Customer Reviews


151 Reviews
5 star:
 (113)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


158 of 169 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally, Some Answers to the Puzzle of Giza
Chris Dunn has given us a powerful new vision of the Great Pyramid at Giza, by using his technical expertise to "reverse engineer" the pyramid. What he finds is a magnificent machine that produced power using the earth itself as the source and incorporating the science of vibration and sound. Dunn works backwards from the artifacts produced by the ancient Egyptians,...
Published on August 18, 2003 by Theresa Welsh

versus
28 of 34 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Raises Fascinating Questions, But the Answers Fall Short
This book is at its best when Mr. Dunn is measuring the precision of ancient Egyptian stone artifacts and describing what it would take to produce them with modern machining techniques. This sort of engineering is apparently his area of expertise. The book includes pictures of Egyptian stonework being measured with modern precision straightedges and other tools of Mr...
Published on August 10, 2010 by KevinC


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

158 of 169 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally, Some Answers to the Puzzle of Giza, August 18, 2003
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Giza Power Plant : Technologies of Ancient Egypt (Paperback)
Chris Dunn has given us a powerful new vision of the Great Pyramid at Giza, by using his technical expertise to "reverse engineer" the pyramid. What he finds is a magnificent machine that produced power using the earth itself as the source and incorporating the science of vibration and sound. Dunn works backwards from the artifacts produced by the ancient Egyptians, showing that only sophisticated machine tools could have produced the hollowed out diorite bowls and other works created by this civilization.

He fashions his theory on the evidence found inside the Great Pyramid, explaining the purpose of all the passages and "rooms" inside. He draws on some of the observations of researchers who went before him, who have noted the unusual acoustic characteristics inside the pyramid. He uses the detailed notes left to us by W. Flinders Petrie more than a century ago. Petrie made extensive measurements and examinations of the pyramid long before the "tomb" theory became gospel. Dunn points out that not a single original burial has been found in any Egyptian pyramid! There is actually no credible evidence that pyramids were built to be tombs.

Another compelling argument against the tomb idea is the tremendous amount of resources that went into building the Great Pyramid. Would a civilization devote such resources to something that returned nothing? Dunn argues that a power plant would provide a large return, potentially of benefit to the whole society, and with the incredible precision and durability of the pyramid, it would provide power for a long, long time. At least, until a disaster struck... Dunn sees evidence that a destructive force did strike the King's Chamber, pushing the walls back. Was it an accident inside the power plant?

I found especially compelling Dunn's discussion of the supposed fact that the Egyptians did not use the wheel. Perhaps they did not need it for the uses we employed it for, because they had hovercraft (much better suited to going over sand), for instance. We must also remember that the Nile River was the primary "road" in their country. Dunn says that Germany under the Nazis developed technology along different lines from the US after only 12 years of isolation. It would hardly be strange if the Egyptian civilization, separated from us by thousands of years, might have developed along different technological lines from us.

I was also excited to see Dunn discuss the Coral Castle in Florida, produced by Ed Leedskalnin back in the 1920s. Somehow, one small frail man was able to move huge blocks of rock by himself. Leedskalnin claimed to have discovered how the Egyptians moved the huge blocks that made up the pyramids but he died without revealing the secret. Dunn theorizes that it involves magnetism and would mean discarding some of the current scientific beliefs about gravity.

Dunn treads gingerly around the Edgar Cayce material, almost apologizing for including it, but I am glad he did. Many of us who seek the truth about our own past find Cayce's words compelling, with their great internal consistency. What Cayce said about the Atlanteans destroying themselves through the misuse of a powerful energy source fits with Dunn's findings about the ancients knowing how to produce electrical power. Maybe they had a more efficient and potentially destructive power than even our own civilization has discovered.

One criticism of Dunn's ideas is that there is little representation in Egyptian art of the uses of this power. There is the famous "light bulb" picture in the Temple of Dendera which seems to show Crookes tubes in use, complete with power cables. There are also in other places depictions of what could be flying machines, so the evidence of advanced technology is not completely absent in Egyptian art, but there are also pictures of people plowing fields using animals and other seemingly primitive ways of working. But as Dunn rightly points out, different societies would use a power source for different purposes. Because they didn't have toaster ovens and cars doesn't prove they had no source of electrical power. Uses of electricity would depend on the economic system of Egyptian society. Was there a profit motive to produce consumer products that use electrical power, as in our society? Who owned the power created in the pyramid and how was electrical power distributed? Dunn has no answer to these questions, although he offers speculations.

