Customer Reviews


71 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Capturing the Pioneer Spirit
I personally have been a bit of a critic when it comes to pioneer stories and pioneer fiction. I was able to experience a pioneer trek and be caught in a terrible dust storm for roughly an hour. We had no place to hide but under a tarp spread over our handcarts, and by the time the storm passed, EVERYTHING we had was invaded by obnoxious grains of sand. It's hard for me...
Published on October 3, 2011 by Hannah Garn

versus
16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars disappointing
I was disappointed. Initially, I looked forward to reading about the pioneers trek, but after an hour's reading - the book just ended. They reached Zion- period. Perhaps the author, who "has been writing since she could pick up a pencil" should have researched the experience more. I thought it a surface rendering of a tragic historical experience. It was a "free" book,...
Published on February 18, 2012 by Aloha


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars disappointing, February 18, 2012
This review is from: The Frozen Trail (Kindle Edition)
I was disappointed. Initially, I looked forward to reading about the pioneers trek, but after an hour's reading - the book just ended. They reached Zion- period. Perhaps the author, who "has been writing since she could pick up a pencil" should have researched the experience more. I thought it a surface rendering of a tragic historical experience. It was a "free" book, so that made the reading less of a waste of time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Capturing the Pioneer Spirit, October 3, 2011
This review is from: The Frozen Trail (Paperback)
I personally have been a bit of a critic when it comes to pioneer stories and pioneer fiction. I was able to experience a pioneer trek and be caught in a terrible dust storm for roughly an hour. We had no place to hide but under a tarp spread over our handcarts, and by the time the storm passed, EVERYTHING we had was invaded by obnoxious grains of sand. It's hard for me to imagine what the pioneers must have felt. We had plastic tubs. They had nothing. We went in the summer. Many of them trekked through negative weather with piercing winds. We left only dolls "dead" on the trail. They left actual babies. Sons and daughters, mothers and fathers. It's hard to put those experiences into words with out minimizing all that they endured. But I feel that Lisa Dayley does a wonderful job of doing just that in her book, "The Frozen Trail." Based of journal entries and artifacts left by her great-great grandmother, Dayley pieces together a riveting historical fiction novel that puts the readers on the frozen plains with the pioneers. Definitely buy this book and give it a try!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Pale and Bland, March 3, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Frozen Trail (Kindle Edition)
I've read a few good books about the Mormon migration, so I eagerly picked this up free recently. I'm glad I didn't pay for it.

This short book starts out with a disconcerting "dream," which the author seems to be using to try to give the reader some characterization and backstory. No, Emma is not at home in England with the family, she's waking up in a blizzard on the trail in Wyoming. Apart from a few malfunctioning flashbacks, the whole story is just days slogging through snow in inappropriate clothing. So many characters are listed it is impossible to keep everyone straight. Eleven children in Emma's family alone, and numerous unrelated men, woman, and children, none of them given anything more than a name, age, and country of origin.

Lacking in plot, this book does nothing to create any sense of empathy in the reader. The pioneers plod through the snow, Emma ponders how cold and dirty and hungry they all are, and the men dig mass graves in the frozen earth as more poor souls die.
And no one ever says a harsh word to another. The dialogue is an unbelievable collection of niceties and declarations of faith and thankfulness.

This is not to demean the Mormon struggles or their faith. I just felt the author did a poor job of realistic portrayal. These people end up sounding like cartoon characters. The reader gets tired of the repetition of cold, snow, dirty, hungry, exhausted... but no worries, it's not far to Zion now, aren't we lucky to be God's chosen people!

Once a rescue mission arrives, and after a marathon amputation session, they still have 700 miles ahead of them, crammed into wagons--those who kept their appendages suffering frostbite--but this is mainly ignored. (700 miles in a wagon is a hard journey in the best circumstances.) They reach Salt Lake City and live happily ever after.

There is material here for a compelling story. Unfortunately, the author did not take the time to craft it in such a way as to draw the reader in and make them feel as if they know the characters, and should therefore care what happens to them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Riveting Story......, October 23, 2011
By 
AuburnTygr (Central Alabama) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Frozen Trail (Kindle Edition)
Wow, what a story! I couldn't put it down until I finished it. I love Pioneer Fiction, the kind detailing daily routines and real life, not just another story leading up to romance like so many Authors today. Lisa Dayley has written an outstanding book based on the true life events of her Ancestors, Mormon Pioneers. The loss and hardships are written in such a way that I felt as if I were there, a part of the scenes.
Fans of Laura Ingalls Wilder "Little House on the Prairie" should love this tale of hardship, loss and triumph.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Frozen Trail, March 20, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Frozen Trail (Kindle Edition)
A very easy read. The point of view of the young teen girl whose family traveled across the country during the winter season. The hardships and trials bring to mind how tough our ancesters had to be to settle in this country of ours during a very different time in our history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars adventure, May 9, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Frozen Trail (Kindle Edition)
Very interesting journey....Glad to share the trip for so many, both going and at the arrival place in the old west!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FROZEN TRAIL, March 19, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Frozen Trail (Kindle Edition)
Engrossing tail of historic nature. Fictional story based on fact. Fairly well documented as to accuracy. Characters are believable and inspiring. Another book about the Willie & Martin Handcart journey is FIRE OF THE COVENANT by Gerald Lund. A more thorough description of these handcart companies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hard journey, April 1, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Frozen Trail (Kindle Edition)
This was probably more of a young adult book but adults could enjoy it also. It's about a large family who came over from England to follow fellow Mormon's to Salt Lake City. They were called the Willie Handcart Company as they only had the Willie Handcarts to put their meager possessions in.

There were about 400 people in the group. They had been warned that they were leaving too late in the season but they chose to do it anyway. By the time the snowstorms came, their clothes were already worn and they were out of food. They had lost a number of people already and others had frostbite and were sick. They were praying for the rescue party to come save them as they had been promised.

This was an interesting historical fiction book based on fact, told by the great great granddaughter of the main protagonist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Books, February 12, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Frozen Trail (Kindle Edition)
I like reading history, this a a very good story of what some of the saints went thru to be able to worship as they wanted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting and entertaining, January 28, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Frozen Trail (Kindle Edition)
I found this book to be both interesting and entertaining to read. Mixing fact and fiction along with a lot of adversity made for good reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Frozen Trail
The Frozen Trail by Lisa Dayley
$4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.