The Genius of Ancient Man
Format: HardcoverChange
Price:$15.23+Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

37 of 45 people found the following review helpful
on December 23, 2012
From the title, the premise of the book is that God created man perfect, including his intellect. From the very beginning of time, mankind has possessed many creative and intellectual abilities that far surpass even the most learned in our own time.

But this isn't what the evolutionists would have us believe. In order for their "theory" to hold true, man would have to evolve from an unintelligent ape into a supreme fount of knowledge. This isn't what we see when we examine ancient history.

The Genius of Ancient Man: Evolution's Nightmare is an extremely well-researched textbook on the intelligence and accomplishments of ancient man.

An important concept related to this intelligence, is the fact that it was there before man was dispersed at the Tower of Babel. We know this because the same abilities are seen all over the world in all different cultures. For instance, several cultures around the world have succeeded in building towers and structures that boggle the minds of present day scholars. These cultures didn't have Google to look up "how to build a ziggurat" and there were no YouTube videos to teach "construction methods of ancient pyramids." This was information that was passed down to the cultures from their ancestors...their common ancestors.

It was also at the Tower of Babel that Satan showed his desire to counterfeit the things of the Lord. One of the first counterfeits was the tower itself. But there have been many, many more counterfeits over time. The book names several of the counterfeits, including man-made mountains (towers), astrology (counterfeiting God's original purpose for the stars), human sacrifice (God made the ultimate human sacrifice with His perfect son, as a redemption for sinful man), and rainbows (very interesting discussion on Satan's attempts to pervert the rainbow)--and several others!

Other than the fact that there was so much research done to produce a book of this caliber, my favorite parts of the book were the beautiful images in the book and the well thought out charts and graphs. I am a visual learner and these two things helped me realize the extent of the similarities in cultures all over the world. The charts and graphs help to break down the information into bite-size digestible nuggets.

For instance, a pictorial map shows over 50 locations where pyramids, ziggurats, obelisks, mounds and henges are located. When it is put together in this way, the reader can really get a grasp of how widespread the intelligence needed to build these was dissipated. And because all of these monuments were built early in the history of mankind, we can see how profound mankind's knowledge was at this time!

No longer are we left with the primitive caveman grunting and pointing. Ancient men (and women) were truly geniuses!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
22 of 27 people found the following review helpful
on October 29, 2012
I just spent hours today pouring over The Genius of Ancient Man by Don Landis. The subject matter is just fascinating! This books sets out to support the Biblical position of man being created intelligently, and of Babel being the origin from where people spread out across the earth.

People with an evolutionary mindset believe that man started out simple and has progressively gotten smarter and more advanced. Even Christians typically assume that we are the most advanced that any civilization has been since the beginning of time. Mr. Landis sets out to change our mind on the subject.

He explains how Adam and Eve were the smartest people ever on the earth because they were created first, perfectly, in God's image, and with no mutations or sickness like we have now. They also had communion with God, so they probably had access to infinitely more knowledge than we do. After they sinned,
man's abilities and intellect slowly decreased as the fallen world took a toll on their bodies and minds. Mr. Landis speculates that by the time of the flood, ancient man may have been very, very advanced (there was about 1500 years between creation and the flood, after all, and think about all that we have been able to accomplish in just the past couple of hundred years!) There is no way to prove this, because everything was wiped out in the flood and then Noah and his family had to start from scratch again.

Mr. Landis goes on to show example after example of how ancient civilizations in different areas of the world shared similarities early on, pointing to a common starting place (Babel). He also shows many examples of advanced things that researchers have found, but cannot explain because they do not think that ancient man was very advanced or intelligent.

This book is filled with interesting information and great pictures. One of my favorite parts is a six page timeline showing advances attributed to different civilizations. I cannot recommend this book to you enough! If you have a high schooler who is studying ancient times, this would make a great read for them. If you have younger children you are teaching about ancient times, this would be a great book for you to read before you begin. If you are an adult just looking for an interesting read, this is for you too!

I was given this book for free to review by Master Books, a division of New Leaf Publishing. I was not required to give a positive review. All opinions are honest and my own!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
Like another 3-star review, the text was unnecessarily dogmatic in places in the sense of insisting upon one's theological position rather than allowing the evidence presented to speak for itself. Being very enthused upon receiving the book, not until page 43 of 97 pages (pg. 98-109, Axioms of Jackson Hole Bible College and filler) was I again heartened to have bought the book.

