Truck Month Summer Reading Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Brett Dennen Father's Day Gift Guide 2016 Fire TV Stick Get Ready for Summer and Save 15% The Baby Store Find the Best Purina Pro Plan for Your Pet Amazon Cash Back Offer bighero bighero bighero  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $149.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Outdoor Recreation

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars22
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on May 15, 2011
about the book: it was a little dissapointing, many pictures but weak theory. still you have to meditate for a while on many aspects after come to some practical use. but it's useful. it's not a book for begginers.

I think with all the graphics you can easily feed your imagination.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 29, 2010
This is one of Moussavi's "The Function of ..." books, which are great books for students. I would personally recommend the "Ornament" installment. This book explains many (many) different structural solutions that mostly include arches and vaults and the almost infinite variations of them. Still a good book, maybe even a better book for engineers looking to get a broad overview than architects, but still a good book to have.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 22, 2011
I have to say I'm disappointed too. This book has many, many images but only the first 50 pages are theory; the rest of the book is full of images of grasshopperesque structure systems plus a few other buildings. IMO, If you are looking for a book with information about form and its process I would recommend Cecil Balmond's Informal or Reiser & Umemoto's Atlas of Novel Tectonics better.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 7, 2011
Graphics and structural descriptions in the book are excellent.

Narratives consist of architects trying to move the discourse of structural systems to a "higher plane". The resultant is almost unreadable, unless you too have been indocterinated in Harvard-speak. Obtuse throughout. Some interesting ideas are occaisionally offered in a coherent fashion, only to be washed away by more babble. I'm returning the book, as it is not at all what is advertised.
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 11, 2013
The Function of Form simply put, is useful for architecture students who want to have an overall basic understanding of the taxonomy of the various types of structural forms that can be incorporated with their studio project's design. It is highly recommended for undergraduates and graduate students alike who want to understand in graphic terms how structure works. The overall composition of the book is not very colorful and the 3D model's appear to be printed straight from 3D Rhino slapped on with simple gray colors possibly from VRAY. Speculation aside, the book is not your everyday coffee table book but more so a studio guide book and in my case, I would have it next to me whenever I want to refer to it in a studio project.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 23, 2013
After her lecture at the GSD and reading the Ornament publication, I find this wonderful book to be helpful. It contains great abstract diagrams and information, especially for students interested in theoretical ideas and concepts.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 9, 2011
What else to say but a big WOW.. This book is actually what i really need it.

Concerning the fact that i was interested in origami(tell you the truth i am a bit of an addict), but since i intend to be a
graduate architect, i was searching something that will transcend the function of origami as an "art made of paper" and
searching for a new form in architecture.

So, by and large, this book has its basics in what i needed.. I recommend it to anyone who searches how to learn the "liberty" of melding forms and applying its functionality in everyday life.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 9, 2011
I love the book because it is an easy way to remember all different forms and what the form creates around it. Also it is examples of real projects so if you wanna see with material on you can look up the project online.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 18, 2010
THE FUNCTION OF FORM is a 'must' for any serious college-level arts collection. It proposes a new theory of form based on repetition and differentiation, offering a way for function in built forms to be conceptualized as a transversal process. Architecture and arts libraries will find this a technical, comprehensive analysis of the parts of forms that interact and reciprocate, going beyond text to pack pages with finished designs offset by pages of diagrams and explanations.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 8, 2014
I use this at work (structural engineer) for concept design studies. It works great as a well organised flip-book for brainstorming sessions for unusual structural forms. Great pictures, but not a lot of detail on each. It's going to get you started, then the rest is up to you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.