Customer Reviews


54 Reviews
5 star:
 (48)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


44 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ONE FINAL VOLUME OF KIMBLE, GERARD, AND THE ONE-ARMED MAN (SEVERAL OF THESE EPISODES ARE BETTER THAN I REMEMBERED, TOO)
Tuesday, February 15th, 2011: The day a classic was completed (on DVD). That was the date when CBS/Paramount released "THE FUGITIVE: THE FOURTH AND FINAL SEASON: VOLUME TWO" in a 4-Disc DVD set, which means that all 120 episodes of that 1963-1967 television series are now available to own.

In this final batch of 15 color episodes, fugitive Richard Kimble is...
Published on February 20, 2011 by David Von Pein

versus
0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Wrong disk in unopened package.
The package was correct but the disk was volume one,we already have vol. one.Can I send it back and get the one we ordered.
Published 24 months ago by larry c. weaver


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

44 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ONE FINAL VOLUME OF KIMBLE, GERARD, AND THE ONE-ARMED MAN (SEVERAL OF THESE EPISODES ARE BETTER THAN I REMEMBERED, TOO), February 20, 2011
By 
David Von Pein (Mooresville, Indiana; USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Fugitive: The Fourth and Final Season, Volume Two (DVD)
Tuesday, February 15th, 2011: The day a classic was completed (on DVD). That was the date when CBS/Paramount released "THE FUGITIVE: THE FOURTH AND FINAL SEASON: VOLUME TWO" in a 4-Disc DVD set, which means that all 120 episodes of that 1963-1967 television series are now available to own.

In this final batch of 15 color episodes, fugitive Richard Kimble is kept busy, as he continues to elude the law as well as trying to catch up to the one-armed man.

The original 1967 music seems to be totally intact and in place for these last fifteen "Fugitive" shows. And that news deserves a big "hooray".

Some of my favorite episodes in this collection include "The Ivy Maze", "Concrete Evidence", "The Breaking Of The Habit", and "The One That Got Away".

Of course, the top highlight of this DVD set is the famous two-part final episode, "The Judgment". Part 2 of the series finale became the highest-rated and most-watched single television program in the history of the medium when it first aired in the United States on Tuesday, August 29, 1967.

In other countries, however, the finale didn't air until September or October. And even in some parts of the USA, the last episode wasn't shown until September 5, 1967. Hence, a different version of William Conrad's closing narration can be found on some prints of "The Judgment Part 2". This DVD set includes the "September 5th" version of Conrad's narration.

Part 2 of the finale was seen by an amazing 72% of the viewing audience in the United States, with ABC estimating that 26 million U.S. homes tuned in to watch the last episode. Those figures are still, to this day, some of the highest ratings ever garnered for a television broadcast. The record was not to be broken for another 13 years, when the "Who Shot J.R.?" episode of "Dallas" eclipsed "The Fugitive's" record in 1980. And then the final episode of "M*A*S*H" surpassed "Dallas" in 1983.

In "The Judgment", Richard Kimble teams up with Police Lieutenant Philip Gerard to try and capture the real killer of Kimble's wife. Although very dubious about the results, Gerard agrees to delay Kimble's official arrest for 24 hours, so that Dr. Kimble can follow up some leads regarding the whereabouts of the elusive "one-armed man" (played by the hardened-looking Bill Raisch), whom Kimble is certain murdered his wife several years earlier.

While I feel this "teaming" of these two long-time adversaries weakened the last show of the series to a degree, "The Judgment" is still a pretty good concluding episode.

The final scene with Kimble and Gerard shaking hands after Kimble's release from custody is truly a great moment in television history. And this scene is carried out without a word of dialogue being spoken, which provides even a more powerful impact -- rather than having a gushy, overly sentimental final act. The simple, understated handshake said it all.

"The Judgment" features a large guest cast, including Jacqueline Scott, Diane Brewster, Richard Anderson, Michael Constantine, Diane Baker, J.D. Cannon, Louise Latham, and Joseph Campanella. Plus, of course, Barry Morse and Bill Raisch in their recurring parts as Lt. Gerard and the one-armed man ("Fred Johnson").

Jacqueline Scott plays Richard Kimble's sister, Donna. Scott had a recurring role as Donna throughout the four years of the series, appearing in a total of five episodes. She did an excellent job in the role, too.

Diane Brewster appears uncredited in the final episode, as murder victim Helen Kimble, via flashback sequences. You might better remember Brewster in another classic television series, "Leave It To Beaver", as Beaver Cleaver's schoolteacher.

Some "Judgment" facts & trivia:

According to "Daily Variety", Part 1 of "The Judgment" received a 37.2 rating and a 56.7 share of the U.S. television market in the USA, while Part 2 garnered a 50.7 rating and a 73.2 share.*

------------

The final two-parter takes place in three different cities -- Tucson, Los Angeles, and Kimble's hometown of Stafford, Indiana. Kimble's last alias he will ever need is that of "Frank Davis". "The Judgment" was co-written by George Eckstein and Michael Zagor, with both parts being directed by Don Medford.