Another weakness in Dunn's presentation is that he doesn't deal with specific timeframes for the development of Egyptian technology. The Egyptian civilization lasted for thousands of years which Egyptologists divide into three periods. Dunn vaguely refers to the pyramid builders as "ancient Egyptians" but does not discuss any specific years or relate the accomplishment to any other known historical event. He does not attempt to show how the technology fits into a culture. But of course, Dunn is not claiming to be a historian or archeologist. It would be good if the people who care about this could each bring their expertise to bear on solving the enigmas inherent in the Great Pyramid. Chris Dunn certainly has some of the expertise needed... but not all.

Dunn discusses the inventions of Nikola Tesla who believed electrical power could be delivered without wires, which may be how the Egyptians delivered it. Dunn says wireless power was never pursued because there was not an easy way to meter it -- how would those who controlled it make money? Was the profit motive part of Egyptian society, or would power have been made freely available, or would it only be for use of the ruling class? The need for a return on investment is a primary driver of technology in our present society (and may keep many potentially useful and even life-saving technologies from ever being developed), but what drove technological development in ancient civilizations? We just don't know.

Dunn does not discuss the purpose of the other two pyramids or the other buildings on the Giza plateau. His theory is not complete without discovering the history and purpose of everything built around the Great Pyramid. Could its use as a power plant involve even more ancient Atlantean technology that was later incorporated with other more ceremonial uses? When was knowledge of its true purpose lost?

I hope Chris Dunn will continue his inquiries and that other researchers will carefully consider what he has presented in this wonderful book. Thanks, Chris! You've given us a lot to think about!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


93 of 100 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best books on the Great Pyramid published, November 20, 2000
This review is from: The Giza Power Plant : Technologies of Ancient Egypt (Paperback)
As Director of the Great Pyramid of Giza Research Association, I am
familiar with most of the major theories regarding the Great Pyramid.
Since my background is in physics and biophysics, I have always
favored a scientific explanation with facts that can be
substantiated. Mr. Dunn's new book is a very scientific approach to
discovering the purpose of the Great Pyramid of Giza. His theory is
based on sound scientific principles which include acoustics,
vibrations, piezoelectric effect, and others. He has synthesized a
scientific theory that is consistent with the history of ancient
Egypt. Of all the new theories published to date, I find his theory
to be one of the most promising. Further work needs to be done but
Mr. Dunn has set the stage for a new approach to the Great
Pyramid.
Also the first part of his book is a real encyclopedia of
the history and discoveries of the Great Pyramid. This book is a must
for any serious student of the Great Pyramid and also for any layman
interested in it. It makes fascinating and enjoyable reading.
If I
was going to recommend three books to someone regarding the Great
Pyramid, Mr. Dunn's book would be one of the three that I would
choose.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


119 of 131 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A MASSIVE GENERATOR?, September 6, 2003
This review is from: The Giza Power Plant : Technologies of Ancient Egypt (Paperback)
The author makes a good case for having solved the riddle of the purpose of the Great Pyramid. He claims the pyramid was a large acoustical device in which the technology of harmonic resonance was used to convert the earth's vibrational energies to microwave radiation. He demonstrates the fact that the chambers and passages in the pyramid were positioned with deliberate precision to optimise its acoustical properties. When the pyramid was vibrating in tune with the earth's pulse it became a coupled oscillator that could carry the transfer of power from the earth with little or no feedback, while the three smaller pyramids on the Giza plateau could have been used to help the Great Pyramid achieve the required resonance. The King's Chamber, built of igneous granite containing silicon quartz crystals, served as the power centre while the Queen's Chamber was used to generate hydrogen, the fuel that ran the plant. Certain artefacts reveal that the ancient Egyptians used advanced machining methods. The latest discoveries, including the door found in an airshaft by Gantenbrink's Upuaut robot, fits well into this power plant theory and the author also refers to the work of Robert Bauval and Graham Hancock. The text is illustrated with black and white drawings and photographs and it concludes with copious notes, a bibliography and an index. The book is well researched, well written and in my opinion the theory is plausible and ought to be investigated further.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


