Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Forever Marilyn Collection [Blu-ray]
Your Garage botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Segway miniPro

Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:$34.64+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on January 14, 2016
Pro: The films all look fabulous in HD and Marilyn is a gorgeous delight to watch, even though mostly cast in lightweight bimbo roles, either an airhead, or a golddigger, or a golddigger pretending to be an airhead - with the exception of The Misfits, in which she has a much grittier, lifelike character to play and knocks it out of the park. Alas, that was her last film, so moviegoers missed an entire era of Monroe-films-that-could-have-been.
Con: This set is packaged in slide-in cardboard sleeves, rather than the standard plastic Blu Ray case.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 10, 2013
I have Marilyn Monroe movies on DVD, but the blu ray versions make her look dazzling and I spotted things in the films I never even noticed before. If you are a die hard fan of Marilyn Monroe you will find this set a priceless find.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 27, 2013
I've been a fan of the wonderful Ms. Monroe since I was a young man...she died when I was only 13. This is one of the more complete collections of her best film performances that I've seen...although it doesn't include 'Niagara' nor 'Bus Stop'...it has just about everything else...
The packaging got criticism from a number of other reviewers, and it deserves it...The flimsy materials used are far from adequate and not sturdy enough for a multi-disc collection of such obvious value and interest. I did some repair work on the packaging to strengthen it in several key places, and I plan to handle it with care. A couple of the discs were also loose in the packaging when it arrived, but there is no evidence of damage, so I am very pleased with my purchase.
The pricing was extremely attractive and I feel that I got a great bargain with this Blu-ray collection. I would recommend it highly to any MM fans...
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 27, 2012
Though this collection does not include all of Miss Monroe's films, it does give a great view of her and her much underated acting talent. The Blu-Ray transfers are wonderful and it makes the films look like they are brand-new. Because her career spanned the transition to Cinemascope, the films in this collection do the same. And as an older man now....looking at Marilyn with a different perspective.....she proves over and over while watching these that she was no "dumb blond"....though she played the "part" perfectly. It is obvious to me when watching these movies that she knew exactly what she was doing and was in total control of her performance at all times. This collection has given me a "new" and different respect for Marilyn Monroe. Now all we need is the Blu-ray release of Niagra, Bus Stop, and The Prince & The Showgirl.....I was disappointed that those three were not in this collection but what we do have is a treasure trove of wonderful films that give us a good start at appreciating Marilyn for something more than just a sex symbol....but the true movie "icon" she has become and still is!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 12, 2012
The blu-ray edition of The Misfits is the best it's looked in 50 years, and it may be Monroe's finest performance. The Hawks films are essentials as well.
0Comment|21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 24, 2012
Complete support for Shane CAWLEY's Comments of June 12th, 2012 should be universal.

The rare Documentary MARILYN, originally theatrically released in 1963 at 86 minutes, has NEVER been released on either VIDEO or DVD and is a fascinating compilation of scenes and production numbers from Marilyn's FOX catalog with introductions on screen by Rock Hudson.

Included in MARILYN, is the famous MM costume Screen Test for SOMETHING'S GOTTA GIVE, with the lovely title music in the background. Such footage is a gem and was, thankfully, eventually released on DVD some years ago, along with the reconstruction of the remnants of that unfinished film in which MM looked absolutely radiant.

However, it has been impossible to view that film in its original color and format for five decades, since original release - it was screened on Television in Sydney once in the early Seventies in black and white before color Television arrived in 1976 here, but even that print has since completely disappeared.

It was fortunate to have also viewed MARILYN at a private screening of a rented 16mm color copy of the film during 1969 but sadly, someone had already lifted the Costume Test from her final film.

The real "diamond" from MARILYN, however, and worth every penny, or dollar, or pound or whatever, for a DVD release, is the presentation of the Diamonds Are A Girl's Best Friend number from Gentlemen Prefer Blondes in full CinemaScope format. From dated history, that sequence was apparantly photographed in the new Anamorphic process during 1953 as a Test sequence, when THE ROBE and HOW TO MARRY A MILLIONAIRE were being produced as the initial CinemaScope productions (with MILLIONAIRE being completed first but released after THE ROBE).

Any true MM fan would readily pay the price of a DVD simply for that sequence alone. On the initial release of MARILYN, I was amazed that there semed to be no cropping at all heightwise of what I assumed was a blowup of the standard 4x3 print and later had knowledge of the special photographing in CinemaScope to seemingly confirm the Widescreen matter. The sequence in the theatrical print of MARILYN was very sharp with rich color.

