Customer Reviews


95 Reviews
5 star:
 (59)
4 star:
 (28)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


46 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An answered prayer
Patrick Lencioni has once again presented a concise, compelling, simple, and wise look at the role of a leader in an organization. 5 temptations of a CEO, a title I felt should have been 5 temptations of any manager, was a much needed look at the insecurities that hit once we are in charge. The trouble I had with that book, and the author deserves no blame for this, is...
Published on October 23, 2000 by Gilbert P. Brady

versus
19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Engaging the head at a heart level...
A simple yet intriguing story that had me hooked from the beginning. As I read with eagerness and anticipation the plights of Rich O'Conner and Vince Green I awaited to discover the "Four Obsessions". Lencioni is a fabulous and effective story teller. He uses story to help the reader experience the emotions of the scenario. This is powerful because all too often...
Published on January 6, 2003 by Ruth Varney


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

46 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An answered prayer, October 23, 2000
By 
This review is from: The Four Obsessions of an Extraordinary Executive: A Leadership Fable (Hardcover)
Patrick Lencioni has once again presented a concise, compelling, simple, and wise look at the role of a leader in an organization. 5 temptations of a CEO, a title I felt should have been 5 temptations of any manager, was a much needed look at the insecurities that hit once we are in charge. The trouble I had with that book, and the author deserves no blame for this, is that the individuals who truly needed it would probably not recognize their areas for improvement.
Obsessions of an Extraordinary Executive answers that need. I am sure that all executives, all of us, feel extraordinary. We will pick this book up expecting a pat on the back for a job well done. Instead, this book challenges the role of the leader and presents 4 disciplines that should be at the Heart of any World Class organization. In fable format, which is far less threatening, and much more enjoyable to read, Lencioni shares the 4 simple disciplines of healthy organizations- 4.Reinforcing Clarity through Human Systems- 3.Overcommunicate Organizational Clarity- 2. Create Organizational Clarity- 1.Build and Maintain a Cohesive Leadership Team
It is impossible to read this book and not learn from the past experiences that one has as a leader. It also reminds the reader that it is at the very top that an organization derives it's health. Without leadership committed to health, the organization will never find it.
For all the leaders out there, buy this book, open your mind and read it. You may have to face some tough truths, but the individuals who work for you, will thank you for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 40 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Overlooked wisdom: Simple but powerful, January 31, 2001
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Four Obsessions of an Extraordinary Executive: A Leadership Fable (Hardcover)
The first three-quarters of this book consists of a fictional account of a technology consulting company run by CEO Rich O'Connor. O'Connor runs his company according to four disciplines which together powerfully maintain the health of the organization's culture. The four disciplines are: Build and Maintain a Cohesive Leadership Team; Create Organizational Clarity; Over-Communicate Organizational Clarity; and Reinforce Organizational Clarity Through Human Systems. While none of this will appear astoundingly new, the message is important and often not implemented. The fictional portrayal is followed by a more detailed analysis of the four disciplines. Most readers will find this a quick and enjoyable read that should ignite productive thinking about healthy organizations. Without a sound corporate culture even the smartest strategies and business models will not work optimally. Definitely worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Engaging the head at a heart level..., January 6, 2003
By 
Ruth Varney (San Francisco, CA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Four Obsessions of an Extraordinary Executive: A Leadership Fable (Hardcover)
A simple yet intriguing story that had me hooked from the beginning. As I read with eagerness and anticipation the plights of Rich O'Conner and Vince Green I awaited to discover the "Four Obsessions". Lencioni is a fabulous and effective story teller. He uses story to help the reader experience the emotions of the scenario. This is powerful because all too often leadership books focus on communicating with the head in isolation. Lencioni beautifully captures both the head and heart of the reader. I felt the anguish and aspirations experienced by the two main characters, while at the same time found myself in my head, problem solving, working out what I thought the issues were.
To my dismay, the revealing of the "Four Obsessions": 1. Build and maintain a cohesive leadership team; 2. Create organizational clarity; 3. Over-communicate organizational clarity; 4. Reinforce organizational clarity through human systems, fell short of expectations. Simply yet profound, truth often falls short of our expectations because we expect deeply profound and complicated answers to issues of relational concern.
I believe this is an excellent tool to begin conversations of organizational health and wellbeing with leaders that may not be readily open to this. I would recommend it to leaders at any level of an organization who are struggling with problems and are unaware the true nature of there issue begins with relationships.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Engaging, insightful, November 8, 2001
By 
Roger E. Herman (Greensboro, NC USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Four Obsessions of an Extraordinary Executive: A Leadership Fable (Hardcover)
This book is Lencioni's second leadership fable. Weaving a story around a set of principles can be an effective teaching technique, and Lencioni is skillful in the art of moral-based storytelling.
The first 136 pages of the book are consumed in telling the story of a CEO who discovered an effective way to lead his organization. The basis of the approach is a set of four disciplines, which are not revealed to the reader until the problem scenario has been established. This sequencing is valuable, since it forces the reader to come to grips with the real-life experiences of the characters of the story. The plot is intriguing.
The engaging tale holds the reader's attention strongly enough that there is minimal temptation to read ahead to see if the butler did it. The lure of the story holds your attention. The realistic scenes and dialog give an "edge" to the story; you forget you're reading a business book. It's not difficult at all to relate to each of the characters, even to the extent, perhaps, of identifying some of the characters with colleagues at work in your own organization. But there are surprises, so don't think you can second-guess this book.
The story told, the author changes hats on page 137 to slide into the role of consultant and teacher. He explains the four disciplines through a narrative style that I'd liken to a friend sitting across the table from you. But then the questions start. Lots of questions . . . and answers. This effective consulting style comes naturally: Lencioni is president of a consulting firm in the San Francisco area.
I recommend this book for CEOs, company owners, and consultants who serve them. You'll learn some interesting principles and how to convey them, but you'll also learn from the experience of reading the fable. Those who want to improve their communication of leadership concepts will benefit from the way Lencioni wove his story.
Short book, big lessons.
No, I didn't tell you the what the four disciplines are. I don't want to spoil it for you. Give into the temptation: read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Information, Unnecessary Format, May 8, 2006
This review is from: The Four Obsessions of an Extraordinary Executive: A Leadership Fable (Hardcover)
This book offers executives and business owners guidance on how to design and maintain an effective and efficient organization. The author decided to apply a fable format, similar to the business classic "The Goal," to drive the ideas home. The fable dramatizes two competing firms where one owner has incorrectly identified his competitive advantage. The fable is based on a clueless HR executive's experience and description of what he thinks is a dysfunctional team at one firm as he attempts to wiggle his way into a job at the competing firm.

