Customer Reviews


49 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Innovative Culinary Feat!
As a recent graduate from culinary school, it's obvious from reading through these recipes that they were written by a classically trained professional chef. Vanessa's creativity and ability to put a unique spin on flavors from across the world beautifully exemplifies her true understanding of varied cooking techniques. Gluten-free or not, these recipes are solid...
Published on June 10, 2010 by JBS1113

versus
43 of 43 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Gluten-Free Steps Up
Vanessa Maltin inherited the DNA for Celiac Disease (CD) from her Mom. Then her best friend was diagnosed with Celiac after nearly losing her life. CD is much more than a never-ending digestive upset. However, once you have the diagnosis life is much simpler. There are no drugs - you just change your eating habits to eat gluten-free food and hopefully, healthier...
Published on March 18, 2011 by Gretchen


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

43 of 43 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Gluten-Free Steps Up, March 18, 2011
By 
Gretchen (Central Texas) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Gloriously Gluten-Free Cookbook: Spicing Up Life with Italian, Asian, and Mexican Recipes (Paperback)
Vanessa Maltin inherited the DNA for Celiac Disease (CD) from her Mom. Then her best friend was diagnosed with Celiac after nearly losing her life. CD is much more than a never-ending digestive upset. However, once you have the diagnosis life is much simpler. There are no drugs - you just change your eating habits to eat gluten-free food and hopefully, healthier food.

Vanessa was inspired to develop a variety of interesting, tasty meals and treats that everyone will enjoy and in the process became a skilled gluten-free chef.

This cookbook is her second and goes beyond the basic gluten-free kitchen to incorporate recipes from Italian, Asian, and Mexican cuisine. The last section is devoted to gluten-free desserts.

There are no `food porn' pictures but a reading of the ingredients can make you drool. Please be aware that nearly all the Italian recipes and many of the Mexican recipes use dairy products and that is very good if you are so fortunate as to have that on your `yes' list. Many of the desserts also use dairy products. If you really love Asian food then that section may be worth the price of the book. Most Asian food is naturally vegan which eliminates the all-too-common allergy triggers of eggs and dairy.

If your focus is only on the gluten then these recipes are a cut above ordinary gluten-free. However, if you have multiple food sensitivities and/or allergies then you most likely need a different cookbook.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Innovative Culinary Feat!, June 10, 2010
By 
JBS1113 (New York, NY) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Gloriously Gluten-Free Cookbook: Spicing Up Life with Italian, Asian, and Mexican Recipes (Paperback)
As a recent graduate from culinary school, it's obvious from reading through these recipes that they were written by a classically trained professional chef. Vanessa's creativity and ability to put a unique spin on flavors from across the world beautifully exemplifies her true understanding of varied cooking techniques. Gluten-free or not, these recipes are solid house-hold staples that will always keep your meals delicious and interesting!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delicious, fun & informative!, June 10, 2010
By 
This review is from: The Gloriously Gluten-Free Cookbook: Spicing Up Life with Italian, Asian, and Mexican Recipes (Paperback)
This is by far the best gluten-free cookbook I've ever seen. This book makes you realize that there are no boundaries with gluten-free cooking. Asian, Mexican and Italian food has never tasted so good! I've tried several of these recipes, and would never have realized they don't contain gluten.

All the recipes are amazing, but some of my favorites include the Vietnamese spring rolls, Grilled Salmon and Green Curry Risotto, Fried Eggplant with Garlic-Ginger Sauce and Jasmine Rice, the pizza crust, calzones, any of the risottos, Mango Avocado Ceviche, Watermelon and Halloumi Cheese Salad, Enchiladas, Empanadas, Mango Quesadillas, Tequila Shrimp, Red Snapper with Peach Salsa and Quinoa, and any of the desserts!

The recipes are for all skill levels. Some are geared more toward beginners while there are still plenty for the seasoned home cook. But all the recipes are straight forward and simple to follow.