54 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Engaging, conscientious, and thoroughly Right On!, July 14, 1999
This review is from: The Giza Power Plant : Technologies of Ancient Egypt (Paperback)
Fifty years experience as an accredited field egyptologist and archaeologist, combined with a lifetime of living and studying at the foot of the Pyramids of the Giza Plateau make it rare for my partner, internationally recognized Khemitian elder and Wisdom Keeper, Abd El Hakim Awyan, to get excited about reading a new book on the construction and true function of the Great Pyramid. Christopher Dunn¹s book, The Giza Power Plant, has proved an exception.
To quote Hakim: ³Christopher Dunn has done a wonderful job of explaining the technical aspects of the Great Per Neter (Pyramid). Christopher is a man of strong mind and heart, and is a powerful voice for western ears. It is my sincere hope he continues his work, he is on the right track.²
As for myself, I am not only impressed by the breadth and clarity of Christopher¹s work, I am RELIEVED that it exists. My specialized area of ³Khemitology² is primarily philosophical and spiritual; now when someone who is really serious about the mechanics of the Great Pyramid approaches me, I can joyfully direct them to Christopher Dunn and The Giza Power Plant. They'll be in great hands!
-Abd El Hakim Awyan and Karena Bryan- International teachers of the Khemitian wisdom tradition and co-authors of the forthcoming book: Egypt and The Awakening- Insights of an Egyptian Adept.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The one and only theory that explains every feature of the Great Pyramid, June 9, 2008
This review is from: The Giza Power Plant : Technologies of Ancient Egypt (Paperback)
I have been researching the Great Pyramid for almost 40 years. I spent two trips there myself to try to figure out what it was all about, and came away wise enough to say, "I don't know." I didn't agree with any of the existing theories. All of them had holes in them - usually big enough to drive a Mack truck through. Most of them are something out of silly season.

For those of you who have never been there, the Great Pyramid - and the others of its dynasty - is a very technological construction. Yes, the blocks were fitted better than what we today do with our buildings. Yes, they cut 2-tom limestone blocks with some technology far better than copper chisels. Yes, they cut diorite and red granite, and polished it to flatnesses as well or better than we do today - to less than .002" per foot in all directions - something that today is VERY expensive to do. But we don't do it with blocks that weigh up to 70 tons - and then use them as plugs in passages.

Something was happening back then that archeology wants us to think was done with round stone balls and a bunch of people barely out of the bronze age. And we are told that it was all done to assuage the ego of some guy who wanted to 'go to heaven' in style.

Archaeologists simply don't give ancient peoples enough credit, in categorizing them all as incapable of technology beyond ropes and rolling logs. The Egyptians, as Dunn points out, were able to cut fragile STONE (not clay) into VERY thin-walled ROUND vessels - obviously machined on the INSIDE as well as the outside - that needed fabulous control over the cutting tools that made them. The thinness of these vessels is something to behold. But they did it with copper tools and dropping round stone balls, ha ha. And how does one make ROUND anything, without the wheel and axle?

Dunn's theory covers not just the WHAT, but the WHY, of building the Great Pyramid. He addresses WHY the subterranean chamber is the way it is, WHY there were salts found piled high in the Queen's Chamber, WHY there are notches in the ramped floor of the Grand Gallery, WHY the floor of the Ante-Chambers to the King's Chamber are acoustically designed, WHY the tops of the Roof beams in the King's Chamber are rough-cut, yet definitely machined, WHY the walls of the King's Chamber are shifted outward in all directions, WHY the 'Air Shafts' are the way they are and the SIZE they are, and many, many MORE specific parts of the Great Pyramid are the way they are.

And he rolls it all into ONE explanation. It is not one that Egyptologists agree with, but it certainly holds a lot more water than their silly theories.

Dunn gives the Egyptians credit for having a high level of intelligence. He does so, because as an engineer and before that a master machinist, he recognizes technology when he sees it. Egyptologists are not trained in anything technological, so when they see something that IS, they literally blind to the importance of it. They know dynasty lists, and how to read hieroglyphs, and how to excavate sites carefully, but when they come up against evidence of high intelligence, they have to fall back on mumbo-jumbo, "It is for religious ceremony" explanations. Dunn sees exacting cutting having been done, and he gets impressed with anyone who can accomplish it. And well he should.

I am a Mechanical Engineer myself, and am completely impressed with the evidence Dunn has collected into one complete theory. Let me tell you that Mechanical Engineers are not easily convinced. Can my judgment be wrong? Certainly. On each and every point, Dunn explains what he sees, what could possibly explain what it could be doing, and how it all came to be. It all fits.