------------

The following memo written by Executive Producer Quinn Martin appeared on the last page of "The Judgment's" teleplay:

To all QM staff, crew, actors, all guest actors, all ABC personnel, all advertising personnel:

This script marks the end of a very exciting and successful enterprise, and I would appreciate it if everyone would keep the contents a secret, and not discuss it with any members of the press or newscasters, except to acknowledge that it does prove Richard Kimble innocent.

To any members of the press or any newscasters:

If the above does not work, and by chance you find out the contents of the script, please honor the industry code of not giving the ending away, except to say Richard Kimble will be proved innocent. Thank you.

Warmest regards,
Quinn Martin *

------------

"In the final scene of the series...the original plan was to have the two adversaries [Dr. Kimble and Lt. Gerard] exchange a few parting words before going their separate ways. "In the first version of that final episode, our writers had gone a little overboard," recalled Barry Morse. "They wrote a scene...in which David [Janssen] and I said sentimental things to each other. At one point, I remember I suggested to David that, in order to mock this overly sentimental dialogue, we should throw ourselves into each other's arms and kiss each other firmly on the mouth! Well, we threatened that, but we never had to carry it out. By that time, we were all on such good terms with each other that everybody realized the absurdity, and it was agreed that we would make some changes in the dialogue. And I think somebody said, 'Well, what would be the best thing to say?' And I said, 'I think it would be best if we say nothing!' As is often...the case on the screen, what you do and what you look is much more eloquent than what you say.""*

* = Source: Ed Robertson's 1993 book "The Fugitive Recaptured", pages 178-180.

====================

THE EPISODES:

Disc 1:
The Other Side Of The Coin
The One That Got Away
Concrete Evidence
The Breaking Of The Habit

Disc 2:
There Goes The Ball Game
The Ivy Maze
Goodbye My Love
Passage To Helena

Disc 3:
The Savage Street
Death Of A Very Small Killer
Dossier On A Diplomat
The Walls Of Night

Disc 4:
The Shattered Silence
The Judgment, Part 1
The Judgment, Part 2

====================

DVD INFO:

>> Video is Full-Frame (1.33:1), and in color, as originally aired in 1967. The image quality is quite good. The colors look proper and natural. And there's every reason to believe that these episodes are presented complete and uncut here (time-wise), with the shows running for 51+ minutes each. The "in color" bumpers and opening teasers are included.

>> Audio is 2.0 Dolby Digital Mono. Sounds good too.

>> Bonus Feature -- There is one bonus featurette (on Disc 4), entitled "Composer Dominic Frontiere: The Color Of Music". Frontiere talks briefly about his career as a music composer.

This bonus program, which is presented in an anamorphic widescreen format, runs for 11-and-a-half minutes and is a continuation of a conversation with Mr. Frontiere that began with the "Season Of Change" featurette that is included in the fourth season's first DVD volume.

The last 3+ minutes of this bonus supplement include scenes from the final "Fugitive" episode, highlighting Frontiere's music from that show.

>> Menus are static and silent.

>> A "Play All" button is included on each disc.

>> English subtitles are included.

>> Chapter stops -- 7 per episode.

>> Packaging -- Amaray type of keep case, with two swinging "pages" that each holds two DVDs. Episode information is visible through the plastic on the left and right panels of the case. [Side Note -- There's a glaring error in the description for Part 2 of "The Judgment", with the description saying that Gerard and Kimble are headed for "Illinois". Of course, that should say "Indiana" instead. Somebody at CBS/Paramount should have checked out their facts a little better before writing up that episode blurb.]

====================

ADDITIONAL "FUGITIVE" MISCELLANY:

A BRIEF BIOGRAPHY OF DAVID JANSSEN ("DR. RICHARD KIMBLE"):

Born David Harold Meyer on March 27, 1931, in Naponee, Nebraska. He died of a heart attack at the age of only 48, on February 13, 1980.

Janssen was nominated for an Emmy Award three times (out of four years) for his work on "The Fugitive".

David's roster of acting appearances totalled a little more than 100 television and movie roles, beginning (as a 14-year-old boy) in the 1945 film "It's A Pleasure". Janssen's other big TV role, after "The Fugitive", was when he played private detective Harry Orwell in the series "Harry O" (1974-1976).

---------

A BRIEF BIOGRAPHY OF BARRY MORSE ("LT. PHILIP GERARD"):

Born Herbert Morse on June 10, 1918, in London, England. Died at the age of 89 on February 2, 2008.

Barry moved to Canada in the 1950s, where he has worked extensively in live theater, radio, and CBC television.

