Customer Reviews


75 Reviews
5 star:
 (52)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


42 of 43 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An Inspiring Story of Survival
Author Alistair Urquhart was a member of the Scottish Gordon Highlanders. His group was sent to Singapore in 1939 and by December, 1941, the Japanese had seized control. Singapore, Britain's main outpost in the Far East, fell to an invading force only 1/3 the size of the defenders. Urquhart and thousands of others became prisoners of the Japanese. This began a 3 1/2...
Published on December 8, 2010 by Jeffrey T. Munson

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Great story but too much of the same misery throughout ...
Great story but too much of the same misery throughout the book. In addition, I didn't like the rant about the British Government and the way they treated the POWs (especially the author). It spoiled the book by making it a personal gripe against the British Government. Other than that, good book.
Published 3 days ago by Richard Charette


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

42 of 43 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An Inspiring Story of Survival, December 8, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Author Alistair Urquhart was a member of the Scottish Gordon Highlanders. His group was sent to Singapore in 1939 and by December, 1941, the Japanese had seized control. Singapore, Britain's main outpost in the Far East, fell to an invading force only 1/3 the size of the defenders. Urquhart and thousands of others became prisoners of the Japanese. This began a 3 1/2 year odyssey for Urquhart which saw him endure sadistic treatment at the hands of the Japanese.

Urquhart was conscripted to work on the famous Bridge on the River Kwai, all the while surviving on a cup of rice and water per day. Beatings became the norm, and soon, Urquhart was suffering from several different tropical diseases. He worked on the bridge for 750 days.

After his work on the bridge, Urquhart was put on one of the Japanese "Hell Ships" to be sent to a labor camp in Japan. En route, the ship was sunk by an American submarine, throwing Urquhart and his comrades into the water. Some of the prisoners were rescued by friendly submarines, but Urquhart was not as lucky; he was picked up by a Japanese ship and resumed his voyage to Japan. Once there, he began working outdoors in a mine near the town of Nagasaki. By August, 1945, the Japanese were beaten. The first atomic bomb had fallen on Hiroshima and one day while Urquhart was working outside, he was knocked over by an extremely hot blast of air. Looking north toward Nagasaki, Urquhart saw a towering cloud over the city. He did not know it at the time, but he had felt the effects of the second atomic bomb that destroyed the city. Urquhart had somehow managed to survive the war, weighing only 82 pounds at the end. He managed to work his way back to Scotland and began to get back to life.

This is a very interesting story told through the eyes of a former POW. I've read many books about the fate of Allied POWs at the hands of the Japanese, but I'm still sickened each time I read about these terrible atrocities the Japanese committed yet still refuse to admit. Many Japanese companies, including the one Urquhart slaved for, benefited from POW labor, yet they still refuse to admit it. Urquhart had to endure virtually daily beatings, solitary confinement, little or no medical care, and virtually no food and water, yet he survived. it is a testament to all POWs who managed to survive such unimaginable treatment.

I recommend this book to all readers of Pacific War history. Urquhart's story is one of resilience, determination, and stubbornness, and this book accurately portrays the atrocities that Allied POWs were forced to face.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unforgetable..., October 8, 2010
By 
Quixote010 (columbus, ohio) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Forgotten Highlander: An Incredible WWII Story of Survival in the Pacific (Hardcover)
Alistair Urquhart is an angry man.... and he should be.

The Forgotten Highlander is the non-fictional account of 20 year old Alistair Urquhart's fascinating and unbeliveable situtation in the Pacific during World War II. Now 91, Urguhart seeks to document his imprisonment at the hands of the Japanese as he survived more than two years doing slave labor. For Urquhart, this story was written partially as a catharsis, and partially to remind the world of the Japanese atrocities they have never fully admitted.

Readers will find this book to read more like fiction rather than real life as Urguhart relates details regarding prison conditions, punishment, food rationing and general interaction from one prisoner to another. Actually having worked on the Death Railway (the "bridge on the river Kiwi"), he relates in horrowing detail the constant day-to-day never-ending manual labor that drove men to cut their own throats, or simply lay their head on a track and wait a passing train. As if being a prisoner wasn't enough, he relates more unimaginable specifics about being aboard a ship bound for Japan, only to have it sunk by an American ship whereby he survived six days floating in the Pacific...only to be recaptured by another Japanese ship and ending up near Nagasaki--- the second city destroyed by they atom bomb.....which he also witnessed. His short, but powerful remarks about returning home should be read by everyone thinking they are living a life of "entitlement".

Some readers may believe this book is a fabrication. Prehaps some of it is, alas the writer is more than 65 years reomoved from the events he details and memories can be better or worse than we recall. At the same time, if just half of what he recalls is accurate, then this book is still chilling and fascinating.