For some this may be an effective method. For others like me you will have no need for the fable. While the fable format worked very well in "The Goal" it seems superfluous here. For those of you that have been in business for a while you will already know all too well the elements and characteristics of a functional and dysfunctional team highlighted in the fable. Furthermore, you know that some effective elements and structure exist --after all, why did you pick up this book? Even though it is a quick and easy read, for those with little time or care to delve into the fable, I recommend that you just skip right to the section (p 139 - p 180) called "Putting The Disciplines Into Practice: A Summary And Self Assessment." This pamphlet-sized section is the information you are after and it does offer some nice insight and clarity to building an effective and efficient team. Much of the information will be ideas or concepts that you have heard before, maybe many times, through coworkers, b-school, management seminars, etc. However, the author is correct in identifying the lack of true implementation, clarity, and consistency in most organizations.

Ideas are easy, implementation is very hard, and sustaining an effective organization is accomplished by few. All too often executives place themselves above a certain task or participation in a certain level of interview. How often have you been with a VP and he or she will take a call or check email during a meeting, or interrupt someone trying to make a point because they are impatient or think they know where something is leading, or offer cross messages by doing something not consistent with the organization's values, or assume everyone knows the company values, or well there are million examples. The results can be very damaging to an organization. And that is the point of this book. The higher the executive the more important the need for the basics: clarity, trust, focus, consistency, and communication. In the end this is a recommendable book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Writing, Thin on Research, June 23, 2006
This review is from: The Four Obsessions of an Extraordinary Executive: A Leadership Fable (Hardcover)
Easy to read, well written, a page turner. It also contains a few profound thoughts--namely the four disciplines:

1) Build and Maintain a Cohesive Leadership Team

2) Create Organizational Clarity

3) Over-Communicate Organization Clarity

4) Reinforce Organizational Clarity Through Human Systems.

