knowing why. Fans of Laura Harring (Mulholland Dr.) should definitely seek this out to see her in an early role. It is much better than the similar Lambada, released in theaters on the same DAY in 1990!!! As fun trivia, Lambada producers sued successfully to have the word "lambada" removed from "The Forbidden Dance"'s official title, though only "The Forbidden Dance" uses the song "Lambada" which launched the short-lived dance craze. The title is now used for the DVD release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars sizzling!, November 4, 2004
I love this movie. I seen it when it first came out in 90 and fell in love with it. So I bought it. The music itself will make you get outta your seat and start dancing right then and there.

But the Lambada dance itself is enticing and will have you craving for a dancing partner at the very moment.

I give it 4 stars, also it sends out the cheezy cliche message about "if you want something bad enough, go and get it"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars PASSION PLUS+, August 2, 2004
I LOVE this movie. The songs are so sultry. The dancing is so full of passion. When you watch this it puts you in THE MOOD-for real. If you want to jumpstart your relationship, watch this movie!! The music makes you want to dance which in my case led to more.. Does anyone know how to get this soundtrack???
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Absurdity, February 27, 2003
By A Customer
Aside from how attractive I personally find the lead actress, this movie is a complete and utter waste of time. Period.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Ever Salsa Movie!, September 6, 2005
By 
Ms. Tina (South Carolina) - See all my reviews
When I think of this movie I think of Excitement! I have a great passion for dance, all types but when I first saw this movie I had to be about 12 years old,(I'm 21 now)and then I knew it would be my favorite for a while. Sure Save the last dance, Dance with me, and Dirty Dancing will all be classics to mine, but this movie is different, Nisa was so passionate when she danced, and Jason had the same passion, and when they danced together they released a sense of warmth. I really love this movie, for any young couples who love to dance watch it at night by the fire place, and appreciate a good dance movie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A powerful ecological/phenomenological statement, August 14, 2000
By 
Many small-minded film reviewers have dismissed this as a simple dance movie. Wrong, wrong, wrong. In fact, the Lambada, as used our protagonist, the Princess, is an inverse metaphor for Brazil and, indeed, the struggles of the Third World.
Whereas Brazil has brought economic stability, and the favor of the IMF, through unpopular interest rates, the Princess finds ecological stability, and the approval of seedy Los Angeles dancers, through the Lambada. The finale alone -- featuring corporate executives, DJs, Amazon Indians, drug dealers, Anglos, the Los Angeles/Brooklyn Dodgers, members of Poison and their entourage and Princess -- proves to be the most compelling symbolism in American cinema, post-1975.
Yet unweaving this richly textured quilt brings more colors. Princess' love affair with Boy, and seconded by the Boy's Crazy Aunt's equally romantic entanglement with the Amazon's Chief, proves a prescient warning about the dangers of IMF/World Bank power -- and provides a possible blueprint for repair. Although Boy/Princess, as two consenual adults, find true happiness radiating from the mutual pelvic thrusts of the Lambada, Amazon Chief/Crazy Aunt's relationship, marked mostly by misunderstanding and lamp-breaking, ends sadly and without resolution. The message is clear. Greydon Clark (director of the equally sublime "Angels' Revenge") was, truly, raging against the machine, years before these questions were first raised.
The climax of the movie comes in a breathtakingingly choreographed Marxist critique, with the Princess (losing her Brazilian accent, which, I believe, shows the truly transformative power of political awareness and this exotic dance) declares that "The killing of the trees must be stopped." The rising, nearly-proletarian rage of the assembled Martika lovers shows that we, too, may be called to rise against the powers that be.
Unfairly maligned by corporate media, THE FORBIDDEN DANCE is a haunting, thoroughly political drama of scantily clad women with big hair, on par with "Seven Days in May." The battle cry of the next century will not be "Workers of the World, unite," but "Lambada, hey."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ELECTRIFYING, MADE ME WANT TO DANCE!, May 28, 1999
By A Customer
I Loved the movie, the dancing alone was beyond words. I bought the soundtrack and had lost it and have been trying ever since to find it again. With no luck i might add. Please if anyone knows how to get it again, please let me know!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Fobidden Dance, November 4, 2006
A real GOOD feel and entertaining movie that has everything in it. Mind you the acting isn't all that great but the music and dancing sure does make up for it. You get to see how the "Lambada" should actually be danced.....no wonder they call it the forbidden dance!

Get a copy of the movie and check it out yourself. You will not be disappointed. I had the VHS version which was getting worn out and was keeping my fingers crossed waiting for DVD version to be released.....WoW and it has been.....so do what I did...just BUY it. AAA for value!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DVD - 'The Forbidden Dance is Lambada', August 21, 2006
DVD arrived in perfect condition & the family enjoyed watching it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars cheesy but fun!!, November 20, 2009
This movie is not a big budget movie. It is a little chessy but fun to watch. It has dancing and romace.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Forbidden Dance
The Forbidden Dance by Greydon Clark
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.