I strongly recommend this book as an easy to read, fascinating recallection of World War II.... possibly one of the last we will be seeing from that generation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, June 17, 2010
This book will leave you speechless. There is nothing even close in this genre today. I cannot thank the author enough for finding the courage to write this book ...So many vets are dying - taking their amasing stories with them....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Forgotten Highlander, May 15, 2010
By 
Shopster (Caracas, Venezuela) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The explanation of the product was enough to confirm my interest in ordering it.The Forgotten Highlander: My Incredible Story of Survival During the War in the Far East.
A very moving account of the personal hardships lived by Alastair Urquhart as a POW . Many messages of courage, faith and steadfastness.
Highly recommended reading or listening to the abridged version on three CDs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Astonishing and inspiring, June 25, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
One of the first books I bought on my Kindle and I re-read it immediately. This is a truly shocking (yet inspiring) account of an unimaginable feat of endurance. To think the Urquhart was only 20 at the time reminded me of the line from King Lear: "The oldest hath borne most: we that are young/Shall never see so much, nor live so long." The generation that went through this is humbling.I could not go through a fraction of what he suffered. Probably the most shocking part was that they were asked to sign documents after their return promising not to discuss their experiences, in case it affected trade with the Japanese.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quiet Bravery, October 4, 2010
This review is from: The Forgotten Highlander: An Incredible WWII Story of Survival in the Pacific (Hardcover)
Somehow the Second World War is often thought of as a kinder War than Vietnam or Iraq or Afghanistan. Urquhart's memoir graphically details the horrors of ANY war. As a 20 year old he's drafted into the British army and spends almost his entire war in the hands of cruel Japanese and Korean soldiers as he's forced to build a railroad in the Malaysian jungle along with other UK and Australian soldiers. His keepers completely ignored the Geneva Convention and its tenets. It would have been easy for Urquhart to slip into self pity while telling his story but he doesn't, he doesn't need to, the facts are horrible enough. Almost worse was how he was treated when he returned home. The British government asked for documentation of the atrocities he endured. Of course none existed so he was denied the extra pay that would have provided. Instead Urquhart did what so many veterans did and still do and made the most of the life he had ahead of him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of war's ugliest realities, August 22, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The late summer and fall of 1995 found me on active duty in England. It was a sunny mid-August day that I visited London, fine weather for the VJ Day parade and fireworks. While at a restaurant before the festivities, I happened to glance at that morning's copy of The Times, which included a large spread about how badly UK POWs were treated in the Far East prison camps during World War II. Of course I had seen the film "The Bridge on the River Kwai," but the gravity of it hadn't registered with me.

Before reading "The Forgotten Highlander," I read Laura Hillenbrand's "Unbroken" about American POW Louis Zamperini, sobering enough about the hellish conditions. Now I had an inkling, but even armed with that, I could not have imagined "The Forgotten Highlander." What Alistair endured and lived to tell about was so incredible that only one who knows human nature can truly fathom it. "Man's inhumanity to man" may be a catchy phrase, but it captures the depths to which anyone without a moral compass could go. We do ourselves a disservice when we say, "Not I! That could only happen at the hands of imperialist Japanese captors or Nazis." Better to say, "There, but for the grace of God, go I." Lest we forget and partake in new atrocities.

This book should be standard reading for military service personnel going into harm's way. Better to dispel illusions of wartime glory before one's first deployment. Alistair certainly never expected his tour in Singapore to end up the way it did. Some day, I hope to see a movie based on his story, as one on Zamperini's experiences is scheduled for release in December. I will see "Unbroken" when it comes out, but only after viewing "The Bridge on the River Kwai" again. And I will keep in mind that Alistair called the latter film "sanitized." Fr. Dennis
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MAGNIFICENT., March 5, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
WHAT A REMARKABLE AND WELL WRITTEN PERSONAL HISTORY.
I HAVE READ IT THREE TIMES AT LEAST! AND EACH TIME I JUST COULDN'T PUT IT DOWN!
FRIENDS THAT HAVE BORROWED THE BOOK SAY THE SAME THING, THAT THEY JUST COULDN'T PUT IT DOWN.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I couldn't put this book down!, February 10, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book held my attention from the very first page.An eye opener for those who did not live through those terrible times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Forgotten Highlander, August 27, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
How can one critique memories of the past, especially ones as traumatic as these? I loved the writer's descriptions of his idyllic childhood in Scotland before the war. Here was a solid citizen, if ever there was one. And at 18 he was sent off to war - to Singapore. What follows is a personal account of his survival in the East during the war years while Britain was focusing on the war in Europe. These men were all forgotten. Many did not survive the tropical diseases or the inhumane treatment of the Japanese. Urquhart survives the jungle camps for the building of a bridge over the river Kwai, ship-wreck and the atomic bomb on Nagasaki, and returns to a war-scarred United Kingdom where he is certainly not regarded as a returning hero. Returning soldiers were required to sign an agreement to ensure their silence about their treatment at the hands of the Japanese.
This book is an extremely good read and a clear reminder of what the Second World War meant for many. I don't think I could ever forget the price this young man paid for his country.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Forgotten Highlander: An Incredible WWII Story of Survival in the Pacific
Used & New from: $0.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.