Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cute and funny
My 3 year old loves this book. The illustrations are funny at the end of the story where the gingerbread man is actually "yelling" to the fox. I bought this as party favors for his birthday party. P.s. this story starts differently than the original. It does not talk about a woman who wanted a child so badly.... instead it just starts out that there was a man, a woman...
Published on November 23, 2010 by A mom of 3

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Negative
There wasn't an audio. Just the book :( With an audio version I expected a cd or at least a tape.
Published on December 31, 2012 by Rae


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cute and funny, November 23, 2010
By 
A mom of 3 (Dallas, TX United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Gingerbread Man (Easy-to-Read Folktales) (Paperback)
My 3 year old loves this book. The illustrations are funny at the end of the story where the gingerbread man is actually "yelling" to the fox. I bought this as party favors for his birthday party. P.s. this story starts differently than the original. It does not talk about a woman who wanted a child so badly.... instead it just starts out that there was a man, a woman and a child ....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for a bedtime story, October 26, 2010
This review is from: The Gingerbread Man (Easy-to-Read Folktales) (Paperback)
I love this version of the Gingerbread Man. The wording is set up for easy characterizations, allowing the story to come to life. The illustrations cover the entire page too.

I read this book over and over to my nursery preschool class, and they never got tired of it. With each reading, they seemed more engaged and began to say the phrases right along with me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good version, July 3, 2008
This review is from: The Gingerbread Man (Easy-to-Read Folktales) (Paperback)
The version of the Gingerbread Man is good for first grade readers. The gingerbread man runs away from the little boy, the old woman and man, the farmers, a bear, a wolf and meets a fox at the end who just eats him up on the path - there is no crossing the river at the end. It's a good book for the price, and great for a beginner reader.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cant catch me, September 16, 2004
This review is from: The Gingerbread Man (Easy-to-Read Folktales) (Paperback)
This version of the Gingerbread man is pretty close to what I remember as a child. At some points it seems a bit repetitious but I believe that the original was as well. Its a fun story for a snow day, when you are home baking cookies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Negative, December 31, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
There wasn't an audio. Just the book :( With an audio version I expected a cd or at least a tape.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars quick read and cute illustrations, July 7, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Gingerbread Man (Easy-to-Read Folktales) (Paperback)
It's a good 'get them to bed' book with a well-known and loved story. The illustrations are cute and it is an easy read for an early reader.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good illustrations, September 26, 2010
By 
J. Fletcher (Hudson Valley, NY) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Gingerbread Man (Easy-to-Read Folktales) (Paperback)
There are so many choices for the Gingerbread Man tale but this one was particularly good. I like the pictures and it is very readable for young children with few sentences per page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gingerbread man, January 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Gingerbread Man (Easy-to-Read Folktales) (Paperback)
I bought this one for my gingerbread unit. The end is a tad bit different from the classic/original story but i like it. I gave it 4 stars because some of the pictures were disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars preschool, January 11, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Gingerbread Man (Easy-to-Read Folktales) (Paperback)
This book is easy to read to preschoolers and they enjoyed it. The pictures are simple and colorful. This book met all of my expectations and would order it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Engaging Tale with Repetition and Memory for Young Children, December 15, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Gingerbread Man (Easy-to-Read Folktales) (Paperback)
This delightful tale is still as engaging for children today as it was decades ago. Repetition and memory are part of this story. The refrain of, "You can't catch me, I'm the gingerbread man," has the child repeating it right along with you as you read it aloud. And children like recalling the characters from whom the gingerbread man is running: the little boy, the old man and woman, the farmers, etc. The pictures are large and colorful, too.

I presented this along with a gingerbread man cookie cutter to a 4 1/2 year-old and her mommy. When I saw how much the little girl liked decorating my own cookies, I realized what a wonderful gift this could be, as it was not only a project for the two of them to enjoy, but the child loved the book and would have fond memories for years to come, each time she read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Gingerbread Man (Easy-to-Read Folktales)
The Gingerbread Man (Easy-to-Read Folktales) by Karen Schmidt (Paperback - 1985)
$3.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.