Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good 'Ol Julia
Couldn't resist buying this set, both as homage and for genuine interest. The set is simply a compilation of Good 'Ol Julia in her honest, straightforward, and very much "one-of-us" glory. I had only a kid's recollection of the shows when they were first aired; I was a pre-teen back then. You have got to love this woman, with her all-too-often caricatured voice and...
Published on November 20, 2009 by Dennis M. Davino

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Get Julia Child 1 &2 separately for $40
As of 8/25/2013, an AMZ customer could get these two sets separately for about $20 apiece, and free Prime shipping. Check it out before buying! Whatever the price when you order it ought to be better than this!!!!!
Published 18 months ago by MollyM/CA


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good 'Ol Julia, November 20, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The French Chef with Julia Child (6 DVD Set) (DVD)
Couldn't resist buying this set, both as homage and for genuine interest. The set is simply a compilation of Good 'Ol Julia in her honest, straightforward, and very much "one-of-us" glory. I had only a kid's recollection of the shows when they were first aired; I was a pre-teen back then. You have got to love this woman, with her all-too-often caricatured voice and style. It's hard to believe what you are seeing is the original, not the staged. I watched every episode in the compilation and thoroughly enjoyed each one for its facts, mistakes, the food and the foibles. Well worth the investment. The only thing I would have liked better was if the episodes were in historical order. They jump around from the novice TV star to the Grand Dame, and then back again. I found the earlier the show, the more the entertainment value. She was so much herself and only wanted to share what she love most - unlike most of today's cooking shows with gimmicks, shtick, and scripts with every breath timed to cadence. Don't approach the viewing and expect the glitzy overdone Food Network of today. Her shows then would not have ever made it off the editing room floor. Enjoy them for what they were, the start of something very, very big for all of us foodies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Julia rules!, September 23, 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The French Chef with Julia Child (6 DVD Set) (DVD)
If you are a fan of Julia Child then this is the product for you. My husband and I laugh so much while viewing the old tv shows of "The French Chef", and we use them to supplement our cooking from "Mastering the Art of French Cooking." It helps to see exactly how the recipes are completed. It seems so easy when you see Julia do it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The French Chef with Julia Child, September 11, 2009
By 
Frank A. DeVito (Whitestone, NY, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The French Chef with Julia Child (6 DVD Set) (DVD)
I am so glad that I purchased this 6 DVD set. It is really great to see these old shows with Julia herself, at her best. Viewing these DVDs is like stepping back in time and enjoying every minute of it. These classic episodes are very entertaining, funny and educational. Julia does it for real, including her mistakes and bloopers, just as they happened. Her famous voice, her method of cooking, the old black and white episodes, all add up to make this collection precious to own. Even more surprising, was the low purchase price from Amazon.
As Julia herself would say, "Bon Appetit!" These are DVDs that I will watch many times in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lily and Julia, September 12, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The French Chef with Julia Child (6 DVD Set) (DVD)
I grew up watching Julia Child. It was fun watching her back then and it is great being able to watch her now. Nothing has changed. I am still learning and relearnig and I am still laughing at the errors and accidents. Great fun and a learning experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Get Julia Child 1 &2 separately for $40, August 25, 2013
This review is from: The French Chef with Julia Child (6 DVD Set) (DVD)
As of 8/25/2013, an AMZ customer could get these two sets separately for about $20 apiece, and free Prime shipping. Check it out before buying! Whatever the price when you order it ought to be better than this!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The French Chef with Julia Child DVD set, January 28, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The French Chef with Julia Child (6 DVD Set) (DVD)
This DVD set is a great reminder of just how wonderful Julia was in front of the camera. We all gained by her transfer of cooking skills. Good quality DVD also.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Julia Child DVD Set, January 6, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The French Chef with Julia Child (6 DVD Set) (DVD)
This is a great program! Time-tested and very entertaining. Unfortunately, the DVDs we received skip at various spots. Otherwise, this is an excellent purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good purchase, June 7, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The French Chef with Julia Child (6 DVD Set) (DVD)
My wife was very interested in the Julia Child recipes.
This was a very good purchase. Arrived on time and price just right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love julia, March 22, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The French Chef with Julia Child (6 DVD Set) (DVD)
I love having access to her videos. I have used them while I cook. There is a nice variety of shows in all 6 DVDs. She really was entertaining. It was back in the time when a cooking show was NOT about product endorsements!
I have her Way too cook videos also. The are great too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The French Chef with Julia Child (6 DVD Set), December 29, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The French Chef with Julia Child (6 DVD Set) (DVD)
I bought this as a holiday gift for a friend of mine. I can only say everything showed up in a timely manner. It looks to be a great watch for someone who is interested in cooking and julia, which my friend is both.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.