Beautifully done in a high-gloss format--having the precise pictures sometimes spoke for themselves as to the brilliant craftmanship of early man--it is, however, like an eye-candy presentation of a meal with a skimpy portion of meat.
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
18 of 23 people found the following review helpful
on December 19, 2012
"Evolution's Nightmare"

Evidences and commonalities explored from ancient man around the globe!
* Why structures echoing the Tower of Babel have been recreated on almost every continent and major culture
* What artifacts and archaeology, technology and innovation, really reveal about the origin of mankind
* Why many biblical symbols (rainbows, human sacrifice, mountains, the Son/ sun worship) were, and continue to be, distorted in pagan religious practices
* What the historical record reveals about Satan's "counterfeit" of God's plan for humanity

All over the world there are similar findings of ancient religions, cities and towers, world travel, advanced astronomy, and civilized government. Over the course of two years, a team of researchers from Jackson Hole Bible College has worked to bring together the different pieces of the convoluted mystery and history of ancient man.

Hours of researching, trips to various sites around North and Central America, visits to museums, and meetings with experts have provided the team with an overwhelming amount of evidence for the intelligence of these early innovators. A jumble of anomalies and magnificent structures continue to confound archaeology and anthropology today, yet as the dots are connected, one finds history as described in the biblical record." (From the New Leaf Press/Master Books Website)

About the Author: Don Landis is the president of Jackson Hole Bible College in Jackson, Wyoming. He is also Sr. Pastor at Community Bible Church in Jackson and Chairman of the Board for Answers in Genesis. He is the chief editor for The Genius of Ancient Man and worked closely alongside many students from Jackson Hole Bible College who also contributed to its completion.

My Thoughts About The Book: The world is truly an amazing, awe-inspiring and magnificent place with its 7 Wonders, the snow capped mountains of Colorado, the slow moving Mississippi River, the white ocean beaches in Florida and such man-made wonders as the Eiffel Tower, The Empire State Building, The Great Wall of China and many others. But nothing in creation compares to God's most amazing work of creation and that is the creation of Man. How awesome and powerful is our God having the wisdom and ability to create something so "fearfully and wonderfully made" as we are. And we have been created by God, in his image, and though many a person has tried to refute God and his eternal truth, in the end God always wins.

The book The Genius of Ancient Man is in my estimation a genius of a book that refutes evolution. The book edited by Don Landis and his team from Jackson Hole Bible College do a splendid job of demolishing the theory of evolution and proving the existence of a Creator who in turn created us to be his image bearers in this world...created with intellect, emotion and a physical body that defies understanding because of how it is made.

Mr. Landis and his team begin their book with a basic presupposition...their "starting point" if you will and that is, "The ultimate starting point, the bias present in their book, is that God, the Creator of the universe, is real and His Word, the Bible, is entirely true and accurate." Not a lot of people believe that today and sadly, many even in so called "Christian" circles; don't fully believe that to be true anymore. And the results of our doubting the fact are evident all around us as we see the foundations of our society crumbling - because if there is no God, and we are nothing more than just glorified apes, then the "law of the jungle" would apply to us with "every beast for himself" and "the survival and success of the fittest" being the primary purpose for life and the chief end of man. And is that not where we are at today in our society with all the violence and decadence that is so pervasive? The answer is a resounding YES and only by returning to God and the truth of his Word can we turn back to a more civilized and decent society, rather than what he have today.

Author Landis and the team that worked with him on the book in 12 Chapters reveal why they believe that God and his Word are absolute truth and that it is God who is the Creator and sustainer of man. In Chapter 2 they present their "Presuppositions/Starting Points" concerning Creation and the Creation of man and they begin with God. They cover such important issues as the "Authorship & Authority of the Bible," the fact that man is created with intellect and because of such has been able to develop language and all that makes up our society as we know it.

Chapter 3 is a timeline showing the "Priority of God in Sequence and Time," beginning with the very beginning of creation and ending in the 1600's. It's a very interesting and colorful look at what God has done through man (with the pictures included in the timeline) in creating and then man establishing society - with government, religion, commerce, and the discovery and invention of numerous things we still use in some form today - an example being the creation of mechanical clocks used in China in 725 AD.

In the remaining chapters of the book we learn and read about the Two Kingdom's - God's and Satan's and how Satan's Kingdom and efforts are a counterfeit to God's. Then in Chapter 5 we read the Biblical truth about Pre-Flood Man, in Chapter 6 about Advanced Technology looking at the advancements man has made in Astronomy, Archaeology, as well as in Sanitation & Irrigation, In Chapter's 7 through 10 about the accomplishments of man and development of our society in the areas of Travel, Monuments and Pyramids and other forms of building, Chapter 9 Religions and Legends, and in Chapter 10 Music and Art. In Chapter 11 titled "Babel is Not Gone" the authors write about the fact how that Babel is not gone in the sense that "the concepts of Babel were never destroyed but spread out over the entire earth and have become entrenched in cultures everywhere, disguised as a counterfeit to God's design." The photos in this chapter as well as in the other chapters of the book are absolutely stunning. And it is in Chapter 11 that 21 "Axioms" are listed to help us gain a better understanding of the Word of God and thus develop a Biblical worldview rather than holding to the erroneous worldviews so prevalent in our society today, The book ends with a look at "Death and Decay" which is only fitting as the book begins with Creation and Life.

