Your Garage botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it PME Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer AllOrNothingS1 AllOrNothingS1 AllOrNothingS1  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro STEM

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars19
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on December 31, 2012
I have just finished reading Ohenrys book of short stories and I have to say that I was very pleased,his style of writing is so unique,he has a way of telling about life and its dreams and downfalls are so down to earth that you feel that you are there,I will certainly continue to read his other books because they are great.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 20, 2014
O. Henry (pen name of William Sydney Porter) died relatively young in 1910, but at the turn of the century, he was a prolific and popular writer mostly of short stories based on his many adventures around the NYC, the country and indeed the world. This collection is titled "The Four Million" - referring to the poor, working and middle class of New York, and it is they who O. Henry writes about mainly in this volume. This is in contrast to the famous Four Hundred ultra wealthy families who ruled New York and were the 1% of their day. O.Henry's stories are famous for their twist endings, and this is loaded with them, particularly famous "Gift of the Magi" Christmas story. Highly recommended for some some great stories, great endings, and his fantastic way with words.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 19, 2015
O. Henry's writing will expand your vocabulary. You may lose track of the plots as you thumb through your dictionary. The classic style always has a twist at the end which is often humorous and/or ironic. The insertion of dialects, contemporary slang and other idioms take the reader back in time and perhaps to circumstances and locations never seen by the reader, making it a travelogue as well as a mystery or comic romp.

You may find it hilarious in spots, bizarre in spots, all of which the author obviously planned. If you only have time for short stories, this book will fill those odd moments. Personally, I look longer plots and more character development.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 24, 2013
Haven't read all of them; however the ones I have, are classics. Some have been read in regular book form, but enjoy them just as much on my Kindle. If you are a fan of O. Henry, I am sure you will like having all these stories in one place.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 2, 2014
I love the movie of O'Henry stories, so I decuided to buy the original stories, plus many more. Like many other texts written over 100 years ago, the language is a little hard to get through. For a modern audience, the movies are better than the book .
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 20, 2014
O. Henry was the master if the surprise ending. His stories are always enjoyable even if the language is somewhat archaic. It was a different time and place. I believe no one knew The Four Million in The City better than this author.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 25, 2013
O.Henry's use of language, his wit and his sense of the human condition make for an enjoyable read. This is a thorough collection of his short stories.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 27, 2013
Always wanted to read O'Henry. Great reading this book on Kindle. Always wanted to read O'Henry. Great reading this book on Kindle.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 17, 2013
this is the book i mentioned earlier and perhaps the best of the O Henry books. Another
e book you should buy
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 21, 2016
Henry can appear to be very pedestrian, yet he is a keen observer and he writes well. He can really make a subtle point in a very urbane manner, writing close to people with great compassion.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.