Morse made appearances in more than 130 motion pictures and television programs, starting with a 1942 appearance in the film "The Goose Steps Out".

Many people probably remember Morse best from his role as Professor Victor Bergman in the TV series "Space: 1999", which was on the air from 1975 to 1977.

Morse also was a writer and director within the TV industry, including one episode as director of "The Fugitive" in 1967 during the last season of the series. Morse directed Episode #118, "The Shattered Silence".

In addition to his memorable portayal of Lt. Philip Gerard in "The Fugitive", the long list of TV shows in which Barry Morse appeared includes these programs: "The Untouchables", "The Defenders", "Judd, For The Defense", "The F.B.I.", "Wagon Train", "The Outer Limits", "Naked City", "The Alfred Hitchcock Hour", "The Twilight Zone", and "The United States Steel Hour".

====================

THAT'S A WRAP:

It took 44 years, but all 120 episodes of the never-to-be-forgotten television masterpiece "The Fugitive" have now been made available on the home video market on DVD by CBS/Paramount.

And despite the unpleasant debacle with the background music that fans of this series had to endure beginning in 2008 (which, to Paramount's credit, was corrected--for the most part--in subsequent DVD releases), these 120 TV episodes are programs that deserve to be on the shelf of everyone who enjoys really good television shows.

In its four seasons on the air, "The Fugitive" created a compelling and realistic "running man" atmosphere that I don't think has ever been duplicated on either television or the big screen since Dr. Kimble stopped running in 1967.

And the main spark that created that atmosphere, of course, was the star of the series--David Janssen. And when you throw in the great Barry Morse as the running man's tireless pursuer--how can you lose?

120 episodes on DVD, and 0 to go.

That last sentence is nice to see, isn't it?

I think so, too.

David Von Pein
February 2011
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best TV series of all time?, April 3, 2011
By 
This review is from: The Fugitive: The Fourth and Final Season, Volume Two (DVD)
Stephen King has called it the best TV series ever, then and now. I can't argue the fact. Something so compelling about the show. I first discovered it on A&E in the 1990's, and I haven't stopped watching since. I don't know how anyone after watching an episode or 2 could stop either, it was positively brilliant. This final volume as has been said leaves the original, most beautiful music completely intact. The music also is the best ever for a tv series. As to this final volume, the Judgement really pays off, thrilling, mysterious and intense!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No music replacements, March 16, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Fugitive: The Fourth and Final Season, Volume Two (DVD)
As was with Season 4 Volume 1, there are no music replacements. If anyone is considering purchasing this series, stick with Season 1 Volumes 1 & 2 and Season 4 Volumes 1 & 2. Don't waste your money on Seasons 2 and 3 unless you want to be disappointed. CBS has badly butchered them. Furthermore, let it be known that if CBS ever decides to release the original film transfers of The Fugitive to Blu-Ray, they had better release ALL the original musical scores that were used, when the series originally aired on television, in the 1960's. Otherwise, they need not bother to release anything. I read all reviews before purchasing DVD's and will not waste any more money on altered tv shows - period!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Day the Running Stopped., October 11, 2011
By 
John L. Kinser "drzaius3085" (Anderson, Indiana United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Fugitive: The Fourth and Final Season, Volume Two (DVD)
I have long awaited the release of The Fugitive on DVD. I was born in the 1970's and only got my first taste of The Fugitive in the 90's by accident on A&E. One episode and I was hooked. The Fugitive became my favorite TV show of all time and remains so to this day.
The shows' creator and producers and directors were geniuses to match the wonderful talents of David Janssen, Barry Morse, and Bill Raisch together to play the characters that made this show a success. Each actor gives you the feeling that they really are the character that they are portraying in this series. IMO this season comprised some of the best of The Fugitive story line. You see more of the One Arm Man and have a guest return and reprise their role from a season one episode in "The Breaking of the Habit". Of course we can't forget the booming voice of the narrator, William Conrad. His narrations on each and every episode gave The Fugitive an extra special quality. An extra zing to the show that made it complete.
This seasons release mirrors the first season release from CBS/Paramount in regards to the music. All of the back ground music is present from what I have seen. I don't know if all of the juke box and radio music is the same but I know in the episode "A Clean and Quiet Town" the juke box music is the same and was not changed nor did I pick up on any music change in "The Judgment Part 1 and 2". The only thing I hate about this release is they used the alternate ending date at end of the Epilogs closing narration. Thankfully in the upcoming box set release, CBS/Paramount has included both versions of the closing narration and, from what I have read so far, have restored pretty much all of the original cues to the season 2 and 3 DVDs that were removed.
The DVD's come cased in hard plastic cases as the previous season sets have been packaged. As in my previous reviews, I have to comment on the cover art. I hate it! I have never seen this picture of Janssen before but it is terrible. CBS/Paramount surely has better pictures in their Fugitive archives to have chosen from. Why they picked this one is beyond me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fugitive - Superb, December 20, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Fugitive: The Fourth and Final Season, Volume Two (DVD)
The Fugitive was a solid television series and it's been wonderful to watch David Jansen create Dr. Kimble again. The stories have been nearly always fast paced with crafted dialogue and plausible situations. Color in the fourth season added another dimension to the show. I'm eager to see Dr. Kimble finally receive the justice he deserves, but I'll miss his arduous travel to freedom. Great televion. Thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still Number One!, June 4, 2011
By 
Mark (Savannah Georgia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Fugitive: The Fourth and Final Season, Volume Two (DVD)
Season Four Part ll is finally here. Falsely sentenced for a crime he did not commit, David Janssen seeks the one-armed man to clear his name. Some episodes stand out, such as the "Breaking of the Habit," when he meets up again with Sister Veronica, who now runs the St. Mary Magdalene Home for Girls. In the "Ivy Maze," old college friends of David and his wife Helen elicit a confession from the one-armed man, only to have him destroy the evidence and escape. In "Goodbye My Love," Hawaii Five-O hero Jack Lord (before he became McGarrett in his own show) special guest stars as a bad guy! In the "Dossier on a Diplomat, an African ambassador shows kindness to Richard, while his mean-spirited wife calls the authorities. Of course the two-part finale "The Judgment" tops them all.