So, if you want to know more about "us" as man from a Biblical perspective, how we got here, what God and we have been doing the past several hundred years in our world as man than you will find The Genius of Ancient Man to be a very interesting and enjoyable read.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher, New Leaf Publishing Group, for reviewing it. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
on March 14, 2013
My wife and I have always been ready connoisseurs of books and materials that reveal the unexpected intelligence of ancient man. Who hasn't wondered how the pyramids were built with such mathematical precision by men as allegedly primitive as the Egyptians? Who hasn't wondered how the massive stella of Stonehenge were transported from miles away and hefted atop one another? Those of us who study ooparts [out-of-place artifacts, such as the Antikythera Mechanism, a 2000 year old mechanical computing device] and ancient mysteries recognized that man has been curiously more intelligent than the plot calls for. Those of us with a Biblical worldview realize that the reason ooparts strike us as, well, out-of-place or rather out-of-time is because we've been taught that man started off as a knuckle-dragging half-ape and then steadily grew more intelligent. Who hasn't wondered why the Nazca and mound builders of North America built large earth designs that only make sense from above? The intelligence of ancient man is only out-of-place if we accept the evolutionary/old age view of the earth as our starting point instead of the Bible.

This book serves well as a primer on the genius of ancient man, with the research team from Jackson Hole Bible College showcasing the unexpected intelligence of early man in several areas [exploration and mapmaking, architecture and art, music and technology], while dedicating a good portion of the book to demonstrating why we ought to use the Bible as our starting point when looking at the the history of the world. In fact, the book ends with 21 axioms for interpreting the Bible and our world, each of which shines light on a potential mistake people make when dealing with either.

Nowhere is the ultimate authority of Scripture shown as more crucial to our understanding of the past when exploring the roots of false religions. As the book notes at the beginning of the chapter on this subject, "It is not surprising, working from a biblical perspective, that a study of religions will reveal that many cultures were monotheistic at their early stages," afterward degrading into polytheism, animism, etc. [p. 73]. Using the Bible as our starting point we realize that pervasive legends told round the world of Creation, the Flood, of Babel and even of a "Great Cold" after the Flood find their root in actual world events [as described in the revelation of Scripture], extra-biblical versions having become corrupted and altered over time.

Speaking of time, the book ends ultimately with a sound argument against views of the earth that include death before the Fall, including a solid rebuttal against the view that Adam's sin only resulted in spiritual death rather than both spiritual and physical death. The foundational basis of the Gospel rests upon a young earth interpretation of Genesis; views that insert microbes-to-man evolution and/or millions of years of pre-Adamic death are either contradictory, arbitrary or both.

-Rev Tony Breeden, from the Bookwyrm's Lair

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the New Leaf Publishing Group Book review program on CreationConversations.com. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on December 31, 2012
My thoughts: I found the book The Genius of Ancient Man" interesting. Being a believer in creation by God of the world and all that is in it, the premise of the book holds to my beliefs. It will lend support to others who believe accordingly and support, with actual discoveries supported in the scientific world, our Biblical beliefs and arguments. I do not purport to be a scientist or understand any level of science. I do, however, respect those whose fields of study are directed this way and who also are believers in the God of Creation.

The book being review brings to the lay person an understanding that discoveries support the believe that ancient man (early man) was indeed highly intelligent and did not need to "evolve" into an intelligent being. Chapters in the book relate to the mechanical devices utilized by early man and also to the fact that ancient man was able to have sophisticated plumbing and sewer disposal systems.

The book purports that the Tower of Babel after which man was separated and scattered because of the confounding of languages is structurally echoed throughout the world in various cultures and civilizations of history.

The structures on various islands and mainlands indicate that ancient man had a knowledge of building that supports utilizing tools and methods to create and maneuver large stones and to create advanced interlocking methods to hold together his structures. Methods that far surpass that which an "evolving" man could have know.

