Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Future Of Music
I would reccommend this book to anyone who is thinking of going into the industry. Speaking from a vocalist's perspective, alot of the time we forget the other important aspects of the ever changing music industry in our effors to remain artistic and undiluted, forgetting that they all work hand in hand. This book I feel has enlightened me with sound judgement and...
Published on May 6, 2005 by Anna Omak

versus
41 of 47 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Alright already!
This is a case of a lot of filler to make what could be communicated in a short essay into a book. The basic message "The music industry has to embrace digital technology." This and a few other salient points are made early in the book and then repeated with different wording ad nauseum. I would suggest standing in the store, reading the introductory stuff and skimming...
Published on February 28, 2007 by Lance Brown


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

41 of 47 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Alright already!, February 28, 2007
This review is from: The Future of Music: Manifesto for the Digital Music Revolution (Berklee Press) (Paperback)
This is a case of a lot of filler to make what could be communicated in a short essay into a book. The basic message "The music industry has to embrace digital technology." This and a few other salient points are made early in the book and then repeated with different wording ad nauseum. I would suggest standing in the store, reading the introductory stuff and skimming the rest. Too many authors are doing this these days. It should have been a magazine article.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Future Of Music, May 6, 2005
This review is from: The Future of Music: Manifesto for the Digital Music Revolution (Berklee Press) (Paperback)
I would reccommend this book to anyone who is thinking of going into the industry. Speaking from a vocalist's perspective, alot of the time we forget the other important aspects of the ever changing music industry in our effors to remain artistic and undiluted, forgetting that they all work hand in hand. This book I feel has enlightened me with sound judgement and speculation. It has also inspired me to formulate a strategy on how i plan to fit in. I now feel as though I have valuable and priceless knowledge on every aspect of that which i love and desire to suceed in-

Music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Indispensible, February 14, 2005
This review is from: The Future of Music: Manifesto for the Digital Music Revolution (Berklee Press) (Paperback)
A stunningly candid source of concentrated, up to date insight about the music business and its turbulent transition into the digital era. This book tells it straight and will make the dinosaurs of the music industry very unhappy.

Like Martin Luther's '95 Theses' nailed to the door of Wittenberg Cathedral, Kusek and Leonard drive nail after nail into the sclerotic heart of the old-fashioned music business. Their rational vision of the future of music rests on the idea of unshackling music from the hardcopy product business in a yet-to-be-realized era of open content licensing, facilitating sharing and communication among users, and growing the business to its full potential.

It provides as clear a vision of the future of the music industry as you will find, from two writers with a rare combination: a solid grounding in the traditional practices of the music business, an up-to-the-minute knowledge of the new technologies that are changing it, and the ability to think through the consequences.

I've dreamed about a book like this, but thought it would be impossible in today's hyperdynamic environment where every week seems to bring a breakthrough technology, device, or service. But by digging out the underlying trends and principles Kusek and Leonard get under the news and illuminate it. Along the way they provide a brilliantly concise history of the evolution of digital media.

I can't think of any book more important for artists to get the full re-orientation they need to survive and prosper in the digital era. It's no less critical for members of the music and broadcasting industries who need to consolidate their thinking into a coherent roadmap for the future.

In a word: indispensible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing book on a great subject: no how tos., December 12, 2009
This review is from: The Future of Music: Manifesto for the Digital Music Revolution (Berklee Press) (Paperback)
As a music business consultant, I was pleased when the publisher sent me a copy of The Future of Music to review for my website, and looked forward to reading it for possible recommendation.

Unfortunately, I was disappointed by the book's lack of practical how-to information--especially for a book published by Berklee Press, the publishing arm of the well-respected Berklee College of Music. For this reason, I chose not to recommend it to readers nor to even use it as a giveaway.

As another reviewer stated, The Future of Music: Manifesto for the Digital Music Revolution is basically an essay, drawn out (some might say droned out) to stretch into book form via the use of repetitive text written several different ways to make the same point.

Sure, it's a manifesto. In fact the one positive thing I can say about this book is that it's aptly named...for alas, like many "manifesto"s, it's all talk and no action.

Where's the stuff indie musicians and aspiring music industry professionals are looking for? Where's the practical how to information on how to position and market your (digital)music? Where's the information on how to make the most of digital distribution? Where's the information on how to book a tour without a record deal? Where's the information on what talent buyers are looking for?

In other words, where is the information that actually tells an indie artist HOW TO BE A PART OF what the author keeps stating is so much more inclusive than the previous recording industry?

Answer: it's not there! Sadly for the indie artist who really wants to learn about the new music business, the author is too busy complaining about the old business model and going on about the virtues of the new one to notice the reader.