Vanessa's blurbs about each recipe add a personal, fun twist to this book. There's also a great informative section detailing Celiac disease and the basics to gluten-free cooking.

A+++++++!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Greatest Gluten Free Cookbook, August 14, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Gloriously Gluten-Free Cookbook: Spicing Up Life with Italian, Asian, and Mexican Recipes (Paperback)
This cookbook is hands down my favorite and I pretty much own/have cooked from most of the gluten free cookbooks on the market. Every recipe that I have tried has gotten rave reviews from my family. This cookbook needs to be on everyones shelf...not just people that have to cook and eat gluten free.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deliciously gluten-free, October 27, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Gloriously Gluten-Free Cookbook: Spicing Up Life with Italian, Asian, and Mexican Recipes (Paperback)
I was recently diagnosed gluten-free and immediately purchased four cookbooks. This is, by far, my favorite of the four. The dishes are simple, but elegant, and they taste delicious. The portabello risotto with goat cheese cream has become a staple in my house. I highly recommend this cookbook to gluten-free and gluten eaters alike. It would make an excellent gift for any family members who have recently been diagnosed or family members of the recenlty diagnosed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gluten-Free? Yummy!, June 9, 2010
This review is from: The Gloriously Gluten-Free Cookbook: Spicing Up Life with Italian, Asian, and Mexican Recipes (Paperback)
Not a follower of a gluten-free diet myself, I got this book in hopes that it would help me cook for gluten-free friends. I was surprised, not only by how easy the recipes were, but how great everything tasted! With the help of this book, I have been able to make incredibly enjoyable Mexican, Asian and Italian meals that everyone - both those who were gluten-free and those who were not - thoroughly enjoyed. I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Collection of Recipes!, June 9, 2010
This review is from: The Gloriously Gluten-Free Cookbook: Spicing Up Life with Italian, Asian, and Mexican Recipes (Paperback)
Great Collection of Recipes! I have a few friends with food allergies and these recipes are delicious and you can not tell the difference at all! Recipes are easy to follow and come out extremely tasty. I would serve this dishes to my friends regardless of any food allergies. Would recommend to anyone and everyone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great new book, January 14, 2011
By 
LT (charleston, sc) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Gloriously Gluten-Free Cookbook: Spicing Up Life with Italian, Asian, and Mexican Recipes (Paperback)
It's nice to have a recipe book that is totally gluten free, and features spicy flavorful food. Many of the recipes involve breading, frying or sauces that are normally difficult to make gluten free without guidance. She does not shy away from spices, but uses common ingredients and straight forward instructions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing food and worth buying-even if you aren't gluten free!, June 28, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Gloriously Gluten-Free Cookbook: Spicing Up Life with Italian, Asian, and Mexican Recipes (Paperback)
As someone who doesn't follow a gluten-free diet, I was initially a skeptic about gluten-free meals. However, every meal I've had from this book is amazing. Ms. Maltin does a great job making gluten free food easy to make and even easier to eat- you won't even know you're eating a gluten-free meal!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful pictures, November 9, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Gloriously Gluten-Free Cookbook: Spicing Up Life with Italian, Asian, and Mexican Recipes (Paperback)
I have been gluten-free for almost a year, using mixes mostly to produce the types of good food I want to eat. Thinking I was ready to cook from scratch I ordered this book and was delighted when it came. However, the pictures are great and I enjoyed thumbing through the recipes and drooling a bit, but truly most of the recipes are beyond the scope of my cooking ability. Lots of the ingredients named in the recipes are ingredients I have never heard of, and puting together the majority of the dishes appeared to be time consuming and complicated. I will probably just keep the book, look at the pictures, and perhaps down the road a bit, try a recipe or two. I gave the book 3 stars instead of 5 because I felt the author was convinced anybody could benefit from these recipes, but truly, that is not true. However, the pictures give me hope for the future, and I'll keep the book for that time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Gloriously Gluten-Free Cookbook: Spicing Up Life with Italian, Asian, and Mexican Recipes
$19.95 $14.54
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.