DISCLOSURE: I was provided a complimentary copy of The Genius of Ancient Man by New Leaf Publishing Group on behalf of the author in order to render my honest opinion. I was under no obligation to give a positive review and I received no monetary compensation.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on September 22, 2014
The Genius of Ancient Man by Don Landis and Jackson Hole Bible College
Myth, Legend or Truth? Using wholesomely Biblical viewpoints, Don Landis and the Jackson Hole Bible College Ancient Man research team bring to light dozens of interesting geographical and historical facts. Prepare to be astonished as marvelous and never-before heard truths about ancient civilizations are carefully unearthed.
''...The Church has for the most part, been content to sit back and take no stand on the issue of [history]...But they don't have to be weak; the Church can stand firm on the Biblical record if only they will step up and learn the facts.'' (from the preface- page 5)

It is time for Christians to wake up and be instructed. What if mankind is not as ancient as ''science'' claims? What if man did not evolve slowly out of slime, completely ignorant and brutish, but rather was created in God's image with a likeness of His intellect?...'' (from the preface)

Instead of being confused about supposedly complicated topic ancient history and the character of ancient man, Christians, as people standing on the truths which the Bible presents and using presuppositions based on the Word of God, can see ancient history come alive!

Captivated by the Biblical approach to geography and history and amazed by the incredibly explanations brought forth, I found it difficult to put the book down, and finished reading it in three days.
I heartily and enthusiastically recommend this book to anyone!
The Genius of Ancient Man is not only a must for every homeschooling family's library- but also for ever Christian's bookshelf.
Since it so powerfully explains the true history of man versus unbiblical evolution theories, I would also hope that not only Bible-believing Christians, but non-believers as well would come across a copy of this book, since God could use it mightily to bring them to faith in Him.

I don't dare reveal to much of the rich truth in this book, since I want you to discover it for yourself, but here is just a sampling:
''The apparent backwardness of some modern native cultures and the extreme simplicity of the tools and artifacts of Paleolithic Man are not, in either case, evidence of inferior intelligence but more probably due to a historical circumstance which is well worth examining.'' (page 45)

Read more in the chapters of the book which include ''Perspectives''; ''Priority of God in Sequence and Time'', ''Pre-flood Man''; ''Worldwide Travel''; ''Religions and Legends''; ''Babel is not gone''....and more!

Hours of researching, trips to various sites around North and Central America, visits to museums, and meetings with experts have provided the team with an overwhelming amount of evidence for the intelligence of these early innovators. A jumble of anomalies and magnificent structures continue to confound archaeology and anthropology today, yet as the dots are connected, one finds history as described in the biblical record.

I was thrilled to receive this book free through the New Leaf Publishers Book Reviewers program.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on October 31, 2014
Don Landis shows us how our ancient ancestors were not hunch-backed, grunting, leopard skin wearing sub-humans. Instead, he uses history, archaeology, and science to show that ancient man was far more advanced than evolution dogmatically wants us to believe. The book is full of pictures and examples of ancient technology that even today cannot be replicated. It shows also that we humans today are great examples of de-evolution. We are not evolving like Darwin said we should be. We are instead going in the opposite direction.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on January 15, 2013
This book presents some really great and important points about the general view of history, and how what we see in history really does fit best into the Biblical perspecitive. And it is a beautifully done book too, with lots of full color illustrations and great photos of historic sites all over the world!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on December 21, 2012
The Genius of Ancient Man: Evolution's Nightmare is another of Master Book's publishing successes. Don Landis, the general editor for the book in conjunction with Jackson Hole Bible College have put together a wonderful book in explaining facts about ancient man from a Biblical worldview, that some, even Christians may fail to realize or even know about. The book is hardcovered and case bound and measures 8 1/2 by 11 inches and has 112 pages that are full of factual information and scientific process that doesn't debunk the Bible as merely a story. This isn't a simple, read-through-in-a-day book this book must be relished, taking the time to read and understand it's findings in light of Biblical historical accuracy.

Some of what you'll read include:

Why structures echoing the Tower of Babel have been recreated on almost every continent and major culture
What artifacts and archaeology, technology and innovation really reveal about the origin of mankind
Why many biblical symbols (rainbows, human sacrifice, mountains, the Son/sun worship) were, and continue to be, distorted in pagan religious practices
What the historical record reveals about Satan's "counterfeit" of God's plan for humanity

I found it fascinating how well this book tied in with our current history and geography curriculum and find it fascinating to read more about the statues of Easter Island and that dragons really did roam the earth with humans (there is some speculation that there even may be some dragon-like creatures alive today, but I digress). I love it when a book that has been researched and can prove the Bible's truth in God's Creation and historical accuracy as well as prove to man how Satan can turn good and perfect things into evil things. I really enjoyed this book and it gives me a chance to delve deeper into our studies as well as giving my older children something more than milk - it gives them the meat that they'll need to eventually stand for God's Word in a world and even a Church that is diluting God's Word.

*Disclaimer: I was provided a copy of this book from Master Books, a division of New Leaf Publishing, in exchange for posting my honest opinion, no other compensation was given.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
     
 
Customers who viewed this also viewed
Tower of Babel
Tower of Babel by Bodie Hodge (Paperback - March 4, 2013)
$11.72


 
     

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.