Disgruntled music fans and angry musicians who are fed up with the music industry will probably love this book, as it basically alternates between whining and anger about the recording industry, yadda yadda yadda...(yawn).

But unfortunately, there's really nothing in this book that will HELP an indie musician. For the action-oriented musician who's looking for a book that actually helps out via How tos, I recommend Bob Baker's books instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE FUTURE OF MUSIC IS NOW, July 4, 2005
This review is from: The Future of Music: Manifesto for the Digital Music Revolution (Berklee Press) (Paperback)
This book is so brilliant that it makes the vast majority of music industry books that are being published seem irrelevant. It discusses in detail, the reasons why the future of the music industry is headed into the digital/mobile entertainment era. It also provides statistical information that professionals, marketers, entrepreneurs, and educators can use constructively. Both Dave and Gerd (the books co-author), have their fingers firmly planted on current music industry activities and trends. They also possess and display a clairvoyant eye toward the future that offers beneficial insight and foresight to those who may not be aware of what this whole digital (i.e. independent) revolution is about, and most importantly, what it will entail to prosper in it. The book is easy to read, easy to understand and simply brilliant. If you buy just one industry book this year, this should be THE one. Buy it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Stirs ideas, but repetitive and overreaching, January 18, 2007
This review is from: The Future of Music: Manifesto for the Digital Music Revolution (Berklee Press) (Paperback)
I bought this book because I am getting into the digital music business. I enjoyed reading it, but I didn't much care for the wording in the book, and I think the authors are overreaching in the sense that they are expecting too much from artists in the industry.

This book clarifies the differences between the record and music industry, and emphasizes the effect of file sharing on digital medias (Limewire, Bearshare, programs) and the record industry. It makes some significant points, and makes the same points again later on in the book. The author states that artists should be able to sustain careers rather easily without "getting signed" and that is not the case today. Artists still need capital for marketing on the internet, and in marketing it is possible, but still costly.

This book is worth reading if you are getting into the business. I don't regret buying it, but I think other books may have a more definite impact on the reader. What it boils down to is opinion, and mine vary slightly in some cases and greatly in others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The future is now, March 19, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Future of Music: Manifesto for the Digital Music Revolution (Berklee Press) (Paperback)
For the most part, whenever authors write about new media and the Internet, the book is dated by the time the ink dries. For the most part "The Future of Music: Manifesto for the Digital Music Revolution" is still ahead of the curve. David Kusek and Gerd Leonhard take chances. Most futurists do. Some of their visions are hitting the bull's eye now in March, 2005 although the book was published two years ago. That's pretty good aim. It reads well too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent! The Authors Dare to Speak the Truth!, December 31, 2005
By 
Anna Lee (Los Angeles, CA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Future of Music: Manifesto for the Digital Music Revolution (Berklee Press) (Paperback)
I got a hold of this book through a friend of mine and I have to say I was impressed. Finally, a book that tells it like it is and isn't a total suckerbait sell out.

The industry is changing, like it or not, which means certain (undeserving) industry players will find themselves either having to embrace the changing times or else find themselves out of a job like so many others these days. But take heed: this provides an opportunity for those who've been shut out of this industry to break in and become major players. When change happens, it's time for those with new ideas to jump right in.

"Manifesto" definitely applies here. For anyone who participates in making or marketing music, this is an absolute must-read, there is no mealy-mouthed BS going on here.

Get this book----YOU WILL NOT REGRET IT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Future Of Music, August 29, 2005
By 
A. Bailey (Maryland, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Future of Music: Manifesto for the Digital Music Revolution (Berklee Press) (Paperback)
This is a must read for any computer music geek but also for any music lover as the authors show how artists and fans will be listening and purchasing music in the future. The authors sight a number of groups who tour, produce and market their music, making a very nice living without all the middle management which pays the artist little but also passes those costs on to us the music buying public. Well researched and written by insiders of the music industry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a positive voice!, February 15, 2005
This review is from: The Future of Music: Manifesto for the Digital Music Revolution (Berklee Press) (Paperback)
Reading the "Future of Music," I was heartened to hear a positive voice amidst the cries and screams coming from the from the recording companies' sinking ship. Being a producer and author of digital information, I was encouraged to learn that there are and will be new and exciting ways to distribute my material. It's always good to be reminded in the friendly and positive manner of Leonard and Kusek how important it is to stay flexible and innovative in today's world.

John Tarr, author of the "Dynamic Musician Series, Dynamic Stability and Breath, Vol. 1"

[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Future of Music: Manifesto for the Digital Music Revolution (Berklee Press)
$16.95 $11.30
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.