The fable does a great job illustrating the meaning and application of these four disciplines. Unfortunately it stops at that. There is no appendix referencing facts, studies or collaborative evidence proving that these four obsessions really work as illustrated. (Other research based material I've read does back it up) Not including a "hardcore" chapter in this volume definitely lowers the quality of the book. But, overall I still found it an excellent book, well worth my time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars High impact read, December 14, 2000
By 
Mark Hammitt (Burlingame, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Four Obsessions of an Extraordinary Executive: A Leadership Fable (Hardcover)
This book is a very quick read that still manages to hit you between the eyes with a one-two punch of horror (oh my gosh, we do that all the time!) and hope. I don't know how he does it, but Mr. Lencioni has a knack for storytelling that makes it look he's been bugging your hallways, staff meetings and off-sites.
The good news is that he articulates a straight forward (and not touchy-feely) prescription for a better-functioning organization. Like other great business books, the points seem obvious only in retrospect... few companies, I submit, actually engage in these key practices and waste a lot of time because of their failure to do so.
The day after reading it, I went through it again, writing a (long) list of actions that we're now taking in order to become a healthy -- as opposed to merely smart -- organization. If we had adopted it earlier, I think we would have blown away our goals, improved our retention, and kept everyone a lot happier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Be entertained and receive the tools to apply principles, January 4, 2002
By 
This review is from: The Four Obsessions of an Extraordinary Executive: A Leadership Fable (Hardcover)
This is an extremely easy (and quick) read, and is very entertaining. If you are looking for a tool to begin transforming your executive team into extraordinary leaders, this is the book you want to read and use. This should become required reading for your executive team...and they will actually enjoy it! After entertaining you with his "leadership fable", Patrick Lencioni provides practical, realistic methods by which you can apply the lessons learned. This is a not just another management book...this is a TOOL that you can put to work for your organization.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Obsessions of an Extraordinary Executive, September 8, 2000
By 
This review is from: The Four Obsessions of an Extraordinary Executive: A Leadership Fable (Hardcover)
This book distills the critical elements of running any organization, large or small. As someone who is contemplating running a small business, this book gave me a solid understanding of areas I need to focus on right out of the gate. The concepts were simple to understand and the book itself was a pleasure to read. One of the first things I will do with my new business partner is clarify the questions listed under discipline 2!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Sterling", April 2, 2002
By 
This review is from: The Four Obsessions of an Extraordinary Executive: A Leadership Fable (Hardcover)
Patrick Lencioni has written a class A book in "Obsessions". I am a student at Cornell University and wrote a review of the book for a class in Organizational Development. As I was reading I was struck by the intuitive nature of the book and the simplicity of the disciplines, but as I read further the problems that arise in sticking to the disciplines is where the true test is. Creating an organization that is healthy requires dedication and courage. In the development of any organization these disciplines can be utilized to create an environment with clear lines of communication, established goals and direction, and autonomous workers who feel a sense of confidence in their ability to make decisions that coincide with the goals and values of the organization as a whole.
Taking rather abstract ideas and molding them into a message resulting in successful leadership is the goal of any organizational change effort. As consultants, we strive to develop the leadership, within our guidelines, to run an organization more efficiently. This book provides applicable guidelines for leaders to follow that ultimately lead to a healthier organization, the goal of any organizational change effort.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Four Obsessions of an Extraordinary Executive: A Leadership Fable
The Four Obsessions of an Extraordinary Executive: A Leadership Fable by Patrick Lencioni (Hardcover - September 1, 2000)
$24.95 $16.96
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.