Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LG best book
I am a big fan of LG and I believe that this is her best book ever. I love the characters and I found that the story is very realistic: During a holiday in France, a seventeen year old (Tabby) fell in love with a alpha male (Christien) who did not know her real age and gave her a bad time about it. Then tragedy separated this couple and she was pregnant!!! Four year later...
Published on December 1, 2003 by Maria

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
I am a big fan of Ms. Grahams, that said I really did not like either the hero Christien Laroche or the heroine Tabby. Tabby was slow-witted and immature.Christien's irresponsibility was ridiculous, seriously you have 6 weeks of unprotected sex with a seventeen year old girl and you don't at least talk to her in the intervening 4 years to maybe see if there were any...
Published on July 9, 2010 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LG best book, December 1, 2003
By 
This review is from: The Frenchman's Love-Child Brides of L'Amour (Mass Market Paperback)
I am a big fan of LG and I believe that this is her best book ever. I love the characters and I found that the story is very realistic: During a holiday in France, a seventeen year old (Tabby) fell in love with a alpha male (Christien) who did not know her real age and gave her a bad time about it. Then tragedy separated this couple and she was pregnant!!! Four year later they would reunited and she has to confess that he has a three years old boy called Jake... It is sweet, heartbroken and love prevails...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Where is the 4th friend Jenny? This series is fantastic, Brides of L'Amour, ooh la la, October 1, 2005
This review is from: The Frenchman's Love-Child Brides of L'Amour (Mass Market Paperback)
This book is part of a series of 4 books that each tell a tale of 4 friends, Tabby, Pippa, Hilary and Jenny, who vacationed in Europe together every year, but something tragic happens that seperates them as teenagers, but they come together later in life, either during the romance or at the end of the book as the romance resolves, tying up a happy ending for us wistfully sighing readers *grin*. I absolutely love the way these stories intertwine.

This is Tabby's tale, and she is a gentle, ultra-patient sweet-tempered friend and heroine with a delicious sense of humor. This temperament may frustrate some of you that like heroines with more of a back-bone, but remember as in life, all friends have different personalities so if Tabby doesn't do it for you, hang in there and wait for funky hilarious Hilary--my favorite of the friends! Pippa has a great tale, too...but Tabby has a wonderful story here too, and she is a devoted friend to her pals, as we find out in the other books in this series.

WILL SOMEONE PLEASE email me @ Cyndi@DreamEmporium.com and let me know where to find the title for the remaining book in this series, the story of Jenny? I can't find info anywhere; maybe it isn't written yet as of this writing. I'm waiting patiently, Lynne Graham...tap-tap-tap-tap...

