Customer Reviews


3,309 Reviews
5 star:
 (1,773)
4 star:
 (963)
3 star:
 (342)
2 star:
 (135)
1 star:
 (96)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


298 of 319 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars All is not what is seems in Paradise...
This is the second book in Baldacci's Reacher-like series featuring John Puller, a military cop. The Forgotten picks up from where Zero Day left off, but it's not necessary to have read that book previously. Whilst the events from that book are referred to occasionally, there are no spoilers given.

When the book opens, Puller is contemplating returning to...
Published 20 months ago by Julia Flyte

versus
49 of 57 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't waste your money
I liked the early Baldacci novels, but his recent stuff has been progressively worse, and this one is downright bad. The character Puller is a poor Jack Reacher imitation, most of the other characters are poorly developed , the dialog is often nonsensical, and the plot is so ridiculous it's laughable. I'm wondering where all the 5 star reviews came from - did these...
Published 19 months ago by Yos


‹ Previous | 1 2331 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

298 of 319 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars All is not what is seems in Paradise..., November 3, 2012
This is the second book in Baldacci's Reacher-like series featuring John Puller, a military cop. The Forgotten picks up from where Zero Day left off, but it's not necessary to have read that book previously. Whilst the events from that book are referred to occasionally, there are no spoilers given.

When the book opens, Puller is contemplating returning to work after a brief vacation taken to recover from the events of Zero Day, when his father receives a worrying letter from Puller's Aunt Betsy, who lives in Paradise, Florida. She alludes to something dodgy going on and "mysterious happenings at night". Puller goes down to Florida to visit his aunt, but when he gets there he discovers that she has recently deceased, having drowned in her backyard in what the police have decided was an accident. Given the letter she just wrote, Puller is not convinced it was an accident and starts to investigate further. Almost immediately it becomes apparent that there is more than meets the eye to the entire affair.

At the same time, there is a mysterious man who has literally washed up in town. He has arrived on a mission, but we don't know what that mission is or whether he is going to turn out to be a villain or a hero. He is Puller's match in every way.

The first half of the book develops slowly but maintains the intrigue as Puller pursues his investigations. In the second half things start to come together and the action builds. There are several twists along the way.

It's impossible to avoid the comparison to Lee Child's books because the lead character and overall formula are so similar. If you enjoy Child's books, you're pretty sure to like this too. It's not as good as Child at his best - it doesn't hold your attention as well and Puller is not as charismatic as Reacher. But it's as good or better than several of the recent Reacher instalments. I find Baldacci pretty hit and miss as a writer, but this one works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


213 of 236 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars John Puller - Baldacci's new Jack Reacher, October 26, 2012
By 
Suncoast "Suncoast" (Sunshine Coast, Australia) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Now that Oliver Stone and the Camel Club are over, David Baldacci is looking for a key player for a new series. Welcome to Military Criminal Investigator, John Puller Jr, who some of you will have met first in "Zero Day". Puller is basically a military policeman, over 6 feet tall, very athletic and powerful but with battle wounds from active service, great with weapons and a diligent and brilliant investigator. After the traumas of "Zero Day" Puller went off for some post stress R & R - "He had no map, no plan, no destination".

Does all of this sound a bit familiar, a bit like Jack Reacher? Of course it does. We all love Jack Reacher but after so many iterations his adventures are getting a bit thin and repetitious. So let's see what Puller can offer. Firstly he is still in the military although this adventure starts out as a personal investigation. His aunt who raised him sent a letter saying "people are not being who they seemed". When Puller arrives in Florida he finds that she has been drowned in her back-yard fountain, which the police think is accidental. Puller he gets involved with the local police in trying to convince them that it was murder. Like Zero Day, a simple investigation quickly uncovers something far more sinister and dangerous.

The finale is fast and furious escapist nonsense with a team of unlikely goodies, including some kick-ass females, taking care of almost a football team of nasty baddies.

Did I enjoy it? Yes because I like Baldacci's page-turning style and characterisation, with well thought-out plot. Did I worry about the Jack Reacher similarity? Yes, because Baldacci should be able to create a new character without apparently having to plagiarize another one. What is my greatest concern? That someone might have plans for a John Puller movie with Tom Cruise in the lead role.

I worried over an appropriate rating and came up with 3.5 stars (somewhere between Amazon's "OK" [3 stars] and "I like it" [4 stars]. In the end because I did enjoy it I rounded it back to 4 stars. Would I read the next Baldacci book, even if it was John Puller again. I think so.

PS (EDITED) Someone who commented pointed out that Lee Child gets a bit of revenge in his latest Reacher book "A Wanted Man", by introducing a dim witted deputy named John Puller. I'm sorry I missed the connection. When Reacher met Puller and found he was a dim wit, he said "Were you dropped on your head as a baby?" ROFL!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


49 of 57 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't waste your money, December 10, 2012
By 
Yos "Yos457" (Flushing, NY, US) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Forgotten (Hardcover)
I liked the early Baldacci novels, but his recent stuff has been progressively worse, and this one is downright bad. The character Puller is a poor Jack Reacher imitation, most of the other characters are poorly developed , the dialog is often nonsensical, and the plot is so ridiculous it's laughable. I'm wondering where all the 5 star reviews came from - did these people read the same lousy book I just read??
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


53 of 63 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK, But Not Impressive, November 23, 2012
By 
rck12 (Connecticut) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Forgotten (Hardcover)
John Puller is an Army criminal investigator on leave, while looking into his Aunt's disappearance. He spars with the local police of a small affluent Florida town, as he noses into their investigation while the disappearances mount, leading to a sinister story line.

