Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Geek Shall inherit the Best-Seller List
Alex Langley gets it. The self-professed Geek is so comfortable in his own skin (pasty-white or not) that he can poke fun at himself and everyone else who is wired like him. But Langley's humorous handbook is neither snarky nor pandering. In many ways it's sweet. And funny as hell. It's obvious he cares about the fate of Geeks like him. He may even be a modern-day Miss...
Published 20 months ago by An Indy Fan

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining
Highly entertaining and enlightening. Hardcore nerds may find it boring (unless they want to argue the points Langley makes), but intermediate and beginning nerds will be fascinated by the information this book contains.
Published 18 months ago by Missy Frye


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Geek Shall inherit the Best-Seller List, November 28, 2012
By 
This review is from: The Geek Handbook: Practical Skills and Advice for the Likeable Modern Geek (Paperback)
Alex Langley gets it. The self-professed Geek is so comfortable in his own skin (pasty-white or not) that he can poke fun at himself and everyone else who is wired like him. But Langley's humorous handbook is neither snarky nor pandering. In many ways it's sweet. And funny as hell. It's obvious he cares about the fate of Geeks like him. He may even be a modern-day Miss Manners guiding Geeks through a maze of beguiling social situations, like what to do if your chair makes a farting noise. Or maybe he's just one funny dude who happens to know how to fix your computer when it crashes. Whatever, this is a fun read and Langley has a bright future -- either in IT or writing, his choice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hey, A Book About Me!, January 10, 2014
By 
Pop Bop "Pause and Reflect" (Denver, Colorado, United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This is a gentle, generous, good-humored book more likely to give rise to a rueful smile of self-recognition rather than a guffaw.

It isn't really a self-help book. (I actually once came across a wonderful self help book, Where to Find Geek Girls (Level Up Your Love Life), that has mature, mellow and wise advice about how to get out and meet people.) It isn't a parody, or a condescending or snarky send-up of geek culture. It is a compendium of observations, advice, lists, suggestions, judgments, and descriptions, of all things and all people geeky. And, no matter how knowledgeable you are there is likely to be something new and useful in it. (I had fun tracking down all of the webcomics mentioned in Chapter 5.)

Someday this may be an important historical document. But for now, it's a fun read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I would rather give this 4.5 stars, January 30, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Geek Handbook: Practical Skills and Advice for the Likeable Modern Geek (Paperback)
I bought this book for my girlfriend as a joke present, and we were both pleasantly surprised to find that it is actually funny. Although not 100% accurate, it's best read without being taken too seriously.

I would have given it 5 stars except that some of the sections are just too short. The author brings up a funny idea that you would think could be extended for a while, and cuts it off in favor of the next section instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real fun read, November 9, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Geek Handbook: Practical Skills and Advice for the Likeable Modern Geek (Paperback)
Like so many other humor books these days, I was expecting a lot of sarcasm to be in this one, so I was pleasantly surprised that, while some of the humor is, indeed, sarcastic, it's done in a playful way and there's a lot of warmth in this book, along with some good, practical tips and advice, from fashion to dealing with relationships. It was nice to also see a small chapter listing a few charities adult geeks can donate to for the good of little geeks. One of my favorite sections is on some bizarre superheroes and villains in comics and it makes me want to seek out stories with Dog Welder in them because that guy's shtick sounds too crazy not to read about. I also got a kick out of the footnotes, which are little bonus jokes. Whether you are a proud geek, a fledgling geek or even a geek in denial about being a geek, this is an enjoyable read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious!, November 8, 2012
This review is from: The Geek Handbook: Practical Skills and Advice for the Likeable Modern Geek (Paperback)
A fun read! Whether you're a geek or just have a few geek tendencies, this amusing book is a must-read. My favorite chapter was Geek Fashion, especially regarding hairstyles. Other top choice chapters: Geeks in the Workplace (you know who you are) and Boldly Go Where Lots of People Have Gone Before. Hilarious!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for geeks and geek wannabes, November 6, 2012
This review is from: The Geek Handbook: Practical Skills and Advice for the Likeable Modern Geek (Paperback)
The Geek Handbook mixes practical advice with more than enough sarcasm and snark to make it obvious that author Alex Langley is one of us, but also able to distance himself sufficiently to make comments that could change a geek's life. There are many moments in the book where the reader can go, "Hey, that sounds like ... me!" or "I wonder if my friend, Fred, knows this stuff." It's an ideal gift for any fan of comics, video games, or pop culture. The illustrations only add to the fun and the footnotes are far from the boring minutaie one would find in almost any other book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My life told in words, April 18, 2013
I picked this book off of a shelf in the store after seeing Sheldon Lee Cooper on the cover. I read chapter one, and easily identified myself and all of my friends around me. At that point, had to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesomeness, March 23, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I have a message to the author thank you for a young geek in the worst years of my life (middle school) it meant a lot to know I am not alone out there and its not just me and my friend being weird so thanx

Ps your writing rocks :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great milestone for the 21st century geek in your life, February 11, 2013
This review is from: The Geek Handbook: Practical Skills and Advice for the Likeable Modern Geek (Paperback)
This is a fast, fun read that touches on all the important points of geek culture. It pays the appropriate respectful homage to Star Wars, Trekies and the Sheldons of the world, but it also pokes fun at itself - which is really at the heart of being a geek. This book is an excellent milestone, documenting the dawn of the geek era for the future. Best line of the book: "So you've got some friends. What now?" Yep, that's a geek book alright! You won't be sorry picking this up. It will make you laugh every time you pick it up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome book!, November 6, 2012
This review is from: The Geek Handbook: Practical Skills and Advice for the Likeable Modern Geek (Paperback)
Honestly, I didn't expect to fit the target demographic for this book, but I love Big Bang Theory so I cracked it open and gave it a look. I love Saved By the Bell even more, and laughed my butt off when Langley but Bayside on his list of Worst High Schools in the Nation. (What, you'd rather go to Valley?) Stuck around for the whole thing and it's great. Check it out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Geek Handbook: Practical Skills and Advice for the Likeable Modern Geek
$14.99 $11.97
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.