Have I mentioned I have almost all of Lynne Graham's books? GREAT AUTHOR. Don't miss reading her books if you haven't discovered her yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, July 9, 2010
This review is from: The Frenchman's Love-Child Brides of L'Amour (Mass Market Paperback)
I am a big fan of Ms. Grahams, that said I really did not like either the hero Christien Laroche or the heroine Tabby. Tabby was slow-witted and immature.Christien's irresponsibility was ridiculous, seriously you have 6 weeks of unprotected sex with a seventeen year old girl and you don't at least talk to her in the intervening 4 years to maybe see if there were any consequenses to your actions.Tabby at least had youth as an excuse for the majority of her stupidity Christien however was older and not as easily excused.On top of that he's engaged to someone else when he re-enters Tabby's life and bed and fails to mention it. His excuses for his actions are lackluster and weak. The hero was based to much in reality if I wanted to see a irresponsible man that cheats on his Fiancee and impregnates children I would pick up the latest PEOPLE magazine or watch Maury
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent book, November 2, 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Frenchman's Love-Child Brides of L'Amour (Mass Market Paperback)
This wasn't too bad of a book overall. Very strong and possessive alpha male (Christien) and the heroine (Tabby) did have some sort of backbone throughout the story. My only problem was that lust and sex seemed to be the driving force between the two characters. I didn't see too much of an in-depth relationship form between the two lead characters until the very end if you could call it in-depth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars same story line but the characters are just plain stupid, April 2, 2010
By 
D.Daraseng (Sacramento, Ca) - See all my reviews
I got to the middle of the book and just stop. Then finished the book a month later Tabby made it too easy for him after the way he treated her and continues to treat her . This book was definitely a miss for Lynne Graham. I gave it 2 stars because it starts out good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ranks up there with some of Lynne's best, November 1, 2003
By 
Kay "spoonerfish" (Evergreen, CO United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Frenchman's Love-Child Brides of L'Amour (Mass Market Paperback)
I am a big fan of Graham's books and think I have read just about all of them. This one ranks up there as one of her best. The blurb on the back cover says:
"Its been four years since that long hot summer when Tabby fell in love with Christien Laroche. But tragedy struck and in the emotional aftermat Christien wanted nothing more to do with her. How could she confess to the arrogant Frenchman that she was expecting his baby?
Now Tabby has made a new life for herself and three year-old Jake in France. The only cloud on Tabby's horizon is Christien. Not only is he back in her life he's in her face-and he wants her back in his bed...Surely its only a matter of time before he discovers that Jake is his son.
Its hard to say too much more without giving anything away except that I found her lead characters refreshing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love -Hate at its Best, July 30, 2007
This review is from: The Frenchman's Love-Child Brides of L'Amour (Mass Market Paperback)
Years ago, a 17 year old Tabby fell in love with sophisticated sexy Christien Laroche while on summer vacation in France with her father and very young step mother. Tabby's father, in deep depression ever since the death of her mother, drives home drunk one night killing himself and his passengers along with Christien's father who was in another car. Grieving over his father and believing Tabby was unfaithful to him, Christien turns his back on her. Now four years later, finding out that Christien's aunt left her a cottage on a remote area of the Laroche family property in her will, Tabby decides to move to France as she and her 3 year old son Jake have been living on her aunt's goodwill. Jake is the three year old carbon copy son that Tabby never told Christien about although she did make an attempt at the accident inquiry that took place shortly after his birth. When Christian refused to speak to Tabby she took it as proof he wouldn't have wanted anything to do with her son either. Now, Christien is back and wanting a place back in Tabby's life but will her secret destroy their chances.

This was a passionate exciting story and even though Christian is arrogant and a butt at times, he is still so sexy you want to forgive him. Tabby is sweet and a little naive but who can blame her reaction to Christien.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not LG's best work., March 20, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I like Lynne Graham because you always know what you are getting when you purchase one of her books: extremely alpha male, Giant Misunderstanding, and draaama. I always feel she walks a very fine line between acceptably alpha and just plain mean in her male characters, and in this case I think the character fell on the wrong side of that line. For three quarters of the book I felt like the 'hero' acted like a spoiled teenager, and oddly enough the heroine seemed to have more emotional maturity. I had a hard time believing that there was more than lust between the characters because of the emotional void that the hero occupied for the first three quarters of the book. Near the end I think the hero veered back into acceptable alpha territory, but I never felt that he redeemed himself for his earlier craziness.

If you really love Lynne Graham and don't feel like her male characters sometimes veer dangerously close to mean/abusive, then this book is definitely for you! But if you are like me and sometimes feel Ms Graham flirts dangerously with the line between acceptably confused alpha and vindictive borderline abusive male, you might want to look to another of her titles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read. I love it!, March 30, 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Frenchman's Love-Child Brides of L'Amour (Mass Market Paperback)
This is a great start to the Child Brides of L'Amour series. Christien and Tabby met one summer and had an affair. They broke up due to a misunderstanding and some tragic circumstances. They met again several years later and their passion for each other still burned red hot. I greatly enjoyed reading this book and everything about it is good -- the story, the hero and heroine, the dialogue, the setting, and the love scenes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but not great, January 23, 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Frenchman's Love-Child Brides of L'Amour (Mass Market Paperback)
I like the idea for the book. But, my problem is with the weakness of the heroine. This is the 21st century, LG needs to give some of these women real backbones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Frenchman's Love-Child   Brides of L'Amour
The Frenchman's Love-Child Brides of L'Amour by Lynne Graham (Mass Market Paperback - November 1, 2003)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.