Be aware that that last 3-word sentence is in itself an amazing statement. Why do I say that? Because NO ONE else has ever had an explanation for EVERY feature in the Great Pyramid.

In the years since this book came out, Dunn has been working on showing how amazing the machining capabilities of the Egyptians was. He has not gone out and published a lot of books on alternate history or alternate science. He has continued down the path of building a foundation that will tie into his Power Plant theory. The precision they exhibit all over the place is phenomenal, and WAS NECESSARY to making the Great Pyramid the WAY it was made.

If any of you get a chance, go to the Egyptian Museum in Cairo and see the OTHER examples of their precision. For over 3900 years (maybe much more), the Great Pyramid was the tallest building on Earth. Yet it was fitted together with the precision of a large Swiss watch. It was not an accident. They did it on purpose. But what purpose? That we were not capable of matching its features until the 20th century (and then, only barely - and only in theory) tells us something about the Egyptians.

Dunn has come up with the only theory about the Great Pyramid that I can sign on to. It has been 8 years since I read it, and no other theory since then is anything more than silly season. (Including pouring the blocks: the proponents of this focus only on the limestone, while completely ignoring the GRANITE and DIORITE - two of the hardest stones; those were certainly not poured! I laughed till my abdomen hurt, on hearing that one.)

One more thing: Almost 30 years ago I worked on designing tunnel kilns and had the occasion to go into some that were temporarily shut down, after they had been in use for years. When I heard about Dunn's assertions about the Great Pyramid (29 years after entering the Pyramid myself), that it was an industrial plant, I immediately thought of those kilns and I realized that, YES! the inside of the Great Pyramid was certainly industrial. Like anything industrial, to the casual observer most of what we see is over our heads - why this feature is thus and so, and that feature is made of a particular material, and why things are arranged the way they are. I realized that when I'd gone into the Pyramid, in 1971, I'd not had the experience to recognize what I was seeing. I was amazed that when I was in the kilns I'd missed the connection. I still may not really understand all of what I saw. But if Dunn is not exactly correct, I can assure you he is very close.

I give credit where credit is due, and Christopher Dunn has my admiration for his thoroughness, his intelligent analysis, and his imagination, not to mention his logic. I could never have come up with this one. My hat is off to him.

Everyone should read this book. It makes mockery of the silly fables the Egyptologists tell us about their ancient civilization, that the priests ran the country and it was all about funerary gobbledegook. Dunn paints a picture of a civilization that in many ways rivals our own. Instead of priests, he tells us they had engineers, practical people applying their minds and infrastructure to building an industrial civilization - different from our own, but just as amazing. And Dunn has only scratched the surface. Stay tuned to his further efforts.

Steve Garcia
Cary, IL
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book may hold the key to endless renewable energy -- and the future of mankind., December 16, 2005
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Giza Power Plant : Technologies of Ancient Egypt (Paperback)
This book is well worth reading for anyone who has ever asked, "How did they build the Pyramids" or "If the Egyptians built the Great Pyramids, how did they forget how to do it?". Using layman terms, Mr. Dunn takes the reader on a journey that he, himself, traveled over a 20-year period for answers. During his research, Mr. Dunn discovers information and artifacts that cannot be replicated without the use of advanced technology, and cannot be explained by Egyptologist. Many of these artifacts had been hidden from public view for many years.

Questions Mr. Dunn attempts to answer in his book are those such as "in a time before iron or steel, how were granite blocks cut with such precision?" and "what were the suspended granite monoliths above the kings chamber for, and what broke them?".

In the past, all questions about the pyramids were taken to the Egyptian curators. The problem being that these experts are students of passed down historical information -- of which many of the answers passed down were from fairly recent explorers that were guessing as to the nature and purpose of the artifacts, not scientists or engineers using empirical data.

Mr. Dunn has exposed, recorded and categorized unexplainable information and artifacts relating to the pyramids that has been ignored, dismissed, or hidden by Egyptologist. Then using a novel approach for getting answers to these questions about the pyramids, Mr. Dunn took the anomalous information and/or artifacts to technological experts (scientists, engineers, academia, and tradesmen) to find an answer to the simplest way of reproducing the artifact, or explaining the anomaly.