MARILYN is now possibly the ONLY MM title "unavailable" to home viewing in any format, with THE DANGEROUS YEARS set for release by FOX on MOD shortly.

Considering the content of MARILYN and the unababating interest in the lady herself, its seemingly permanent abandonment by the FOX Studio is very bewildering. Let us hope that a suitable negative or print still exists for production of a very long overdue and welcome release for home viewing.

Other fans could also support a movement to have MARILYN ultimately released to DVD by writing to Twentieth Century Fox itself - many, including younger generations of people, probably don't even realise the film exists.

Including MARILYN in the BluRay Box Set would have enticed me to buy the Collection being released shortly, but with the absence of NIAGARA and BUS STOP as well, it is a worry!

(Only four stars above is due to omission of the neglected films).

Eric GLASBY AUSTRALIA

3rd September, 2012 - REVIEW UPDATE:
After viewing the BluRay films, five stars is certainly appropriate - the quality of the prints is flawless and despite multiple viewings of all films over the years on different formats including theatrical releases, these copies are simply glowing and it feels like viewing them for the first time.

Thanks to 20th Century Fox for their wonderful efforts.

Eric Glasby Australia
66 comments|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 14, 2013
It was nice to see her range, not just her deterioration at the end of her career and life. However the movies were very uneven from the dull and terrible River of No return with Robert Mitchum, its only redeeming feature being her performance in the saloon,which were quite frankly, simply wonderful.,,to the silly fun of Some like It Hot, a zany comedy which it would be delightful if Hollywood still made, instead of all those awful chick flicks where the men and women treat each other like garbage dumpsters and then call it love. let's see! Gentlemen prefer blondes... quaint fun and delightful musical numbers. Strangely, enjoyable despite my dislike of musicals. I suppose that is the magic of Marilyn that was...being able to rise above the shabbiness of her material. It is a pity they never gave her dramatic roles to see how she could have made them shine. The documentaries on Marlyn and the making of the 7 films in this collection were more informative than most, great for the fan or casual viewer. Long live Marilyn. Enjoy!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 29, 2014
This is a collection of 7 of Marilyn Monroe's films. The highlights of the set are (in my opinion) are Some Like It Hot, The Seven Year Itch, Gentlemen Prefer Blondes and How to Marry A Millionaire. The movies are restored about as well as they could be, and look as good as you can get them to look on blu ray (considering they were all from the 1950s).

As far as extras go, each disc has at least the trailer for that movie. Some Like it Hot and the 7 year Itch has the most behind the scenes material, making of features and interviews with the filmmakers and biographers. The Seven Year Itch also plays in a mode that explains how it got made in spite of the film industry censorship of movies back in the 40s and 50s.

Obviously the movies of that era are much different than those made today (or even 20 or 30 years ago). Marilyn basically played a version of the same character in almost every movie. Either a ditzy blonde or a gold digging blonde or a ditzy gold digging blonde. The two movies where she showed that she had the potential to go beyond those types of roles were River of No Return, and the movie that would end up being her last full movie The Misfits.

As some have noted the packaging for the set is not all that great. There are two booklets with cardboard notches that each disc slips into. The discs do not tend to stay in the notches all the time so if you get the DVD version you will probably have at least a couple scratched discs. If you get the blu rays however, since they have the anti-scratch coating, it is really just annoying when the fall out.

All in all if you are a fan of Marilyn's movies, or just classic movies in general, this is a great albeit incomplete set.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 6, 2014
This really has a great collection of Marilyn films, but the packaging leaves a lot to be desired. I see those kinds of comments on a number of these sets and this is one of those that you just wonder what they were thinking. That is why I gave it the 4 out of 5 stars. Movies great, packaging not so much.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 9, 2013
What a beautiful collection, with each film splendidly remastered in glorious technicolor. Marilyn never looked more beautiful than in this bluray collection among splendid packaging. For me the gem of this collection is "River Of No Return" with Robert Mitchum. A film rarely show on television, and in it's wide screen edition. Even if you are a minor Marilyn Monroe fan, or want to see what made her a star, this collection is for you. Very well priced (when I bought it) for the quality of material you are getting.

For Marilyn fans, I'd say this is a must have.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse