Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best of Breed
This movie is an unapologetic Wuxia film; swordsmanship, kung-fu, and magic on very side. It doesn't transcend the genera, but it is among the very best examples of it. Other reviewers have noted that there is some skimping on the character development, and that is true, but Wuxia is not a style that goes in for much character development beyond certain basic archetypes...
Published 21 months ago by C. S. Schofield

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good movie, However
However, the subtitles went so fast you could not read them and follow what was going on, I was constantly using my pause button, otherwise the was great, the costumes and effects, fantastic, but I could not follow alot of it due to subtitles going so fast
Published 12 months ago by R. watkins


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best of Breed, April 18, 2013
By 
C. S. Schofield "The Crank" (Frenchtown, NJ United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Four (DVD)
This movie is an unapologetic Wuxia film; swordsmanship, kung-fu, and magic on very side. It doesn't transcend the genera, but it is among the very best examples of it. Other reviewers have noted that there is some skimping on the character development, and that is true, but Wuxia is not a style that goes in for much character development beyond certain basic archetypes. Furthermore, as the Wikipedia entry on the film notes, the novels this film is based on have already been adapted to television several times, in Hong Kong, so the target audience already knows these people. We Westerners are just going to have to catch up.

If you are looking for historical accuracy, or realistic fighting, or shakespearean eloquence, then you have come to the wrong place. But if you are looking for top-flight fantasy fun, well shot, well acted, with thrilling fights and glorious special effects, then by no means pass this one up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Four, May 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Four (DVD)
I frist saw it on Youtube. I like the story. I grew up watching this type of movie. It is based on a book. The movie was well made. The price is good as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Movie, April 12, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Four (Amazon Instant Video)
Was well worth watching. Effects are very well done and the acting was just as good.
For comparison sake I would have to say this movie is equal in production to movies such as "Crouching Tiger Hidden Dragon" and "The Forbidden Kingdom"... etc.
Though the fist half of the movie jumped right over character development(Lacked in good introduction), it did not take away from the overall experience.
Glad I took the chance with this one.. "thoroughly enjoyed it".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars (3.5 Stars) Wonderful action cinematography, use of the spider-cam but also a fascinating martial arts superhero film., July 4, 2013
This review is from: The Four [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
America has its fair share of superhero groups on the big screen. From the Avengers, Fanastic Four and the X-Men, in Asia, we have seen many films featuring people with supernatural powers. But what about an investigative team with supernatural powers?

This is the concept featured in Gordon Chan's ("The Medallion", "Fist of Legend", 2000 AD") and Janet Chun's ("All's Well Ends Well 2011″, "La Lingerie") film "The Four", the first film of a planned trilogy and a loose big screen adaptation of Wen Ruian's novel series "The Four Great Constables".

Featuring a cast with talent from mainland China and Hong Kong, the film stars Chao Deng ("Assembly", "Detective Dee and the Mystery of the Phantom Flame"), Yifei Liu ("The Assassins", "White Vengeance"), Ronald Cheng ("Fatal Contact", "Vulgaria"), Collin Chou ("The Matrix Revolutions", "The Matrix Reloaded", "The Forbidden Kingdom", "Fearless") and Anthony Wong Chau-Sang ("Infernal Affairs" films, "Ip Man: The Final Fight", "White Vengeance").

VIDEO:

"The Four" is presented in 1080p High Definition (2:20:1 aspect ratio). The film looks fantastic when it comes to close-up details but also its use of the spider-cam to really capture the sense of movement and blend in the wirework and CG elements wonderfully. Contrast is well-done, some scenes may be a tad too dark but for the most part, "The Four" looks very good on Blu-ray.

I personally didn't notice any banding or compression artifacts issues during my viewing of the film.

AUDIO & SUBTITLES:

"The Four" is presented in Mandarin 5.1 DTS-HD Master Audio. One thing I learned while watching this film is how amazing the film sounds in lossless and surround. There are times where I'm watching the film and you can hear the environments such as wind blowing through the wind, good use of surround during the more action-intense sequences. Lossless audio for the film is fantastic!

SPECIAL FEATURES:

"The Four" comes with the following special features:

Making Of - (24:22) A combination of several short making of featurettes, featuring interviews with the director Gordon Chan, interviews with the cast about the characters and the use of the Spider-cam, the amount of makeup for Cold Blood's feral look and more!
Deleted Scenes - (4:10) A combination of deleted scenes featuring the other characters who are members of the Divine Constabulary.
Trailer - (1:41) Theatrical trailer for "The Four".

EXTRAS:

"The Four" comes with a slipcover case.

JUDGMENT CALL:

"The Four" will probably be known for two things.

The first is for its spectacular use of a spider-cam in which multiple cranes were hold wired cameras above the set, so the camera can travel up from high above and carefully following the wire back down and to go back again. The spider-cam would be able to capture people jumping from building to building without the use of CG but actual wire work. And complicated as it was to film, Gordon Chan and his crew were ready for the challenge and were successful, despite the various attempts and mistakes before getting the final cut.

The second part about "The Four" that will be known for its its criticism by Chinese publications for the film trying to be a combination of "X-Men", "Resident Evil" and "Van Helsing", characters with supernatural ability and of course, with the Chinese flair.

And in some ways, I can see the comparisons because I thought of the film the same way. I immediately saw the comparisons to "X-Men" with Professor X preaching to his X-Men to fight for the positive cause and not cause trouble and not to be like the others (ie. The Brotherhood of Evil Mutants). The same can be said with the wise Zhuge Zhengwo (portrayed by Anthony Wong). Emotionless has similarities to Jean Grey, Iron Fist has similarities to scientist Henry Pym (The Beast) but with the strength and ability to wield iron ala Colossus. While Life Snatcher is like Warren Worthington (Angel) and his ability to woo the women but in this case, the ability to use his feet as weapons and last, Cold Blood. The person trying to be on the side of good but has a feral side (ala Wolverine) because he was raised by wolves.

Throw in an antagonist who tries to revive the dead and thus the "Resident Evil" zombie comparisons. And you have the crazy antagonist with the God of Wealth who is able to wield hot and cold and whatever unknown power that he is responsible for.

As the first film in the planned trilogy, with the film establishing its characters and their abilities but also the mysterious background of certain characters who may be good or bad, "The Four" is kept interesting because of its characters and the predicaments they are in.

While fight choreography looks amazing, some will find the comparison to other American films to be bothersome or unoriginal. But the fact is that Gordon Chan wanted to do something different from Wen Ruian's novels by focusing on the characters and giving some back story to them, but as some questions are answered throughout the film, some tend to linger and keep viewers waiting to get answers for the second film.

Plus, aside from the action and drama, there is also a romantic love triangle storyline tacked into the film as well.

As for the Blu-ray, picture quality is very good but its the lossless soundtrack that stands out with great use of ambiance for the surround channels. You literally hear the wind all around you and of course, a good number of action sequences throughout the film.

Overall, "The Four" is a film that really goes all out in showcasing the challenges to shoot with the spider-cam and with Chinese cinematic innovation, they really made certain scenes look fantastic but yet so difficult to pull off. I was impressed! While some may criticize the film for having similarities to "The X-Men" and the addition of the undead to this film, if anything, it's an enjoyable popcorn action Chinese film with enough differences that it's far from being an X-Men wannabe but becoming its own intriguing storyline about an investigative team with supernatural abilities.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Watched it 4 times., July 19, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Four (Amazon Instant Video)
I liked the odd characters and the fusion of a martial arts, fantasy and a detective story. The only thing was that the picture quality wasn't great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LOVE THIS MOVIE, June 22, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Four (DVD)
LOVE THE CONCEPT, PLOT AND STORY LINE. GOOD ARRAY OF CHARACTERS AND VERY GOOD FIGHT SCENES. VERY GOOD MIX OF MARTIAL ARTS, FANTASY AND MAGIC. I HAVEN'T SEEN MANY MOVIES WHERE THE DEAD ARE RESURRECTED TO FIGHT. ESPECIALLY LOVE THAT CONCEPT. AND IT'S NOT OVER THE TOP. DEFINITELY ONE OF MY FAVORITES.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Kung-fu Avengers, July 3, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Four (Amazon Instant Video)
Good movie. I liked the actions and the sappy love story. I wish it were dubbed in english. Having the read subtitles distracts from the movie a bit, but overall we enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not that great, July 5, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Four [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Great martial arts but strange storyline that for me was difficult to follow...so I haven't watched it all the way through that's how kinda boring it is for me...but I'm going to keep trying to watch it and finish it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must see!, July 4, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Four (Amazon Instant Video)
This is a very well put together Movie. Great story line and great acting. A must see!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars X-Men of Asia ?, June 23, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Four (DVD)
Crazy powers and martial arts skill. Plus a girl in a wheelchair with mental powers and the wheelchair wheels are in the shape of an X.
wonder if there are any more movies like this ?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Four [Blu-ray]
The Four [Blu-ray] by Janet Chun (Blu-ray - 2013)
$29.98 $15.00
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.