Sell yours for a Gift Card
We'll buy it for $16.10
Learn More
Trade in now
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 2 images

The Art of George R. R. Martin's A Song of Ice and Fire Hardcover – November 15, 2005


See all 3 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Hardcover
"Please retry"
$21.99
Hardcover, November 15, 2005
$85.88 $56.01
Best%20Books%20of%202014
NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Hero Quick Promo
Year-End Kindle Daily Deals
Load your library with great books for $2.99 or less each, today only. Learn more

Product Details

  • Hardcover: 192 pages
  • Publisher: Fantasy Flight Games; 1ST edition (November 15, 2005)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1589942183
  • ISBN-13: 978-1589942189
  • Product Dimensions: 8.5 x 0.2 x 11 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 1.8 pounds
  • Average Customer Review: 4.3 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (45 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #600,531 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

George R.R. Martin sold his first story in 1971 and has been writing professionally since then. He spent ten years in Hollywood as a writer-producer, working on The Twilight Zone, Beauty and the Beast, and various feature films and television pilots that were never made. In the mid '90s he returned to prose, his first love, and began work on his epic fantasy series, A Song of Ice and Fire. He has been in the Seven Kingdoms ever since. Whenever he's allowed to leave, he returns to Santa Fe, New Mexico, where he lives with the lovely Parris, and two cats named Augustus and Caligula, who think they run the place.


Customer Reviews

The artwork in this book is just beautiful!
mr sachmo
Basically this book just collected a lot of art from the board game, the card games, some calander art and a select few pieces of fan art.
Arthur Dayne
I would recommend it for any fan of the series, it is a great addition.
Tara Yarbrough

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

57 of 58 people found the following review helpful By mr sachmo on November 18, 2005
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
The artwork in this book is just beautiful! If you are a fan of A Song of Ice and Fire, this book is great companion for the series. Much of the artwork is taken from the collectable card game, and are very well done. The book is sectioned by kingdom, with a bit of background written on each area. All of the major characters are represented, as well as places and events, most with a bit of prose from the book as flavor text.
There are a couple of comics added at the end of the book, which are amusing, but the artwork is the key here.
The book is nicely printed and bound well, which I was a little worried about since it was from an independant publisher.

The artwork in this book helps bring the story to life for me, and I am very happy with my purchase.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
29 of 30 people found the following review helpful By Lilly Flora VINE VOICE on December 29, 2005
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
This is really a lovely little book. It has wonderful pictures that really bring all the charecters to life and the little backround blurbs that George R.R. Martin wrote are very informative and entertaining. The art in this book was very well planned out and really seems to capture more than just the image of the charecters-it seems to get a little of the souls we've all gotten to know so well in the course of the four books to date. And the castels depicted in the book really bring the landscape of Westeros to life in a vivid and colorful way.

With its glossy pages and nice binding this book makes a great addition to any sci-fi fans collection. I only wish it had been a hundred or so pages longer, the pictures are so beatiful I could have looked at them day. The way it is finishing this book takes about half an hour. But it is something I'll pull out and look at again and again. other than that, there's nothing to say about this book. Its pretty and entertaining and a great coffee table type book.

Five Stars
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
18 of 19 people found the following review helpful By rhaegar17 on December 8, 2005
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
This is really a great book. Beautifully done and bound. The pages are thick and glossy. Unfortunately I don't have much else to say except to echo the earlier review. This book is a MUST for any Song of Ice and Fire fan, and would definitely make a good Holiday gift! Amazon has the cheapest price for it I have yet seen. The characters and places potrayed cover nearly all of GRRM's characters so far. I only wish the book was longer (though in the forward Martin himself said there is a good possibility of a Volume 2; after all, there will be at least 3 more books in the series). I would've liked to have seen more images of places, too, and more than one picture each of my favorite characters Rhaegar Targaryen and Jon Snow. This book is worth well and above the $20 pricetag for any true ASoI&F fan.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
14 of 15 people found the following review helpful By Brian Martin on August 28, 2006
Format: Hardcover
I'm a big fan of GRRM's series of books, "A Song of Ice and Fire." So when this book became availible I bought it straight away. I found the art within a very mixed bag. A lot of the pictures are very envocative but some are very cartoonish. In truth most of these pictures (if not all) have already been published as part of the card game and the RPG and much of it can be found on the internet at the respective artists' websites. This is definately not a must have, but if you are a big fan of GRRM you might want to give this a look.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful By J. Burgos on October 20, 2010
Format: Hardcover
This is a brief capsule review for the new 2010 re-print edition of Fantasy Flight Games' The Art of George R.R. Martin's A Song of Ice and Fire, Volume I.
I was disappointed initially to know that the first printing of this book was unavailable (and in some places like marketplace selling for $90 and up). I knew that Fantasy Flights games produced it, but everywhere I looked it was sold out. The few places selling this art book where asking outrageous prices, so I decided to pass on it. Well, I was thrilled to find out recently that FFG decided to re-print this book with a whole brand new cover and additional art included. NOTE: The cover is not the one depicted here, (for some reason Amazon has not updated the picture) but I uploaded the correct one for comparison.

The best news is that a second volume is planned for release Fall of 2011. If you want more information just go to the Fantasy Flight Games webpage.

This is the perfect visual companion for fans of GRRM's 'A Song of Ice & Fire.' I just started reading 'A Clash of Kings' and am enjoying that book right along with this one. What I love about this artbook is that it focuses its illustrations on the characters of the novels, really bringing them to life. The only thing that is missing is a full color map of Westeros, but I am hopeful that Volume II will have a detailed color map.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful By Owen P. Reese on February 20, 2006
Format: Hardcover
Every reader of Martin's epic tale, A Song of Ice and Fire, undoubtedly has in his or her own mind a vivid image of Martin's colorful and diverse cast of characters and locations. Accordingly, it can be a risky undertaking to publish a book of art which visually defines Martin's world as it is certain to upset some fans who imagined things differently. With that in mind, I have to say how elated I was when I looked through the pages of this art book. The characters and locations portrayed are exactly as I had imagined them to be. For me at least, the artwork is eerily spot on. It is obvious that many of the artists are fans of the series and have taken the time and effort to portray the characters as Martin envisioned them. The artwork ranges from pencil sketches to computer assisted landscapes and is as colorful and epic in scale as Martin's novels. The book features dozens of artists, some professional, some merely amateur fans, and many of whom are extremely talented.

That said, I did take issue with a few of the pieces. Simply put, some of the artwork was downright bad. (i.e.: physically impossible positioning of the human body/ horrible sense of depth/ artist's inability to make a wolf look like a wolf, as opposed to a cat) Furthermore, some of the scenes depicted are taken totally out of context from the story and might off put more diehard fans of the series. Many of the art pieces in the book come from the customizable card game offshoot of the series, and in my opinion, there is a great deal of very good artwork that was excluded from the book. Yet these less than stellar pieces are few and far between, and for every atrocious picture there are five which deserve to be framed and hanging on a wall.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Recent Customer Reviews


What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?