In many cases, Mr. Dunn found that it would take advanced technology, even by today's standards, to replicate the artifacts. He also found that conventional explanations given by Egyptologists regarding anomalous information to be frequently inaccurate and not plausible, and that there were simpler scientific explanations. In other cases, many of the technological marvels of the pyramids cannot be explained by the technological experts or reproduced with the finest and most advanced technology today.

Based on the answers given by experts in their field from around the world, Mr. Dunn is able to establish a body of evidence that substantiates his claim that the Great Pyramid could not have been built by masses wielding only copper chisels and stone hammers to produce such a magnificent engineering colossus. Precise measurements and empirical data, along with expert testimony, drove Mr. Dunn to an obvious conclusion that not even he expected.

I have read this book, many times, and being from Missouri, have tried to pick it apart -- I have been unsuccessful. The evidence presented in this work is concise and accurate. Against popular opinion and conventional wisdom, Mr. Dunn is open-minded and has the curiosity, persistence, and tenacity to search for the truth without regard to negative peer-pressure, harassment, and even putting his own reputation at stake in presenting his evidence.

I have read the very negative and lengthy review that suggest the use of geopolymers as opposed to Mr. Dunn`s hypothesis. This review attacks the integrity of Mr. Dunn and the validity of his work. This author of the negative review ignores the fact that the purpose of a book review is to provide an accurate appraisal of the books merit, content, readability, and plausibility.

Normally when discrediting a scientific or engineering theory or hypothesis, once shows that the methods used to draw conclusion were flawed -- testing done improperly, results cannot be replicated, or the evidence manipulated. In this case, the negative review fails to take into consideration that Mr. Dunn did use the proper scientific methods to build a body of evidence that allowed him to draw plausible conclusions. The tone of the negative review is unscientific in nature while the attempt to discredit Mr. Dunn's work is based on an unsubstantiated alternative hypothesis.

It appears to me that the author of that negative review does not understand the scientific method and has a second addenda unrelated to Mr. Dunn's effort. I took the time to look at all of the reviews written by the author of this negative review. I found that in every case, all of the reviews ever written by this person were negative, and that she has always given any book she is reviewing only one star. I feel this fact alone negates the credibility of a negative review against the work of Mr. Dunn.

I therefore submit, as a scientist and engineer, that if you are an open minded individual in the pursuit of plausible theories that describe possibilities for the construction and purpose of the Great Pyramid that is gaining acceptance in the scientific community, that you should read this book and judge the validity of Mr. Dunn's methods and theories for yourself -- without bias...

Warmest regards,

Mike
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars entertaining, December 18, 2006
This review is from: The Giza Power Plant : Technologies of Ancient Egypt (Paperback)
This book suggests that the Great Pyramid in Egypt was actually an ancient power plant. It seems like an insane idea, but even if you're not willing to buy that argument at all, this is still a very interesting book that remains one of my favorites about the pyramids. Unlike other books that reject the traditional "Pyramid as tomb" idea, it suggests other hypotheses and then examines those hypotheses with respect to the evidence. The author is an engineer and confers with a variety of other scientists to check both traditional explanations for how or why the pyramid was built, but also his own explanations. There are a lot of diagrams in this book that explain in detail construction issues, and scientific processes relevant for his argument.

The first part of the book goes through a number of unexplained phenomena associated with the pyramid. Even if you completely reject the power plant idea, this beginning part of the book raises some interesting and traditionally unexplained questions. For example, what are the purposes of the shafts in the pyramid, and why is there gypsum (plaster of paris) found in the Queen's shaft? (other issues include: presence of salt in the Queen's chamber, insect shells found in one part of the pyramid and no where else, evidence that the King's chamber went through a violent expansion, evidence of high speed drilling). Most interesting is what modern day quarry workers have to say about traditional ideas of how granite is cut and moved. The second part of the book focuses more on the mechanics of the power plant idea, also incorporating some of the unexplained features of the pyramid. Well-written and a good read for anyone interested in the pyramids.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dunn shows irrevocable proof of high speed machining at Giza, January 7, 2000
This review is from: The Giza Power Plant : Technologies of Ancient Egypt (Paperback)
Quite simply: There goes History as we once knew it! This book is, for its reverse engineering quality, a landmark work. Anyone negatively criticizing "The Giza Power Plant" simply has not read it. Dunn's speculations based on the conctete evidence notwithsatnding, this is a must read for anyone willing to learn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buries the Pyramid-as-tomb theory once and for all!, September 15, 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: The Giza Power Plant : Technologies of Ancient Egypt (Paperback)
Christopher Dunn has written a tremendous book--far and away the best work about the Great Pyramid in the last 25 years. Using his background as a master machinist and engineer, Chris has seen the Great Pyramid as it really was and is, a magnificent structure built by master craftspeople (scientists and engineers) to be a practical device, a power plant. Chris explains why it was built so precisely, why the particular materials were used and how advanced machining and techniques had to be employed to accomplish the task. Anyone interested in recovery of ancient wisdom, understanding how the Great Pyramid could not possible have been originally designed and built as a tomb for a king, and interested in the concepts of sacred geometry, acoustical harmonic resonance theories and the great knowledge of the Ancient Khemitians (Egyptians) must read this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 34 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Raises Fascinating Questions, But the Answers Fall Short, August 10, 2010
This review is from: The Giza Power Plant : Technologies of Ancient Egypt (Paperback)
This book is at its best when Mr. Dunn is measuring the precision of ancient Egyptian stone artifacts and describing what it would take to produce them with modern machining techniques. This sort of engineering is apparently his area of expertise. The book includes pictures of Egyptian stonework being measured with modern precision straightedges and other tools of Mr. Dunn's trade. You can get a pretty good feel for this part of the book from this article by Mr. Dunn, "Advanced Machining in Ancient Egypt" on his website:

[...]

He also makes reference to some enigmatic stone "bowls" and thin-necked, hollow stone vases in the Cairo Museum, which were found in tombs in the Saqqara necropolis. Here is an example of one of the "bowls" (scroll down for pictures):

[...]

This really does look like some kind of machine part or technological gadget, and it's hard to imagine how it might have been made with primitive tools. The delicacy of the work--and the precision manufacture of huge stone boxes, and other anomalies Dunn describes--inspires great respect for the ancient craftsmen who made them. The mysterious perfection of these artifacts is a genuinely legitimate question in need of an answer.

Unfortunately, Mr. Dunn's effort to explain these anomalies quickly collapses into absurdity. The Great Pyramid, he says, was built to harvest the sonic energy of feeble seismic vibrations, plus a Rube Goldberg set of chemical reactions (with caustic chemicals being pumped for long distances through the pyramid), all to generate a beam of microwaves that shoots toward the constellation Orion with no apparent purpose. He makes a feeble attempt to speculate that the power may have been transmitted to a *satellite.* Then, he argues that there was a massive hydrogen explosion in the King's Chamber that wrecked the whole thing, and the builders were unable to repair it and put it back into service. Once installed, there's no way to replace the huge, cracked stone blocks.

While exuding respect for the precision and skill of Egyptian craftsmanship, Mr. Dunn wants us to believe that the Pyramid's architect held the complete set of seven Idiot Balls, designing a massive, enormously expensive, yet unreliable and un-reparable power plant that could only beam energy off into the sky (assuming Dunn's chemistry and physics even works at all). If we grant that the Egyptians had advanced science and technology, why build a pyramid power plant instead of a concentrated solar power (CSP) plant, wind turbines, or plain ol' steam engines powered by dried cow manure? Such systems would have been much easier to build, operate, and maintain.

Another problem with this book (and others like it) is its inability to address the evidence of Egyptology. While it's always great fun to bash the Egyptologists for being closed-minded fuddy-duddies who just can't accept that the Egyptians were using motorized tools and launching satellites, it would be nice if one of these books would at least *try* to address what the Egyptologists have actually found. The Egyptians themselves provided us with pictures showing how they moved large, heavy stone objects:

[...]

The Egyptians left us with abundant pictures of their daily life, and texts describing their beliefs about the world. We do not find any evidence of motorized machinery, or the science needed to produce it, or any evidence of a developmental process (you need to build the tools to build the tools...). We do have portrayed scenes and physical tools that fit the understanding of conventional Egyptology.

A valid theory has to successfully explain *all* the evidence, including the evidence in favor of rival theories, before it should be taken as the most probable model. Unfortunately, Dunn's power plant model doesn't even make sense on its own terms, much less explain why the Pharaohs rode to war on horse-drawn chariots (portrayed larger than life on the walls of Karnak) if they could have fielded mechanized armored divisions with satellite reconnaissance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Giza Power Plant : Technologies of Ancient Egypt
The Giza Power Plant : Technologies of Ancient Egypt by Christopher Dunn (Paperback - August 1, 1998)
$18.00 $14.50
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.