It's a slow moving tale without any major surprise. There is just enough development to keep the reader interested, hoping for a Reacher like conclusion (as it is a Reacher like book, however not as blatant as the authors Zero Day), although winds up with a grade B finale, that is a bit far fetched.

I thought the character Mecho stole the show from Puller, an intriguing enigma who was the most interesting part of the book imo. The inclusion of Puller's boss, General Julie Carson, to help him in the field half way into the book was strange...a Captain maybe, but a General?

The similarity to Lee Child's 'Jack Reacher' continues, and there is also a bit of Brian Haig's 'Major Sean Drummond' evolving. Mr. Baldacci's seems to be reaching at straws looking for a winner beyond the Camel Club series, with the release of 3 new hardcovers in the past four months. I think the best of the bunch was "The Innocent", with the clean new character Will Robie, a much better prospect than John Puller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


66 of 83 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Forget it!, December 24, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is the first John Puller novel by Baldacci for me. The protagonist is a Jack Reacher wannabe. He is a military cop still in service with a demented retired general for a father. Like Reacher he is very tall, tough and indestructible. The story takes place when Puller is on vacation and starts looking into the suspicious death of his aunt in a small resort coastal town in Florida. Then it evolves into a complex tale of human trafficking and three different parties including Puller trying get the bad guys. Initially the three are on parallel tracks but incredibly merge and create mayhem. Throw in a female one star general who has the hots for Puller and you begin to get the picture. Like most mystery and action story writers Baldacci is woefully inept when it comes to gratuitous soft porn and should stay away from it. I think he should also refrain from the action stuff. The last few action packed chapters of this book are painful to read and I found myself skipping over pages. Most of the stuff is laughably impossible. Like the one star general who while on vacation can with a simple phone call scramble up a combat helicopter to aid the good guys. Like how our action heroes navigate the rough seas in the wake of a hurricane in the middle of the night in a small boat and reach their destination absolutely intact. I could go on but will stop. Suffice to say I will not be reading any more Puller stories. If I crave for more mindless bravado and simplistic plot lines I will stick with Jack Reacher, thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Unbelievable - And I Mean That In The Worst Way, April 17, 2013
This review is from: The Forgotten (Paperback)
I can't remember the last time I closed a book halfway through, with no intention of ever reopening it. Baldacci has produced one of the most forgettable novels I've ever read, and in over 70 years of reading, that says a lot. As an Army careerist, with years of observations of CID investigations and investigators, it cracks me up to see the Superman image created for Agent Puller, the central character. He apparently operates as an independent force, combating evil-doers throughout the world. Need a reason to be involved in a case that has nothing to do with the Army? Simple. Just tell your headquarters that some guys with crewcuts are following you. Any objections? Just use the fear and respect generated by mentioning the name of your father, a retired 3-star general who is currently commanding a bed in a dementia ward. Need some firepower? Call a female general in CID (there must be hundreds of them) who has the hots for you and ask her to send you some automatic weapons and other toys. Double down by having her fly out in a military aircraft to deliver them personally, and then team up with you to shoot it out with the bad guys. OMG. I could go on, but I'm trying to forget this. I can only reason that the 5-star reviews came from the same people who avidly watch NCIS and think it bears any resemblance to reality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


85 of 109 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant baldacci, November 5, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
For me David Baldacci is a problem. When one of his books arrive I get nothing else done until I have finished reading it - I just can't stop. This book is just as good as all the others. Baldacci tells a good story in a style that is easy to read and his plot is simple to follow. When is the next one coming?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Depressing & Absurd, December 21, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I am a great fan of Baldacci and look forward to each new book. However, this is his worst book. It was totally without redeeming qualities. His characters are stick figures who never develop. The hero's father is a ridiculous character that seem to exist solely to create opportunities for the hero to create unrealistic relationships and opportunities. Nor does the plot approach reality. Aside from the science fiction-like action scenes, the idea of a US army general engaging in extracurricular firefights, beggars belief. I had trouble finishing the book and even the vengeful ending was unstructured, undeveloped and unsatisfying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 25 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, December 19, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I usually LOVE David Baldacci books, but this one was very disappointing. The dialogue was silly and predictable. My overall takeaway was that he had just filled in an outline with enough words to make a book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 36 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Easily and Happily Forgotten, December 4, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Forgotten (Hardcover)
I usually like Baldacci, but this is a gruesomely violent book that is poorly written in more places than I care to mention and has a plot the fizzles at the end. There are some good moments, but not enough to make up for the book's failings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2331 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Forgotten
The Forgotten by David Baldacci (Hardcover - November 20, 2012)
$29.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.