In all four seasons, so many people in local towns take advantage of our hero, and yet he remains a helpful gentleman in spite of all. Persecuted throughout each episode, Dr. Kimble aids someone and somehow escapes, usually from a conversion of one of the characters who acts with appreciative kindness. Perhaps that is why the Fugitive remains so popular, because one cannot help but identify with him.

Part two of the August 1967 finale still holds one TV record that has never been broken. The final episode in 1967 was watched by a phenomenal 72 percent of American homes with television sets at that time! While both the final episode of MASH in 1983 and the 1980 "Who Shot J.R." episode of Dallas had more viewers in sheer numbers, the final hour of the Fugitive retains the record for the highest percentage of homes with television sets to watch a TV finale.

Treat yourself to the best television drama ever!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Next, The Fugitive, in color. Second half of the fourth season takes an upward swing, January 6, 2011
This review is from: The Fugitive: The Fourth and Final Season, Volume Two (DVD)
These final 15 episodes from the 1966-67 season complete this outstanding series. The first half of the fourth season was this series' lowest point. Still, by the standards of most television series, that's pretty darn good. But by the standards of The Fugitive, there's no question the first half of this season took a marked dip in quality as compared to the previous three seasons.

The drop in quality through the first half of the final season was likely due in part to the replacement of producer Alan Armer with Wilton Schiller. Armer had gone to work on another Quinn Martin production that year, the sci-fi series The Invaders. However, partway through the season writer George Eckstein was brought aboard and the quality of the episodes soon began to reach soaring heights once again. This collection of the second half of the fourth and final season is noticeably stronger than the first half of the season.

Notable episodes in this final volume include "The Breaking of the Habit," a sequel to the first season two-part episode "Angels Travel On Lonely Roads"; "The Ivy Maze" in which guest star William Windom plays an old friend of Kimble's who helps him trap the one-armed man in the hopes of getting a confession from him; "Passage To Helena," an episode full of racial tension, in which a black lawman has custody of Kimble and an antagonizing prisoner played by James Farentino; "Death of a Very Small Killer," in which Kimble is forced to assist in finding an antidote to a meningitis strain that has stricken a Mexican border town, even though he questions the ethics of the doctor in charge of the project; "Dossier on a Diplomat," in which Kimble is sheltered from Gerard inside an African embassy; "The Shattered Silence," where Kimble takes refuge with a hermit who, ironically, has fled society of his own volition; the two-part final episode "The Judgment," which brings the series to its exciting conclusion. Part two of "The Judgment" was the most watched television show in history until it was surpassed in 1980 by the "who shot J.R.?" Dallas episode.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FANTASTIC!!!, January 26, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Fugitive: The Fourth and Final Season, Volume Two (DVD)
I love this series.
Remembered watching as a kid. Loved it then, Loved it now!!
I recommend this because it's good clean TV!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars David Janssen, June 26, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Fugitive: The Fourth and Final Season, Volume Two (DVD)
Because I remember every show played when it first came out. I never missed an episode
I had a huge crush on David Janssen
No one I know lives in the past like me
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Fugitive, May 18, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Fugitive: The Fourth and Final Season, Volume Two (DVD)
I enjoyed The Fugitive when it was orginally on TV in the 1960's so it was great when it came out on DVD. It was just enjoyable more than 40 years later. I would have liked to see behind the scenes, interviews, etc that would have enhanced the viewing experience of the series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Fugitive: The Fourth and Final Season, Volume Two
$39.98 $26.41
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.